Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

3 stars
6285 E Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA 90803-4803
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
82 reviews
Great Stay!

Everyone was really friendly and informative, we had never been in that area so they were happy to... See full review

  • Chelsey B
  • Jan 28, 2014
friendly and helpful staff

The staff are very pleasant. We did have problems with the people in the room next door, they kept... See full review

  • Julie from NZ
  • Jun 9, 2014
Discover the best in lodging at this Long Beach hotel - top tier amenities and attractions along the Southern California coast at your fingertips. The BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel is situated near the Long Beach Marina in Long Beach, California, twenty miles south of downtown Los Angeles. The Resort Hotel, on a seven-acre casual and tranquil setting, is just a few steps from a nine-hole golf course, white sandy beaches, two movie theatres, specialty shops, over 40 restaurants, grocery stores and two farmer's markets. Hotel guests will also have convenient access to the famous Queen Mary and Aquarium of the Pacific. Families and thrill seekers will be close to Disneyland® Park, Knott's Berry Farm®, Universal Studios®, Legoland® and Six Flags® Magic Mountain. For business travelers, the hotel is located near Cal State University Long Beach and the VA Hospital. Hotel guests will be near the Naval Weapons Station Seal Beach, Flight Safety, Boeing Corporation, the Port of Long Beach and Long Beach Convention and World Trade Center. Hotel guests can also enjoy a relaxing nine-hole executive golf experience and soak up the lovely Southern California sun. Tee time is flexible without advance reservations at the course. Use of the Hotels golf equipment is free of charge. The Hotel rooms offer guests view of waterfront or of the beautiful pool-side courtyard. Each room features satellite television and free Wi-Fi wireless Internet access. A delicious, complimentary full breakfast buffet is provided each morning. The onsite Sails Restaurant and the PCH Club cocktail lounge provide guests a welcome respite at the end of a busy day. Other great hotel amenities include 14,000 square feet of banquet facilities, an outdoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, guest laundry and business center. Guests can also take advantage of complimentary shuttle van service to the Long Beach Airport. The Hotel can accommodate small to large size banquets or meetings.

BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOKING,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NON SMOKING,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NON SMOKING,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.7641 -118.1155
Area served
Seal Beach, Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Anaheim, Lakewood, San Pedro, Newport Beach, Torrance, Garden Grove, Carson, Santa Ana, Redondo Beach, San Diego, Hollywood, Fullerton, Laguna Beach, Santa Monica, Los Altos, Huntington Beach, Manhattan Beach
Nearby airports
(LAX), 25.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Walter Pyramid: 1.6 mi

Dining

McDonald's®
1.50 mile(s) from McDonald's®, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Brulee French Cuisine
Across the street from Brulee French Cuisine, Bar/Lounge, French, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Enriques Mexican Restaurant
Across the street from Enriques Mexican Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Sails Restaurant
The Sails Restaurant, on premises, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
California Pizza Kitchen
1.00 mile(s) from California Pizza Kitchen, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Lone Star Steakhouse®
1.00 mile(s) from Lone Star Steakhouse®, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Starbucks®
Across the street from Starbucks®, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Kentucky Fried Chicken®
.70 mile(s) from Kentucky Fried Chicken®, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Denny's®
.70 mile(s) from Denny's®, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
In-N-Out® Burger
1.00 mile(s) from In-N-Out® Burger, Fast Food, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 82
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tama 1991
Long beach
Jun 29, 2014

Would not recommend

The hotel is very outdated needs lots of work I wound not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSULB Dad
liverpool ny
May 25, 2014

graduation stay

We were very pleased with the hotel. Older hotel but they have done a lot to keep it looking good. Enjoyed the free breakfast buffet each day. Was centrally located to a number of locations we traveled to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

2nd St has a number of places to eat.

Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time san diego touris
santa barbara, california
Apr 1, 2014

amazing deal

I visited Long Beach with my family for a night to visit CSULB. Since my parents had me pay for the hotel, I found myself struggling to find a good deal, but still be comfortable. I definitely found it! The hotel was five, maybe ten minutes away from the school. The hotel was across the street from a shopping center where there were plenty of restaurants, stores, and a movie theater. For those on a tight budget, this location will easily save gas as you don't need to drive anywhere for some shopping or food. The room was small. But it got the job done. The beds were so comfortable! After a long day of walking at school, the beds were heaven! The only problem I had with the room was the showerhead. It kept moving as I took a shower. We booked the room for four people yet there were only two towels. But those are all small details. The FREE breakfast buffet is AMAZING! Anyone who complains is plain greedy. There is the typical bacon, eggs, and sausage but it also has waffles. You have to make them yourself using this machine but its totally worth it. There is fresh oj, cranberry juice, coffee, bagels, and cereal. What more could you ask for considering its FREE! Even as a restaurant you can enjoy the buffet for $8. Deal. Even the pool is heated. Overall, I will most definitely be staying here again if I need a hotel in Long Brach again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus Moreno
Victorville,Ca
Mar 28, 2014

Family Getaway

Hotel staff and room very Nice. Breakfast was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GregGregGreg
Campbell, CA
Jan 9, 2014

Good Hotel

Hotel was good for our one night stay. Hotel is an older one but was comfortable. The breakfast buffet included was very good with a nice view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LG mom
Alameda, CA
Jan 1, 2014

Best Western Hotel at Long Beach

Love the hotel and location, also free hot breakfast. It's noisy if your room face the street since it's a Pacific Coast Highway. I will request face the garden next time if I stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Huntington Beach with lots of people or pay $15 all day beach parking at Bolsa Chica State Beach with clean restroom. My daughters had so much fun there

Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dougefresh SLC
salt lake city
Sep 19, 2013

passing through and stayed for 1 night.

Building needs a refresh but staff did the best possible job to accommodate us. Its a good one nighter place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to airport

Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rich mal
pleasanton,ca
Aug 25, 2013

ONE NIGHT STAY

very good location in this part of Long Beach. near beach and marina is right there too . also close to 2nd street with lots of places to eat and drink . less expensive then downtown area. the rates are not bad either with breakfast with price of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marquis22
Bellevue, WA
Aug 15, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

I was in LBC for the first time. I was happy for what I experienced at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Sails Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tournament Travelers
Central Valley Ca
Apr 29, 2013

Sports weekend

good points, hot breakfast was fantastic, restaurant on sight was very reasonable, room had microwave and fridge, laundry facility and hot tub we used quite a bit. They support our military hands down, even tho lots of partying was going on we could not hear it in our room. each room has its own little balcony but not necessarily a view. down side- motel is very old and in a questionable part of town unless you continue south on PCH. Room had giant wet spot on floor under air conditioning unit so we were allowed to move next door, Shower only, no tub and first room shower was falling apart; because we can get a better room, location and hotel for same price will probably not stay again. It should be rated a 2 star hotel definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

pull out and turn left for shopping, keep driving and hit seal beach

Back to menu Return to top