Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sianon Bado
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

First LA getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. The rooms were nice, and the overall layout and design of the hotel was great. I like the customer service and the free WiFi. Im glad I was able to get a good deal on the room, because I ended up paying more in "hidden Charges". They don't have a parking lot so I had to pay to valet my car every day/night, which is $20 a day. The only other option was to cross my fingers and hope a parking spot on the street opened, but it never did. Then the breakfast they serve downstairs near the lobby was about $12 and only included a limited amount of food and you're only able to get water, tea, or coffee. If you want orange juice thats an extra charge of $4 a cup :-/ Deck 33 Restaurant out by the pool (which is smaller than my living room...the pool that is) has a very nice atmosphere and good drink specials. The customer service, however, could be a little better (had to wait almost 10 min before the waitress came to the table and greet us). The location of the hotel (next door to the airport, around the corner from the mall, and a short driving distance from the beach) made everything so convenient. With the exception of the "hidden charges" I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Westfield Culver City (former Fox Hills Mall) Beware! Went in to buy a jacket, left with nearly $300 worth of clothes.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse1234456
Business
Buford
Dec 17, 2014

One night stay

The room reminded us of a very comfortable dorm room! It was very clean and perfect for 1 night! No room service but there's a restaurant that delivers 24 hours which is pretty reasonably priced! Grocery store next door. 2 miles from LAX with nice complimentary airport shuttle. Overall a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ikejoe
Business
vernon bc
Dec 7, 2014

great location

the hotel itself was great just the beds are very small and just a single mattress on a wood frame other than that the place was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in the hotel and close around

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cliff Note Traveler
Business
Fairfax, VIrginia
Dec 3, 2014

Perfect for the chic traveler

If you're chic and just in LA for a day or 2 layover, then this is the perfect hotel for you. We also had our 1-year old and they provided a good, solid crib. Had a 1 night layover on the way to Hawaii and liked the hotel so much, we stayed there again on the way back. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art buff
Business
San Diego, California.
Nov 30, 2014

Friendsgiving 2014

It was comfortable, made me feel relaxed even if we were there for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store next door, great in case you forget toiletries, need something from the farmacy or need a cup of coffee. Next to Otis College, so if you like art you can start by visiting the campuses gallery before you hit the Museums.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lacamastraveler
Business
Central Oregon
Oct 13, 2014

Nothing Special

Stayed here because it was close to a friend's house. Really nothing special about this place. Have to give credit for being quiet. Should I need to stay in this part of town I would probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RollsMerlin
Business
Westchester, Ca.
Aug 18, 2014

Best Location!!

I enjoyed my stay at the Custom Hotel. It was super convenient being so close to my project assignment. The restaurant / bar above the outdoor pool was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient restaurants close by and within walking distance.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chad Elden
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Good Value

Good value. Good location if want to be near LAX, venice, marina del mar and 25 mins from Hollywood. Hotel is made over. Everything is fine with this place, it's renovated and modern, not plush and overly comfortable, but acceptable. Walking distance to pretty good restaurants and small shopping center coffee bean etc adjacent to hotel. I walked to KC Crepes in the am at 9 and the lobby breakfast was bumping euro techno beats pretty loud which was slightly comedic. Lots of Euros checking in when I was. Front desk friendly and professional. Parking is on street. There's a garage next door but decided to valet as another reviewer said it was $20, but it was actually $27. Still a good rate nonetheless. Bed was more comfortable than I thought. I had a decent view on 6th floor. Decor in room is I don't know Euro Mod I guess. Not plush but not bad. I would recommend for the value and easy access. Would stay again but probably stay somewhere else with my family., unless it was a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleylh
Business
Rochester NY
Jul 19, 2014

Very nice stay

No major issues at this hotel. In a relatively good location. Far enough outside of the city so it's not too bad in price but you can still get into the city to do everything. Things like breakfast and parking were all extra but I think that's what you're going to find everywhere in this city. Good stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friday13
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 15, 2014

There's better

The rooms are very simple . No bells or whistles at all . Good for a nights sleep that's it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EAB8
Business
Eureka ca
May 6, 2014

Weekend trip

Love the king size bedroom staff is very professional and courteous. I joined their frequent stayer club for points .easy access to LAX. Great dinner at their adjoining restaurant Deck 33

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the g bus free from LAX. To get to aviation metro stop then a 1 dollar fare on BCT102 bus line at redondo beach to see the pier!

Back to menu Return to top