Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Caledonian

3 stars
View map of Gran Via Corts de les Catalanes, 574, Barcelona, 08011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Caledonian

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Bryan
Business
Santa Cruz, California
Dec 8, 2013

Location, location, location

The Caledonian hotel was wonderful. The location was central, one or two blocks from Las Ramblas, and the staff was extremely helpful. They gave great recommendations for dinner and other fun activities around Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're looking for a great way to see the city, viavespa.es is perfect. Getting round like a local makes it so much more fun, and you can see more attractions in less time if you only have a few days in Barcelona.

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bakalola
Business
Australia
Nov 19, 2013

Perfecto

Nice staff and nice location in a lovely city I would go again and again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimdey
Business
Wallsend
Nov 5, 2013

Loved It

Excellent hotel, helpful staff, well located. Single room which was small but very comfortable and also had a balcony. My only gripe would be that the Air Conditioning in room was either switched off or didn't work but as was only staying 1 night pre-cruise I didn't pursue the matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNICHOLS
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 22, 2013

Second Time

Stayed in this hotel two weeks after a cruise and had the same very good experience as the first time. Different room on but just as clean and comfortable as the other one. Very recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

hop on hop off bus

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JNICHOLS
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 11, 2013

Quiet

Room was right on the main street but the double doored glass kept out the noise. Good location and easy to move around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denverite in Barcelona
Business
Denver, Colorado
Oct 10, 2013

Gem of a Choice

From the time we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with warm hellos and excellent service. Rooms and hotel are immaculately clean. Beds are comfy. Breakfast has nice variety, staff working at breakfast are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Location is convenient and feels less touristy than a few blocks down on the Ramblas but an easy walk to the attractions. Shower is wonderful. (I'm picky about showers.) Only negative about the hotel is the hair dryer. My friend and I both were frustrated with the funky appliance that didn't work well. This hotel is an excellent value and I will stay again if I return to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunmoon1
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Oct 8, 2013

water pump is a little bit weak, but good enough

water pump is a little bit weak, but good enough for one day stay. Very close to subway, and room size is decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to subway

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barcelona addict
Business
england
Jun 26, 2013

quiet and comfortable

Well positioned for easy access to the centre and Montjuic. Very clean and comfortable with good aircon, although we booked a nonsmoking room and were allocated a smoking room. Comfortable bed and good shower. VERY quiet room facing back and no noise from adjoining rooms. Maids start at 0830 so put do not disturb sign out if you're not ready to leave before that. Very close to universitat airport bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The magic fountains at placa espana

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single traveler 123
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 22, 2013

Great location

The hotel is located within walking distance to attractions within Barcelona. There really isn't a bar or restaurant but there are several just down the street. My room was small but sufficient for my needs. It was very clean. There is a bit of hallway noise but the price was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Caledonian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
max the real thing
Business
The Texan
Jun 8, 2013

Big rooms, considering...

When in Rome, judge like the Romans. Okay so the balcony led to some back alley apartments. But hey, this is downtown Barcelona and this is an action packed city. The rooms where large compared to European standards and the view was what you would expect in a world class city at at 3+ hotel. Don't expect to check in early. Apparently the check-in time is a serious matter and it isn't waived easily. Comenearly, sleep in the minature lobby for your over-sized room to be ready. Amazingly all the rooms became available simultaneously at 2:00 pm and we were allowed into our room; not a minute to early. The metro is not far from the hotel and the square is just a half a block away. I ordered a single queen bed. There was noon so I was given a room with two full beds that you could combine and make one big bed. But don't get too excited. The beds didn't really connect well and it made it difficult trying to score on my date. Did I mention that the sofa turns into a bed? The hotel is really proud of this addition. I'd go back and so should you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's happening and if it not just grab a taxi they are all over, you can't go wrong unless you have some cash to burn....

Back to menu Return to top