Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

4 stars
View map of Great Cumberland Place, London, W1H 7DL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cumberland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malachid
Business
Gladstone, OR
Nov 12, 2013

Nice room, Great location

Pros: Close to Marble Arch bus and metro, close to Hyde Park, late night convenience store across the street. Grocery store a block away. Another reviewer had stated a con of having a club downstairs, which was one of the reasons I picked this hotel - dancing for 6 hours then taking an elevator to your room is quite convenient. I finally tried the Market breakfast on my last day, and wish I had tried it earlier. Cons: While there is a grocery store a block away, there is no microwave/oven/dinette/etc. There is a mini fridge and a tea kettle, but that's it. Also, there wasn't an accessible plugin near the bed, so my cell phone alarm clock had to be clear across the room (rude awakening).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainsbury (grocery) is just a block away

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mubican
Business
Istanbul
Nov 11, 2013

location is perfect but the rooms are so small

Location is perfect to go anywhere o easily but the standard rooms are terrible, you can't move inside at all and look towards to the next building wall only. The wardrobe is so small and not suitable for business travelers. I book the room to see a bit off Hyde park view so on my first arrival I had to pay an extra to have a bit of the view and a bit bigger room to move but on my second arrival they give me one night free upgrade which was nice of them. The stuff were so nice and friendly except the breakfast room. I do suggest this hotel if you don't spend a lot of time at the hotel and don't forget to have an executive room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Espana Explorer22
Business
Cave Creek, Arizona
Nov 10, 2013

Fantastic Weekend Stay

I stayed at The Cumberland for two nights while I was staying in London. The Hotel offered me everything I could ask for in a hotel. The location was especially perfect for me, since it is right next to the tube and also right next to all of the sightseeing buses. The staff was very helpful with answering all of my questions, especially with questions regarding transportation. The lobby and room were very nice and spacious. Overall a very great hotel for a weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hussam
Business
Saudi
Nov 4, 2013

Good location small rooms

The hotel location is very good right on Oxford street. The smart rooms are good idea but the size is a major disadvantage in my opinion. Basically the smart room have a smart TV that you can browse Internet with and a Nesspreso machine. For me if I have to stay at this hotel I will go for executive or bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plympe
Business
athens, greece
Nov 3, 2013

good buy

excellent location, clean and modern rooms (the executive rooms) but quite small with adequate facilities though not sthg extraordinary. In general good value for money considering London hotel prices. Staff helpful. Tube station 10 meters away, oxford street perfect shopping location, good choice for firstcomer in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irish ladies
Business
Ireland
Oct 29, 2013

Amazing!

After reading some of the reviews most people were saying that the rooms were small but we didn't think that at all. Myself and my friend (2 girls mid 20's) stayed for 2 nights in a standard twin room and we had so much space! So clean, beds were so comfy, bathroom perfect! The hotel is right next door to the Marble Arch Tube Station, such a brilliant location for everything from shopping to site seeing! The only thing that was a bit much, we didn't book B&B and it did cost £37.90 for breakfast for the 2 of us but it was so worth it! The hotel in a whole is so clean and the staff are just brilliant! We are coming back to London around Christmas and will most definitely be booking The Cumberland Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJLopez
Business
Buenos Aires
Oct 1, 2013

Excellent location and very comfortable hotel

After a first night where we were assigned a very bad room, we changed and everything went more than OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francee
Business
Florida
Sep 17, 2013

Great Location, Great Service

Picked this hotel for its location. Near Oxford Street shops, tube entrance and numerous bus stops. Really enjoyed the service at the hotel and ate several times at their restaurant which was especially good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MegDC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2013

steps to the tube and taxis always available

While our room is small by US standards, it was enough space for our week in London. The staff were professional, courteous, and helpful. We loved the location -- many food options within a few blocks (and a couple in the hotel for when we were tired), the park across the street, and the tube entrance and always-full taxi stand right by the hotel. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grazing Goat was excellent and only a few blocks away.

Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Yellow
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect value hotel for London!

Located just steps away from the Underground station and shopping, this is a super convenient base for exploring London. Service is prompt and staff are friendly. The lobby has some interesting works of art to contemplate. Although the hallways aren't air conditioned, the room is very modern and comfortable, with a good shower and sleek design. WiFi is fast and reliable and FREE. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is a convenience store open late for snacks or drinks

Back to menu Return to top