Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
XMAS getaway

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were wonderful..except for the... See full review

  • IESR
  • Jan 3, 2014
Great location and terrific rooftop bar.

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The room was a little small, but the bed was very... See full review

  • Hawks Fan
  • Jun 19, 2014
A classy throwback to the roaring 1920s with style and perks aplenty

Inside a beautifully renovated 1920s building at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, the plush Grand Hotel Central delivers avant-garde style in its light-flooded rooms and suites. The infinity-edge rooftop pool offers panoramic city views, as does the sleek Skybar. Famed chef Ramon Freixa (who has two coveted Michelin stars in his name) heads up the excellent Avalon Restaurant & Cafe onsite. The wellness suite and fitness center complete the four-star picture.

Highlights
  • Panoramic views from the infinity-edge rooftop pool
  • Top restaurant with renowned chef Ramon Freixa at the helm
  • Private massage room and state-of-the-art fitness center
  • Cocktails at the rooftop Skybar
Rooms

The air of subdued elegance pervades all 147 rooms and suites at Grand Hotel Central Barcelona. With excellent soundproofing, each of the high-ceilinged units is a sanctuary from the hectic Gothic Quarter. The large windows provide plenty of natural light and excellent views. The decor is chic and avant-garde, sporting a soft grey, brown and cream color theme. Count on a full spectrum of luxury amenities including hydro-massage showers, free non-alcoholic mini bars, 100% Egyptian cotton sheets and ergonomic bathroom slippers. High-speed Internet service is available (fees apply), as is 24-hour laundry and room service.

Features

Next door to the cathedral at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, Grand Hotel Central has a premier location for avid sightseers. The head-to-toe redo of 1920s building resulted in a gorgeous blend of classic original details and up-to-the-minute touches. The infinity-edge swimming pool area is a prime spot for a summer dip and a leisurely lounge.  At the ground-floor Avalon Restaurant & Café, feted chef Ramon Freixa concocts creative Mediterranean fusion cuisine. The rooftop showcases two standouts: the infinity-edge pool and the Skybar, a prime spot for cocktails. Wireless Internet is free to use in the public areas of Grand Hotel Central. Massages are available in the Wellness Suite. The high-tech fitness center offers a full range of workout facilities plus free water and towels.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.2 mi/2 km)

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona Rooms

Junior Suite
From 38 sqm, Views to ancient wall, Free access to the Thermal Suite, 45 circuit (under request), Welcome gift and late check out (depending on availability, please ask reception), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls) and daily ice supply, Complimentary tea and infusions set.King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Large bathroom with independent bathtub and walk-in shower, Loewe TV from 40 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI.
Central Twin
From 24 sqm, Two beds 2 x 1 mts, Complimentary tea and infusions set, Fully equipped minibar, Free broadband WIFI, Free shoe cleaning service, Toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set.
Central Double
From 24 sqm,King Size bed (2 x 2 mts), Complimentary tea and infusions set, Fully equipped minibar, Free broadband WIFI, Free shoe cleaning service, Toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set.
Superior Twin
From 28 sqm, Two beds (2 x 1 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI, 4 pillows and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets.
Superior Double
From 28 sqm, King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI, 4 pillows and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets.
Deluxe City View
From 30m2, Views to ancient wall, Late check out (depending on availability, please ask reception), King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Central Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3851 2.1776
Area served
Gothic Quarter, City Centre
Nearby airports
El Prat International Airport (12 km)
Area description
Gothic Quarter, City Centre

Nearby points of interest

  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.2 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.2 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • La Ribera: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
At Grand Hotel Central, we have thought of every last detail to ensure your event is a complete success. From private dinning to business meeting for up to 70 people, our collection of four comfortable meeting rooms, all fully equipped with the latest technology, together with our spectacular rooftop terrace & infinity pool provide a discreet and exclusive venue for meetings, conferences and corporate entertaining.

Dining

THE GALLERY
Our art space perfect for private events.
AVALON
AVALON Restaurant is managed by the prestigious chef Ramon Freixa, selected as the best chef in the country a few years ago and internationally recognised for his imagination and talent. Breakfast or dinner become an opportunity to enjoy fresh, Mediterranean dishes with just the right measure of fun and imagination. All of this in a warm and modern space that simply invites you to enjoy a dining experience using your 5 senses any time of day. As Ramn Freixa says "I have been wanting to mix the best of our cuisine with flavours, techniques and products from other lands for a long time. This is how AVALON came about".
CITY BAR
The stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Catalina
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2010

Wonderful staff, location, hotel!

I have traveled a lot, and this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive, they were very multi-lingual--I saw one desk person switch from english to spanish to french without missing a beat. They honestly made me feel welcome, and that they were happy to see me in their establishment. And if you are a design lover this is the hotel for you! The combined beauty and functionality of the design was spectacular. It had a real "Barcelona" feel, as Barcelona is such a design forward city. And the staff seemed to be sincerely proud of it. The rooftop pool was a great place to hang out on hot afternoons, have a cool drink, and look out over the city. The only problem was that once I was at the pool, I didn't want to leave. The hotel is very centrally located to the Bari Gotic and the Born neighborhoods, so it was easy to find my way around and then come back for a break. I hardly used my metro card as almost everything was within a 10 to 15 minute walk. When I did use the metro, it was easy, since there are two stations a very short distance from the hotel. Since this was my first time in Barcelona, it was a great home base. I also had a massage with Carolina while I was there, the spa was a lovely little room and the massage was great, I was feeling exhausted mid-week, and it was a great rejuvenator. I highly recommend it. Overall I can not recommend the hotel enough, and I intend to stay there when I return. It may be a bit pricey for some travelers, I am often a budget minded traveler myself. If you are wondering if it is worth it--it really is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CA
Jul 7, 2010

amazing pool

The hotel is in an amazing location. You can walk to the gothic quarter, the beach, plaza de catalunya, el born, and anywhere else you want to go is a quick bus or metro ride away. The staff is very friendly, but they could really use more staff at high season and a separate concierge desk. If you can get a deal where breakfast is included, its fantastic! If not 22 euro is ridiculous for breakfast. They also have blackout shades, which are nice, but overall the lighting needs help (there isn't really any). My favorite part about this hotel, and the reason the price is worth it, is the pool. Not exactly a family friendly pool, but a great place to relax and have a cocktail. I'd definitely recommend it, but wouldn't exactly call it the best value, if your priority isn't a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a traditional Arabic Hammam that was restored over an old bath. Its in Born, called the Air de Barcelona. They have 10pm and 12am times and it is an amazing and pretty affordable experience.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CA
Jul 7, 2010

amazing pool

The hotel is in an amazing location. You can walk to the gothic quarter, the beach, plaza de catalunya, el born, and anywhere else you want to go is a quick bus or metro ride away. The staff is very friendly, but they could really use more staff at high season and a separate concierge desk. If you can get a deal where breakfast is included, its fantastic! If not 22 euro is ridiculous for breakfast. They also have blackout shades, which are nice, but overall the lighting needs help (there isn't really any). My favorite part about this hotel, and the reason the price is worth it, is the pool. Not exactly a family friendly pool, but a great place to relax and have a cocktail. I'd definitely recommend it, but wouldn't exactly call it the best value, if your priority isn't a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a traditional Arabic Hammam that was restored over an old bath. Its in Born, called the Air de Barcelona. They have 10pm and 12am times and it is an amazing and pretty affordable experience.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2010

Wonderful hotel

I really liked the hotel experience. The room was sleek and had top class amenities. The location was second to none. I highly recommend to all first time visitors to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a week subway pass. It will save you money and time!

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2010

Wonderful hotel

I really liked the hotel experience. The room was sleek and had top class amenities. The location was second to none. I highly recommend to all first time visitors to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a week subway pass. It will save you money and time!

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Mar 12, 2010

Great hotel. Great location

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Europe and it was a pleasure to stay there 6 nights in mid-March. The hotel is very modern inside (blacks, greys, mood lighting etc) and was kept spotless. The hotel staff was super helpful and fluent in English. The rooms were good sized and had nice lighting, hardwood floors and very comfortable beds. The room also had blackout shades that really worked so we slept in later than we thought several mornings. The bathrooms had a nice shower/tub and very good water pressure as well as lots of hot water.The hotel re-stocked free water and a few beverages in a mini-fridge daily and a comfy robe and flip flops for relaxing in the room or heading up to the pool (in nice weather). It also had a great gym and a beautiful rooftop Infiniti pool, although it was too cool to swim when we were there. One of the nicest things about the hotel was, as it's name suggests, was its central location. It was just a short walk to restaurants and many sites and, for those farther away, the metro stop was just a few steps outside the hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to other travelers in a heartbeat and, if I get back to Barcelona, it will be nice to return to the Grand Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss going up to the site of the '92 Olympics up on Mont Juic. You can take the Metro or the cable car up there.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Mar 12, 2010

Great hotel. Great location

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Europe and it was a pleasure to stay there 6 nights in mid-March. The hotel is very modern inside (blacks, greys, mood lighting etc) and was kept spotless. The hotel staff was super helpful and fluent in English. The rooms were good sized and had nice lighting, hardwood floors and very comfortable beds. The room also had blackout shades that really worked so we slept in later than we thought several mornings. The bathrooms had a nice shower/tub and very good water pressure as well as lots of hot water.The hotel re-stocked free water and a few beverages in a mini-fridge daily and a comfy robe and flip flops for relaxing in the room or heading up to the pool (in nice weather). It also had a great gym and a beautiful rooftop Infiniti pool, although it was too cool to swim when we were there. One of the nicest things about the hotel was, as it's name suggests, was its central location. It was just a short walk to restaurants and many sites and, for those farther away, the metro stop was just a few steps outside the hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to other travelers in a heartbeat and, if I get back to Barcelona, it will be nice to return to the Grand Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss going up to the site of the '92 Olympics up on Mont Juic. You can take the Metro or the cable car up there.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marco Island, Florida
Feb 13, 2010

Great location, small dark room

Great location and helpful staff who speak English well. The hotel is an old building which has been nicely renovated in a very modern and attractive style. However, the room was VERY small and the designer could have used some help on lighting. There were few lights and it was difficult to read anything. The room rate was not at all expensive. However, parking was €28 per day (about $42), breakfast was €21 (about $30) and internet access was €14 per day (about $20). We thought the cost of the extras was unreasonable and ruined a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fodor got it right when they recommended Taller de Tapas as a great tapas bar. Great dishes and good port.

Back to menu Return to top