Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Champ
Business
Phoenix
Feb 3, 2015

Prefect LAX Overnight Stay

I was very happy with my stay at Custom. Was in town for job interview and this was perfect location and price! Cozy, comfortable room free airport shuttle, free wi-fi, grocery and coffee walking distance, LA Fitness next door - just perfect! And the staff was amazing! All very friendly and accommodating! Will definitely stay here and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David W.
Business
Santa Paula
Jan 27, 2015

Great hotel!

Great location.. Very nice staff! Perfect for staying close to LAX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christian D.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Short business trip

Chose Custom Hotel because of its proximity to the airport, but I also liked it because it is not an airport hotel (i.e., stuck at the airport). Plenty of stuff to do in surrounding area. Rooms were suprisingly quiet given its proximity to airport. Coffee in room is lame (but has anyone found in-room coffee that is not lame?). Cool bar above pool area, though young bartender served me a Manhatten "neat" when I clearly said "up". Also, for the price, the pour was on the skimpy side. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket right next door.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melanie Veronica
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Quick LA weekend

I do love this hotel, so cozy. Great vallet and beds are comfy. Would of loved being closer to the beach but this was great for where I had to be and for prices. Custom staff is very friendly and accommodating. Had a great stay. Maybe a full size tub would of been nice I do love bubble baths. (:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You could actually park your car yourself in the back. I've never had an issue before and it's way cheaper than vallet. There's so much parking and never heard of anything being a problem to park back there ever. So much parking and right next to the hotel so you save a lot on vallet.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isaac C.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great hotel for the money!

Was in town to visit a friend and do some sightseeing. Hotel was a great purchase. Near Venice, and other beach towns and was a great value for a place we were only putting our heads to sleep. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Venice, Santa Monica!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andre D.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

To LA from Detroit

It was great I stayed there before a few years ago when they first open and it was Great then too. thumbs up from me ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Have a Good time and relax

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse1234456
Business
Buford
Dec 17, 2014

One night stay

The room reminded us of a very comfortable dorm room! It was very clean and perfect for 1 night! No room service but there's a restaurant that delivers 24 hours which is pretty reasonably priced! Grocery store next door. 2 miles from LAX with nice complimentary airport shuttle. Overall a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ikejoe
Business
vernon bc
Dec 7, 2014

great location

the hotel itself was great just the beds are very small and just a single mattress on a wood frame other than that the place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in the hotel and close around

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cliff Note Traveler
Business
Fairfax, VIrginia
Dec 3, 2014

Perfect for the chic traveler

If you're chic and just in LA for a day or 2 layover, then this is the perfect hotel for you. We also had our 1-year old and they provided a good, solid crib. Had a 1 night layover on the way to Hawaii and liked the hotel so much, we stayed there again on the way back. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art buff
Business
San Diego, California.
Nov 30, 2014

Friendsgiving 2014

It was comfortable, made me feel relaxed even if we were there for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store next door, great in case you forget toiletries, need something from the farmacy or need a cup of coffee. Next to Otis College, so if you like art you can start by visiting the campuses gallery before you hit the Museums.

Back to menu Return to top