Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
2024 4th Avenue South, 2024 4TH AVENUE SOUTH, Birmingham, AL 35233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Great stay!

We loved every moment of it! If your looking for comfort, professionalism, and class this is a... See full review

  • Out o Towners
  • Jul 14, 2014
Good value for dollar...but find your own free/lower cost parking

Be sure you have the right location...the property is relatively new - and my GPS system couldn't... See full review

  • ClockingTheMiles
  • Apr 6, 2013
Down-home comforts and conveniences at downtown hotel

Welcome to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown by Marriott, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary use of heated indoor pool and Stay Fit fitness center with Life Fitness cardiovascular equipment
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Discounted on-site parking
  • Transportation available to area hospitals
Rooms
The 150 rooms in SpringHill Suites Birmingham all feature signature Grand beds and 42-inch flat-screen televisions that easily integrate with other communications devices and laptops. Large work desks with Plug Panel and two phones (one cordless) keep business travelers connected. Rooms at the SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown are generously outfitted with a Cozy Corner sleeper sofa, separate living space, radio with MP-3 player connection, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, makeup/shaving mirror, coffee-maker and mini refrigerator. Bathrooms boast granite countertops and Aquafresh Extreme Clean amenities.
Features
Guests of the SpringHill Suites Birmingham have all-hours access to tasty meals at the Guest Kitchen, which serves made-to-order meals and a complimentary continental breakfast daily. The Bakery Cafe in the lobby serves Starbucks coffees, premium beer and wine and features a "grab 'n go" case of snacks, sandwiches and bottled water.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Attractions
  • McWane Science Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Center (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Highland Park Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Birmingham Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Complimentary in-room Internet service
  • Offers 1,600 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 150
  • A 24-hour business center with free computers and printers

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.5093 -86.8017
Area served
Downtown Birmingham
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport, (BHM), 7.20, MI, SW; Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 150.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheer Traveler
Bruceton, TN
Mar 14, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We were there for a Cheer competition, it said Downtown so we expected a better neighborhood but it was very rundown. We picked it because it had an indoor pool but the website had no photos so we were disappointed in the size of it once we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MPwhite
Atlanta
Feb 17, 2014

Nice hotel that needs better management

This hotel is actually very nice. The parking situation is different with the garage being next door so not the most convenient, but workable. The problem is that there were no rooms available for check in at check in time and there was no manager available to complain to. The individuals doing check in did their best, but there's no excuse for 60 people to have to write their name on a list in order to check in for previously paid for and reserved rooms. Unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
Mar 11, 2011

Modern hotel, not great location

Good hotel if you don't mind walking around, but I wouldn't recommend this city to visit. Nothing to do except eat...we wish we would have skipped this city and spent more time in Savannah. Hotel was very nice, just a bit of walk (about a mile) to "Five Points" where all the restaurants were. Heated indoor pool (not heated enough for me), but no jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

House of Pancakes for breakfast. Rather pricey for breakfast ($15 per person), but the food and coffee were really good. I got the Pecan Waffle; delicious.

Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodberry
Baltimore
Oct 10, 2010

average

For such a "fancy place" I would have expected airport transportation, such as a shuttle bus. The cab fare was $20!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Nov 16, 2010

Hyatt Place Downtown Birmingham

The room was wonderful, very clean, nice amenities, however the service was very slow. I'm not saying that the employees didn't want to help, they did. But there simply weren't enough of them. The front desk clerks also had to take drink orders, deal with customer service issues, make pastries, etc...it simply overwhelmed them. Management needs to consider adding an additional person per shift...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you plan ahead, you will have to drive some distance to find anything interesting to do unless you are a golf fanatic or history buff...

Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
May 25, 2011

Nice Room awfuil lobby

The room was amazing. The lobby is plain and boring. Great Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler434242
Business
Missouri
May 16, 2012

Great hotel

clean and cozy. Great location especially if you are going to UAB medical center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walker Retreat
Millbrook, Alabama
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

Our stay was very relaxing and quiet. The tve reception was not that great but other than that we enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WEEKEND NO PLAY
Business
HUNTSVILLE AL
Mar 28, 2013

GOOD BUSINESS TRIP

VERY GOOD EXCEPT PARKING COST $10 PER DAY NO COVERED WAY TO GET TO PARKING DECK WE GOT DRENCHED IN RAIN WAS NOT EXPECTED. COST OF PARKING WAS NOT DISCLOSED IN BOOKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClockingTheMiles
Business
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2013

Good value for dollar...but find your own free/lower cost parking

Be sure you have the right location...the property is relatively new - and my GPS system couldn't find it, and sent me to a sister location. That aside, the property is brilliant. Nice staff, things are working and looking new and fresh. I think (assume) I got upgraded simply because I got lost and had to call a few times, to get proper directions, to the correct property. Only complaints is that the don't tell you that parking is an additional cost - ignore that and get free parking weekends on the street (I found a space across the street - during St. Patty's Day weekend) The breakfast is nothing to write home about. Would def come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't believe the hype about using the parking garage across the street for parking with the hotel. You can probably find street parking for a better value (meter)...or for free.

Back to menu Return to top