Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

3 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
413 reviews
Wonderful Stay

Pleasantly surprised. Great rate and wonderful service. Very clean, nice room, comfortable beds,... See full review

  • MirkaZuzka
  • Apr 8, 2014
Excellent

We had a great time and the staff was awesome especially the concierge service. See full review

  • Roseandscott
  • Apr 5, 2014
Old San Juan hotel offers Spanish-colonial elegance
The blue cobblestone streets of Old San Juan weave around the Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino. The hotel offers convenient access to all the major hot spots, including restaurants, shopping, museums and historic fortresses. The hotel's Spanish-colonial character is evident in its grand lobby with high-arched doorways, a sweeping staircase and a stunning crystal chandelier. The hotel's enclosed courtyard and refined rooms further the look. The waterfront Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino has spectacular views of San Juan Bay.
Highlights
  • Short walk to tourist hot spots
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic views of San Juan Bay
  • Cruise ship piers steps away
  • On-site casino
Rooms

Plantation shutters and bamboo and wicker furniture with palm-tree upholstery make each of the hotel's 240 rooms a pleasant way to end a day of sightseeing in Old San Juan. The comfort at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino continues with pillow-top mattresses, down pillows and richly-colored duvets. Each room has either a city or bay views and high-speed Internet access.

Features

Valet parking is available for $21/day.

Dining

The on-site Tuscan-style chophouse, Palio, serves diverse dishes including homemade lasagna and Angus beef filet mignon, with panoramic views of San Juan Bay. Build your own burger at the casual, waterfront Chicago Burger Company.

Entertainment

The 7,000 square-foot casino at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino excites with table games including roulette and Caribbean stud poker, and more than 350 state-of-the-art slot machines.

Recreation

The rooftop pool and Jacuzzi at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino have views of San Juan Bay. Right next door is the free health club, which shares the panorama.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (12.8 mi/21 km)
Attractions

 

  • Old San Juan Historical District (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cruise ship docks (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business
  • Executive business center with printing, copying, faxing
  • 9,100 square feet of meeting space
  • Nine audiovisual -ready meeting rooms
  • Full catering available
  • Wireless and high-speed Internet access in all meeting areas

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (413)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
413 out of 413
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
laucat
a country in Central America
Apr 16, 2012

Pre Cruise Stay

This is the perfect hotel for pre or post cruising. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to the action in Old San Juan and a few steps away from the dock. The only couple of deficiencies I found about my stay are: First, a humidity odor in some the rooms is overwhelming. I dont think anyone can sleep with that smell! Fortunately, after asking for a change of rooms, I was inmediately transferred to one that was ok. And second, the elevators are too few and of an old generation, complicated and slow to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Krystalp
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2014

Great location! Easy Access!

We stayed in the Sheraton Old San Juan for 2 nights for the last leg of our trip. The hotel staff we interacted with were patient, nice and helpful. The hotel was clean, the room comfortable and clean. We appreciated the complimentary water and coffee. We did visit the pool, its extremely small so with just a few people it gets packed pretty quick. they had a 24 hour gym that I didn't use but it looked clean and had the basics for an away workout. The best thing about this hotel was the location, it was easy to walk everywhere and was close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Sophie and Dixie's mom
Eau Claire wi
Mar 2, 2014

Perfect site

The hotel is in an ideal location. Easy to walk to the restaurants, shops, and historical sites. Fun it watch the cruise ships from the room which overlooks the docking locale. Close to trolley stops...courteous and friendly staff... One suggestion would be to include breakfast with room reservation...the 20 dollars per person for the buffet seemed excessive...only ate there once...other meals were all at area cafés.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
arnies
blaine, mn
Feb 24, 2014

clean and friendly

Great hotel amd convientent to rest and shopping. Liked there was casino and resturant attached. Personnel was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
World Traveler 2014
NYC
Feb 24, 2014

Great place to stay in old San Juan

Chicago burger - surprisingly good casino downstairs -but not too loud feels safe nice pool on roof staff was meh- esp the valet ppl - not helpful with finding cabs- Not a good place to stay if you want to go to the beach everyday though - 20-30 $ cab ride each way. great for walking around Old San Juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
Rubinowitz
Groveport, Ohio
Feb 22, 2014

San Juan (old) Sheraton

The staff at this hotel were fabulous. They were friendly, courteous, and very accommodating to our needs. The junior suite was spacious and comfortable. It was wonderful to watch all the activity (including the cruise ships in the bay) from our balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
shoe salesman
philadelphia
Feb 21, 2014

Great winter getaway

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The location of the hotel was central to restaurants and bars. The free trolly was a great way of getting around the city. Old San Juan has great historical places to visit and see. You are able to sit and watch the cruise ships come in day and night. The only thing I would do differently is my room, I upgraded to a Deluxe room thinking we would have a balcony and we didn't we looked out the window to a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
a ripped off customer
Maryland
Feb 18, 2014

A very pricey hotel.

It was OK, but the price of the room was WAY TOO HIGH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
M. away
Louisville, KY
Feb 17, 2014

Old San Juan getaway.

We enjoyed our stay here. Great loction for getting around Old San Juan, free trolley a block away. Ride it to the El Morro fort, and stroll back down through Old San Juan. Nice to sit and look over the bay at happy hour on (patio)second floor resturant. It was easy to rent a car, and drive out to the El Yunque rain forest, and over to a beach 15 or so minutes from the base. Ready to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Senior X
Manhattan, New York City
Feb 14, 2014

Great First Trip to Puerto Rico

Great hotel location and price. But restaurant on 2nd floor is too expensive. We had breakfast there only once. Food at Chicago Burger and Grill substandard and pricey. The Senior Frogs next door just terrible, we walked out of there in a hurry. This is just a tourist trap. We found great moderately priced restaurants just couple blocks away from the hotel where we had breakfast and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the hotel and next door restaurants. Good restaurants just couple blocks away from hotel.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
lindsaylb
Evansville, IN
Feb 10, 2014

Great stay, Great location

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed it. The location is fabulous. It's right in the middle of Old San Juan and was an easy walk to El Morro and Castillo San Cristobol, Paseo de Princessa and more. The room was really nice, and there is a casino if you are into that (we weren't). We used the hot tub on top of the building which was really nice with a great view. We didn't visit either of the two restaurants (a burger place and an Italian place) so I can't comment on that. The only negative was that there is no shuttle to and from the airport, and you have to pay for parking. There are 2 parking garages next door. We didn't realize one was very expensive and we ended up paying $88 for 1.5 days of parking! The adjacent parking garage luckily only charged like $15/ day. We just wished it had been more clear from the beginning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to park at the larger parking garage. Make sure of the rates so you don't end up way over-paying on parking!

Back to menu Return to top