Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Carmel Inn and Suites

3 stars
NE 5th & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93923
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
15 reviews
50 year wedding anniversery

The room was good, after upgrade to a suit. I thought I was getting a suit, but when I arrived it... See full review

  • baberuth69
  • Dec 25, 2013
Weekend trip

Fairly nice accomodations for the price. Helpful staff. See full review

  • Fiore
  • Jan 28, 2013
The Carmel Inn and Suites features twenty rooms and mini suites in a two story inn. There are eight suite on the ground floor and twelve units on the second floor. The upstairs suites are open and airy; many have views of Point Lobos and the ocean. Perfect for that romantic, getaway, such as a honeymoon or a weekend getaway. There are also family friendly rooms available, that will fit kids as well. All room furnishings feature the elegance and sophistication of the finest country inns. Fine European style furniture is tastefully coordinated with the custom-made comforters, pillow shams, dust ruffles, drapes and carpets complete the decor of these beautiful rooms.

Carmel Inn and Suites Rooms

Standard Room with One Bed
Room with one king or one queen bed includes inlaid marble with a shower tub combination. Cable color Televisions with remote controls, Showtime, ESPN, AM FM clock radios, telephones and hair dryers in the bathrooms. Non-smoking room. Bed type assigned upon check-in
King Suite
2 Room suite with One King Bed includes private bath of inlaid marble with a shower tub combination, wet bar, microwave, mini-refrigerator, Cable color Televisions with remote controls, Showtime, ESPN, AM FM clock radios, telephones and hair dryers in the bathrooms. Non smoking room

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carmel Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5571 -121.92
Area served
California
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Carmel Area - Local Art Galleries - Many fine artists in one area. Bike and Nature Trails - Breathtaking views of the area. Winery Tours - There are 35 Wineries in Monterey County. The Carmel Mission - Beautiful place to get married or just visit for the history! Scenic Carmel Valley - Take a nice day drive. The Monterey Bay Aquarium - Absolutely beautiful views of ocean wild life. Cannery Row - Shopping and Dining the whole family. Downtown Monterey - Go shopping and enjoy various entertainment activities. View Monarch Butterflies - View thousands of butterflies in their natural habitat.

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel serves a continental breakfast (8:30am-10pm) every morning in the cafe breakfast room and in the early evening (5pm-8pm, there is brandy served in the lobby. The Carmel areas has several eat dining options nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Carmel Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.7

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Two Islanders
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 21, 2012

Not recommended- A bad hotel

We paid an extra $20 for an upgrade to a suite in this hotel. Upon arrival, we were given the only room left, a tiny corner room (Room#1) not a suite. The staff denied making a mistake in accommodating the booking, saying we should learn a lesson in not book thru the internet again, and no refund. Too bad this beautiful city has such a shameful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dollphin824
Business
Santa Monica
Dec 1, 2012

GHASTLY environs and outrageous attitude of manager

I paid $145/nt for a king suite. I was given literally a hole in the wall (no. 27) in the back with one small window overlooking a staircase. The wallpaper was peeling in both the bedroom and bathroom. It was so dark I had to leave the door open to get light. It was filthy and dingy. Nails were in the walls where previous things had hung. A child dropped cereal on the hall carpet at 8 am and the mashed up remnants were still there at 9 pm. The trash can outside the room looked like birds had sh---t on it. I went to the manager and he said this company had made a mistake by putting suite on the reservation. Hard to believe! He made absolutely no attempt at rectifying the situation. I was had!! I took lots of pictures on my phone but don't know how to attach them :(. Trust me..they speak a million words.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Not a suite deal

Because we were celebrating our anniversary, we decided to stay in a suite. Big mistake.While it contained a small refrigerator, and microwave, these did not compensate for its major flaws. There were two very small closets, both in the living room portion of the suite.There was no table for card playing, dining, etc. There was no dresser in the bedroom, only two drawers in the TV armoire in the living room. There was no counter or storage space in the bathroom. We did not see a regular room, so cannot comment on their ammenities. The ataff was friendly, and tried to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a 10 minute walk of most restaurants in Carmel.

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Interesting Management

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Casanova for dinner - right down the street and it's fantastic.

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sweetspldbrat
Business
Elk Grove, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

never again

Hotel outside was beautiful.. inside hotel room. Looked nice, but carpets were old. Needed updated. Bathroom Was nice except the shower head was perfect for someone 6'2 but not short like 5'6. Wallpaper on walls was pealing off walls. Bed looked nice, but very uncomfortable. Probably will not recommend this place to friends or family. I feel like I was over charged to be unhappy in my rooms. I feel other motels/hotels that are cheaper probably had better rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a bunch of restaurants in walking distance.

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
5749
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2014

Great attempt

Great location, but even with the owners obvious efforts, the property is small, loud and has inadequate parking and no amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cali K
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Exceeded my expectations

I have been to Carmel many times, but this was my first time staying in this hotel. For the price, it was terrific. (less than $100/night for weekend nights). The location, right on the edge of downtown, and walking distance to many great restaurants, was probably the best aspect of my stay. No need to fight for a parking spot downtown during a holiday weekend! The room was cute, decorated with antique-style, ornate wood wardrobes and small dinette set. The bed was comfortable enough (I am picky about beds!). The bathroom and shower were nicely appointed. The room was pretty tiny, with tight spaces to maneuver when walking from one end to the other, thus my 3-star rating for room comfort. It was quiet and peaceful; I didn't hear any traffic noises from the street. The "breakfast" was little more than average coffee, OJ, and stale bread and danish, and some oranges, but it's better than nothing. The office and cleaning staff were very friendly and warm. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeenEverywhere007
Business
Monterey, CA
Oct 16, 2012

Better than the photos

The room was much nicer than the photos led us to believe. The location was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of top-class restaurants within a block or two. Don't miss Katy's for breakfast.

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Carefree
Business
SF
Dec 17, 2012

Close to downtown

walking distance from almost everything. The hotel was okay could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed

Very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the "Forge in the Forest" just across the street/

Back to menu Return to top