Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
335 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roamer2
southeast PA
Apr 21, 2013

extremely unwelcoming

After considering the up and down reviews for this hotel, we chose to stay there because we just wanted a reasonably priced and clean place to stay. If the room showed a little wear, we didn't really mind - the high marks for service seemed more important. However, I have never had a worse customer experience with a restaurant or hotel than the incident that greeted us the night we arrived. The problem started out small, our room was not ready at check-in time. Not much of a problem, we were starving so we went to find someplace to eat. The front desk had taken our cell #s and said they would call when the room was ready. We went back after about an hour and the room still wasn't ready. Us: Any idea how long it'll be? Front desk: No. So we left our bags there and went to see what the neighborhood was like. Many other people were waiting with bags in the lobby and I thought they may be waiting for their rooms to be ready, too. Four hours after check-in time, we hadn't received a call. I was getting nervous that we wouldn't have a place to stay so I called. The room was ready, they had just not called either cell # we gave them, and neither of us had missed any calls. That was annoying, but not really worth complaining about - we were glad to wash up and get settled. After dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, I signed the total to our room. Then we walked around the hotel to see what was there, passing by the restaurant again twice. The third time we passed by on our way to the pool for a swim. The waitress ran after us out to the deck chairs, and said that there was no credit card on file with the front desk. Since we'd paid with a credit card, I said that they did have it and also that we'd be staying the week. Any other time I probably would have volunteered to go to the desk with her and straightening it out, but I was on vacation and figured they would figure it out without me. We got into the pool. A few minutes later, the manager of the restaurant comes out with someone who turns out to be the security manager. They call to us, over the heads of other swimming guests. Apparently, they can't figure it out without me. I go upstairs, dripping wet and well past annoyed to find that I can't get into the room, they have disabled the card key. How this is supposed to help the situation is beyond me. The night desk was very apologetic, they let me in the room and scanned my credit card to make the restaurant happy. Still, the next morning we sat down and explained what had happened to the manager on duty. He also said he was sorry to hear about this and that he would let the general manager know. We never heard from the general manager, which I guess means that they think that this is an appropriate was to treat those that dine and stay at their hotel. Clearly we were not trying to run out on our bill, and we deserved better treatment. We decided that it would be a waste of our vacation to try and secure a room somewhere else, and we did initially think that this was a crazy mistake and that they would make it up to us. We were wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garzagirl
texas
Jul 27, 2009

smelly rooms and bathrooms!

The rooms were okay but i found old pieces of food under our bed and the bathrooms stink like urine! the entire isla verde is trashland! super dirty place overall! I would never stay or recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ket Supermom
Chicago Suburb
Mar 28, 2014

If you don't mind the huge roaches and sticky floor

The room wasn't clean, most o the towels weren't stained, and the bed was unbelievably uncomfortable. My friend switched her room about 9 times!!! before switching holes to the Embassy net door!! I didn't have the energy for that, but I'll never go back there there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivianr86
Trenton, NJ, USA
Mar 31, 2012

not welcoming!!! very disappointed

disappointed from the moment i walked in the door.. staff was not welcoming.. the young lady by the door was on her cell phone laughing... there was nobody in the front desk we waited about 10 min!! to check in!! and just not welcoming at all!! the room was small and it smelled like a motel room....i was traveling with 2 of my cousins and there was only one mini size trash bin! housekeeping put stained sheets on the bed it look nasty!! the eight20 restaurant... i recommend for them to get new staffing they had the nastiest attitude... the WORST service i ever got..!! the experience was awful... tour guide people were horrible too!! it was just not a good place to stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the beach is a block away!!!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Apr 29, 2010

Never again!

The hotel picture we saw [...] had balconies overlooking the pool. Our room had no balcony and it overlooked the front of the next door hotel and the highway. Our room was extremely humid at all times. We tried adjusting the thermostat, rearranging covers, furniture, curtains, etc. Nothing worked. No ice in any of the 2 ice-machines in the entire hotel.No laundry facility. Our last night there we ended up dragging our dirty drawers to the hotel across the street to use their guests laundry facility – fun.Even after a visit from the cleaning staff, the room was left dirty – they did not wipe any of the tables, counters, surfaces; did not replace toilet tissue and no coffee bags. We ended up chasing the cleaning cart and asking for coffee. At all times there were at least 3 cleaning carts on our floor but we could not figure out how it was that our room was left dirty and without coffee. Of about 15-20 hotel staff members we encountered (we were there for 6 days) the only friendly, pleasant staff was a young lady handling the valet parking. The access street to the hotel was under construction/repair and it was quite a challenge to maneuver around it.We found out that this hotel has only been open since December 2009 so in such a short period of time (we stayed there in April 2010) they are not making the grade. Our trip was costly and unpleasant. Do not stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Victim of Worst Hotel Experience EVER
Southern California
Jul 8, 2010

The Verdenza Experience :(

The experience was horrible. The water was shut off SEVERAL times with no warning. The phones were completely down the entire time. Rooms are not maintained, walls looked like they had not been painted in years. Elevators were extremely slow. Air Conditioning in common areas was not turned on and it was stuffy. Fire alarm had false alarms and no one took the time to inform the guests that they were false alarms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol was a short walk down the main street towards the airport. The food was excellent. It is a Puerto Rican food restaurant with some standard choices as well. The service was great as well. I would highly recommend. They are reasonably priced too.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flintdog
Lorton, VA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

I expect to take showers in hot water. Well I didnt. The water was cold my entire duration. I put a trouble call to the front desk with no success. Also, I stayed for 3 nights and didnt get my room cleaned once. Of course I had my do not disturb sign, but when I depart my room at 5:00 pm and ask the front desk to please send someone to clean my room and I come back at 10:00 pm and my room is still not clean I find this to be a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Chuck
Atlanta, Ga
May 14, 2011

Was Ok, but for price it was fine

When we arrived on Tuesday the hotel looked very beautiful from the outside. Check-in was long because their printer was not working well. After securing room 1021 the bellman who was very good took our luggage to the room. Our room had no view, one tree and a construction site. The pool view rooms have NO ELEVATOR all and everything must be carried up and down stairs. We requested a room on the 1st level, they accommodated our request(very bad request)and moved us to room 1011.The rooms are very small, and this particular room smelled wet possibly some sort of previous flood damage. The bathroom has a separate room for toilet and shower, it smelled the worst. I was there to scuba dive, the heat did not work in the room so it was impossible to dry anything. The language barrier is very hard to overcome, but the staff was great. I was hit with a $13.50 unknown tax charge at check-out not much but when you pay for vacation package it's very unexpected. Read ALL FINE prints. Overall the trip served it's purpose. Will definately stay elsewhere next time. [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plato's restaurant was fantastic. Not a far walk, right around the corner

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivianr86
Trenton, NJ, USA
Mar 30, 2012

poor

the service was not welcoming at all!!! as soon as we come to check in the one girl is on her cell phone laughing... and not helping us at all we waited at the front desk for at least 10 min.... the rooms smelled awful like those motel rooms.. it thew whole room we had one small trash bin... and when they came to clean our room they gave us stained sheets!!!.. the restaurant we went to eight20 had the worst waitress and waiter eveerrr!! NASTY ATTITUDES!!,,very disappointed....will never come back to that place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Labi
New York, NY, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Not good for honey mooners

Hotel staff did not care we were there on our honeymoon. Overall ratings i wouldn't stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos located in other hotels around this one

Back to menu Return to top