Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

4 stars
View map of 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flannelsaurus
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 25, 2012

The greatest bed

This hotel is very convenient to Long Beach's attractions (especially the aquarium and GIANT used book metropolis right next door.) The room was clean with a very good setup (seating area, work space, swiveling tv between seating area and bed) and the bed, oh god, the bed. The bed was so tremendously and wonderfully comfortable. The in room soap and shampoo smelled bad to me to I went out and got travel sizes. The hallway carpet needed vacuumed the whole time we were there, but who cares? The breakfast is expensive but DELICIOUS. Value is better for dinner. They really need to price the a la carte breakfast items better, and offer a side of fruit for under $8, come on. The actual food quality was tremendous though. Worth what I paid. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The used book store! So amazing!

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
under werar
Business
huntington beach ca
Nov 23, 2012

getaway

2 things there was a pair of women's dirty underwear on the floor near the bed and the room cleaner rang our door bell at 0830 am. Other than that it was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LimeCitrus
Business
Toronto, ON
Aug 22, 2012

Quiet Getaway

Prior to visiting long beach, I had no idea what it'd be like. I imagined it'd be something like Santa Monica or Venice - bustling with tourists and natives and with plenty to do. On the contrary, it's actually very quiet. This can be a good or bad thing. But in the context of this hotel, I think it's a good thing. I had a room on the 7th floor. We asked for a classic king but based on the descriptions of the rooms, it seems that we may have gotten a Grand King suite. Regardless, the beds, the tables, the showers, and everything was clean and well made. The room's climate was good as soon as we got in (you know how some hotels turn off the AC when nobody's in there? I don't think Hyatt does that.) . The entire place felt very new, fresh and crisp. I really liked that they give you the extra sofas to sit on (we had two single sofas and a love seat) as well as a desk to work on - plenty of lounging space. Since the place qas pretty quiet, we had the rooftop pool to ourselves late at night and early in the morning. The view from the top of the building is pretty darned good too. The staff were quick and very polite. Finally, some other small things that are worth noting: Noon check-out : I wake up late and I like to take my time. A lot of hotels ask that you check out by 11. I like the noon option. Fast Wi-Fi. $7 in&out parking - Need I say more? Pretty awesome - and it goes until 5pm the next day! 24 hour workout room - for fitness junkies. Rooftop pool - already mentioned this. iPod Dock - Just nice to have. Drop your iphone/ipod in and play music of your choice. Bar + Restaurant on first floor. Only complaints I have are that the location is a bit confusing - not really at the beach but not really amidst a bunch of cool things. The price for the room is pretty good compared to the Miyako I stayed at downtown (similar price but not really comparable in any other way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you havent' had chicken and waffle's, roscoe's is less than a 10 minute drive away. You should go. =)

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
copexp
Business
Sonoma, California
Aug 14, 2012

Very Accomodating

We had a great time at this Hyatt. From price to staff everything was easy, clean and awesome. Will definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jakdup
Business
yuma
Jun 12, 2012

ink and iron

Everything was great. Hotel staff was berry helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeanB1120
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Perfect

Loved it all. The staff was courteous, the food at the restaurant is exemplary. Everything made you feel special and like you were royalty. A must when in LBC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeanB1120
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

AMAZING!

Check-in was fast and easy! They treated us like royalty from the start! The staff was friendly and professional. The room was amazing! It looked like a jr. suite and had amazing views! It even had a couch and a rotating tv! Loved everything about this place! Will stay here again to enjoy the rooftop pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Sgt Pepper's Dueling Pianos! 2 minute walk, literally!

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woodson
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 1, 2012

Great stay at a great price!!

Incredible accommodations for the price! Avia is within walking distance of restaurants, shops, & activities in the Pike & Shoreline Village area of downtown Long Beach. The convention center and the aquarium were less than a 10 minute walk. The bed was plush and comfortable, and the rainfall shower was amazing. The staff at Avia were very friendly and helpful. Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonPaul
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 15, 2011

Perfect getaway

the grand king room was beautiful, and the rainfall shower was wonderful. The room service menu was very disappointing, however, but the location of the hotel was perfect and so close to so many restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt the Pike, Long Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim Z
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Great Hotel For the Price!

Checked in to Avia over a weekend for a little getaway with my girlfriend. I was not disappointed. The rooms have great modern style, are clean and comfortable with nice big showers. There is a great roof deck with a pool that looks over Long Beach Harbor and downtown. There is also a nice lounge area on the first floor. The staff was very courteous and helpful. If you want a good value boutique hotel with good access to LB, greater LA and OC areas, you won't miss with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a dinner option that is different from the slew of chain restaurants that are adjacent to The Avia, then head over to Alegria on Pine Street. It's about a five minute walk from the hotel and offers great Latin-American inspired dishes in a fun setting.

Back to menu Return to top