Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Hotel Regente Madrid

3 stars
Mesonero Romanos, 9, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Always good

This is the second time I stay at El Regente. Location is great, clean rooms, nice staff. Met my... See full review

  • Hector Santiago
  • Jun 16, 2013
very good

The best location', good staff, clean , and cheap. See full review

  • Josef Barel
  • Mar 17, 2013
Recently renovated hotel located minutes from Puerta del Sol in Madrid
In the heart of downtown Madrid, within walking distance of Puerta del Sol and surrounded by restaurants, bars, shopping and entertainment venues, Hotel Regente Madrid is the perfect base from which to explore the capital of Spain. The recently refurbished hotel offers cozy, traditionally decorated accommodations with amenities such as ticket services, a currency exchange and a free left luggage service. Guests can also make use of the hotel's Wi-Fi, gym and car park (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Steps from Gran Via in Madrid's city center, convenient to public transportation and walking distance to Puerta del Sol and major attractions
  • Staff can book tickets for sightseeing tours or shows at many of the surrounding theaters and arts venues
  • Area around Hotel Regente Madrid is full of restaurants, bars, shopping, and entertainment
Rooms
The 154 cozy guest rooms at the Hotel Regente Madrid were recently renovated and come with either a double- or a twin-sized bed. Some rooms feature balconies overlooking the Gran Via (available on request), and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Non-smoking rooms, laundry service, and room service are also available.
Features
The Hotel Regente Madrid is a stone's throw from the busy Gran Via in the heart of the Madrid, close to public transportation and within walking distance of Puerta del Sol. The hotel has a cafeteria and bar where a breakfast buffet is served in the morning. There is a currency exchange, dry cleaning and laundry facilities, a free left luggage service, and the reception staff can arrange tickets for tours or shows. Access to the fitness center and parking in the hotel garage are available at a charge, as is Internet access.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (EMT) (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid Metro subway service (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Puerta del Sol (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • National Archaeological Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Prado Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • One meeting room can hold up to 60 people
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Business facilities include projector, computer rental, fax/copy services, printer, car rental and travel reservations

Hotel Regente Madrid Rooms

Standard
Room offers one double bed or one twin bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace(on request), bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled rooms (on request), hairdryer, heating, internet access(for a fee), laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and valet service.
Triple Room
Room offers 3 separate beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace(on request), bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled rooms (on request), hairdryer, heating, internet access (for a fee), laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and valet service.
Superior Room
Room offers one double bed or one twin bed with view to Gran Via street (the main street. In this room we have: Air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace(on request), bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled rooms (on request), hairdryer, heating, internet access(for a fee), laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and valet service.
Single Room
Room offers one single bed or one double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony/terrace(on request), bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled rooms (on request), hairdryer, heating, internet access(for a fee), laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Regente Madrid also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4197 -3.7043
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel Regente is ideally located steps away from the Gran Via in downtown Madrid. The Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and the historic area of "Los Austrias" are all just within close walking distance.

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.1 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.1 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.4 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.7 mi
  • Latina: 2.8 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.8 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.9 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.2 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.6 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.8 mi
  • Villaverde: 5 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.1 mi
  • San Blas: 5.2 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.3 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Regente Madrid

Overall score

3.5 / 5
10 out of 57
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

3
Carladerocquefort
Byron Bay, Australia
Jan 9, 2014

Great location but appalling acoustics

The rooms was very small and badly overheated, but the main problem was the sound that carried from opening and closing doors down the hallway, voices that carried and the sound of plumbing. Overall I can't complain because the tariff was very low, but I definitely can't recommend it for anyone who is a light sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

5
mailman scotty
san diego ca
Jan 14, 2013

incomparable value

I find it difficult to say anything negative about this hotel. I would definitely return there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many restaurants steps from the hotel. All are unique and mostly offer inexpensive items on their menus.

Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

3
TravelMadrid
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

The hotel's Location is awesome! its in the middle of Madrid's city center and you can walk almost to every tourist place in the city, its also close to the Metro station. I recommend, taking the metro to and from the Airport is fast and easy and it only costs $2.50 Euros Now some of the staff is not the friendliest, and I even had to be switched rooms because some staff where fighting outside my door at 9am the first day I was there, but the manager upgraded me to the top floor suite!!!!! be careful when you book that you find out if you get an inside room or a room with a view. the inside rooms are facing a courtyard and the windows faced on to other travelers so privacy can be an issue. Oh and they charge internet by the hour and its so slow that I don't recommend it, there a internet coffee house one block away that is FREE I will stay there again, just for the Location and Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This Hotel is in the Metro Station Callo, if you you want to save alot of money and time, take the metro to and from the Airport, its just 30 minutes trip and it only cost $2.50 Euros, the station in Callo is only just one short block from the Hotel. a taxi could easily run $60.00 Euros and the Bus could take a long time. in my opinion this is the best option

Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Hohenfels, Germany
Nov 10, 2010

Fun In Madrid

The good stuff about this hotel is location. It was with in walking distance of everywhere I wanted to go. So that was what I liked the most. The con's are if you don't mind the thin walls where you can here everything your neighbor does then consider its not a con. Otherwise feel free to stay there. I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
USA,NJ
Oct 17, 2010

Best location,but not best hotel!

Location of the hotel is perfect,but the room was very small,they put only one bath towel and one hand towel in bathroom,NO wash clotes,NO robes.Airconditional was almost die(out of order).People which work on front desk-very unprofesional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

4
Aleb
King City, CA
Jul 26, 2010

"Location was Great!!"

The location was great just a few steps from all that Madrid has to offer. I had the option to walk to various locations, all in one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

2
Gay travler
Seattle
Jul 7, 2010

Good location, bad service

Great location, however the stuff hardly speak English. Also for some reason they did not let a friend of mine come up to my room for 5 minutes while I was dressing up. Internet is really slow as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Middle Island, NY
May 25, 2010

Great location

Overall the hotel is very nice and has a friendly staff. However, I was very annoyed that The waitress would not serve me a single glass of wine. I felt discriminated against because they only served wine by the bottle or in a large pitcher, obviously meant for 2 or more people. Since I was alone, I could not have wine with dinner. So, if you are by yourself or a non smoker stay away. Smoking is allowed seemingly everywhere in the hotel(except in the dining room) and the guests (all European) had zero consideration for any non smokers( I and the children probably being the only ones).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Granada Hills
Dec 5, 2009

This is a great hotel

The hotel is in a perfect location near Grand Via down town SOL. The hotel is clean and spotless,and the clerks are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is very crowded,I believe they should expand the buffet area to avoid waiting for a table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Regente Madrid

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 8, 2009

Good, accurate

Hotel Regente was fine but really was just a place to sleep, shower and get off my feet. I loved Madrid and the hotel experience was fine, especially since it was quite a bit less expensive than many other choices. The room was comfortable and clean but rather dated in appearance. I did have to ask for a second mini-bar of soap. There was an extra charge for use of the room security box and the internet in the bar. The location was very good and the staff were willing to answer any question I had. At times I heard noise from the hallway but it was not a problem. I slept very well and felt very safe there (I'm a single woman traveler). I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone who is ok with less than luxury accomadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a great art cinema called Filmoteca Nacional/Cine Dore on Calle Santa Isabelle. It's close to the Anton Martin metro station. I saw some great films there (some original version English). The cost is only 2.50 euros. There's a nice cafe there as well. Very nine people and a great way to give my feet a rest as well.

Back to menu Return to top