Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Espana Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Sant Pau, 9-11, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
18 reviews
Great stayu

The hotel was actually very easy to find, the room was ready even though we were early, and the... See full review

  • rural resident
  • Aug 27, 2014
Always a pleasure

This was our second time at this hotel and it was another very good experience. Clean, modern,... See full review

  • Lexigirl523
  • Nov 13, 2013
The Espaa Hotel is a 4* hotel can be found in Barcelonas historical centre, conveniently located next to Las Ramblas and the Gran Teatre del Liceu. It is considered an architectural masterpiece of Catalan modernism. Originally decorated at the beginning of the 20th century by Lluis Domenech i Montaner , it has been completely refurbished and provides an optimal design and comfort, offering an exquisite and personalised service.
The Espaa Hotel first opened in 1859 under the name Fonda de Espaa and was later refurbished by the well known modernist architect, Lluis Domenech i Montaner with the help of Eusebi Arnau and Ramon Casas. The new design earned the recognition of Barcelonas City Council who, in 1904 awarded the architect with an Honorary Diploma, naming the hotel the establishment with the best artistic-ornamental decor.

Espana Hotel Barcelona Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Espana Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.38 2.1728
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
(BCN), 15.00, KM, N;

Nearby points of interest

  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.3 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Espana Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva the Diva
City of London, UK
Oct 19, 2011

Amazing location, super friendly staff, quirky hotel

We had such a great time in this hotel. The staff was super friendly and very helpful with any of our requests from lending us wine glasses to drink our own wine & opening it for us to charging our phones at the reception with their own chargers. The location is amazing, literally few steps to Las Ramblas and you can easily walk everywhere in the City. Plus, there is a direct Metro line from the hotel to Camp Nou, if you are a football fan. The room was clean and cosy (bit on a quirky side in decoration). Free minibar filled up each day. TV with a switch to English language on most programs. Breakfast delicious, with great choice. The only negative thing i would point out is the fact that the hotel is being refurbished currently, so the front is covered in scaffolding, so its difficult to find at first. Also, the workmen start drilling and banging at 10 am every day, so if you prefer long lie ins, this would not be the hotel for you. We made sure to be out every day by 10 and it was fine...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Barcelonetta - amazing sea food, walking distance from the hotel in the yacht harbour.

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rural resident
Elko, Nevada
Aug 27, 2014

Great stayu

The hotel was actually very easy to find, the room was ready even though we were early, and the staff very helpful. It was very close to La Rambla where so many shops/crafts/restaurants were located. Staff were very helpful in getting us to the sites to see. Breakfast was especially nice, with great choices for every appetite. Absolutely beautiful hotel; immaculate room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the fountain/light show at the Spanish plaza at night.

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimjh0
Lake Oswego, OR
Jun 23, 2014

Excellent location

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a nice/clean place. The best part about this hotel is the location. It's located just a few minutes walk away from the Placa Catalyuna to get on the tourist bus if you want. Also, it's right next to a subway station, so you can get around pretty much where you want very conveniently. Also, it's not facing the main street, so there is less street noise. Service was OK. We had a broken hair dryer. It took 2 calls and talking to them in person at the lobby to get replaced. Other than that, we had no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lexigirl523
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 13, 2013

Always a pleasure

This was our second time at this hotel and it was another very good experience. Clean, modern, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian army retired
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Nov 7, 2013

Espana hotel Barcelona

We stayed at the above mentioned hotel for a total of 3 days. Its a beautiful hotel, recently renovated. We found the staff very helpful and always ready to accommodate you. The room was very charming and very clean. The hotel is located in La Rambla, are very touristy area of Barcelona. No need for cabs, everything is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If your in Spain you must see the Flamcenco dancers. We found Flamenco Tablao a short 5 minute walk fro the Hotel. The meal is buffet style, after diner they bring you to the theater and we saw an excellent Flacenco show. The dancers were very intense! Excellent show

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian army retired
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Nov 5, 2013

Barcelona November 2013

Excellent hotel, well located on the Rambla. The service, the room was exceptional. I recommend this hotel for anyone planning a trip to Barcelona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kuhndog
Naperville
Oct 22, 2013

Loved it!

I could go into detail but it's easier to say that I loved everything about this hotel. Architecture, decor, room design, amenities, location, staff, restaurants. No complaints. Will recommend hotel to others and will go back again. I LOVE Barcelona. Suits me just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to La Flauta Restaurant Address: Aribau 23 Barcelona. Great food, sangria at affordable prices. Great atmosphere as well. 1.8 miles from hotel.

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One eyed scouser
UK
Jul 15, 2013

Interesting ambiance close to the bustle

The amenities of the hotel were good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The modernista architecture is an experience on itself. We couldn't get in to the restaurant, but were steered to a nice little place close by. Turn right for the Opera House and the Ramblas, turn left for the Barri Xines, two very different experiences, especially at night, straight ahead for the wonderful Boqueria food market, great for breakfast too. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Boqueria market

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AASF
Fort Myers Florida
Jul 12, 2013

Hotel near Las Ramblas

This hotel is ideally located off Las Ramblas in the old section of Barcelona. the staff are excellent, and the amenities are great. There is a nice breakfast available on the first floor and wonderful a bar on the roof. We felt that we'd done very well in selecting this hotel I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amelia
UK
Jul 8, 2013

Excellent location

We enjoyed our stay at Espana, staff very friendly and efficient, pity lobby bar wasn't open in evenings, room rather small for an upgraded room. Excellent location for getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Worth visit to barcelonita beach area for good seafood restaurants. The Boquiera market is worth visiting and to sample the local tapas

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keith Hepburn
London
Apr 26, 2013

Hotel Espana

My wife and I stay at the Hotel Espana in May 2012. I have to say the stay and quality of the hotel are excellent. If I had to be picky I would ask the hotel to consider this. # If you say FREE wifi, make sure its free not just in the lobby. # The room we had was a little small for what was inside. ie the desk was great, but a real struggle to sit in the chair. # The fridge seemed to generate more heat than it did cold. Otherwise I would most definately stay again and we plan to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Old quarter. Lots of back streets and places to enjoy a coffee, small boutique shops.

Back to menu Return to top