Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
322 reviews
Great experience

This was our first time there , loved the experience and the vintage room and boat.Nice change from... See full review

  • WeekendTravelers 2
  • Nov 29, 2014
So much history.....had no idea.

Went to Long Beach on business and booked this hotel on price. Had no idea the story and history... See full review

  • KCarson
  • Sep 7, 2014
This Los Angeles steamship hotel is a grand icon of 1930s

Stay aboard one of the most famous ocean liners in the world. The 75-year-old Queen Mary Hotel is a rare historic relic with functional hotel rooms, shops, spa and restaurants. She last sailed in Dec. 1967 and is permanently docked without an engine in Long Beach Harbor. Stay in vintage staterooms, wander her decks and learn of Winston Churchill, ghost stories and the Art Deco era. Dine in luxury with a view of the glowing Los Angeles skyline. Guests of the Queen Mary Hotel make use of the fitness center.

Highlights
  • Three decks of original preserved staterooms
  • Fitness center
  • On the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service spa
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Location

The Queen Mary Hotel is located in Long Beach Harbor, a convenient base for a southern California vacation. Proximity to 110 and 405 freeways is ideal for traveling both north and south.

Rooms

The Queen Mary Hotel features 314 tastefully preserved interiors with built-in furnishings, original wood paneling and 1930s artwork. Rooms are modernized with pillow-tops, iPod docks, Wi-Fi (fees apply), flat-screen satellite TVs and air conditioning. Sleep up to four people in comfortable rooms. Porthole windows, expanded sitting areas and refrigerators are available. The Queen Mary Hotel is 100 percent smoke free.

Features

In the golden days of steamship travel the Queen Mary carried movie stars and dignitaries to ports like New York, Singapore and Sydney. Later she transported 15,000 World War II troops. Roam the vast ship or join guided historic, design, wartime and paranormal tours. The Queen Mary Hotel offers a spa and fitness center on the main deck.

Dining

The seven eateries aboard the Queen Mary Hotel include a sustainable seafood restaurant and acclaimed Sunday champagne brunch held in the original first-class dining room. The 1930s vibe is alive with classic cocktails and fancy dinners at Sir Winston's and the Observation Bar. Grab kid-friendly fare at a deli and smoothie shop. Room service is available at the Queen Mary Hotel.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (adjacent)
  • Pacific Metro stop (blue line) (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hollywood (31.9 mi/51.3 km)
  • Seal Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Staples Center (24.8 mi/39.8 km)
  • Disneyland (27.1 mi/43.6 km)
  • Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 80,000 square feet of restored Art Deco event space
  • Event planning
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • Credit card is required at check-in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register.
  • Valid ID is required.
  • Valet parking is USD $20 plus tax per day.
  • Overnight parking is USD $17 per day plus tax .
  • There is a USD $14.95 facilities fee that includes Wi-Fi access.
  • A self-service business center is located in the lobby area.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Queen Mary Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Each cabin has a king bed or 2 twin beds and is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling art deco build-ins, original artwork and of course portholes for outside rooms. These elegant rooms were once reserved only for first class passengers, on their long trip across the Atlantic. Now you too can relax in style. All first class rooms are decorated in 1930s Art Deco, and have 85% of their original wood paneling.
Standard Room
Inside staterooms are perfect if you're looking for a place where you can relax, uninterrupted. Our windowless inside rooms, at the heart of the ship, will let you catch up on your sleep, no matter what time of day. Each room contains large, original Art Deco mirrors instead of portholes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 5 mi

Dining

Sir Winston's
Continental west coast cuisine, a favorite among the city's business and social elite. 2003 Zagat Survey: "People's Choice" Award.
Promenade Cafe
American restaurant, features a menu ranging from full meals to light salads and sandwiches.
Hollywood Deli
Specializing in sandwiches, fresh salads, thick crust pizza, and fabulous pastries.
Starboard Bakery
Come enjoy an espresso or cappuccino drink, fresh-baked scones, tarts, biscotti, pastries, ice cream, smoothies, and souvenir items.
The Chelsea
Our seafood specialty restaurant where each meal captures the fresh, unique fare by our Award Winning Chef.
Observation Bar
One of the Queen's preserved landmarks with majestic mural, nickel railing and touchier lighting entertainment, outdoor patio, views of city skyline and California coast.
Champagne Sunday Brunch
The Grand Salon, the ship's original first class dining room, is the elegant setting for the spectacular Sunday brunch starring more than 50 world class entrees and an amazing dessert station.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Iowa Gal
Business
Iowa
Dec 3, 2011

Don't expect them to care

I have been to the Queen Mary many times and enjoyed it. Unfortunately this last time was an unmitigated disaster. I have since written two emails and not gotten so much as a 'sorry'. I won't be giving another penny to anyone who cares this little about customer service. It's unfortunate that such a beautiful ship has fallen into the hands of people who couldn't care less about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michaelvis
Business
Lakewood, CO, USA
Feb 1, 2012

queen mary

I would never stay here again,I ordered from your site thinking I was getting a room with port holes on the outer rim of the boat,and ended up with an inside room were the furniture had broken pieces of wood and the telephone did not work we could not call for service of any kind,and if we needed anything we had to walk as far as a football field to ask the front desk,we ask them to fix it the first day they came to check it out at 1030 at night the day before we left,the light in the bathroom was out and still no one came to fix it until 1030 the night before we left,we also were charged for parking at this hotel were we were staying I would like a refund if possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BJJ Traveler
Business
ATX
Jun 3, 2013

A ghost sighting would have made the stay worth it.

Awful. Awful. Awful. I will never ever stay at this hotel if I can help it. The front desk staff was helpful and nice as was the head housekeeper but that is were it ended. I had a rude bartender, maitree and the staff at the "we serve starbucks" marketplace. by the way, the coffee isn't starbucks and if it is, it isn't made to Starbucks standards. They nickel and dime you for every little thing. the cost of foods is rediculous, there is nothing good to do on the ship and if you stay there you must get a rental and pay $17 per night to park. I take it back, this hotel is so not worth the cost even with a ghost sighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Beach Cafe on Ocean Blvd has the best breakfast! I sure everything is good but we only had breakfast there. Bring an appetite and a little cash because the poritions are huge but the prices are small (for Long Beach ;) )

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KSDM
Business
Wailuku, HI
Jun 13, 2013

Disappointed

I was looking forward to this hotel. I knew it would be old and didn't expect anything expect a "different" kind of hotel. Here is what I found: Negative: 1. Room: Mold on the shower curtain. Toilet handle broke off in my hand. The bathroom smelled like an outhouse (maybe that's to be expected, but it's gross anyway). 2. Amenities: They charge for wifi. Even hotels in the middle of nowhere California give wifi. This is a bit ridiculous. 3. Amenities: The stores all close at 6PM. In a city this size, I believe that this is much too early. 4. Amenities: There is no store to sell a soda. The front desk said that there were vending machines but never told me where to find them (I should have asked but I was trying to decide what to do next - leave the hotel, or just go to a restaurant). 5. Amenities: Business center printer was broken. Positive: 1. Staff was not rude. I want to say polite, but yet, I cannot say that entirely. They were nice, but there was something missing. My impression is that they have poor morale and very poor management. 2. Staff did help us print something, that was very kind of them. Again, the staff were nice... but something was still missing. I stress, I think there are management issues that are manifesting themselves in the staff attitudes. Not bad, but not positive either 3. The hotel was what I expected. It was very nautical and there were elements in the room i loved. The light switches, windows, if the toilet handle had not broken off in my hand, I would have loved it. There could be so many great things about this hotel with some cleaning and TLC. Again, a management/ownership issue. It was a shame to see such a great vessel used, abused and profited on but not given any real re-investment. I guess I should be ashamed for complaining with the price was so cheap but really, I'd have paid more for the experience worthy of the memory of the Queen Mary. NOTE: I marked that I would recommend this hotel to a friend but i would not be selling it. If heard a friend was going to go, I would be sure to explain all the bad and recommend a tour. The only reason to even remotely recommend is because of the novelty. I've now talked myself out of marking I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shirley99
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 6, 2013

Visit once won't be bad

Nice view for the hotel location, nice staffs, however, we were there before Halloween, the party were quite noisy and smoky, it was hard to get back to hotel, and find parking. The parking was expensive, no free internet. It is not what I expected. It was good place to visit, including the submarine, not god place to stay, the housekeeper wake you up early everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
john l111
Business
ontario
Nov 11, 2013

would not stay their again

we had no hot water. the room was cold and thermostat did not work, the fan in the bathroom ran all night could not sleep. we paid 200 dollars a night and another 200 on food and drinks you think they would pay for parking nope another 20.00 to park,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shon the king
Business
Corona
Mar 10, 2014

Last time

The room smael very bad ,missing hardware and the ac didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PLEZURE
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

RIP OFF

THE HOTEL IS IN GREAT LOCATION & OF GREAT THEME, HOWEVER MY "DELUXE" ROOM WAS FAR BELOW STANDARD. THE BATHROOM WAS SIDEWAYS AND HARD TO USE (TOILET SEAT AT A SLANT HAD TO BALANCE TO USE), A/C WAS BROKEN, ROOM SERVICE VERY,VERY,VERY SLOW. THEIR EXCUSE FOR SUB-PAR SERVICE IS THE VINTAGE OF BOAT & THAT GUESTS PAY TO EXPERIENCE A MUSEUM-LIKE ATMOSPHERE. I FELT RIPPED OFF HAVING PAID EXTRA FOR BETTER ROOM. I WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL. I NEVER USED MY EXHIBIT TICKETS... CHECKED OUT EARLY... DON'T HAVE RAISED EXPECTATIONS OF THIS HOTEL DUE TO ITS NOTORIETY... THEY EVEN CHARGE HOTEL GUEST FOR PARKING... F-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

TAKE SOME DRESS ATTIRE BECAUSE THEIR BEST RESTAURANT WONT EVEN SERVE YOU IF YOUR NOT APPROPRIATELY DRESSED... THERE IS ONLY ONE OTHER DECENT RESTAURANT TO CHOOSE FROM ON THE BOAT IF YOUR NOT DRESSED.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SafetyDude
Business
Henderson,KY
Nov 18, 2009

Don't get taken

This boat is in bad shape. If meetings are going on you will be unable to see the ball rooms and suites. This is absolutely the worst location unless you are boarding the Catalina express or a cruise ship. Too many bucks, Too many yucks, No ROI on your vacation investment. I will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't do it.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PLEZURE
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

WORST HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN...

VERY SMALL ROOMS, AMENITIES HARDLY WORK, AND THEY CHARGE FOR EVERYTHING EVEN PARKING @$15 A NIGHT FOR GUESTS. I WOULDN'T STAY HERE AGAIN IF IT WAS FREE. THE BEST RESTAURANT WONT EVEN SERVE U TA KE OUT OR LET YOU IN WITHOUT DRESS ATTIRE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

TAKE DRESS CLOTHES. THE BEST RESTAURANT ON THE BOAT WONT SERVE YOU WITHOUT "PROPER ATTIRE" THERE IS ONLY ONE OTHER DECENT RESTAURANT ON THE SHIP.

Back to menu Return to top