Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2016 Check-out: Mar 15, 2016

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
58 reviews
Great

The hotel people were very friendly. Hotel was not what I expected. It was clean and I will visit... See full review

  • shanika m.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Great Vacation!

Great hotel, very close to the main atractions such as Old San Juan. Staff was very friendly, but... See full review

  • Kimberly C.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Catch the San Juan vibe at the Verdanza Hotel, the hotel of choice for leisure and San Juan business travelers who want a sense of belonging through distinctive local touches and a contemporary spirit. Newly redesigned, our Puerto Rico hotel boasts a fresh and casual urban-inspired atmosphere, with organic colors and simple lines.

The Verdanza Hotel offers 222 stylish guestrooms, including 60 Pool Club guestrooms fronting the pool area, and 22 guest suites, all with amenities including complimentary Internet access, and air conditioning. Guests to Verdanza Hotel San Juan may choose from three exciting on-site restaurants providing diverse culinary menus and world-class cuisine.

Guests to the Verdanza Hotel will appreciate modern and convenient amenities, including free WIFI in public areas, an expansive pool area with whirlpool, water Spray-Park, and poolside food and beverage service, a self service Business Center, and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring Star Trac and BodyCraft equipment and boasting panoramic views of the Isla Verde, Hato Rey and San Juan, Puerto Rico areas.

The Verdanza Hotel is committed to responsible business practices from serving only locally harvested premium coffee and using captured rainwater for the gardens, to preventive maintenance and replacement of light bulbs with LED's, showerheads and sink faucets, realizing a reduction of almost 50% in water and energy consumption.

At the Verdanza Hotels sundry and gift shop, enjoy the featured handcrafted work of some of Puerto Rico's local artisans.
A perfect choice for a San Juan business meeting, wedding or other special event, Verdanza Hotel offers full meeting and banquet facilities with 15,000 square feet of meeting space.

The Verdanza Hotel is just steps away from Alambique Beach, the lively beach that made Puerto Rico famous. In the evening, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of choices from live entertainment, dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants all nearby our Isla Verde, Puerto Rico hotel.

Richly designed with features to make you feel right at home in San Juan, Puerto Rico, each of our guestrooms is a peaceful oasis and perfect for a Puerto Rico vacation or business stay. Guests may choose from King or Double sized beds in Superior, Deluxe or Suite Ocean View or City View rooms, City View Pool Club rooms or Priority Club guestroom accommodations.

Convenient Verdanza Hotel accommodations in Puerto Rico include air conditioning, TV with premium cable programming, compact refrigerator and dual phone lines with voicemail. Guests will appreciate complimentary high-speed Internet access, CD player with alarm/radio, hair dryer, in-room iron and ironing board, in-room safe, and a comfortable work area with lighting. In addition, as part of our guestroom enhancement program, we are in the process of phasing in upgraded amenities, such as LCD television and iPod docking station.

Feel right at home with custom perks including our pillow menu, coffeemaker with premium Puerto Rican coffee, high-speed internet access, and two bottles of spring water upon arrival. We also offer cribs upon request, ADA accessible and pet-friendly guestroom lodging.

The Verdanza Hotel offers premium guest services, including pedi-taxi transfers to the beach, concierge, valet laundry, tour and travel service, business center, wireless Internet access in public areas, self and valet parking, room service, a sundry store, and ATM. There is a Dollar-Car-Rental branch with vehicles on property and video phone available for the hearing impaired. The Verdanza Hotel is a smoke-free property with designated outdoor smoking areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garzagirl
Family
texas
Jul 27, 2009

smelly rooms and bathrooms!

The rooms were okay but i found old pieces of food under our bed and the bathrooms stink like urine! the entire isla verde is trashland! super dirty place overall! I would never stay or recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No way
Friends
New York
May 5, 2013

Three rooms

When I arrived I got my room which was in the main building I had to change, it was mold in the room. My second room was pool side I check the room and both beds had what I think was ants. Went to the desk got my third room which was ok. Most rooms the closet doors were off track my phone wasn't working and the hotel always had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Apr 7, 2008

Bad experience...

My husband and I had a terrible experience at the Holiday Inn San Juan Isla Verde. But first, the good: the Asian restaurant in this hotel is divine; the best I?ve ever been to! Don?t miss this restaurant if you go to san juan. The lobby was beautiful, and the pool was nice. The location is good with a Walgreens, the beach, and lots of fast food AND fine dining options very close by. The Italian restaurant in the intercontinental hotel (across the street) is also amazing. Don?t miss the san juan bioluminescence bay kayaking tour if you to PR! We had a great experience with Kayak Puerto Rico. The rainforest and the bio bay are a 45 minute drive (easy drive, safe, and accessible) so piggy back the events and make a day of it if you can. Laquilla beach- across the street from the rainforest- is beautiful! The bad: We had the hotel room from hell. Maybe it was our bad luck and the others are great? We had a poolside room in the smaller units (not the big tower); maybe this was an older section of the hotel? We ARRIVED to a plugged toilet. We had no temperature control in our room and we needed to keep both doors open at all times just in order to not freeze while in the room. We received no housekeeping services one day (for no apparent reason and we had to walk around to find housekeeping and get towels). Before arriving, we were told there was a concierge at the hotel yet both times we tried to use this service we were told by the car rental woman (at the concierge?s desk) that she just dealt with the rental cars and couldn?t help us (Also, rental car is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and the price is half of the dollar rental car price- located within the hotel! Also, if you rent a car at the hotel ? for say the day- you will ached to pay for parking as the car rental place closes early). The worst part of our stay was we had NO hot water in our room! Twice the maintenance man was called to our room and after 10 minutes of fiddling with the shower he was able to get us some hot water. Please note that after a very long day in the rainforest and night kayaking (at 11:00 pm at night) all we wanted was a hot shower and a good nights sleep; not waiting around for a maintenance man who didn?t show up until nearly midnight! Basically, while the lobby and pool were very nice, our actual hotel rooms was- hand?s down - the worst room I?ve ever- in my life- stayed in. Considering I regularly travel for my job, please note that this is a strong statement! Also, the hotel management was not responsive to any of these issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
excited_voyager
Friends
Washington, DC
Mar 20, 2010

Not much to write home about...really

I'd say this place is only good for those who don't really care where they stay and are just there to enjoy the town itself. My friends and i had many complaints after our 4 nights here (the water stopped running for a whole day, the jacuzzi didn't work, the pool was always dirty, the cable also stopped working, housekeeping didn't really do much, etc). The only thing they really provided was a basic room with basic amenities (and it wasn't even that cheap compared to other hotels I've stayed at). It was ok but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone looking to have a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Special K
Family
New Jersey
May 4, 2012

Hospitable Staff

The staff were very personable, and willing to assist when needed. On our second night there, the hot water in our room stopped working. We were provided another room temporarily, and immediately upgraded to a better room on the following morning.... I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and will book there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ordered breakfast from the Bostro within the hotel. The food was delicious, and we were given a very generous amount of food. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ajfam
Family
Ny
Nov 5, 2012

Ok place

Hotel was nice but not as great as some ones near by. I had free breakfast but it was pretty bad if your not offering your best just don't offer anything at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agata
Couples
CT
Sep 8, 2010

ok hotel; great location for price

This hotel was perfect for the one night we stayed prior to our Caribbean cruise. Great location. 5-10 min taxi ride from airport ($15). 15-20 min taxi ride from Old San Juan. One block away from beautiful Isla Verde beach. Short walk to just about every fast food/ restaurant option imaginable. Everything from Burger King to authentic Puerto Rican cuisine to Ruth's Chris steakhouse. Would not recommend staying for long periods of time. Hotel was clean enough but room smelled musty and air vents were dusty. Pool was very kid friendly, with lots of them splashing and screaming. (better for families). Check in was smooth and the staff helpful. hotel restaurant not great- better to take walk down street to Metropol restuarant- Great Puerto Rican/ Cuban food!! You know it's good when it was packed with locals and tourists both times we visited. Overall, hotel served it's purpose, but for same price, friends stayed at the luxurious San Juan Hotel and Casino Waldorf Astoria collection just down the street with 3 beachfront pools. You get what you paid for at Verdanza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J G.
Couples
Arlington, TX
Jun 8, 2010

Good hotel, good location

I booked the hotel based on previous reviews from other travelers. I requested an early check in but unfortunately was not possible. Room was clean. THe beach is just steps away and plenty of casinos around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Madison, WI
Apr 5, 2010

Verdanza

The Verdanza Hotel was a nice location to begin our daily travels around Puerto Rico. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish although most people can speak English. We just found that they warm up to you more if you speak Spanish to them. Luckily my husband is both fluent and charming in Spanish. We thought the hotel overall was very clean..no problems there! No shortage of hot water for the showers either. Each room had a free refrigerator, good A/C and a free safe. We had the standard room with 2 double beds and a balcony. It was kind of tight for 3 adults and 3 suitcases, but we managed ok. We weren't crazy about the fact that we had to pay for parking ($10 a day) for our rental car and we thought the fitness room could have been bigger and better. Overall, we were happy with our choice for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's restaurant was priced as it is in the states. Many other spots we visited we overpriced for what you got. There are not really many places nearby for breakfast othere than fast food. Chili's also served a decent breakfast.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phildelphia, PA
Feb 17, 2010

The good and bad

Verdanza is walking distance to the beach, some shops and restaurants. The room was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top