Rate based on Check-in: Feb 16, 2016 Check-out: Feb 17, 2016

Queen Mary Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1126 Queen Highway, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
28 reviews
Shabby Chic!

The hotel is dated and worn, but...that's part of its history and charm! If you're looking for an... See full review

  • Robert A.
  • Feb 13, 2015
GREAT TIMW WITH MY WIFE

I LOVE THIS HOTEL IT WAS REALLY NICE AND REALLY CLOSE TO SAN PEDRO See full review

  • Erik P.
  • Feb 9, 2015

A legendary transatlantic ocean liner rich in history and tradition once carried royalty, celebrities, and soldiers. Now an international symbol of Long Beach, CA, the Queen Mary is a popular destination for history enthusiast, ghost hunters, and television and movie productions. The Queen Mary has been used in films like the original Poseidon Adventure and He's Just Not That Into You, and television shows The Ghost Whisper and 90210.

Come explore the Queen Mary from bow to stern with nostalgic tours, shopping arcade, and spectacular ocean and skyline vistas. Guests do not merely check in, they stroll aboard, sleep in original art deco staterooms, and dine in award winning restaurants. The Queen Mary Hotel, unparalleled atmosphere and accommodations. Docked in the Queensway Bay at the south end of the 710 Freeway, 21 miles from Lax, 23 miles from John Wayne SNA, and 7 miles from Long each Airport LGB. The new Long Beach Cruise Terminal, home of Carnival Cruise Lines, is walking distance from hotel entrance. Listed on National Register of Historic Places the Queen Mary boasts 314 original staterooms spanning three decks, including eight full suites. Each cabin is uniquely appointed and embellishments vary to include rich wood paneling, art deco built ins, and original artwork and have window portholes for outside rooms.

Credit card is required at check in. Guest must be 21 years of age to register. Valid ID is required.

Valet parking $22.00 plus tax per day . Overnight self parking is $20.00 per day plus tax.

There is a $14.95 facilities fee that includes wi-fi. A self service business center USD is located in the Lobby area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Mary Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.7522 -118.1911
Area served
Long Beach, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International (LGB) Long Beach Municipal
Area description
Nearby attractions include Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Santa Monica, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios Hollywood, Catalina Island, Venice Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Queen Mary Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shirley99
Couples
Portland, OR
Nov 6, 2013

Visit once won't be bad

Nice view for the hotel location, nice staffs, however, we were there before Halloween, the party were quite noisy and smoky, it was hard to get back to hotel, and find parking. The parking was expensive, no free internet. It is not what I expected. It was good place to visit, including the submarine, not god place to stay, the housekeeper wake you up early everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carita
Couples
Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Weekend Getaway

When my husband and I first got there, the a/c didn't work in our room. Unfortunately this was after we walked down the longest corridor ever! The maintenance crew said the a/c wasn't working in that end of the ship. So why would the staff give us another room in that same section 1 floor above? Of course the air didn't work and at this point my husband is ready to blow a gasket! He was calm though and finally we were given a room with air that worked, I guess the third time is a charm. Oh yes our Bellman was extremely helpful and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

All I can say is OVER PRICED!

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael Thomas
Friends
Santa Barbara, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Historical experience...pricey but worth it.

Very noisy. St. Patrick's Day parties and drunk, loud, visitors/guests late-night, but okay with good ear plugs. Upgraded cabin okay, nothing fancy, mattress very comfortable. View to Long Beach Harbor requested, received cabin with view on parking lot. Parking extra and pricey. Restaurant okay, but overpriced. However, all in all great experience. Toured ship, including bridge, engine room etc. Volunteers in Communications teach morse code and equipment used on ship during service times. Cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Walk at night on ship, great views on Long Beach Harbor, Skyline, bridge, all lighted up, colorful. Great for romantic evening or experiencing historical ship and how they travelled in the old days. For sailors: Engine room, bridge, communications, etc. a must-see.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith h
Couples
Nash tn.
Sep 9, 2013

Very Nostalgic, Great history older boat.

Exactly what you would Think.staying on an older ship. Easy To find with a good location. Lots of history. Neat and clean and the staff was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain of Queen Mary
Couples
Berlin, Germany
Nov 10, 2013

Special Experience

Historic Flash back, you can feel that of 50 Million People visited and the idea this ship went around the world is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Celebrating Us
Couples
Novi, MI
Aug 24, 2014

Interesting Experience

Love the concept of this hotel, but it really needs work. I understand it's historic but it needs better preservation. The professional photos shown are way nicer than the actual place. Great location and views of downtown Long Beach. Enjoyed the self-guided tour. Stayed 2 nights. 1 night would have been enough. Enjoyed overall experience but wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat R.
Single
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Disappointing visit with thr Queem

I had occasion to need a room close to work, while my home was unavailable. I have lived in long beach for over 20 years but never visited this historic landmark until earlier this week. I was given a standard room (with wimdows to exterior). Room had a full size bed, flat screen tv, shower. Very small and simple. All i wanted/needed was a clean, quiet room to dleep after long work days. Room had a strong foot odor, matress was uncomfortable, there were fingrrprints on ceiling by electrical panel, bathroom sink stopped up, and i ran out of hot water on my last day there. Worse yet, the walls are thin so watch out who you next to or you could be unpleasantly surprised. Good recovery though by Asst Manager after i brought these issues to ber attention, she agreed to reverse chatges for parking and "facilities fee". Without any hassle. At least their customer service was 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Shoreline Village for great food, drinks, with nice walk around tourist shops. Theres a local shuttle from the Queen Mary hotel that will take you right to it.

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonesl98
Family
Los Angeles, California
Aug 9, 2014

Beautiful but missing something

The room was nice but freezing. The hotel itself was beautiful but there was no pool to actually swim in and all the restaurants closed by 10 except a bar where we weren't even greeted or noticed when we sat down; even when we left without having our order taken. Staff at the desk were great and it was a generally beautiful environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sonoma, CA
May 4, 2009

Fun place to stay, lots to see

Fun to see and stay once don't think I'll return however it was great to stay there before going on a Carnival Cuise. Little travel time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle downtown, lots to do and see!

Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Los Angeles
Jan 3, 2011

Less than expected, except the tub

Front desk did not have correct room reservation information.I pre-paid a deluxe and the system said standard. Did not have paperwork copy. Very nice couple in business center let me jump on to print my confirmation for room. Front desk honored my "deluxe" but what I had to go through for it seems lame. They comp'd two $15 parking charges for the inconvenience. The deep tub however was wonderful. The original fixtures from the sea faring days, two fit very nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pine Ave has better food options in downtown LB.

Back to menu Return to top