Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2016 Check-out: Mar 15, 2016

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phildelphia, PA
Feb 17, 2010

The good and bad

Verdanza is walking distance to the beach, some shops and restaurants. The room was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Dec 27, 2009

Great Location

Excelent Staff, very friendly. I felt like home! Great Location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname? How about Amanda
Couples
St Paul, MN
Nov 24, 2009

Happy with our choice

Location was great. Very close to the beach and other hotels friends were staying in. Found a small local spot near by with great food. If I were to visit San Juan again I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garzagirl
Family
texas
Jul 27, 2009

smelly rooms and bathrooms!

The rooms were okay but i found old pieces of food under our bed and the bathrooms stink like urine! the entire isla verde is trashland! super dirty place overall! I would never stay or recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef de Boo
Couples
San Juan Puerto Rico
May 4, 2009

Holiday Inn San Juan

Sightseeing in old San Juan. Thestaff were very friendly and helpful and made great suggestions on what to see, how to get their and restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derrica
Single
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2008

Good for a Last Minute Trip

The Holiday Inn San Juan was a good pick for a trip that was planned very last minute. It's very close to both the airport and the beach (just a two block walk) and also in walking distance of various bars along Isla Verde Avenue. The check-in/check-out and tourist/special activities desk were really helpful and the staffs as the hotels bars/restuarants were really friendly. While I only ate at two of the hotels three restuarant options, the food was very enjoyable. My only complaint was that the room never got cool enough for me and room service can be a little slow at times. Otherwise a satisfying stay. If you're looking for more beach and less casinos and heavy foot traffic this is a good place to stay. It takes a little longer to get to Old San Juan from here BUT it's a very direct route on the bus route, which is only a block away. The beach is beautiful by the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of bars along Avenida Isla Verde with a mix of crowds and musical selections.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Apr 7, 2008

Bad experience...

My husband and I had a terrible experience at the Holiday Inn San Juan Isla Verde. But first, the good: the Asian restaurant in this hotel is divine; the best I?ve ever been to! Don?t miss this restaurant if you go to san juan. The lobby was beautiful, and the pool was nice. The location is good with a Walgreens, the beach, and lots of fast food AND fine dining options very close by. The Italian restaurant in the intercontinental hotel (across the street) is also amazing. Don?t miss the san juan bioluminescence bay kayaking tour if you to PR! We had a great experience with Kayak Puerto Rico. The rainforest and the bio bay are a 45 minute drive (easy drive, safe, and accessible) so piggy back the events and make a day of it if you can. Laquilla beach- across the street from the rainforest- is beautiful! The bad: We had the hotel room from hell. Maybe it was our bad luck and the others are great? We had a poolside room in the smaller units (not the big tower); maybe this was an older section of the hotel? We ARRIVED to a plugged toilet. We had no temperature control in our room and we needed to keep both doors open at all times just in order to not freeze while in the room. We received no housekeeping services one day (for no apparent reason and we had to walk around to find housekeeping and get towels). Before arriving, we were told there was a concierge at the hotel yet both times we tried to use this service we were told by the car rental woman (at the concierge?s desk) that she just dealt with the rental cars and couldn?t help us (Also, rental car is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and the price is half of the dollar rental car price- located within the hotel! Also, if you rent a car at the hotel ? for say the day- you will ached to pay for parking as the car rental place closes early). The worst part of our stay was we had NO hot water in our room! Twice the maintenance man was called to our room and after 10 minutes of fiddling with the shower he was able to get us some hot water. Please note that after a very long day in the rainforest and night kayaking (at 11:00 pm at night) all we wanted was a hot shower and a good nights sleep; not waiting around for a maintenance man who didn?t show up until nearly midnight! Basically, while the lobby and pool were very nice, our actual hotel rooms was- hand?s down - the worst room I?ve ever- in my life- stayed in. Considering I regularly travel for my job, please note that this is a strong statement! Also, the hotel management was not responsive to any of these issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aracelia
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 1, 2007

Friendly staff

Very friendly staff. There was a great little bar that was open late. Beautiful lobby and pool. All around clean. Great location. We were a walk away from the ocean and restaurants. We had a most wonderful experience.We will definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great little nightclub just a short walk away.Good music and drinks.

Back to menu Return to top