Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

3 stars
6705 La Jolla Boulevard, La Jolla, CA 92037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Very restful and quiet

My stay at the Holiday Inn Express was exactly what I needed. I had surgery my first morning there... See full review

  • Mary Super Patient
  • May 23, 2013
Book it!

Pros - great location, affordable, and clean. 2 blocks from the beach - within walking distance.... See full review

  • Melissa loves to travel
  • Aug 13, 2014
La Jolla Hotel's Amenities and Location Shine Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasting an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions. The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible. Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients. Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today!

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.8295 -117.2766
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 14.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

Su Casa
Located directly across the street from the Holiday Inn Express, La Jolla. Su Casa is the best Mexican restaurant in La Jolla featuring mouth watering margharitas. Try the Chicken Floutas! Happy hour begins at 4:30 pm.
Wahoo's Fish Tacos
An extremely popular restaurant amongst the locals. Located about a mile away, Wahoo's cuisine is centered around fresh Wahoo grilled to perfection served in a variety of ways including their famous fish tacos, burritos, salads and etc. Enjoy an iced cold
Georges at the Cove
Sparkling oceanview s highlight three levels of contemporary California cuisine at Georges at the Cove. This is a fine dining restaruant inspired by chef and partner chef Troy. Enjoy lunch on the rooftop while overlooking stunning views of the Pacific Oce
Harry's Coffee Shop
Top breakfast spot among the locals. Harry's was voted best breakfast restaurant in La Jolla. Offering American cuisine. Reasonably priced.
Crab Catcher Restaurant & Seaside Grill
Upscale oceanview dining featuring a fine array of seafood. The Crab Catcher also has an oyster and sushi bar. Feast on their outstanding champagne brunch offered on Sundays. Fine wines offered while enjoying the sunset.
The Shack
Great local sports bar and grill. Offers great Fish and Chips, good for families, and has live entertainment several nights a week. Located within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CSUMom
Business
Windsor, CO
Jan 13, 2013

Nasty

First, the location of our room was on the west, front side of the hotel next to a busy road. If it had not been for the two noisy air/ heating units the road noise would have been unbearable. Next, the sleeper sofa was wet. It was like they had just tried to clean off the stains from the cushions. The matress, what matress? It was more like sleeping on springs. Then, my daughter took a shower that evening upon arrival, and the water was freezing. We were there 6 nights and I had a hot shower twice. Then, one morning I looked up at the ceiling in the bathroom and saw what looked like blood splatter. Did someone get shot? Oh, and my husband discovered that the window in our bedroom does not close, so it was not locked. As far as the breakfast in the morning, that is the usual for Holiday Inn Express, however; most of the hotels I've stayed at sure it hot, not cold. Also, we were able to use the hot tub twice before its heater went out. This hotel is in need of some serious updating! We stayed in a queen suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a wonderful beach to the west that has rock islands where we saw star fish, muscles and an octopus. Just remember the California law about live sea life. Please do not disturb them!

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 17, 2008

season hotel

There is a swimming pool and a breakfast area with a hot complimentary meal. The rooms are very small ... no table or mirror outside the bathroom area. It is clean, but I heard outside traffic and the soda machine through the night. Not in walking distance of the park/beach area or the downtown shops and eating areas (2-5 mile drive). The shower had been redone and looked very nice but again it was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 16, 2007

Stiff the Customer

I had asked for a quiet room but was given a 2nd story room that faced the main street with all its attendant traffic noise. Fortunately, I had earplugs with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivna
Business
Fullerton, CA
Feb 23, 2014

Location

The room conditions and the staff are both good, very nice service and people. However, the hotel right besides the road, you can here a lot of noise sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1socalbrunette
Business
Riverside, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location

Nice room, nice staff, nice rate, and great location. Would definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lorphx
Business
La Jolla Ca.
May 20, 2012

Great location

Location was great, room was oddly small with a tiny bathroom vanity, and a huge walk in shower that could fit 3 people, and only way to turn on shower was to stand in front of it so a blast of cold water til you jumped back. Could use a new set of bed pillows, and a new mini fridge. ours started making noise on the second day. The free breakfast was great, the staff very friendly. The room a little smelly and carpet dirty but I think seeing the location we had made up for it so will probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sucasa was right across the street, has great food and we eat there often when we go into lajolla. so a plus it was within walking distance to our hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stephant
Business
Gatineau, Canada
Aug 13, 2012

Excellent front desk staff.

Overall, my experience was good. The front desk staff provide excellent customer service. Hotel well located. Washer and dryer facility appreciated. Cleanliness of the rooms good. Variety at breakfast ok, could have more fruit available. Plastic dishes and utensils good be replaced with more environmentally friendly options. L&C (from Gatineau, Canada)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not on my own
Business
Washington DC
Mar 4, 2013

Just what we wanted

Good location, could walk to the beach. Relaxing property with courtyard and pool. Make sure to get a room off the main road (to avoid traffic noise). Sofa bed in dire need of updating. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in a queen suite, which worked perfectly for 3 adults and a 5yo, and included a mini fridge and microwave to save and reheat all the leftovers from the fun Mexican restaurant across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barely satisfied vacationer
Business
las vegas, nv
Jun 7, 2010

Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Our overall trip was awesome, however when we went to check in the first front desk lady was awfully mean to us, told us if she gets one noise complaint from us that we are out of the hotel, NO REFUND! She was definitely stereotyping us because we are young (23-25) but she did not have the right to automatically assume we where there to party (if we wanted to party we would have went to san deigo!), we were there solely for relaxation purposes and her attitude was out of line. Breakfast was pretty average, nothing that special eggs, cinnamon rolls, bagels and cereal. The only other problem we had was, if you like to sleep in on your vacation such as we did... plan on it being very loud and noisey in the morning, the hotel staff is running around cleaning rooms and their when they move their cart you can hear across the whole building! If I had to do it again I would most likely find another hotel, maybe one where we could have slept in past 8!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SuCasa &Wind&SeaCafe

Review of Holiday Inn Express LA JOLLA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tawnia
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 11, 2007

Good location

The Holiday Inn Express La Jolla was newly remodeled and clean and the bed & linens were extremely comfortable. Unfortunately, it was down hill from there. The room was very small and not thought out at all. There was an approx. 2 1/2 gap under the door which made it very noisy and us a little leary of what might crawl into the room! In the bathroom there was no place to put your toiletries, etc. - the sink top was very small. There was no shelving or table available. The shower was recently remodeled and was large and beautiful but some of the space should have been left to provide a more adequate space. We never had the same amount of towels, one day we had no soap, each day we had to call housekeeping for something. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. The location is central to everything and the room was updated and decorated beautifully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top