Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

4 stars
500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
171 reviews
awesome location!

Fun hotel, well maintained with nice decor. The location was fantastic and the staff very friendly.... See full review

  • Midwest Mary
  • May 19, 2014
Spring break

Took my teenage daughter and granddaughter here for their spring break and it was everything we... See full review

  • Teenagers mom
  • Mar 19, 2014
Inspired boutique hotel just a short walk away from the ocean
Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel puts visitors right next to Southern California's original tourist attraction: the Pacific Ocean. Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is a boutique lifestyle beachfront hotel in downtown Huntington Beach, CA. The hotel's 157 guestrooms offer breathtaking contemporary design with distinctive beach flair and uncompromising attention to detail. Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel is located along the California coastline, and is the only hotel located near the intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway.
Highlights
  • The first hotel in "The Strand," a new development near Huntington Beach Pier
  • Adjacent to Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, featuring California comfort food
  • Fitness center with yoga studio
  • Access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits
  • Lanai Suite featuring patio, panoramic ocean views, chaise lounge chairs and hammocks
Rooms

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel in Huntington Beach offers a wide variety of room and suite configurations to suit all groups. Visitors can choose from five categories: City/Courtyard View, Partial Ocean View, Waterfront View, Panoramic Suite and Lanai Two-Bedroom Suite.

 

All beautifully appointed rooms at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel feature contemporary artwork, fine Italian bed linens, plush bathrobes, luxurious bath amenities, an executive desk and credenza, flat-panel high-definition televisions, high-speed Wireless Internet access (fees apply), iPod docking stations, free gourmet coffee and tea, stocked refreshment centers and available in-room dining.

Features

Guest services at Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel include the hotel's own hip, stylish Zimzala Restaurant and Bar, a fitness center with yoga studio, access to The Deck, a private courtyard with multiple fire pits, a 24-hour business center with laptop stations, spacious meeting space foyers, lobbies and pre-function space.

 

Human visitors won't be the only ones who love the hotel's seaside location and panoramic ocean views, as Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel welcomes pets and dogs run free along nearby Dog Beach.

Transportation
  • Orange County/John Wayne Airport: 13 mi/27 km
  • Los Angeles International Airport: 37 mi/59 km
Attractions
  • International Surfing Museum: 2 mi/3 km
  • Mesa Verde Country Club: 2 mi/3 km
  • Costa Mesa Golf Course: 3 mi/4 km
  • Disneyland: 12 mi/19 km
  • Anaheim GardenWalk: 19 mi/30 km
Business
  • 8,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting service staff
  • High-speed WiFi available (fees apply)

Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel Rooms

WATERFRONT VIEW - 2 QUEEN BEDS
Waterfront View 2 Queen Beds - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with view of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Queen Beds.
WATERFRONT VIEW - 1 KING BED
Waterfront View 1 King Bed - Enjoy full ocean views from this spacious Guestroom. Waterfront Guestrooms are directly facing Huntington Beach with views of the pier. Private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COUTYARD VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
City Courtyard View 2 Double Beds- Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 QUEEN BED
City Courtyard View 1 Queen Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 Queen Bed.
CITY COURTYARD VIEW - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
CITY COURYARD VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
City Courtyard View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious guestroom with lovely views of the hotel's interior courtyard with fire places or neighborhood views. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW - 2 DOUBLE BEDS
Partial Ocean View 2 Double Beds - Spacious Guestrooms with ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 2 Double Beds.
PARTIAL OCEAN VIEW SUITE - 1 KING BED
Partial Ocean View Suite 1 King Bed - Spacious suite with separate living room area and ocean views from your private balcony. Surf city inspired Huntington Beach style decor. 1 King Bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6579 -118.0029
Area served
Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Long Beach, Costa Mesa, Fountian Valley, Anaheim, Irvine.
Nearby airports
Orange County (SNA) - 13.00 Miles, Long Beach (LBG) - 15.00 Miles, Los Angeles (LAX) - 37.00 Miles
Area description
Shorebreak Hotel is located just off the beach where the Pacific Coast Highway meets the Huntington Beach Pier. Located in a new development known as "The Strand," Shorebreak Hotel will be the first full-service, luxury boutique hotel on the waterfront in Huntington Beach and the only hotel located in downtown Huntington Beach. This ideal location is well suited to both business and leisure travelers.

Dining

Zimzala Restaruant
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Zimzala complements the active beach lifestyle. Breakfast at Zimzala is the perfect start to an active day at the beach. Begin with one of our fresh juices or smoothies, then enjoy an array of frittatas, French toasts, warm healthful cereals, and house-baked pastries. Express barista service is offered at the bar during the early morning hours.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Complemented by breathtaking oceanfront vistas amidst an energetic downtown beach setting, Shorebreak Hotel is the perfect locale from which to entertain, reward, inspire and create.From executive retreats to corporate sales meetings, Shorebreak Hotel is a superb choice for meetings and events of consequence. Beautiful surroundings, state-of-the-art technology, and an experienced support staff make any banquet, meeting, or seminar an unforgettable experience. Shorebreak's extensive facilities include 8,000 square feet of total function space, including a stunning 3,000 square foot ballroom. Highlights include a private dining room with wraparound terrace; an interior courtyard terrace with outdoor fire pits, corner boardroom suites, and an executive business center.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Nov 16, 2010

The perfect fall beach vacation

The Shorebreak is in the heart of it all. We were only steps from all the beach excitment and fantastic shopping. Zimala was delish! We had room service and also ate in the restaurant. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is unlike any we have stayed at. It was unique and far from your typical cookie cutter hotel. The bonfire courtyard was a perfect way to wrap up our evenings. We would stay here anytime we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Nov 16, 2010

The perfect fall beach vacation

The Shorebreak is in the heart of it all. We were only steps from all the beach excitment and fantastic shopping. Zimala was delish! We had room service and also ate in the restaurant. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is unlike any we have stayed at. It was unique and far from your typical cookie cutter hotel. The bonfire courtyard was a perfect way to wrap up our evenings. We would stay here anytime we visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade's birthday
Pearland TX
Sep 19, 2010

CA trip

Great location right across from the beach. We had an ocena view which was very nice. CVS on the corner was convenient and it was an easy walk to Starbucks, a must for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jade's birthday
Pearland TX
Sep 19, 2010

CA trip

Great location right across from the beach. We had an ocena view which was very nice. CVS on the corner was convenient and it was an easy walk to Starbucks, a must for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles, ca
Aug 19, 2010

GREAT hotel to see the city and beach

easy check in -polite staff, big clean and quiet rooms with lots of light - great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles, ca
Aug 19, 2010

GREAT hotel to see the city and beach

easy check in -polite staff, big clean and quiet rooms with lots of light - great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern Cali
Jul 25, 2010

Wow! Nice and relaxing.

The location is excellent to start off with followed up closely by the superior service. If you need it, they will get it for you. We were greeted by a wine happy hour. We were checked in, taken care of after parking my car in the self-park ($40/night) and was promptly switched to valet ($24/night), I gave them my key and the valet brought the car up himself. They greeted us with a couple of glasses of some decent Chardonnay. After making our way to the room I realized they had upgraded us to a King and the room was very nice, clean and had a private balcony. Not to mention the bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely quiet! The downside was the relatively high parking fee, the lack of a pool or spa and the restaurant was not that great and way too noisy. But the location gives you access to tons of good food options within walking distance, good local bars are within walking distance and the plusses along with the superior customer service make this a RECOMMENDABLE place to stay. Go to the Shorebreak and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern Cali
Jul 25, 2010

Wow! Nice and relaxing.

The location is excellent to start off with followed up closely by the superior service. If you need it, they will get it for you. We were greeted by a wine happy hour. We were checked in, taken care of after parking my car in the self-park ($40/night) and was promptly switched to valet ($24/night), I gave them my key and the valet brought the car up himself. They greeted us with a couple of glasses of some decent Chardonnay. After making our way to the room I realized they had upgraded us to a King and the room was very nice, clean and had a private balcony. Not to mention the bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely quiet! The downside was the relatively high parking fee, the lack of a pool or spa and the restaurant was not that great and way too noisy. But the location gives you access to tons of good food options within walking distance, good local bars are within walking distance and the plusses along with the superior customer service make this a RECOMMENDABLE place to stay. Go to the Shorebreak and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 14, 2010

Great Location near Beach

Really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. The location is great - right across the street from the Huntington Beach Pier and near the main street where there were plenty of restaurants and clubs to choose from. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The room had a great view of the beach and the ocean. The family loved it. The only negative is the cost of parking. We had to pay $36 for two nights in the parking garage. After that we found a spot on the street for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 14, 2010

Great Location near Beach

Really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. The location is great - right across the street from the Huntington Beach Pier and near the main street where there were plenty of restaurants and clubs to choose from. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The room had a great view of the beach and the ocean. The family loved it. The only negative is the cost of parking. We had to pay $36 for two nights in the parking garage. After that we found a spot on the street for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top