Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Gresham

3 stars
View map of 116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
London

Nice small hotel good position, if you want inner city London.Would stay there again. See full review

  • happy J
  • Mar 2, 2015
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5159 -0.1718
Area served
London
Nearby airports
(LHR)London Heathrow Airport
Area description
Hotel is conveniently located near Bayswater ,Marble arch, Madame Tussad's Waxworks is just 1 mile away. Kensington Palace, Albert memorial are just 1.5 Km away from the Hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanBusiness
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Business travellers be warned

This hotel is ok, but be warned that for a one night stay it's rooms are small and it is difficult to be comfortable enough to sleep quickly. For longer stays it's room layout would add to the stress of travel. However, there is nothing "wrong" with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheBrit
Business
Emporia
Apr 18, 2015

Simple but serviceable

Small hotel in Victorian house, clean and fabulous location near Train station and Hyde park - don't expect much more though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
richard r.
Business
N/A
Mar 14, 2015

visit London

the hotel was fine, but so small. hardly room for our large traveling suitcases. other than that the staff were nice and i t was ok for a couple of nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy J
Business
Gainesville
Mar 2, 2015

London

Nice small hotel good position, if you want inner city London.Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
China girl
Business
Austin
Dec 29, 2014

London trip

Room was very small for three people, but I believe this is normal for London. The hotel was very convenient to the subway/train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
China girl
Business
Austin
Dec 16, 2014

London trip

Room was very small for three people, but I believe this is normal for London. The hotel was very convenient to the subway/train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy J
Business
georgia
Dec 5, 2014

London

Nice hotel for price ,good location for us, staff generally very helpful. Location good for touring London centeral area,oboviously older buiding so has more character than modern hotel,I thought good for price, clean tidy and only sleeping there so tight room not really a problem. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the underground to get around.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyFlyer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 23, 2014

Good Value - Short Stay - Very Easy Trip to Heathrow

Small, (double bed + single bed) ensuite; comfortable, English breakfast available. Good value. Clean. Less than 5 minutes from Paddington Station for Heathrow Express (15 min. to Heathrow). Plenty of good restaurants on next block. Recommend for short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan from Austin
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 16, 2014

One step up from a hostel

I booked this hotel b/c it was our last night after traveling throughout England and Scotland. It was cheap and super close to Paddington station where we'd be catching the Heathrow Express. I didn't expect it to be as nice as to the hotel by Kensington Gardens where we'd spent the week before but I didn't expect it to be this bad. People talk about just needing a "place to sleep" but London is an exhausting city & vacations should be fun & relaxing. This hotel was neither. There was no ventilation in the room (A/C, fan, nothing) so we had to open the floor-to-ceiling window to get some air. Unfortunately this meant we had to smell the cigarette smoke from all the smokers who stood on the hotel front steps all night long. The shower had one temperature setting: scalding. Both the shower and sink drains were very slow draining so you had to keep the water pressure low. While washing my face a piece of lettuce floated up from the sink drain which was definitely off-putting. The mattress sunk down on each side so I woke up in a lumpy pit. There was a fridge and the room didn't look visibly dirty but I wished I had remembered how to look for bed bugs. Again, I suppose if you're looking for bargain accommodations this might pass but I do need to be able to sleep comfortably and properly wash myself. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mizzou Mother
Business
London, England
Aug 21, 2014

Average place

Location was good for us to get to the underground tube to get to other areas of London. Room was a little cramped for 3 people and could have been cleaner but not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Businessman 999
Business
Boston area
May 24, 2014

Very slow WiFi

Good location but very slow and unreliable internet. Not good for business use. Breakfast is five pounds extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Heathrow Connect instead of the Heathrow Express. Much cheaper and not much longer.

Back to menu Return to top