Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Hilton London Metropole Hotel

4 stars
225 Edgware Road, London, W2 1JU
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
Upscale London Central Hotel

Great central london Hotel near the Tube. Classy, beautiful and accommodating to families. We were... See full review

  • Karen the vacation expert
  • Aug 7, 2013
Birthday Treat

Excellent apart from breakfast queues, creaky bed, and absence of free internet in bedrooms. See full review

  • Skiers
  • Dec 11, 2013
Quiet comfort minutes away from London’s West End

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel is a quiet escape from the bustle of London. The hotel is just a short walk from London's West End and the shops of Oxford Street and offers full-featured amenities and facilities for the most discriminating business or leisure traveler. On-site restaurants cater to international tastes, while a fitness room, pool and sauna afford the appropriate physical and mental release.

Highlights
  • Business Destinations 2010 Travel Awards Winner
  • Conference rooms that can accommodate up to 3,000
  • Fitness center
Rooms

Contemporary rooms are decorated in rich, warm tones and luxury amenities adorn all bathrooms. Other additions include a flat panel TV offering cable and pay-per-view entertainment, high-speed Internet access, mini-bar, coffee maker, voice mail-equipped telephone and work desk. Executive room guests enjoy Executive Lounge access, which offers free continental breakfast and refreshments. 

Features

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel is situated away from the bustle of downtown London, yet is just a short walk to London's West End. Rooms are smartly decorated and feature luxury amenities, along with flat panel TVs and Internet access. A fitness room, pool and sauna afford a quiet escape from the downtown area and there 40 meeting rooms that can accommodate conferences big and small.

Dining

The Hilton London Metropole Hotel offers a variety of in-house dining and drinking options. Minako at the Met is an oasis of calm serving Asian fusion cuisine from the hotel's 23rd floor. Fiamma Restaurant offers Mediterranean flavors in a bright, contemporary atmosphere. Sports Bar, appropriately named, dishes out beer and cocktails with a bevy of TV screens projecting the big game. Lounge Bar, on the hotel's ground floor, features late-night hours as well as light dishes in a bar setting. And Caffe Cino is an informal café that serves coffee, breakfast and lighter dishes throughout the day.

Transportation
  • Edgware Road tube station (2 minutes walking
  • Heathrow Airport (30 minutes)
  • Secure parking garage with 170 spaces
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi./0.80 km)
  • Madame Tussauds (0.7 mi./1.12 km)
  • West End (1 mi./1.6 km)
Business
  • A/V equipment rental
  • Business center
  • Business phone service
  • Meeting rooms
  • Office rental
  • Photocopying service
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Satellite TV

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton London Metropole Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5196 -0.1707
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 18.00, MI, E; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 35.00, MI, E; Stansted, (STN), 48.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Showroom Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • London Business School: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.7 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.7 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.8 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.9 mi
  • Queensway: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.3 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • London Business School: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.7 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.7 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.7 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.8 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.9 mi
  • Queensway: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1 mi
  • Regent's College: 1.1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.1 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1.2 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1.2 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1.2 mi
  • London Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.3 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 1.3 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.4 mi
  • Kilburn: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.4 mi
  • Harrods: 1.4 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.4 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi
  • Kingly Court : 1.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TMSH
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Apr 1, 2012

Excellent Family accomodation

The Hotel is located near the Undergroung which made the transportation very easy. It is located at Edgware Road where varaity of resturants are available. Walking distance to Hide Park. The hotel service is 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Arabic Food

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Knight2000
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Jan 17, 2012

Perfect Stay

Booked a Standard room and was upgraded upon arrival. Location is ideal in terms of local attractions and Middle Eastern resturaunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ireland
Aug 4, 2011

very nice

stayed for two nights in a king delux room, it was very spacious airy and overall was impressed, the hotel itself was buzzing and it is central near the tube. Breakfast was good too alot of variety overall I would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Traditional large London Hotel

The Hotel was definitely up to the standard that I would have expected having stayed a plenty of Hilton's world wide, one reason why I try to chose the Hilton over unknown chains. Room was a little on the small side, but I guess that is what you get in London. After a late night in London, I was delighted not to be chased out of the room on Sunday morning, which was a real plus for me. Bar staff really friendly. I Would recommend the hotel no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Madame tussaud's

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Jun 8, 2011

just ok

Positives: Hotel was near tube stations, clean and staff were helpful. Breakfast included. Negatives: Internet access absurdly expensive. Location in non-diverse ethnic (mostly mid-east)community, so food options were limited. Rooms old, but functional. Too expensive for what was provided. Next time would stay in a more "London-like" hotel in a more ethnically diverse neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet cafe in grocery across street. Very cheap (compared to hotels very high rate), but they may sell your info after your leave. Suggest erase your browsing history.

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnbobt
Corpus Christi, Texas
Mar 23, 2011

Hotel Stay

Visited London few days as layover on trip to South Africa. Hotel was very accommodating but food somewhat pricy. Room was excellent for price. Have stayed at this hotel before and would again. Very centrally located for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan restaurants before hand or see concierge for recommendations.

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron the rater
Covington, Virginia
Sep 10, 2010

Not your normal Hilton

Hotel located on edge of Lebanese section of London. Being an American, I didn't feel welcome in this section of town. Many of the staff were from another country and had trouble understanding and speaking the English language. Paid for breakfast, which never arrived and was unable to get a refund. Breakfast in England is over $20 and that was times three! Will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
Sep 2, 2010

Fairly good

Great location, not quite up to hilton standard a 3 star hotel i'd say, pool and fitness center need to be redone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

metro stop very close, making it easy to go out at night

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsville, New Jersey
Jul 4, 2010

Great Vacation

My husband and I went to England to visit with our son who is doing his post-grad there. We reserved a room for three so that he could stay with us at the Hilton. We had a lovely, clean, quiet room with a great view from our window. The only reason we give the Hilton four, instead of five stars, is because the room was smaller than what we're used to. We expected that, though, after having read other travelers' reviews of the hotel. Also, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. During our stay, the weather in London was rather warm and humid, so after many days of sight seeing, it was a relief to know that we would be heading back to our air-conditioned room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you travel to Europe, use their ATMs (we found it easy to find machines with no withdraw fee) to get your cash in their currency. If you use the locations at the airport or in Europe that exchange your US dollars, you will pay an additional percentage. Given the value of the American dollar is so much less in Europe, don't pay a middle-man to do the exchange! NOTE: If you're using a credit or debit card (as we did), be sure to notify your bank or credit card company that you will be traveling, and they will see withdraws from Europe appearing on your account. This way your account(s) will not be "flagged" and frozen until the bank/credit card companies can confirm that these are valid withdraws and that your card(s) has not been stolen.

Review of Hilton London Metropole Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2010

Great Location, great staff

Great hotel, Excellent location...a little on the pricey side, but totally worth it. A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top