Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
349 reviews
Nice Hotel

This hotel was very clean and the staff was nice. It was in a little rougher area but completely... See full review

  • Jessica M.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Spring Break

Great time, close to the beach and store. Great restaurants in the hote! See full review

  • Melissa
  • Feb 3, 2015
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Club Room with King Bed features arched ceilings and includes daily deluxe continental breakfast in the Club Floor Lounge. Perfect for executives and couples. Choice upon availability of city view or partial ocean view. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Divino Wine & Tapas
A stylish and cozy wine bar for connoisseurs and novices alike to explore the world of wines. It features over 40 wine labels available by the glass and a menu of tapas designed to perfectly complement the wines. Life is too short to drink bad wine! DiVino is available daily from 6:00pm.
Ristretto Cafe
And for gourmet Puerto Rican coffee prepared by professional baristas visit Ristretto Caf, where you will also find a selection organic teas, freshly-baked pastries, and deli sandwiches, among other treats. Did you know? In 2013, Ristrettos Mariarosa Gmez was named National Barista Champion of the Year, the first woman to win this recognition on the island. Ristretto is open daily from 6:30 am to 7:00pm.
Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Burger Bar
The Burger Bar is our take on the classic burger joint. It features handcrafted gourmet burgers and artisanal beers in a laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Sports enthusiasts will love watching major sporting events live on flat screens monitors while sipping on their favorite brew or nibbling on great grub! Meanwhile, outdoors, a shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the Isla Verde nightlife. Daily happy hours | Game Day Specials Open daily from 4:00pm
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Its not business as usual when you host your meetings at Verdanza Hotel. Verdanza offers more than 16,000 square feet of versatile indoor and outdoor meeting space with room for up to 400 guests. With options ranging from an executive boardroom to a rooftop terrace with panoramic views, Verdanza focuses on its strengths as an independent " greater flexibility, faster turn-around time and more direct contact with clients " to offer a new brand alternative.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (349)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
349 out of 349
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly L
Business
Plano, TX
Jun 11, 2013

In a good Spot

This hotel was in a great location for us. It is surrounded by many restaurants and fast food places, markets and grocery stores, souvenir shops and casinos in other hotels, and most importantly the beach. Just two blocks from it. We kept our car in the hotel lot which was $10 a day, but by far the best deal for parking since there aren't too many close by the beach, every parking lot charges a fee by the hour. This hotel is pet friendly as well (our room was located nearby so we always saw people playing with their pets in the designated area). The bed was most comfortable!! I usually have trouble sleeping on different beds, but not this king size beauty! Staff is friendly and fluent in English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The rooms come with a mini refrigerator in case groceries are bought.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn's Super Woman
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 4, 2013

Couples getaway

The stay at this hotel was ok. My only complaint was the room smelled of mildew & the elevator also smelled of mildew. Great location, staff are very helpful & knowledgeable about activities & the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't spend money on the tours/excursions. These activities can be easily reached on your own. There's a 24 hour Walgreens & supermarket a block away.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nira
Business
Princeton, NJ
Jun 3, 2013

Neat, Clean, and good location

The hotel is an above average place to stay. Rooms were clean and spacious enough. Bathroom shower could use a bit more pressure and would help if there was a vent in the bathroom. Location of this hotel is really nice. If you're not picky about needing a hotel literally at the beach, this is a great option. The beach is really a street and half away and you don't get unnecessary resort fees. Management is very nice!! Both the receptionist and the lady at the Dollar Rent A car were very helpful and informative! Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel33
Business
CT
May 24, 2013

Great Hotel!!

Staff was Great! Hotel very nice and clean, conventient to everything and easy access to the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRWizzy
Business
Reading, PA
May 24, 2013

Good but....

The Hotel was great. Very friendly staff, very clean and quiet. The room was great with a great view. Everything was just great. The only thing that bothered me was that, at the hotel, you have to pay for parking daily. I think that if you have a room at Verdanza hotel, you should get 1 parking spot with the room. If they can't make that happen, at least give the person staying in a room a Special Rate instead of the Regular Rate for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to save money, I wouldn't eat or shop around the hotels, where most tourists usually are, because the prices are ridiculous. I went to a little town in PR to buy souvenirs and a shot glass that costed $1.99, costed $4.99 around the hotels.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nan frequent traveler
Business
Bronx, NY
May 22, 2013

Extended weekend getaway

Location is great, across the street from the beach. Lovely pool and water attraction for children. On-site parking not over priced. Friendly staff. Overall a very nice experience. I would definately stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdeso
Business
New jersey
May 21, 2013

Family friendly

I had a pretty good time at this hotel. Everyone that worked there was great. My room wasn't ready when I got there but I did get there 3 hrs before ck in & they quickly got me into another so I didn't have to wait. Also some how my room was charged a movie which I explained that on that day I wasn't even near the hotel because I was at a friend's wedding which was the truth & reason we visited PR so they credited me back with no complaints or blame. Again great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mini market is at the corner plaza that will save u money on food if u care to spend on other things

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sketne25
Business
Fairfax, VA
May 16, 2013

Some good, but didn't outweigh the bad

I really wanted to like this place, but I honestly can't say I would stay there again. Here's why: Carpet: In the first room we received, a king room overlooking the pool, I immediately noticed the smell of mildew. It was like a musty carpet that hadn't ever been dry. The carpet was actually squishy, and the smell was overwhelming and obnoxious. However, we had a balcony and a great view, so I tried to get over it. But... Bedbugs: After one night, I awoke with two very itchy welts on my leg. I've had experiences with bedbugs before, and I know exactly what the bites look and feel like. It was identical. However, trying to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and assuming I received the bites during the day before, we stayed put one more night. When I woke up the next morning, there were four new bites on both legs that I just couldn't ignore. I immediately had our room switched. Room switch/staff: When I told the front desk about my problem with the bugs, there was no apology. The worker simply said he would speak with his supervisor and arrange to have us moved to another room. When we came back that afternoon, they moved us to the tower, but all they had were double bed rooms. Great, so my husband and I could either bunk separately like sleep-away camp, or cram together in a double bed with me slathered in calamine and bug spray. It was not romantic, to put it lightly. Unfortunately, I don't know that any treatment was administered to our first room, so some other unsuspecting guest may have unknowingly joined the bedbug party after we left. Bathroom/Water pressure: It's nonexistent, so it'll take ten minutes just to wash your hair. The temperature is bipolar, so prepare to freeze and burn within the same minute while you shower. And there is no fan in the bathroom, which explains why the carpets are soggy (seriously, carpet in a beach-locale hotel? Why???). NOTHING dried. The upside: There were no bugs in our second room, which also had a small view of the ocean. The location is spot-on if you want to hit the beach early, like we did. Great restaurants within walking distance as well. You also have very easy access to the bus system, which is a great way to head into San Juan if you don't want to drive. If you don't want to actually spend any time in the hotel, including sleeping, you're good storing your luggage here. But just make sure it's up off the floor and beds so you don't take any bitey little friends home with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Metropol down along Isla Verde. It's beside the cock-fighting ring about 1/2 mile from the hotel. Everything is delicious, the portions are generous, and the cocktails are strong. The mofongo is to die for!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K. Mitch
Business
Miami,
May 7, 2013

Nice Stay

Placed us in a pool side villa which smelled really old. Switched to a tower room which was somewhat better. Very friendly staff. Located within walking distance to the beach. Several fast food places and restaurants nearby. Highway is also close by. Overall enjoyed our stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No way
Business
New York
May 5, 2013

Three rooms

When I arrived I got my room which was in the main building I had to change, it was mold in the room. My second room was pool side I check the room and both beds had what I think was ants. Went to the desk got my third room which was ok. Most rooms the closet doors were off track my phone wasn't working and the hotel always had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top