Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
69 reviews
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 2, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hiwayomo
Reno, NV
Nov 23, 2013

Flagstaff trip

This was a good experience; room was CLEAN, comfortable and quiet. Plenty of hot water. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Across the street is a Natural Grocers store, so it's easy to pickup any forgotten items, etc. The location is good for getting to other parts of town. Too bad there isn't a coffee maker in the room - but that would be my biggest complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerryN
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Oct 15, 2013

A nice clean place to stay overnight

The staff were helpful and the room was extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KS Copperhead
Lawrence KS
Sep 28, 2013

Highly Recommended

This is the cleanest motel room I have ever stayed in! And, the room was quiet in spite of the fact that it is located at a busy intersection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azjosh
az
Sep 15, 2013

Highway 66 downtown

Great place to be downtown, close to all the good places to eat and drink, can't beat the price here, clean rooms good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alpha & omega Greek food place has a SWEET breakfast menu that is some of the best breakfast around!

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in Flagstaff
Charlotte, NC
Sep 2, 2013

Excellent Value

Best thing: rather than having 1 wireless router, they set up 4 routers throughout the fairly small facility so that every room can get great wireless reception. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was an excellent value and my wife and I are very happy with this choice. It was an easy walk to nightlife, such as Beaver St Brewery, and it is right beside an organic grocery store. Neighborhood felt safe too. There were women by themselves walking or on bikes, which is usually a indicator that it's safe. The rooms came with mini-fridges too. The only improvement I would suggest for management is to invest in softer beds. Otherwise a wonderful value and I will definitely go back next time we visit Flagstaff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaver Street Tavern

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Hobos
Livermore Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

GREAT VALUE

Hotel was clean, room was nice, and staff was great. Excellent stay for budget travelors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Our Way to San Jose
Houston
Jul 10, 2013

Reasonable

Worth the price. Nice laundry room available. Room was reasonably clean. The air conditioner was a little loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad trip with kid
Arizona
Jun 19, 2013

College Orientation Trip

This hotel was basic but great. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. Staff was available and quick. This was very very close to NAU which is why we were in Flagstaff. The only reason I didn't rate comfort a 5 was had difficulties setting the air conditioning,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
harold2013
NJ
Jun 5, 2013

Good location and room very clean

It was worthy for the price I had paid. The hotel is close to the old downtown. A lot of good restaurants there. The room was kep very well and was very clean. The beds are very confortable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is near old downtown. A lot of bars/restaurants there.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJVT
Montgomery, VT
May 29, 2013

Basic motel

Spent only one night. Hotel was full, fair amount of noise from road and other guests came into room. Room itself has seen better days - significant number of stains/burn marks on carpet and furniture, odd (not unpleasant) smell in room. (But bed linens and bath seemed clean.) All the basics were okay - water temp and pressure in shower, WiFi, good cable channel line-up, fridge and microwave in room, etc. Booked based on price and location - plenty of other similar motels in area probably just as good or better if the price is less. I wouldn't want to spend several nights here, but perfectly adequate for a one night stopover while traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top