Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Talking Stick Resort

4 stars
9800 E Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
213 reviews
Vegas feel

It's was a great time room was awesome with wonderful views, and the whole atmosphere was great!... See full review

  • Jeepjeep
  • Dec 7, 2014
Great Resort!

Perfect resort for spring training. Really good food everywhere. See full review

  • sgg2411
  • Nov 22, 2014
For those 21 and over, Talking Stick Resort hosts the popular and crowd-pleasing Release Pool Parties at our main pool on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 am to 6 pm from April through September. If you prefer a quieter and family-friendly atmosphere, you can relax and unwind at our West Pool with its serene setting, crystal clear waters and Sonoran Desert views. Cabana Rental: 480-850-4350. Talking Stick Resort offers the luxuries of a resort while providing guests with options for unmatched entertainment. In addition to relaxing in one of the 497 Deluxe Executive Signature Club or Luxury guestrooms guests will enjoy several upscale amenities including a rejuvenating open-air spa eight world-class restaurants 10 entertainment lounges a 240000 square foot casino full-service pool and more than 100 000 square feet of indoor-outdoor function space. The most unique amenity of Talking Stick Resort is the 240 000 square feet of gaming that will offer over 900 slot machines and a VIP lounge. One of the Southwest s largest non-smoking poker rooms and more than 50 table games will include Blackjack 3-Card Poker and Let It Ride. Fast-action Keno will complete the gaming floor all of which will be available to guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Featuring eight restaurants Talking Stick Resort introduces Wandering Horse Buffet a multi-stationed international buffet the 24 hour Blue Coyote Cafe the Black Fig Bistro Shadows Cigar and Martini Bar the 19 seat Ocean Trail seafood bar and the Coffee Garden serving Pete s Coffee. The resort s most prized dining experience Orange Sky will be located on the 15th floor a high-end open air restaurant serving steak and seafood. Entertainment venues include 10 lounges, of which includes Talking Stick Resort s 750-seat showroom and 14th floor nightclub Degree 270 for the 30-something crowd. After soaking up the Arizona sun poolside guests can relax in the 13 000 square foot rejuvenation center The Spa at Talking Stick.

The hotel is 100% Smoke Free.

Talking Stick Resort Rooms

Deluxe - Room
Deluxe Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Comprised of distinct comfort and contemporary appointments, Talking Stick's commodious deluxe guestrooms exude the ambiance of the southwest with a modern flare.
Signature - Room
Signature guestrooms offer one king bed or two queen beds. Located primarily on the first and second floors, enjoy the euphoric desert air year round in one of talking sticks signature guestrooms featuring the solace of either a balcony or patio.
Club - Room
Club Room offers one king bed or two queen beds. Enticed by statuesque camelback and desert landscapes, Talking Stick Club guestrooms frame some of the east valleys most spectacular views on the 12th and 13th private floors. Include Breakfast (2) and Drink (4) vouchers.
Executive - King
Executive guestrooms offer one king bed. Strategically positioned on the north and south anchors of Talking Stick, Executive guestrooms have some of the most resplendent balcony views of either camelback or mcdowell mountains.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talking Stick Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.5386 -111.8657
Area served
Scottsdale, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix International - PHX.
Area description
Old Town Scottsdale, AZ.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's an annual corporate gathering for hundreds or a board meeting for a few, Talking Stick Resort can accommodate your needs with over 100,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and banquet space equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access, including the 25,000 square foot Salt River Grand Ballroom and over 11,000 square feet of prefunction space. We are able to accommodate groups of 2000 or an intimate dinner for 12, our events staff is ready and able to elevate your event to an unmatched level of hospitality offered at Talking Stick Resort.

Dining

Wandering Horse Buffet - Restaurant
Open 7am-10:30 am & 11am-3pm Mon-Sat; 4:30pm-9pm Sun-Thurs; 4:30pm-10pm Fri & Sat; 9am-3pm Sunday Brunch Enjoy our expansive international buffet offering indoor and outdoor seating featuring Italian, Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and American cuisines. The Wandering Horse buffet features live cooking stations, a fresh salad bar, a carving station, delectable desserts and a brick oven pizza kitchen. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM Wandering Horse Buffet Pricing: Breakfast - $9.95 Lunch - $13.95 Dinner Sunday thru Thursday - $20.95 Dinner Friday & Saturday $26.95 Sunday Brunch - $27.95
Orange Sky - Restaurant
Open late from 5pm daily. This culinary jewel is located on the 15th floor and boasts panoramic views of the McDowell Mountains. Diners can choose from a wide selection of wines by the glass, or a world class list of regional and reserve wines to complement your fine dining experience.
Blue Coyote Cafe - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An upscale, full-service restaurant offering American and Asian cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere. The diverse menu ranges from classic sandwiches to freshly prepared salads to dinner entrees. The Blue Coyote Cafe at Talking Stick Resort now offers a full sushi menu from 11:00am-10:00pm. Happy Hour Monday through Friday from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Select sushi rolls half off. Happy Hour: Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 7:00PM
Black Fig Bistro - Restaurant
Open 24 hours An express service upscale bistro for guests on the go serving homemade soups, fresh salads, specialty pizzas, and handcrafted sandwiches.
Ocean Trail - Restaurant
Open 11am-9pm Sunday-Thursday; 11am-11pm Friday & Saturday With its azure lighting and its exclusive 19-seat bar, Ocean Trail is the ultimate in sophisticated dining. Specialties include traditional Creole cuisine, such as steamers, raw oysters, Cajun style boils and spicy gumbo. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Shadows - Lounge
Open 2 pm to 2 am An 'old school' venue with a contemporary southwestern feel, highlighting the classic sounds of Frank Sinatra and Big Band with ambient indoor and patio seating. The Shadows Lounge features a variety of specialty martinis and cocktails along with a selection of fine cigars. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Palo Verde - Lounge
Open 8 am to 2 am Located on the casino level, this lounge offers a striking view of the pool area. Its serene atmosphere and central location make it a great place to relax, enjoy a few cocktails and meet up with friends. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Players Sports Bar
Open 6 am to 2 am Come watch the multitude of games and sports playing on our plasma screens, and play a little Keno or slots as you enjoy your favorite selections of cocktails and ice cold beers. Happy Hour: Monday through Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Degree 270 - Lounge
Open 8 pm to 2 am Thursday - Saturday Located on the 14th floor, this chic lounge offers live entertainment coupled with fantastic views of the Arizona desert and Camelback Mountain.
Coffee Garden
Open 6am to 9pm As you enter the garden level of Talking Stick Resort, your senses will be overwhelmed by the aroma of fresh brewed coffee and just baked pastries. The Coffee Garden features gourmet roasted coffees and hand selected teas by Peet's Coffee & Tea, and also offers specialty espresso drinks, gelato, and decadent desserts. NEW! - Dueling Pianos performing in the Coffee Garden every Friday and Saturday from 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm. Performances are free to guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Talking Stick Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 213
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
awesome rich
Business
California
Oct 18, 2014

great

Stafg very friendly. Room very clean. Buffet is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyRay
Business
Oakland, Ca
Oct 6, 2014

Great hotel, great price

The room was clean, service excellent. I would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
staythirsty
Business
Norwalk, CT
Aug 6, 2014

Your staying at a casino that also has hotel rooms

Has all the warmth of a igloo. Your check in is at a small area on the casino floor. After you must roll your bags across the casino a long way to get to a security check to use the elevators. Room was very nice after the 3rd room switch. 1st room which I was told I was going to enjoy, had a view of a utility shack and dirt. I then asked for a pool view and agreed to pay an upgrade fee. I was put on the ground floor and the room was as dark as a bat cave even with the blinds wide open and all the lights on. There was no way I could be in that room for 2 nights, especially because I needed to use the desk for work. I requested a switch again and got a room that had a partial view of the pool and a view of the roof top of the convention center portion of the hotel. Nothing attractive to look at but at least not offensive and was very bright because it was on a corner. I got a phone call about 10 minutes after the 3rd room switch and I thought well at least their asking if I was ok with the new room and apologizing for my having to take almost 1 hr to find a decent room but no - they called to ask me if I took the gross decorative sheet that they drape across the bottom of the bed which never gets washed! I asked them if they were kidding me and also, who would want that thing, let alone even want to touch it? They never asked how my new room was and just phonily accepted that I didn't take the gross Ying Yang designed bed drape. Wow, that made me feel welcome. How about a $50 credit to the casino as an apology for their putting me in lousy rooms in the first place? The pool area, which seemed to be so great in the photos, was very detached from the hotel. You needed to take the elevators below the main level to what feels like a basement level and walk out locked doors and proceed across a baron cement area to another security key locked gate to enter the sterile pool area. After a couple of laps and sitting by the pool I realized it was actually better hanging out back in my room with the convention center view. Half the place was under construction, with the exception of the roof top restaurant, which I didn't visit although I hear it is nice but very expensive. All the food court style places seemed unpleasant, so I had to get in my car and drive to in-and-out to grab some fun food to eat. There are so many hotels in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area that are great...I suggest trying another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sweet Republic Ice cream in Phoenix. Home made, seen on Food Network, very friendly, delicious flavors, worth the short drive.

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meteoritehunter
Business
tucson, arizona
Jul 15, 2014

Nice, but smoky in casino, bad view of roofttop

I stayed here just for a night, very nice, but my room while nice, overlooked a blinding white rooftop (5th floor). I also nearly broke my leg on a stupid large wooden chest/bench at end of bed, right at knee hight and dark black, so impossible to see and very very sharp edges. In my opinion not really smart to put at end of bed in center of the room, perfect to injure guests in the darkness of a hotel room. Cpffee maker very nice Kuerig , but no stir stick! had to stir my coffee with a toothbrush. small details are important people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristel the busy Realtor
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 20, 2014

Tranquility

Very quiet room with peaceful ambiance. Comfortable bedding and a tasteful color scheme. The room lighting was too dim for my taste and the lack of power near the night stand did not work well for my needs. An average stay with no real flaws other than a late room cleaning which was disruptive to my schedule. I would consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudolph07
Business
Tulsa, OK
Dec 12, 2013

Quick Stay

I came to stay at the hotel for one night. The room was large and clean. The bedding was extremely comfortable and the view was amazing. I wish it was warmer the pool looked amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hard guy
Business
Scottsdale arizona
Nov 27, 2013

working trip

very clean and well designed. Good access to the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

my wife enjoyed the Scottsdale mall

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mahesh697
Business
CT
Oct 13, 2013

Great getaway

Good for both casual and business getaways. will come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redcarpet wecome DSAGSfgd
Business
NJ
Oct 1, 2013

Very Good

Everything was very good. littlebit noisy otherwise i have no complains. Valley parking was very convenient and flawless. Employees are very cooperative and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Littlebit noisy

Review of Talking Stick Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidTucson
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 28, 2013

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel and casino in Phoenix. Easy to get to. Room was large and clean, very quiet. Casino was nice although a bit cramped. Very nice restaurants and cigar/sports bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Room prices on the hotel's web site were not the cheapest by far. Best to use a consolidator's web site.

Back to menu Return to top