Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
63 reviews
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 2, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
On Our Way to San Jose
Houston
Jul 10, 2013

Reasonable

Worth the price. Nice laundry room available. Room was reasonably clean. The air conditioner was a little loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Grad trip with kid
Arizona
Jun 19, 2013

College Orientation Trip

This hotel was basic but great. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. Staff was available and quick. This was very very close to NAU which is why we were in Flagstaff. The only reason I didn't rate comfort a 5 was had difficulties setting the air conditioning,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
harold2013
NJ
Jun 5, 2013

Good location and room very clean

It was worthy for the price I had paid. The hotel is close to the old downtown. A lot of good restaurants there. The room was kep very well and was very clean. The beds are very confortable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is near old downtown. A lot of bars/restaurants there.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
TJVT
Montgomery, VT
May 29, 2013

Basic motel

Spent only one night. Hotel was full, fair amount of noise from road and other guests came into room. Room itself has seen better days - significant number of stains/burn marks on carpet and furniture, odd (not unpleasant) smell in room. (But bed linens and bath seemed clean.) All the basics were okay - water temp and pressure in shower, WiFi, good cable channel line-up, fridge and microwave in room, etc. Booked based on price and location - plenty of other similar motels in area probably just as good or better if the price is less. I wouldn't want to spend several nights here, but perfectly adequate for a one night stopover while traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Las Vegas travellers
Las Vegas
May 25, 2013

Touring Grand Canyon & Sedona

Friendly front desk staff made our arrival and check-in pleasant. Our room (220) was clean and ready. The restaurants and Safeway are a stone's throw away and so is the Lowell Observatory. We stayed for two nights and we couldn't be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
Central NM Traveller
Central New Mexico
May 1, 2013

Birthday Trip

My husband and I drove to the Grand Canyon for my 40th birthday. Quick three night trip. We chose to stay in Flagstaff because there are more things to do than in Williams once the day trip to the Grand Canyon is done. Glad we did! This hotel was very clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be how hard it was to get out of the parking lot on a busy week day morning. It is located on the corner of a very busy intersection. Very close to the Lowell Observatory (highly recommended) and close access to the freeway but far enough way to not hear the traffic at night. We would definitely choose this hotel again on our next trip through Flagstaff. Walking distance to the Flagstaff visitor's center and historic downtown. Also walking distance to a few great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lowell Observatory is just a little over a mile up the hill from this hotel. It is well worth the stop. The Museum of Northern Arizona is a little over 3 miles way. Beautiful, well designed museum.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
STDK Mom
Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

Good value

Nice clean room, helpful staff, good location. Nothing fancy but good value for the money. Only negative is that we had a nonsmoking room and the sheets have cigarette holes in them. They didn't smell but obviously they use smoking sheets in nonsmoking rooms. Other then that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
ColoradoKat343
Colorado
Mar 26, 2013

Great Value, Super Clean

We stayed one night on 3/24/13. Got in late but were appreciative that the person who checked us in was gracious and friendly. The room was sparse, BUT was SUPER clean, had a microwave and fridge. No frills, but we slept comfortably and it was very quiet. We will definitely stay again when back in Flagstaff. Thank you for offering such a great room for such a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
Traveler Sixtyfour
DeKalb, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Clean convenient

This little motel is very clean, the staff is very pleasant and it very convenient to the Flagstaff train station. It's nothing fancy but well worth the money for a no frills place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
NAUmom
San Francisco, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Wintry Flagstaff

We were in Flagstaff helping our child settling into the spring NAU semester. The Highland County inn was well situated and comfortable, even with the below-zero Jan. temperatures. We have stayed at the HCI previously however on this visit, both the cable TV and wifi internet access experienced significant down times. The latter particularly presented difficulties as I am selfemployed and rely on Internet content and contact with my customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top