Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Gresham

3 stars
116 Sussex Gardens, London, W2 1UH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
31 reviews
Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train... See full review

  • Essam damatty
  • Feb 1, 2014
Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free... See full review

  • Very proud OSU grad's mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Basic comfort, personal service close to Paddington Station

The Gresham is a smart choice for travelers seeking service and convenience without sacrificing quality. The hotel's prime central London location is just steps away from the Natural History Museum and other top sites. Rooms are basic yet comfortable and feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), mini-bar and coffee and tea making facilities, typical comforts that make the hotel appropriate and relevant for anyone seeking 3-star quality.

Highlights
  • Prime location minutes from Paddington Station
  • Triple and quad rooms available
  • Handsome neo-Georgian style building
Rooms

The Gresham's rooms are comfortable yet simple and feature cable and satellite TV, direct-dial telephone, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer and in-room safe. The décor is homey, providing a comfortable, relaxing retreat at the end of a busy day. Families and groups will appreciate the triple and quad room layouts, affordable options that make the Gresham accessible for nearly any budget.

Features

The focus at the Gresham is on location, with its prime central location a convenient launching point for exploring London's top sites and attractions.

The 3-star hotel is a capable stalwart whose staff prides itself on first-rate service. Families and small groups will appreciate the triple and quad room options, and business and leisure guests can catch up with all of the news from home with reliable Internet access (fees apply).

An intimate lobby bar serves a range of beers and cocktails, the perfect way to start or end an evening.

Transportation
  • Marylebone tube station (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Edgware Road tube station (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Paddington tube station (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (14.3 mi./23 km)
Attractions
  • West End theaters (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (2.4 mi./3.9 km)
  • Science Museum (2.5 mi./3.9 km)
  • Natural History Museum (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
Business
  • Internet access (fees apply)
  • In-room safe
  • Secretarial services
Policies and Fees

The hotel charges a 5 percent surcharge for payment via debit or credit card. Additionally, advance purchase rooms are non-refundable and non-transferable.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Gresham Rooms

Standard Triple Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 3 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Quad Room
Room offers 1 double bed and 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 4 guests. No additional bedding options available.
Standard Single Room
Room offers 1 single bed with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 1 guest.
Standard Double/Twin Room
Room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds with satellite TV, direct dial phone, safe, coffee/tea maker and bathroom with hairdryer. Maximum occupancy for 2 guests. No additional bedding options available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Gresham also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5159 -0.1718
Area served
London
Nearby airports
(LHR)London Heathrow Airport
Area description
Hotel is conveniently located near Bayswater ,Marble arch, Madame Tussad's Waxworks is just 1 mile away. Kensington Palace, Albert memorial are just 1.5 Km away from the Hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Queensway: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.7 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.7 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.9 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.9 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.2 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 1.3 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.3 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for The Gresham

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanBusiness
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Business travellers be warned

This hotel is ok, but be warned that for a one night stay it's rooms are small and it is difficult to be comfortable enough to sleep quickly. For longer stays it's room layout would add to the stress of travel. However, there is nothing "wrong" with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PhillyFlyer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 23, 2014

Good Value - Short Stay - Very Easy Trip to Heathrow

Small, (double bed + single bed) ensuite; comfortable, English breakfast available. Good value. Clean. Less than 5 minutes from Paddington Station for Heathrow Express (15 min. to Heathrow). Plenty of good restaurants on next block. Recommend for short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan from Austin
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 16, 2014

One step up from a hostel

I booked this hotel b/c it was our last night after traveling throughout England and Scotland. It was cheap and super close to Paddington station where we'd be catching the Heathrow Express. I didn't expect it to be as nice as to the hotel by Kensington Gardens where we'd spent the week before but I didn't expect it to be this bad. People talk about just needing a "place to sleep" but London is an exhausting city & vacations should be fun & relaxing. This hotel was neither. There was no ventilation in the room (A/C, fan, nothing) so we had to open the floor-to-ceiling window to get some air. Unfortunately this meant we had to smell the cigarette smoke from all the smokers who stood on the hotel front steps all night long. The shower had one temperature setting: scalding. Both the shower and sink drains were very slow draining so you had to keep the water pressure low. While washing my face a piece of lettuce floated up from the sink drain which was definitely off-putting. The mattress sunk down on each side so I woke up in a lumpy pit. There was a fridge and the room didn't look visibly dirty but I wished I had remembered how to look for bed bugs. Again, I suppose if you're looking for bargain accommodations this might pass but I do need to be able to sleep comfortably and properly wash myself. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mizzou Mother
Business
London, England
Aug 21, 2014

Average place

Location was good for us to get to the underground tube to get to other areas of London. Room was a little cramped for 3 people and could have been cleaner but not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Businessman 999
Business
Boston area
May 24, 2014

Very slow WiFi

Good location but very slow and unreliable internet. Not good for business use. Breakfast is five pounds extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Heathrow Connect instead of the Heathrow Express. Much cheaper and not much longer.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very proud OSU grad's mom
Business
Cleveland, Oh
Apr 21, 2014

Excellent value and location

An easy walk from Paddington , this hotel was plain but had everything we needed, including free wi-fi. They stored our luggage when we arrived early, and the staff was uniformly helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Bizzarro Italian Restaurant on Praed is excellent, affordable, and relaxing.

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mlyon
Business
london
Mar 2, 2014

good location but...

on the plus side, great location. but...tiny room,the wifi didnt work, I couldnt get any assistance from the reception staff, who talked, sand and played loud music into the early hours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of other hotel options on this street, check them out

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Essam damatty
Business
Riyadh
Feb 1, 2014

Best hotel i tried out of 6 hotels i tried before in london

I most certainly want to go again Comfortable Clean Quiet Besides an important train station Perfect beautiful location Helpful staff Warm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robbert
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 23, 2013

Row House hotel

There are several hotels all lined up near the Paddidngton station. These hotels are nothing special and offer you a place to sleep conveniently located to the station. There really is no value to be had in London, so why expect it here? You are paying good money for a shoebox of a room that you can barely move in. If you want a more comfortable place, be prepared to spend about double what this place costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want value in Europe, go East. Otherwise, bring money and lots of it!

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NNNN
Business
Japan
Sep 11, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stay.

Please dont choose this hotel your stay in London. I cant recommend anyone this hotel. They dont know how to clean the room, and take care of the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Gresham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Channel
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Sep 3, 2012

Easy access to the public transportation

Paddington station is just around the corner From there you have easy connection to the tube lines. If you use the Heathrow express to the airport you really don't have to reserve long time for the trip - the trains keep the time table and the travelling time is only 15 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is worth even for the adults to visit the Hamleys - there you can see what interests the children today

Back to menu Return to top