Rate based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Carefree Resort and Conference Center

4 stars
37220 Mule Train Road, PO Box 3500, Carefree, AZ 85377
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
103 reviews
Great place to relax.

I was there for a conference. Had a few problems but the staff took care of it right away. The food... See full review

  • Husker21
  • Jul 15, 2014
GREAT LOCATION!!!

If you go out to the clubs at night, the shuttle provides a great service and it's safe. It gets... See full review

  • MARI SUPER WIFE
  • Oct 21, 2013
Carefree Resort & Conference Center's 218 guest room accommodations envelope you in architectural elements that celebrate the Sonoran Desert and the tropical oasis of the Resort's lush setting. Choose from our brand new luxurious Carefree Suites or our oversized Resort and Premier Rooms, with beautiful views of the natural desert surroundings. Carefree Resort has an array of accommodation options to fit every guest's need. Enjoy traditional, innovative cuisine including thick, juicy steaks and succulent seafood dishes at The Lariat restaurant, or cozy up to a warm lounge setting with signature cocktails in the Lounge. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, The Lariat takes your dining experience to the next level with a warm ambiance and panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Outdoor dining is also offered on the Sunset Terrace, which overlooks the Resort's Serenity Pool and Botanical Garden. The Carefree Resort offers a variety of recreation services to cater to your individual needs. Enjoy six renovated treatment rooms in our full service spa, private locker and steam rooms, and services such as massages, facials, and body polishes to revitalize you from head to toe. Want a more active vacation? The Carefree Resort offers 5 outdoor lighted championship tennis courts, a tennis pro shop and our very own USPTA 1 Director of Tennis. Although the Carefree Resort does not have golf on-site, our golf pro can arrange discounted tee times at one of the many area courses. Our Concierge can also assist with a variety of other recreation, from hot air balloon rides to horseback riding. Bikes and motorized Scooters are also available for Carefree Resort's guests to use during their visit.

Carefree Resort and Conference Center Rooms

Premier Resort King Rooms
1 king bed with premium bedding and triple sheeting. Balcony or patio with views of golf course, desert, or garden. 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access and weekday newspapers. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Functional window. Non-smoking room.
Resort Room
2 queen beds with premium bedding. Triple sheeting 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Complimentary weekday newspapers. Refrigerator and microwave (on request)and coffee/tea maker. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Non-smoking room.
Premier Resort Rooms
2 queen beds with premium bedding and triple sheeting. Balcony or patio with views of golf course, desert, or garden. 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access and weekday newspapers. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Functional window. Non-smoking room.
Carefree 1 Bedroom Suite - 1 King Bed
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 1 Bedroom King Suite includes a separate oversized King bedroom and upgraded bathroom with dual sinks, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.
Carefree 2 Bedroom Suite
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 2 Bedroom Suite includes a separate oversized King bedroom and 2 Doubles bedroom, 3 full bathrooms, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.
Carefree 1 Bedroom Suite - 2 Double Beds
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 1 Bedroom 2 Doubles Suite includes a separate bedroom with 2 Double beds, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Resort and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8223 -111.9086
Area served
Carefree, Cave Creek, Scottsdale
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX): Approximate driving time is 40 minutes and distance is 36 miles.
Area description
Tucked in the scenic foothills of the Sonoran Desert just North of Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport and Scottsdale lies the aptly named Carefree Resort & Conference Center. At this desert gem, guests can embrace the Southwestern lifestyle in total relaxation. Situated on 23 acres peppered with desert wildflowers, towering Saguaro, Giant Ocotillo, and Prickly Pear Cacti, Carefree Resort & Conference Center is an authentic Southwestern retreat for those in need of rest and relaxation.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Carefree Resort & Conference Center reflects meeting expertise in its design. Seventeen versatile meeting rooms and a variety of outdoor options, from small conference suites to our legendary 11,000 sqft Opera House, allow us to offer you the most appropriate and inspiring setting for every program. The Resort's entire staff exemplifies our commitment to helping you achieve your meeting goals. When every detail of your meeting is perfect, you leave feeling more on target to meet your goals.

Dining

Lariat Restaurant and Lounge
Enjoy traditional, innovative cuisine including thick, juicy steaks and succulent seafood dishes at The Lariat restaurant, or cozy up to a warm lounge setting with signature cocktails in the Lounge. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, The Lariat takes your dining experience to the next level with a warm ambiance and panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Outdoor dining is also offered on the Sunset Terrace, which overlooks the Resort's Serenity Pool and Botanical Garden. Full service restaurant and lounge serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nacnudj
Business
Nashville
Feb 20, 2014

Additional charges showed up at time of check out

They charged me an additional $50 for "resort fees" when I checked out. I can't find any mention of them on my reservation or reciept. This may have been on the papers they had me initial and sign at check in, but if it was it should have been pointed out, I didn't see it, but who reads all the small print. They asked for a credit card, but stated it was for "incidentals". The fee was supposed to have covered resort services, valet, business office, parking and the pool. We didn't use any except the parking, and it wasn't controled or marked as hotel only, so anyone could have parked there for free. The place was nice, but unexpected charges are bad business. When I complained I was given a business card suggesting I post a comment on a traveler advisor site (system won't let me state the name, but it is well known) -- they weren't even listed there. Poorly run business! Do not recommend hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Windwalker private horseback riding. Not a nose to tail trail ride, it was a special adventure tailored to the skill level and desire of the riders. They picked us up at the hotel with the horses in the trailer and we drove 10 minutes into the desert then had a great 2 1/2 hour ride. +++

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregrrrrrr
Business
Phoenix
Aug 20, 2012

Disappointing

The good- Cheery staff Nice pool and outdoor areas Low price - summer rates Spacious room The bad- Room was very noisy- We think it was the ice maker a few doors down that transmitted it's nasty vibes through the floor Refrigerator had food from previous guest. Trash left in wastebaskets. The so-so- Room was very poorly lit. Regular tub/shower - should be better for a "4 star resort" Pool was totally dark during pool hours. Amazing they're not concerned about someone drowning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spotted Donkey at El Pedregal has great food.

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SuefromSF
Business
San Francisco
Mar 26, 2013

RUN ... RUN FAR AND FAST

My experience was 100% horrible and I am not a drama queen. This hotel RUINED my vacation. I arrived, to get a room on the back side; overlooking the parking lot and it was in desperate need of updating. Water leak stains on the ceiling. dark and dingy and very depressing. The next morning I realized the toilet wasn't working. An engineer came & something was stuck and a full removal was in need. So, we called the front desk and they couldn't move me - they were booked. I agreed to leave the room (for 5 to 6 hours) so they could do their work. As the engineer left, he dragged the tools that were just in the toilet along the carpet. Are you kidding? Do you know where that has been? Now, I fear human waste has just been dragged along the carpet. I also ask to have the carpet cleaned. I leave to come back to realize nothing had been done. So, I start from scratch calling the front desk, again. No one seems to know of my problem. I explain that there is likely feces on the carpet and I insist on being moved. I had packed my bags and was sitting outside in a chair. Somehow after arguing they finally found another room for me. Why should I have to argue about this? The next evening I called, Teri and front desk manager to complain and the above situation and that by 5:30pm the cleaning crew hadn't come to clean the new room. Teri sent the cleaning crew and apologized that they were late but the general manager never called me. This is totally unacceptable. It was absolutely 100% awful. Motel 6 would have been better. Really, a clean room with a functional toilet isn't too much to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Town was a lot of run

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roadrunner1402
Business
Lake Tahoe
Oct 11, 2013

Nasty

Nasty sheets, with unwashed blood stains, lots of other unknown body fluid stains, and a horribly dingy yellow color. Things are not open the hours they claim that they are open, pool, etc. Unbelievably little lighting, with 3 dingy 40 watt bulbs to cover a rather large room-couldnt even read by that lighting- I had to go out to the store and buy my own light bulbs. Nasty, Nasty place. Horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rattlesnake
Business
Ontario
Nov 2, 2011

Carefree Arizona Resort

We stayed 4 nights here. Orbitz got us a supposedly good rate in a recently remodeled room. Both sinks were cracked and had been so for years. The special location we got was near a smelly and noisy garbage and facilty trucking entrance. Some of the gardens were great as was the pool. It was clear that there was a lot of almost derelict units on the larger property. The front desk staff seemed uninterested in moving us away from the garbage smell since we came with a discount package. On balance an OK place but not special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lalapalooza
Business
arizona
Mar 6, 2012

camping with bad coffee

Well, we were close to where we needed to be. Wolfgang pucks coffe had no aroma and no taset There was no wifi, no hair dryer, no microwave, no refrig., a bad walk from the parking lot.and no fan in the bathroom. We only needed to bathe and sleep there as we were working, but the showerhead suited the coffee. Oh right, the cleaning wasn't good either. Sorry, we aren' usually too picky, but this wasn't a good thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Partyof6
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Wonderful location...not so wonderful accommodations

The hotel is in a wonderful location but the resort is lacking. No service at the pool. No DVD player or movies on demand. We stayed there for 1 week. Our beds were made daily but the bathroom was never cleaned. The staff is very friendly though but it is lacking. We would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CLD6049
Business
Huntley,IL
Nov 5, 2013

Just fine

I was expecting four stars to be nicer. Everything was just fine but nothing was outstanding. Overall the room was spacious but dark and dated. The staff was friendly. The food too was just fine. As I said It was just expecting four stars to be great or exceptional not just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BDNPRESCOTT
Business
Prescott, AZ
Apr 24, 2011

Carefree Weekend

Should have believed the review that said this hotel has seen it's better days....the area where the hotel is located is beautiful! But the hotel & rooms are in need of some major renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of choices for restaurants in Carefree & Cave Creek. Check out Cave Creek Regional Park for hiking & activities at the nature center; October - end of April.

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Worth
Oct 25, 2008

My review of Carefree Resort & Villas

The staff at the Carefree Inn was neither helpful nor friendly. The desk clerk was quite abrupt during my check-in. Since I was there on for business, my bags were quite heavy with my laptop, scanner, printer, etc. Since I wasn't using the valet parking, I had to carry my own bags. After I'd moved them from the parking lot to the door...alone, I was allowed to borrow one of their carts to move them the rest of the way. On the way to my room, I encountered an extremely steep ramp & knew I could not manage the cart alone. I went back to the lobby/valet area and finally found a young man to help me down the ramp....he almost fell himself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a number of golf courses in the area.

Back to menu Return to top