Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L, A Boy
Business
louisville
Nov 18, 2010

bad experience

no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I Love Houston Real Estate
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 16, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Was here in town for business & brought my husband & 5 year old along. Was hesitant about it considering it was priced really well for a Los Angeles hotel close to the airport but I ended up being really surprised. Not really a place for children but the Staff was friendly and helpful. Valet was prompt & courteous. Ralph's supermarket is next door so we saved a bunch on food expenses. We stayed on the 5th floor & our room was extremely quiet. The rooms themselves were very simple. No frills. But that was ok. Reminded me of hotels in Japan but a lot bigger. Even though the rooms were simply furnished the rooms themselves were very clean. Pillows were very nice. Beds were very comfortable. For what we paid, it was a GREAT deal for 3 nights. We will definitely stay again and this will be our hotel of choice when staying in Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph's supermarket is next door. Open 24 hours. Good food. GREAT deli!!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike from Maine
Business
Portland, ME
Nov 15, 2010

Interesting ... very interesting

I had decided to stay at the Custom Hotel LAX because of the great price offered through[...](hotel + car) and because of its very convenient location. I really didn't need much out of the hotel other than a clean room and easy access to UCLA Medical Center, Culver City, etc ... The young lady who was at the front desk the night of my arrival pleasantly surprised me by actually being able to pronounce my last name correctly, being incredibly warm and friendly and just generally making me feel welcome in a genuine, non-put on sense.The hotel does not offer free parking ($22/nt valet) and is incredibly funky (in a hip, cool, dark paint, interesting decor sort of way) but mostly clean and comfortable. The complimentary wifi was dodgy at best and when working really, really slow. I wonder if restarting the wireless router now and then wouldn't help! But it was free. So, I got what I paid for I suppose.I wouldn't recommend the hotel for long stays (more than a few nights) as you don't get a dresser for clothes, only a couple of coat hangers, and very limited seating within the room. The hotel is certainly not meant for families with children (as evidenced by scantily clad young party goers arriving on Friday night).My stay was not unpleasant, and since I was travelling solo this time, the hotel met my needs nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Too Tan Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2010

Modern & Hip Hotel A+++

Hotel is very close to the airport, the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable, and rooms were very clean. Only 2 downsides were the miniature size ironing boards, I wouldve preferred a full-size, and the valet rate of $22 is the only parking option. Aside to those two downers this hotel is GREAT! I would definitely stay here again. Its within minutes of Loyola University, plenty of coffee shops, Bank Of America, and FroYo shop next door, and Santa Monica and Venice within Minutes down the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drunk on Cheese
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 10, 2010

Decent, trendy mid-level hotel

We wanted a relatively simple, modern, clean place to stay near LAX since we were getting into town late at night. Custom Hotel was just right for our needs -- nothing fancy, but a little flair for the mid-level budget. We loved the little touches that made the room, feel, ambience just a bit different than other boutique style hotels. The water pressure was excellent and it was nice to have the iPod-ready stereo by the bed. Other than that, the accommodations were relatively sparse but for the price, we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you take a left out of the hotel driveway, and continue north on Lincoln, you will hit a bunch of nice shops, restaurants and boutiques as you get closer to Marina Del Rey. Otherwise, there really isn't much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, other than large-chain/fast food-type restos.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Fernando,CA
Nov 6, 2010

Fair stay

The staff was really nice... The television station options was ridiculous, can only view one channel at a time and you have to return to the menu button in order to change the channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JET SETTER ALLIE
Business
Miami, Fl
Nov 5, 2010

LOVE THIS PLACE

The rooms are SUPER CUTE, and the rates are affordable. Reminds me of a hotel on South Beach or Hollywoood. Rooms are decorated modernly, everything is cute besides the non-smoking rms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

realllllyyyyy goood breakfast!

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, tn
Nov 5, 2010

Great staff room not so good

Better than average Staff. Okay location. HOWEVER Room needed plenty of work. Small and dull, tub was cracked and had big rip in the layever material. Scheduled two nights only stayed one moved to different hotel. This is one reason not to use these prepaid third parties services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fundaysunday
Business
San Francisco
Nov 1, 2010

Custom

It was cool looking, I really liked the hipsterish decor. Having to valet everytime sucked though and the bathrooms were a bit beaten up, kinda looks like a place where people throw hotel room parties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sushi place down the street kicks butt, plus it's open super late(1am everyday!)

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justwantaroomandsomethingtoeat
Business
vermont,usa
Oct 28, 2010

monday night hotel

I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. my room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I appreciated the extra pillows, thank you! the location was fine, easy access to LAX.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I dined here on a monday night. i don't know if some staff called in or if they are normally short staffed on this night. the whole dining room was being served by one waiter and one barmaid and not very well at that. they were trying hard but it wasn't enough.

Back to menu Return to top