Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Colonial Terrace Inn

3 stars
13th And San Antonio, Carmel, CA 93921
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Great value for comfortable, quiet Carmel visit

The location is perfect - close to the beach and to downtown Carmel. Service was excellent, room... See full review

  • srmn
  • Jun 30, 2014
Celebrating our 13th anniversary in Camel

We loved the Colonial Terrace Inn. Very nice room and so peaceful listening to the wave crash in... See full review

  • kfen
  • Sep 25, 2013
Welcome to The Colonial Terrace at Carmel by the Sea. One of Carmels original accommodations The Colonial Terrace sought out the peace and tranquility of the village neighborhood when it was built in 1925. The desire for a relaxing and natural setting found the inn just steps from the sand and yet just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants of the downtown village. Visitors are treated to the quiet calmness of a residential area with the ocean breezes and gentle roaring of the nearby sea. Visitors enjoy the inns 26 rooms each with its own warm personality and many offering views of the ocean. Newly renovated most rooms have fireplaces with many featuring connecting doors to larger suites for the provision of families. Rooms with whirlpool tubs kitchenettes and wet bars are also available. A continental breakfast including bagels croissants granola fresh baked pastries and fresh fruits and juices is served each morning in the comfort of the lobby. While you enjoy your plush terrycloth robes in the privacy of your own room fresh ground coffee makers and daily newspaper delivery to your door help to begin the day. Our collection of rooms and wonderful location provide the perfect retreat for couples and honeymooners as well as a getaway for families young people and adventurous souls seeking the romance and activities that the oceanfront and Carmel Village provide. Offering privacy and personal service our romantic inn is just one block from the beach and close to shopping while offering on site parking and the charm of a unique boutique property.

Colonial Terrace Inn Rooms

Deluxe
DLX Garden King - Charming and spacious accommodations featuring a king size bed full bath and fireplace. Rooms open up to our award winning gardens.
Suite
Carmelo Suite - This charming Suite offers a king size bed separate living/dining area kitchenette full bath and fireplace. This room offers a patio with partial ocean views through the Carmel Cypress trees.
Suite
Terrace Suite - This charming Suite offers a king size bed separate living room wet bar full bath and fireplace. This room has a private entrance and dramatic ocean vistas from both the living room and bedroom.
Suite
Colonial Suite-Our most spacious accommodations. The Colonial Suite offers a private ocean view balcony. Fireplace. Dining room. Full kitchenette. King bed. Full bath. Additional BD with full bed and additional bath.
Deluxe
DLX Garden View QQ - Two queen size beds fireplace wet bar full bath and garden view. Spacious and comfortable accommodations.
Standard
Ocean View Queen-Ocean breezes and the sound of crashing waves enter your room once you open the french doors that lead to your private balcony in this room. This room includes a full bath. Queen size bed. Fireplace and a private balcony with ocean views.
Standard
Courtyard King-Offer more space than our Standard Rooms and include a king bed. Fireplace and a shower or tub/shower. Some rooms are adjacent to patio area with outdoor seating and fireplace while others open into an attractive garden setting.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Courtyard Queen - Attractively decorated rooms include a queen bed fireplace and a shower or tub/shower. Some rooms are adjacent to patio area with outdoor seating and fireplace. Some have partial ocean views.
Standard
Ocean View King - Charming and spacious accomodations featuring a king size bed full bath fireplace and a fantastic view of the Pacific through the majestic Carmel Cypress Trees.
Suite
Carmel Point Suite-With a peek at things to come and a commitment to the future. Colonial Terrace Inn is pleased to introduce the newly renovated Carmel Point Suite. The new look includes a full bath remodel and an in room entertainment package upgrade.
Suite
San Antonio Suite-Fabulous views of Carmel Bay highlight these suites. Rroom includes a wetbar and sitting area. Some rooms provide full kitchenettes and a relaxing Whirlpool tub. Guests may request a room with balcony when available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - bed and breakfast
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Fire place
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colonial Terrace Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5464 -121.9278
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 8.00, MI, NE; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 79.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Colonial Terrace Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 7, 2008

New owners polishing a gem

THe grounds are always beautiful and provide a lovely setting to wander. There is new outdoor furniture to enjoy sitting just two blocks from the beach. The breakfast buffet has been upgraded dramatically from a tray of Danish pastries to include a variety of healthy options, calorie loads, and delicious tastes from granola, yogurt, fruit, pastries, eggs, sausage, and the usual accompaniments. The main lobby bears a display of the renovations that will be occurring in coming months. We spoke to the desk manager and learned that the rooms will be upgraded a few at a time. The rooms are varied in size but they are all comfortable and many have some special feature, like a fireplace, that makes them feel particularly cozy. The multiple house-like structures on the property make guests feel like they are staying in a very intimate bed and breakfast inn. The walk to town is lovely if you don't mind taking the time and it's a great way to work off the wonderful meals to be had in Carmel's exceptional restaurants. We have stayed at other excellent properties in Carmel but we keep returning to the Colonial Terrace Inn for the nice experience it offers us every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is two short blocks away and very accessible for morning and evening walks. It's often possible to hear the pounding surf from the rooms at night.

Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Travelor
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Lovely setting off the busy path

Very nice staff, beautiful garden setting, comfortable room, close enough to see and hear the ocean. near enough to down town Carmel without the busy traffic and noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PW
Encinitas, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Very great stay & such a great location!

We booked at the last minute for my sister-in-law's wedding, and really got a great deal. I was honestly sold on the complimentary Aveda products and the continental breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the king size bed was and the gorgeous architecture. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
srmn
New York, NY
Jun 30, 2014

Great value for comfortable, quiet Carmel visit

The location is perfect - close to the beach and to downtown Carmel. Service was excellent, room was perfect for us, and the grounds of the property have many lovely places to sit and enjoy the beautiful setting. Overall, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scouser
Las Vegas
May 8, 2012

Great Hotel

Perfect location for the town and beach , quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 7, 2008

New owners polishing a gem

THe grounds are always beautiful and provide a lovely setting to wander. There is new outdoor furniture to enjoy sitting just two blocks from the beach. The breakfast buffet has been upgraded dramatically from a tray of Danish pastries to include a variety of healthy options, calorie loads, and delicious tastes from granola, yogurt, fruit, pastries, eggs, sausage, and the usual accompaniments. The main lobby bears a display of the renovations that will be occurring in coming months. We spoke to the desk manager and learned that the rooms will be upgraded a few at a time. The rooms are varied in size but they are all comfortable and many have some special feature, like a fireplace, that makes them feel particularly cozy. The multiple house-like structures on the property make guests feel like they are staying in a very intimate bed and breakfast inn. The walk to town is lovely if you don't mind taking the time and it's a great way to work off the wonderful meals to be had in Carmel's exceptional restaurants. We have stayed at other excellent properties in Carmel but we keep returning to the Colonial Terrace Inn for the nice experience it offers us every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is two short blocks away and very accessible for morning and evening walks. It's often possible to hear the pounding surf from the rooms at night.

Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Luver
Leesburg ,VA
Feb 20, 2013

Trip down Rt 1

Fantastic!! Great place/location!! Beautiful gardens!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Em Le for breakfast!!

Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PW
Encinitas, CA
Nov 9, 2009

Very great stay & such a great location!

We booked at the last minute for my sister-in-law's wedding, and really got a great deal. I was honestly sold on the complimentary Aveda products and the continental breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the king size bed was and the gorgeous architecture. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kfen
Incline Village, NV
Sep 25, 2013

Celebrating our 13th anniversary in Camel

We loved the Colonial Terrace Inn. Very nice room and so peaceful listening to the wave crash in our ocean view room. Breakfast was good with a nice variety to choose from. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coach outlet store on the main strip had excellent prices. So surprised to find a great value in Carmel.

Review of Colonial Terrace Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Desert, Ca
Sep 13, 2009

We keep returning

We have been here before and enjoy the convenience to the ocean. The room #2 we have stayed both times is small but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and [...] was very accommodating at check in/out. The nearby City center has many good dining and shopping options that we enjoy as well. The breakfast buffet and afternoon tea in the comfortable lounge are appreciated. And the landscaped grounds are pleasant to look at and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top