Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

2 stars
402 W. Van Buren St., 402 W. Van Buren St., Phoenix, AZ 85003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Absolutely great value

I booked in here based on ratings and am happy I did. This is the absolute best value in downtown... See full review

  • stephanie47
  • Mar 9, 2014
Wonderful & the price cannot be beat

I was in Phoenix to attend a convention. The convention housing was sold out. This place is walking... See full review

  • June Hotel Review
  • Nov 21, 2013
Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, you will find our motel ideally located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix. Where You will feel At Home. Our rooms are comfortable and spacious, which make your stay pleasurable in Phoenix. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast, 24 Hour Front Desk Service, and Free Parking. Please note that government and corporate reservations cannot be honored at check-in without a valid ID.

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Rooms

One King Bed Non-Smoking
This one king bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer.
One King Bed Smoking
This one king bed smoking room will hold up to 2 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer
Two Double Beds Non-Smoki
This two double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.4517 -112.0793
Area served
Located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Deer Valley Airport, (DVT), 16.00, MI, S; Sky Harbor Intl, (PHX), 7.00, MI, SE; Scottsdale Municipal, (SCF), 18.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.8 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.9 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 6 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Papago Park: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.4 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.9 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.1 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 11.9 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,994.9 mi

Dining

Alice Cooperstown
Nearby
Applebees
Nearby
Copper Square Cafe
Nearby
Hooters
Nearby
IHOP
Nearby
Burger King
Nearby
Macayos Mexican Kitchen
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Mar 6, 2011

A great place to stay

My co-worker & I went to Phoenix for the Western Regional Dental Convention and this is the third year we have stayed at the Budget Lodge. It is close to the convention center and offers nice rooms at a reasonable price. The owners/managers even remember us from year to year. I highly recommend the Budget Lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin TX
Mar 2, 2011

Great room [...]

Our Budget Lodge room had the appearance of being newly remodeled, especially the bathroom. The tile and grout were clean and in perfect shape with none of the wear and tear of most motels. The commode flushed strongly. The fridge and microwave worked well, a real asset for a 4-night stay. The only problem was at check-in when the clerk asked for my AAA card. [...] Without an AAA card the rate was $50/night, still a bargain for downtown Phoenix. I would recommend the Budget Lodge to anyone (no pets allowed)[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining close to the Budget Lodge is near non-existent. A Mac Donalds is two blocks away, but good dining requires a 15 minute walk to the Phoenix Center on Van Buren and 3rd St.

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobara
Business
PV, AZ
Feb 28, 2011

Surprisingly clean room

The room was spotless. I've never stayed in such a clean hotel room. Everything was adequate for a stay of only 1 night. Had a microwave oven and small refrigerator. Internet was free, but a little slow. Price was very low; I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
Feb 27, 2011

satisfied

satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

convention center

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC suburbs
Feb 26, 2011

A Very Pleasant Surprise!

I needed a reasonably-priced hotel for a night and was emboldened by the reviews I had read to book a room at the Budget Lodge. A good room at such a low rate seemed too good to be true, but I was happily surprised. The place is immaculate...and believe me, I looked closely! It was quiet at night, too. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grand Canyon Hikers
Business
California
Feb 14, 2011

Excellent little (M)Hotel

We just stayed at Budget Lodge Phoenix in preparation of our Grand Canyon - Hike and we really liked it there. The moment we checked it we received a really nice welcome and everything was taken care of. The room itself was 100% clean and tidy, in particular the bathroom and shower facilities. About 5 minutes walk and you are in downtown Phoenix...was else could you wish for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, new york
Feb 11, 2011

A Great Place to Stay

From the outside, the hotel is not spectacular. But this is a great place. The rooms are very clean, all amenities are provided, and the staff is professional, polite, and friendly. Getting to the airport from this location is very easy. There is a small shopping district nearby with places to eat. I recommend this hotel very highly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Feb 10, 2011

Excellent, clean value

I stayed at the Budget-Lodge Phoenix while on a 2-day business trip from my home in Tucson. The facility was well located, squeaky clean, quiet, and the management was friendly and helpful. I recommend Budget-Lodge Phoenix without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, AL
Jan 15, 2011

Superb choice for budget-minded traveler

I read great things about the Budget Lodge prior to my trip, and I was not disappointed. It is a very well-maintained, family-owned/operated hotel. The staff was super friendly, the facility was in great condition, and the room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was meager (coffee, OJ, bananas, and donuts), but satisfactory for a cheaply priced hotel. The neighborhood isn't the greatest (lots of homeless people wandering around at all hours), but the hotel itself seems pretty secure (no access to interior or exterior rooms without a key card). For the price compared to other hotels in the area, the Budget Lodge can't be beat! I strongly recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Snowflake,AZ
Jan 14, 2011

simple and pleasant

This is a nice clean no frills hotel,great if you are just looking for a place to rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top