Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

4 stars
52-55 Inverness Terrace, LONDON W2 3LB, London, W2 3LB
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
14 reviews
Highly recommend

This was a very nice hotel, with a great staff and nice comfortable room. The bed was excellent.... See full review

  • DGW10Oct
  • Mar 9, 2014
Great hotel and location

The hotel was just great. Friendly staff that worked with me on storing luggage and printing... See full review

  • Donna Cowgirl
  • Nov 6, 2012
Boasting a very convenient location in the heart of Bayswater, the Shaftesbury Hyde Park International is within easy reach of the peace and tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street, and the excellent transport links offered by Paddington Station. Providing great value for money, this is an excellent choice for business and leisure guests alike. Other amenity includes No Smoking Policy.

Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single Room
Deluxe Single Room has Single Bed. Complimentary Broadband Internet access in all rooms & Public Areas Flat Screen TV Complimentary In-room coffee/tea making facilities Private bath/shower with hairdryer & complimentary toiletries Telephone Electronic door locks Iron & ironing board.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double has Double bed room. Complimentary Broadband Internet access in all rooms & Public Areas Flat Screen TV Complimentary In-room coffee/tea making facilities Private bath/shower with hairdryer & complimentary toiletries Telephone Electronic door locks Iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5126 -0.1868
Area served
Hyde Park, Bayswater/Paddington area
Nearby airports
London Heathrow, London Gatwick, London Stansted.
Area description
The hotel is just a short stroll away from the pleasant surroundings of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, and within easy reach of the shops of Oxford Street and Kensington High Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Queensway: 0 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.1 mi
  • Queensway: 0 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.5 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.1 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.1 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.1 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.2 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.2 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.2 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.2 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.2 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.3 mi
  • Harrods: 1.3 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.4 mi
  • London Business School: 1.5 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.5 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.6 mi
  • Kilburn: 1.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.6 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.6 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Evergreen, Co
May 27, 2011

Good location, excellent staff and good

The rooms are small by U. S standards but conform to Brit standards. Given that, the room was very well appointed, clean, and most acceptable in all regards. Staff was most helpful and Kensington Gardens is a block away. Beautiful afternoon spent watching children as they play in the Princess Diana playground. Will return here next London trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The underground is ten pounds for a couple and 28 for a shuttle to the airport. If you have luggage, take the shuttle.

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

5
DGW10Oct
Texas
Mar 9, 2014

Highly recommend

This was a very nice hotel, with a great staff and nice comfortable room. The bed was excellent. Will definitely stay here again in the future. One tip--the shower has a hand wand and a rain-shower head on the ceiling. If you turn the knob to the left, you will get a nice cold surprise since you are reaching under that ceiling shower head to get to the knob. I suggest always turning to the right so the wand comes on and the water heats up, then turn the other way so the ceiling head has warm water quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Queensway has more restaurants and shops than you will know what to do with. Excellent choices within a 5 minute walk. There is also Whitely's Mall very near the hotel.

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Rufus the woodman
Rome, Italy
Nov 12, 2013

Good 9 night stay in central London

The closer you can get to 2 underground stations, 3 lines covered. Few minutes ride to anything central in London. Room VERY small, but cozy. Nice TV with some channels. Great wifi! The neighbourhood is very tranquil, a lot of international cuisine at the street. Staff was nice! London hotels are too pricy, including this one, so there's no escape. Enjoy your time there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the oyster card in the first underground station you get in.

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

4
traveler12345678901234567
Business
new york
May 30, 2013

good deal

among the moderate hotels of London, this one is quite a bit better for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

4
hungry4cake
Baltimore, MD
Nov 29, 2012

Great location.

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The location is very nice, within 2 blocks of 2 different Underground stops. Plenty of dining options in the area if you don't want to go far. The rooms were somewhat smaller than I am used to. If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, upgrade to the club room. Otherwise, it's great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park is just a block away. Great for a morning stroll.

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Donna Cowgirl
Woodway, Texas
Nov 6, 2012

Great hotel and location

The hotel was just great. Friendly staff that worked with me on storing luggage and printing coupons for discounts through their system. The room was small but that is what I expected. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was just right for two travelers. I really like the location. 1 block from Tube station and 1 block from a variety of reasonably priced restaurants. Would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Belle Italia Scotch Steak House Pret a Manger

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Travels for Work a Lot
Business
New York, NY
Oct 13, 2012

Wonderful location, great value

This hotel is located steps away from Bayswater Tube station on Queensway. This location is fabulous for ethnic (Asian) food, and is convenient to Paddington Station. Room I stayed in was very clean, and quiet. There was free WiFi. The combination of location, convenience, and cleanliness makes this a fantastic value for money. My room was quoted as a double, but really was best for a single person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

3
4ADB
Sacramento,Ca.
Jul 12, 2012

Suitable for a brief stay

The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. I did not ever receive a facecloth however. The room was too small for even one chair, so one had to lie on the bed to watch T.V. There was no place in the bathroom to set one's toiletries other than on the closed toilet seat. Access to the room via narrow corridors with multiple sets of up and down steps was difficult. I enjoyed having a small restaurant on site for breakfast. I also appreciated the wi fi access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

1
jumpinjeffflash
London, UK
Jan 4, 2012

A total rip-off

Arguably the most over-priced hotel I have had the misfortune to stay in. The room itself was a nightmare to get around - imagine two people with luggage trying to move around the equivalent of a shoebox and you get the idea. There just wasn't enough space and it was super frustrating. It was so small, even the wardrobe had space issues! You were lucky if you could fit a couple of coats in there. The bed was also tiny. If you're tall (anything over 5"8), then your feet will dangle over the bed because it isn't long enough. Additionally, we had a really old mattress which sank in the middle. We spent both evenings tossing and turning to get comfortable. The pillows were also very uncomfortable - they were over-sized, so it made it difficult to rest on them properly. Our room had no view - unless you call the sight of a wall a view! Finally, the bath/shower had a handle to allow disabled persons to use it, but it didn't have rounded edges. I badly grazed my leg on one of the sharp corners of the handle. For the 400 or so dollars I paid for two nights, I thought it was a complete rip-off. Granted, the location is good, but when it comes at the price of no space and no sleep then you can forget it. I wouldn't stay there again - not even if you paid me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Sammey
Business
USA
Dec 12, 2011

Saftesbury

Single room is literally 5ft. by 10ft. Smallest room I have ever stayed in outside Asia. Great destination for dwarf convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shaftesbury Hyde Park International Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Silicon Valley, CA
May 30, 2011

The good and the bad

When we arrive at the hotel, they could not locate our revesevation. Fortuanately we had a copy of our hotel confirmation. And the man at the front desk had to make couple phone calls to locate our reservation then it was O'K. When we get to our room, we found that the room is extremely small, in according to the hotel floor plan, our is probably the smallest. It was even smaller(20%)than the cruise line standard state room. The closet we had can only hold five hangers and one suit case by the window. There was only one desk chair and no other sitting chair. One side of the double bed was placed against the wall, and I had to climb into bed first before my wife. I really think the room we had was for one person instead of two. The good, the location of the hotel is very good, close to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. A block from Queensway with many restaurants and shops. I would not go back to the hotel next time unless they can gurantee me that they will give us a room large enough for two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A block from the hotel is Queensway, there are all kinds of resturants, There were Chinese, Indian, Italian, Lebanese, Burger Kings, and Starbucks. Many shops for souveniers, chipper than going to the other tourist spots.

Back to menu Return to top