Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

4 stars
500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
98 reviews
Spring break

Took my teenage daughter and granddaughter here for their spring break and it was everything we... See full review

  • Teenagers mom
  • Mar 19, 2014
Perfect spot!

Great view and a wonderful staff made for a perfect stay! See full review

  • MCO1
  • Feb 7, 2014
Inspired boutique hotel just a short walk away from the ocean
Shorebreak Hotel puts visitors right next to Southern California's original tourist attraction: the Pacific Ocean. Shorebreak Hotel is a boutique lifestyle beachfront hotel in downtown Huntington Beach, CA. The hotel's 157 guestrooms offer breathtaking contemporary design with distinctive beach flair and uncompromising attention to detail. Shorebreak Hotel is located along the California coastline, and is the only hotel located near the intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway.
Highlights
  • The first hotel in "The Strand," a new development near Huntington Beach Pier
  • Adjacent to Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, featuring California comfort food
  • Fitness center with yoga studio
  • Access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits
  • Lanai Suite featuring patio, panoramic ocean views, chaise lounge chairs and hammocks
Rooms

Shorebreak Hotel in Huntington Beach offers a wide variety of room and suite configurations to suit all groups. Visitors can choose from five categories: City/Courtyard View, Partial Ocean View, Waterfront View, Panoramic Suite and Lanai Two-Bedroom Suite.

 

All beautifully appointed rooms at Shorebreak Hotel feature contemporary artwork, fine Italian bed linens, plush bathrobes, luxurious bath amenities, an executive desk and credenza, flat-panel high-definition televisions, high-speed Wireless Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, free gourmet coffee and tea, stocked refreshment centers and available in-room dining.

Features

Guest services at Shorebreak Hotel include the hotel's own hip, stylish Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, a fitness center with yoga studio, access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits, a 24-hour business center with laptop stations, spacious meeting space foyers, lobbies and pre-function space.

 

Human visitors won't be the only ones who love the hotel's seaside location and panoramic ocean views, as Shorebreak Hotel welcomes pets and dogs run free along nearby Dog Beach.

Transportation
  • Orange County/John Wayne Airport: 13 mi/27 km
  • Los Angeles International Airport: 37 mi/59 km
Attractions
  • International Surfing Museum: 2 mi/3 km
  • Mesa Verde Country Club: 2 mi/3 km
  • Costa Mesa Golf Course: 3 mi/4 km
  • Disneyland: 12 mi/19 km
  • Anaheim GardenWalk: 19 mi/30 km
Business
  • 8,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting service staff
  • High-speed WiFi available (fees apply)

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

WATERFRONT VIEW - 2 QUEEN BEDS
Waterfront View 2 Queen Beds - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with view of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Queen Beds.
WATERFRONT VIEW - 1 KING BED
Waterfront View 1 King Bed - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with views of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COUTYARD VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
City Courtyard View 2 Double Beds- Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 QUEEN BED
City Courtyard View 1 Queen Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 Queen Bed.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COURYARD VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
Partial Ocean View 2 Double Beds - Spacious Guestrooms with ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
Partial Ocean View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious suite with separate living room area and ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6579 -118.0029
Area served
Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Long Beach, Costa Mesa, Fountian Valley, Anaheim, Irvine.
Nearby airports
Orange County (SNA) - 13.00 Miles, Long Beach (LBG) - 15.00 Miles, Los Angeles (LAX) - 37.00 Miles
Area description
Shorebreak Hotel is located just off the beach where the Pacific Coast Highway meets the Huntington Beach Pier. Located in a new development known as "The Strand," Shorebreak Hotel will be the first full-service, luxury boutique hotel on the waterfront in Huntington Beach and the only hotel located in downtown Huntington Beach. This ideal location is well suited to both business and leisure travelers.

Dining

Zimzala Restaruant
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Zimzala complements the active beach lifestyle. Breakfast at Zimzala is the perfect start to an active day at the beach. Begin with one of our fresh juices or smoothies, then enjoy an array of frittatas, French toasts, warm healthful cereals, and house-baked pastries. Express barista service is offered at the bar during the early morning hours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Complemented by breathtaking oceanfront vistas amidst an energetic downtown beach setting, Shorebreak Hotel is the perfect locale from which to entertain, reward, inspire and create.From executive retreats to corporate sales meetings, Shorebreak Hotel is a superb choice for meetings and events of consequence. Beautiful surroundings, state-of-the-art technology, and an experienced support staff make any banquet, meeting, or seminar an unforgettable experience. Shorebreak's extensive facilities include 8,000 square feet of total function space, including a stunning 3,000 square foot ballroom. Highlights include a private dining room with wraparound terrace; an interior courtyard terrace with outdoor fire pits, corner boardroom suites, and an executive business center.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Nurse Tracy
Boston, MA
Aug 5, 2009

great hotel, prime location

This hotel was recommended by some friends that live in Huntington Beach. I was a bit hesitant when I read that there was no pool and I was traveling with a 3 year old. We stayed anyway and were so glad that we did. We had considered the Hilton and the Hyatt, both down the street, and we were so pleased that we stayed here. It is right in the heart of shopping, across from the beach. Beautiful, brand new rooms (we booked a courtyard view and were upgraded to a partial ocean view at no charge. Beds VERY comfortable. Staff were very friendly. I personally didn't like the restaurant, but many, many other dining choices around. Step outside of the hotel and everything was there! Prime location- only downsides were $24/day to park and had to pay for wi-fi (almost unheard of these days). There were also firepits to make smores at nighttime- really nice touch (although 2 of the 3 weren't working too well during our stay). And be sure to visit Baskin Robbins for ice cream around the corner- awesome ice cream, great service- we went there every day!! You can sit outside with your ice cream and people watch for hours!! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the CVS around the corner to et your stuff for smores. Hotel will get it for you and charge it to your room, but charge you extra $$

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wittmann, AZ
Aug 3, 2009

Huntington Beach Getaway

For our 20th Anniversary, my husband and I went back to the beach that we enjoyed on our honeymoon. It was very nice that the hotel was across the street. We parked our truck in the parking garage and walked everywhere, never had to move the truck once. It was nice to stay in such a new hotel, however, we had to ask for our room to be cleaned and then had to call them back for toilet paper, shampoo, and body wash. The convenient location trumped that, but didn't care for dogs in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's mexican food restaurant and Rubys diner were our favorites.

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Milford, CT
Jan 10, 2011

Beautiful location; excellent service

My 20 year old son transferred schools to Santa Ana and I went out to help him set up his apartment. I stayed at The Shorebreak since it was right on the beach and I was not disappointed. The room was lovely, the service very good and the front desk staff extremely friendly. Huntington Beach is beautiful and I look forward to returning as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are any number of places to eat within walking distance.

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JamjamGirl5
Denver
Jul 12, 2013

HB escape

Awesome crash pad for surfers and going out to the bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Mar 4, 2011

BEST HOTEL IN HB

LOVELY HOTEL REALLY CLOSE TO THE BEACH, CLEAN AND COZY, LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS HOTEL. CANT WAIT TO GO BACK. MAIN STREET IS FULL WITH SHOPS AND VARIETY. BEST HOTEL IN HUNTINGTON BEACH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RA! SHUSHI YUMMMM!!! HAPPY HOUR =)

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Rob & Chris
Rob & Chris
Feb 13, 2011

Romantic weekend getaway!

Great hotel, perfect location, hospitable staff, ocean view rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best Mexican food and margaritas at Avila's El Ranchero

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
kosmogirl
redlands ca
Sep 28, 2009

awsome stay perfect location

great time loved the decor and all the art great location great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of dinning shopping entertainment

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
milady
walnut ca
Mar 12, 2013

awesome time

the hotel was great, short of a pool but when you have a beach , who needs a pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Shon John
Iowa
Sep 28, 2009

The Place to Stay in Huntington Beach!

The Shorebreak is certainly one of the best quality hotels I've ever stayed at. We booked the room for a steal at a little over $100 a night (they had a short-term promotional offer). I had a conference in Anaheim during the week and a buddy and I had a few extra days, so we decided to come down to Huntington Beach. The Shorebreak was located directly across the road from the beach and adjacent to the pier. This is the closest place to stay if you want to be near the pier in Huntington beach. We were less than a two minute walk from main street where most of the stores and bars are located. The hotel had a modern surf-like theme and had the feel of a 5 star hotel. They had the nicest staff I've ever had experience with. They allowed us to check our bags (even after check-out) while we went to the beach. The size of the hotel room was outstanding and very clean. The bathroom was a personal spa. It included a full shower and separate oversize bathtub complete with bathrobes. The Huntington Beach pier and beach could be seen from our outdoor patio. Comfortable beds and sheets. Gigantic flat screen high-def TV. If I could complain about one thing, it would be the additional charge to access internet in your room. Probably the best stay I've ever had at a hotel. Highly recommend it for anyone wanting to stay next to the pier and beach, even if you have to pay a few extra bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
kp81
Chicago, IL
Oct 12, 2009

Excellent hotel!

Our hotel stay was excellent! The staff was extremely helpful, the room was very open and spacious, and the location couldn't have been better. We'd stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the beach and waterfront!

Back to menu Return to top