Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

2 stars
View map of 402 W. Van Buren St., 402 W. Van Buren St., Phoenix, AZ 85003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Apr 12, 2011

this hotel is really good

clean, free wifi, this is a really good hotel and locatted in a very convient place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Mar 29, 2011

nice and clean

nice clean room, had a microwave and fridge which was neat. love the shower, really good pressure. would stay there again if i am back in the area. Very close to the sky harbor airport but nothing is within walkable distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Great location, bad unhelpful service

Great location! Near many venues and couple of blocks away from many restaurants. Also, good area and close by to walk to all these places. The looks of the hotel are not great since it has a gate that might letyou know bad things can happen. However, inside the locked room it's a good place for the money. Unfortunately, the service or I should say the front desk offers bad , unfriendly and unhelpful service to customers. The cleaning of the rooms prove to be really bad as You have to work with their schedule ad not the other way around. If they , on your request, have skipped your room, it will not be clean. Even the manager acknowledged that the cleaning staff had passed by my room and they won't come back. Which hotel asks you to work with the cleaning staff scheduled? It's ridiculous that the manager asks this of their customers. It sucks to have to clean your own room at a hotel. Remember , work with their schedule!! If not, you will be cleaning your own room. Shameful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZtrvlr
Business
Everett, WA
Mar 18, 2011

Clean, Cheap, and Quiet!

Very clean and well-kept property. Everything you read online is right on the money. The rooms are fresh and the rate for a downtown hotel is just unbeatable! By the way... this is NOT a scary neighborhood in Phoenix, trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

1st St. and McKinley is Matt's Big Breakfast. Absolutely worth the wait. Best breakfast in Phoenix, bar none. Everything is fantastic!

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Mar 6, 2011

A great place to stay

My co-worker & I went to Phoenix for the Western Regional Dental Convention and this is the third year we have stayed at the Budget Lodge. It is close to the convention center and offers nice rooms at a reasonable price. The owners/managers even remember us from year to year. I highly recommend the Budget Lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin TX
Mar 2, 2011

Great room [...]

Our Budget Lodge room had the appearance of being newly remodeled, especially the bathroom. The tile and grout were clean and in perfect shape with none of the wear and tear of most motels. The commode flushed strongly. The fridge and microwave worked well, a real asset for a 4-night stay. The only problem was at check-in when the clerk asked for my AAA card. [...] Without an AAA card the rate was $50/night, still a bargain for downtown Phoenix. I would recommend the Budget Lodge to anyone (no pets allowed)[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining close to the Budget Lodge is near non-existent. A Mac Donalds is two blocks away, but good dining requires a 15 minute walk to the Phoenix Center on Van Buren and 3rd St.

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobara
Business
PV, AZ
Feb 28, 2011

Surprisingly clean room

The room was spotless. I've never stayed in such a clean hotel room. Everything was adequate for a stay of only 1 night. Had a microwave oven and small refrigerator. Internet was free, but a little slow. Price was very low; I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Feb 27, 2011

satisfied

satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convention center

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC suburbs
Feb 26, 2011

A Very Pleasant Surprise!

I needed a reasonably-priced hotel for a night and was emboldened by the reviews I had read to book a room at the Budget Lodge. A good room at such a low rate seemed too good to be true, but I was happily surprised. The place is immaculate...and believe me, I looked closely! It was quiet at night, too. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grand Canyon Hikers
Business
California
Feb 14, 2011

Excellent little (M)Hotel

We just stayed at Budget Lodge Phoenix in preparation of our Grand Canyon - Hike and we really liked it there. The moment we checked it we received a really nice welcome and everything was taken care of. The room itself was 100% clean and tidy, in particular the bathroom and shower facilities. About 5 minutes walk and you are in downtown Phoenix...was else could you wish for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top