Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
133 reviews
Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the... See full review

  • Pam empty nester
  • Jun 10, 2014
First class in every way!

Our daughter held her wedding in San Diego. The Hotel del Coronado will be one of the very positive... See full review

  • GDGGDG
  • Jun 9, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.6817 -117.1775
Area served
Coronado, San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego Lindbergh International Airport
Area description
As the only true beachfront hotel in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado offers a unique perspective of the city. Located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island-just across the bay from downtown-The Del provides effortless access to a variety of entertaining activities.

Known as America's Finest City, San Diego combines the art and culture of a major metropolis with a relaxed, small-town feel. Experience its world-class restaurants, fantastic shopping, award-winning local theatre, miles of recreational beaches, over 70 golf courses, and major attractions that include SeaWorld, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, and Legoland. All are within minutes of The Del's renowned San Diego beachfront hotel accommodations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marbob
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Hotel del coronado...top notch

From the hotel to the staff to the island....all wondeful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishmarket in San Diego...Harbor Drive..excellent!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 26, 2011

coronado

golf, sail, body surfing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nipomo
Sep 29, 2008

slice of paradise

I had a wonderful time and this place rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Always great

When the weather is good, you can't beat this stop-over for a few days. So much to do right onsite, everything is beautiful and on a beach to die for. Very hard to beat anywhere in America at the most highly rated hotel resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Fan
New Jersey
Sep 19, 2011

Fantastic Vacation for couples

Worth the stay and trip. Dining at the hotel site was pricey, but lots of dining locations within a short walking distance. Breath-taking views of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam empty nester
Albany, Oregon
Jun 10, 2014

Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the Del for our last night, and I'm soooo glad they did! We had a "Victorian Queen" room with garden view (in other words, the low priced option). We were surprised to find the bed was actually a king! The room itself was small but the amenities were fabulous: 8 fluffy pillows, bathrobes, Kureg coffee maker, luxury bath products, plenty of thick towels, great water pressure in the shower, walk-in closet, and the best--our own balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens with a small view of the ocean over the roof of the other wing! This historic hotel on the resort island of Coronado is a WOW for its Victorian-era design including the wonderful dark wood paneling along with huge chandelier on the first floor. We love history and could feel like we had just stepped into the shoes of Marilyn Monroe or any of the many world leaders and movie stars that have stayed at the Del. We walked the promenade by the beach and sat and enjoyed people-watching then headed to the Sun Deck where we had delicious margaritas and got some to-go food from nearby Sheerwater Restaurant. Both fairly expensive, but delicious! You have to try the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon! We were on a corner couch that had it's own gas fire-pit and a beautiful view up and down the beach while we watched the sunset. The cocktails run over $15 but they were well-mixed. We also found the gift shops carried bottles of house-wine and champagne for around $21, so when our friends showed up to have a drink with us, we went up to our room to share our wine which we had left to chill. The best part of our stay was the staff. From chambermaid, to elevator operator, to bartender, to gift shop clerks, to registration assistants, we were treated like royalty! We occasionally save up and splurge on a night at high-end hotels on a trip, but as obvious small town middle-class folk we are often treated like peasants that have somehow escaped their place. NOT at Hotel del Coronado! My ONLY suggestion is for the Sun Deck Bar to stay open after 8pm on summer nights. I wish I was there right now. Go--enjoy the history and the pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mamadog
LA, CA
Apr 18, 2011

The Del

It was a marvelous trip for my husband's birthday & because of that event we were upgraded to a balcony, oceanview room. And the Sunday brunch was to die for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savvy Foodie
Tucson, AZ
Aug 16, 2012

Great Getaway for Old-World Ambiance & Charm!

This was our second stay at Hotel Del Coronado. The first 3 nights was a booking mistake, having been given the impression that a "king" room would be spacious enough for the two of us. The king-size bed practically filled the room, and it was cramped. We had to upgrade to a suite, availability for which we were lucky to have beginning on our 4th night. Of course, it cost us a hefty sum for the upgrade, but it was all worth the expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurants (Italian, New American, Traditional American, and Japanese) are a very short walk from Hotel Del Coronado.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Az jockey
Glendale, AZ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great Couples Retreat

The ambience of the DEL is unbelieveable. The views are incredible. Well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top