Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Single
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BryanTexas
Family
Bryan, TX, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Always an enjoyable experience

The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable. The only thing I would request is that there was a coffee maker provided in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
LOS ANGELES
Jan 12, 2011

Great place to relax after a night out!

The hotel was unreasonable, although it was in a great location, it had awesome breakfAst great view of the town exotic and different hotel like a European feel to it we loved it had a great time. Prepare to pay 15 dollars for valet parking because they don't have any other unless you park in the street about a block away. Hotel is great enjoyed the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars, food and places to dance.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Boston, MA
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel

it's a pretty nice hotel, and really close to the LAX airport. The hotel is clean and the stuff are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Baltimore
Dec 12, 2010

Excellent hotel gothic but chic!

At first I was a little skeptical when I check in, the hotel looked very Goth from the outside in but very chic and sophisticated I booked a Smoking room and was told at check in that this was a non smoking hotel but that didn't sway me I needed to Quit anyway. From the front desk service to check out was excellent very helpful and very accommodating, and very conveniently located from the airport to downtown Santa Monica and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a restaurant conveniently located inside, and there are a number of fine dinning restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. If you don't want to spend a hold lot of money for transportation or rental cars, catch the No. three bus in to Santa Monica and more for only one dollar and it's a great way to take in the great city site of LA.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JET SETTER ALLIE
Friends
Miami, Fl
Nov 5, 2010

LOVE THIS PLACE

The rooms are SUPER CUTE, and the rates are affordable. Reminds me of a hotel on South Beach or Hollywoood. Rooms are decorated modernly, everything is cute besides the non-smoking rms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

realllllyyyyy goood breakfast!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justwantaroomandsomethingtoeat
Single
vermont,usa
Oct 28, 2010

monday night hotel

I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. my room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I appreciated the extra pillows, thank you! the location was fine, easy access to LAX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

I dined here on a monday night. i don't know if some staff called in or if they are normally short staffed on this night. the whole dining room was being served by one waiter and one barmaid and not very well at that. they were trying hard but it wasn't enough.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington State
Sep 28, 2010

Not happy,Refrig was missing ,no alarm

Not so hot hotel because it was missing refig ,but the spot was there for one.Iron, but no iron board.No alarm clock ,and I thought I read this hotel was supposed to have all of these items.Lighting was none.All there was in room was a small light and room was dark above bed.Walls were white boring.Not happy.And once I got home My visa was charged an additional $22.oo for parking.NOWHERE was this explained in advance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sdiver4
Single
San Diego, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Cool Environment

Close to everything, cool relaxing environment. Very hip, they had an awesome pool party the weekend i stayed. Would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Venice Beach & Santa Monica.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
norfolk, virginia
Jun 28, 2010

a great place to stay

succinct and clean; very "euro"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

more than adequate dining and a grocery store nearby if needed.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nfkfhjknnkjvh
Couples
Petaluma CA
May 31, 2010

To freaken weird

We will NEVER go there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top