Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

4 stars
500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
171 reviews
awesome location!

Fun hotel, well maintained with nice decor. The location was fantastic and the staff very friendly.... See full review

  • Midwest Mary
  • May 19, 2014
Spring break

Took my teenage daughter and granddaughter here for their spring break and it was everything we... See full review

  • Teenagers mom
  • Mar 19, 2014
Inspired boutique hotel just a short walk away from the ocean
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel puts visitors right next to Southern California's original tourist attraction: the Pacific Ocean. Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a boutique lifestyle beachfront hotel in downtown Huntington Beach, CA. The hotel's 157 guestrooms offer breathtaking contemporary design with distinctive beach flair and uncompromising attention to detail. Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is located along the California coastline, and is the only hotel located near the intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway.
Highlights
  • The first hotel in "The Strand," a new development near Huntington Beach Pier
  • Adjacent to Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, featuring California comfort food
  • Fitness center with yoga studio
  • Access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits
  • Lanai Suite featuring patio, panoramic ocean views, chaise lounge chairs and hammocks
Rooms

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel in Huntington Beach offers a wide variety of room and suite configurations to suit all groups. Visitors can choose from five categories: City/Courtyard View, Partial Ocean View, Waterfront View, Panoramic Suite and Lanai Two-Bedroom Suite.

 

All beautifully appointed rooms at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature contemporary artwork, fine Italian bed linens, plush bathrobes, luxurious bath amenities, an executive desk and credenza, flat-panel high-definition televisions, high-speed Wireless Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, free gourmet coffee and tea, stocked refreshment centers and available in-room dining.

Features

Guest services at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel include the hotel's own hip, stylish Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, a fitness center with yoga studio, access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits, a 24-hour business center with laptop stations, spacious meeting space foyers, lobbies and pre-function space.

 

Human visitors won't be the only ones who love the hotel's seaside location and panoramic ocean views, as Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel welcomes pets and dogs run free along nearby Dog Beach.

Transportation
  • Orange County/John Wayne Airport: 13 mi/27 km
  • Los Angeles International Airport: 37 mi/59 km
Attractions
  • International Surfing Museum: 2 mi/3 km
  • Mesa Verde Country Club: 2 mi/3 km
  • Costa Mesa Golf Course: 3 mi/4 km
  • Disneyland: 12 mi/19 km
  • Anaheim GardenWalk: 19 mi/30 km
Business
  • 8,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting service staff
  • High-speed WiFi available (fees apply)

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

WATERFRONT VIEW - 2 QUEEN BEDS
Waterfront View 2 Queen Beds - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with view of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Queen Beds.
WATERFRONT VIEW - 1 KING BED
Waterfront View 1 King Bed - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with views of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COUTYARD VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
City Courtyard View 2 Double Beds- Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 QUEEN BED
City Courtyard View 1 Queen Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 Queen Bed.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COURYARD VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
Partial Ocean View 2 Double Beds - Spacious Guestrooms with ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
Partial Ocean View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious suite with separate living room area and ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6579 -118.0029
Area served
Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Long Beach, Costa Mesa, Fountian Valley, Anaheim, Irvine.
Nearby airports
Orange County (SNA) - 13.00 Miles, Long Beach (LBG) - 15.00 Miles, Los Angeles (LAX) - 37.00 Miles
Area description
Shorebreak Hotel is located just off the beach where the Pacific Coast Highway meets the Huntington Beach Pier. Located in a new development known as "The Strand," Shorebreak Hotel will be the first full-service, luxury boutique hotel on the waterfront in Huntington Beach and the only hotel located in downtown Huntington Beach. This ideal location is well suited to both business and leisure travelers.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Complemented by breathtaking oceanfront vistas amidst an energetic downtown beach setting, Shorebreak Hotel is the perfect locale from which to entertain, reward, inspire and create.From executive retreats to corporate sales meetings, Shorebreak Hotel is a superb choice for meetings and events of consequence. Beautiful surroundings, state-of-the-art technology, and an experienced support staff make any banquet, meeting, or seminar an unforgettable experience. Shorebreak's extensive facilities include 8,000 square feet of total function space, including a stunning 3,000 square foot ballroom. Highlights include a private dining room with wraparound terrace; an interior courtyard terrace with outdoor fire pits, corner boardroom suites, and an executive business center.

Dining

Zimzala Restaruant
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Zimzala complements the active beach lifestyle. Breakfast at Zimzala is the perfect start to an active day at the beach. Begin with one of our fresh juices or smoothies, then enjoy an array of frittatas, French toasts, warm healthful cereals, and house-baked pastries. Express barista service is offered at the bar during the early morning hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tokematt
Austin, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Outstanding location, friendly staff.

Best hotel in HB, I've stayed at the Hilton and Hyatt. Beds are very comfortable. The shower is a little tricky, just toss a towel on the floor and you're good to go. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tokematt
Austin, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Outstanding location, friendly staff.

Best hotel in HB, I've stayed at the Hilton and Hyatt. Beds are very comfortable. The shower is a little tricky, just toss a towel on the floor and you're good to go. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia - business traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 26, 2010

Wonderful Hotel!

Had a great trip...hotel is perfectly located. I would definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia - business traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 26, 2010

Wonderful Hotel!

Had a great trip...hotel is perfectly located. I would definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Escalon, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Fun in the Sun

This was a last minute trip that was booked 3 days before arrival. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but for the two of us it was comfortable. We don't spend much time in the room, but this was the first hotel/motel that we had to unload our suitcases due to the fact there was no room to get in and out of packed suitcases. The decor was suitable for the area, Surf City. Our room was clean and well stocked. Be prepared for parking fees. Knowing the area well, we knew parking would be a challenge, but the hotel has valet parking with in and out privileges. Everything that you may need is within walking distance, so parking may not be an issue. We do recommend this hotel for your next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sugar Shack for Breakfast. Sign the board, it's worth the wait!

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Escalon, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Fun in the Sun

This was a last minute trip that was booked 3 days before arrival. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but for the two of us it was comfortable. We don't spend much time in the room, but this was the first hotel/motel that we had to unload our suitcases due to the fact there was no room to get in and out of packed suitcases. The decor was suitable for the area, Surf City. Our room was clean and well stocked. Be prepared for parking fees. Knowing the area well, we knew parking would be a challenge, but the hotel has valet parking with in and out privileges. Everything that you may need is within walking distance, so parking may not be an issue. We do recommend this hotel for your next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sugar Shack for Breakfast. Sign the board, it's worth the wait!

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nutsinabutt
Surrey, BC
Apr 12, 2010

Best Location, Best Price!

GOOD + Prime location in the heart of Huntington Beach, at Main + Pacific Coast Hwy. + Everything within walking distance (CVS in the next building) + Incredible rate compared to smaller hotels in the area + Immaculately clean, brand new room + Staff is super friendly! + Spa-quality shampoo/conditioner/body wash provided in bathroom (I brought along Dove and Pantene; it surpasses both quality wise, so leave your little bottles at home) + Complimentary coupon for in-house lounge Zimzala included SO-SO - Zimzala a bit overpriced for my taste - The fire-pits in the courtyard run on gas, not a real bonfire; only a minor detail but doesn't look as pretty as it could NOT SO GOOD - When I checked out their system was down (it was 3:00am, nobody else around), so I was told my invoice would be e-mailed. Haven't received the invoice yet, but so far nothing is wrong. WOULD I COME BACK? Absolutely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Swap meet on Sunday at Golden West Dr. (just 15 min. north)

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nutsinabutt
Surrey, BC
Apr 12, 2010

Best Location, Best Price!

GOOD + Prime location in the heart of Huntington Beach, at Main + Pacific Coast Hwy. + Everything within walking distance (CVS in the next building) + Incredible rate compared to smaller hotels in the area + Immaculately clean, brand new room + Staff is super friendly! + Spa-quality shampoo/conditioner/body wash provided in bathroom (I brought along Dove and Pantene; it surpasses both quality wise, so leave your little bottles at home) + Complimentary coupon for in-house lounge Zimzala included SO-SO - Zimzala a bit overpriced for my taste - The fire-pits in the courtyard run on gas, not a real bonfire; only a minor detail but doesn't look as pretty as it could NOT SO GOOD - When I checked out their system was down (it was 3:00am, nobody else around), so I was told my invoice would be e-mailed. Haven't received the invoice yet, but so far nothing is wrong. WOULD I COME BACK? Absolutely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Swap meet on Sunday at Golden West Dr. (just 15 min. north)

Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MilTraveler
Long Beach, Ca
Apr 5, 2010

A Decent place

The rooms were very nice, and the bathrooms were huge. There was a few problems that made my stay not great. The area is pretty much all controlled parking, so your stuck paying 24 dollars to have your car valeted (there is no self park at the hotel) which is actually pretty steep for the area.While trying to check in, they acted as though i had no reservation, after which i explained i used [...], and they had me sit for 20 minutes on some very odd chairs in the middle of the lobby until they were able to find the reservation. After which they basically said the wait clearly wasnt their fault but was a technology thing. So then the rooms view was off a wall, pretty crummy in my book since it was suppose to be one of their better rooms (i mean i paid more for it). But the worst part of the stay was the noise! It was literally like being back in my house growing up with my sisters. Loud noises from above, like someone is jumping from the beds to the ground, all night randomnly. Then it was like everyone in the hotel purposedly walked heavily so that noise was pretty constant. And always was the horde of little girls walking by your room loudly talking. To be clear, this wasnt just during the day, it was all throughout the night till i fell asleep at about 2 am. It was all pretty riduclous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MilTraveler
Long Beach, Ca
Apr 5, 2010

A Decent place

The rooms were very nice, and the bathrooms were huge. There was a few problems that made my stay not great. The area is pretty much all controlled parking, so your stuck paying 24 dollars to have your car valeted (there is no self park at the hotel) which is actually pretty steep for the area.While trying to check in, they acted as though i had no reservation, after which i explained i used [...], and they had me sit for 20 minutes on some very odd chairs in the middle of the lobby until they were able to find the reservation. After which they basically said the wait clearly wasnt their fault but was a technology thing. So then the rooms view was off a wall, pretty crummy in my book since it was suppose to be one of their better rooms (i mean i paid more for it). But the worst part of the stay was the noise! It was literally like being back in my house growing up with my sisters. Loud noises from above, like someone is jumping from the beds to the ground, all night randomnly. Then it was like everyone in the hotel purposedly walked heavily so that noise was pretty constant. And always was the horde of little girls walking by your room loudly talking. To be clear, this wasnt just during the day, it was all throughout the night till i fell asleep at about 2 am. It was all pretty riduclous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top