Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8639 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
Jan 12, 2011

Great place to relax after a night out!

The hotel was unreasonable, although it was in a great location, it had awesome breakfAst great view of the town exotic and different hotel like a European feel to it we loved it had a great time. Prepare to pay 15 dollars for valet parking because they don't have any other unless you park in the street about a block away. Hotel is great enjoyed the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars, food and places to dance.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Desert/UK
Dec 31, 2010

Quick Airport/beach overnight

I took a rare chance with this hotel, being an ex marriott manager and now a boutique hotel manager, but i just needed an overnight stay close to LAX with the location close enough to enjoy the day in venice and marina Del Rey while dropping off my son and Grand daughter for their flight home the following day. I was not disappointed, the price was right, the room was clean, if not miminalistic, not a lot of amenities or extra anything, but all the staff I dealt with where very friendly and professional. I found the valet parking (no choice) a little pricey, but that's LA. I was amazed at how quiet the room was being right next to LAX. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel

it's a pretty nice hotel, and really close to the LAX airport. The hotel is clean and the stuff are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel

it's a pretty nice hotel, and really close to the LAX airport. The hotel is clean and the stuff are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Dec 29, 2010

awesome service but okay hotel

the hotel itself was a bit plain in terms of what it offered e.g. no complimentary breakfast, no room service, 2 sets of toiletries supplied for 4 person rooms, and pricey food with little variety. we had major problems with the card keys for our rooms during the first night and had to switch to a different floor because they told us (after we tried replacing and swiping the keys a dozen times) that the rooms we stayed in had faulty sensors on the doors. the furnishing of the hotel was not the best either and it did not have many facilities. however, the hotel did offer free wifi and a gym to work out at. but in spite of all this, the staff was absolutely amazing. they were very friendly and helpful. they offered to book tours and shuttles for us immediately to get to disney/universal studios/hollywood/airport and even helped us look up when in-n-out would open/close. they picked up the phone promptly when we called and tried their best to help us and provided us with directions and even recommendations on where to go when we had problems finding transport. the tour/hotel shuttle was always on time and i think what pleased me the most was that the hotel offered complimentary baggage storage after we checked out, so that we could leave our luggage there and go shopping before we boarded our flight. overall, we had a wonderful time in LA. the tours recommended by the hotel were wonderful and convenient, the staff were excellent (friendly and helpful)and this held true even though we were unable to rent a single vehicle in LA during our stay. better quality less expensive food would have improved our stay. but overall, the experience was good. thumbs up again to the staff (front desk especially!), they made everything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

if you're willing to spend extra money and don't know where to go/can't find transport. ask the front desk for tours. the shuttles pick you up right at the front door of the hotel, take you to your destination and bring you back. GO TO KJ's restaurant it's a 3-5min walk from the hotel, almost next door? The food is cheap, lots of variety, and huge portions (steak for $15?! YES).

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder City, NV
Dec 20, 2010

Good local hotel

This was a satisfactory mid-range hotel stay. No surprises, good front desk and restaurant services. Plenty of hot water with only a short delay. Great view of the LAX runways. Definitely a good European style hotel. I will stay again if the need arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Main entry is in rear of building.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel to the sun
Business
oregon
Dec 19, 2010

Pros and Cons

The location was perfect for us - our son lives about 4 minutes away - which is why we chose the Custom.There is no parking onsite so we were quite glad we had the use of our son's car during the day and did not need overnight parking because parking at Custom is only valet parking for $20.00 day. No fridge in our room - we had the 2 queens. The staff was very helpful. Clean, simple, hip. It served our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Dec 12, 2010

Excellent hotel gothic but chic!

At first I was a little skeptical when I check in, the hotel looked very Goth from the outside in but very chic and sophisticated I booked a Smoking room and was told at check in that this was a non smoking hotel but that didn't sway me I needed to Quit anyway. From the front desk service to check out was excellent very helpful and very accommodating, and very conveniently located from the airport to downtown Santa Monica and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a restaurant conveniently located inside, and there are a number of fine dinning restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. If you don't want to spend a hold lot of money for transportation or rental cars, catch the No. three bus in to Santa Monica and more for only one dollar and it's a great way to take in the great city site of LA.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Dec 12, 2010

Excellent hotel gothic but chic!

At first I was a little skeptical when I check in, the hotel looked very Goth from the outside in but very chic and sophisticated I booked a Smoking room and was told at check in that this was a non smoking hotel but that didn't sway me I needed to Quit anyway. From the front desk service to check out was excellent very helpful and very accommodating, and very conveniently located from the airport to downtown Santa Monica and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a restaurant conveniently located inside, and there are a number of fine dinning restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. If you don't want to spend a hold lot of money for transportation or rental cars, catch the No. three bus in to Santa Monica and more for only one dollar and it's a great way to take in the great city site of LA.

Review of Custom Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Dec 3, 2010

Custom Hotel

The staff was great and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top