Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

ESJ Towers

3 stars
6165 Isla Verde Ave., Suite 2200, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
69 reviews
More than I expected

This was the most amazing place I've stayed at. The rooms are clean the staff are amazing and the... See full review

  • Jenilu
  • Mar 6, 2014
fantastic experience

Though we spent one day, including a night, only at this hotel, our experience with it is... See full review

  • Meditator Wu
  • Jan 12, 2014
Fun and comfort at beachside resort on Isla Verde
Children and adults will revel in everything there is to do at the ESJ Towers. This oceanfront resort is located on beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The vast, seaside patio is lined with palm trees and has a huge pool and hot tub. There is a separate area where kids have a playground and pool of their own. There's a large game room with video games, ping-pong and pool tables. Drinks are served at the poolside bar and at Mano a Mano, a casual club. Rooms are bright and cozy, with ocean or garden views. All guests (adults only) enjoy the free American breakfast buffet daily.
Highlights
  • Located on stunning Isla Verde Beach
  • Complimentary American breakfast buffet
  • On-site mini-mart
  • Game room with pool tables and ping-pong
  • Kids pool and playground
Rooms

The ESJ Towers has 17 floors of roomy suites and apartments. All have private terraces with ocean or garden views. The rooms are homey with tropical décor including wicker nightstands and palm tree prints. There is Wi-Fi Internet access. Bathrooms have tiled vanities and baths. Studio suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. The one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spacious living rooms and dining areas. Larger apartments have a washer and dryer.

 

Features

Garage parking is free for guests at ESJ Towers.

Dining

The family-friendly Happy Apple Restaurant at ESJ Towers serves a breakfast and lunch buffet, salads and sandwiches. The Pool Bar serves a bar menu and drinks. Kiosk is a snack bar offering hot dogs, yogurt and a la carte items. Mano a Mano is an informal cocktail lounge.

Recreation
In addition to the beach and the pools, there is also bingo, billiards, a game room, ping-pong and water aerobics on site. The fitness center at ESJ Towers is free of charge to hotel guests.
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado district (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Juan Marina (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with computers
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet

ESJ Towers Rooms

Efficiency 1 king or 2 Full
Our Studio Suites offer the best in beach front living. Guest rooms include one king size or two full size beds as well as a modern kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator/ice maker. Bathrooms offer fully tiled vanities and baths. Take advantage of our modern conveniences including wireless internet access and cable TV with premium channels. For added relaxation, select rooms enjoy gorgeous ocean views from the private terrace. Rates also include a full buffet American breakfast, daily housekeeping, free parking and wake-up calls. The ESJ Towers offers the best in beachfront living with spacious living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens complete with microwave and refrigerator/ice maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ESJ Towers also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4443 -66.0173
Area served
San Juan, Old San Juan - 5 miles Arecibo - 52 miles Caguas - 21 miles Ponce - 75 miles
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Nestled on the finest beach in Puerto Rico, where beautiful palm trees sway gently in the warm Caribbean breeze, ESJ Towers resort offers a taste of leisure beach front living. Our contemporary resort hotel is located in the beautiful Isla Verde beach in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico. Old San Juan and our neighbor, Waldorf Astoria El San Juan Hotel & Casino are just minutes away. Cruise ship passengers and corporate travelers will enjoy easy access to the Port of San Juan, the San Juan Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Airport and San Juan Convention Center. Guests of our resort will discover an array of cultural activities and attractions located near the ESJ Towers. Tour the Bacardi Rum Distillery to discover the island's long rum producing past, walk the narrow cobblestone paths of Old San Juan or explore the hidden passageways of the impressive Fort San Felipe del Morro. For an educational experience, head to the Fine Arts Center Luis A. Ferrer and the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.8 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.8 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.8 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.8 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.8 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.5 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.8 mi

Dining

Local Restaurants
Koco, El San Juan Hotel, Caribbean/Mediterranean, La Piccola Fontana, El San Juan Hotel, Italian Yamato,El San Juan Hotel, Japanese Outback, Steak House, Embassy Suites, Steak House Ciao Mediterranean, Intercontinental, Greek Momoyama, Intercontinental, Japanese Ruth's Chris, Intercontinental, Steak House Ocean Bar and Grill, The Ritz, Snacks BLT Steak House, The Ritz, Steak House Wet, Water Club, Snacks
Happy Apple Restaurant
Enjoy a satisfying breakfast or lunch buffet at the family-friendly Happy Apple Restaurant. Enjoy local and continental cuisine as well as savory snacks, salads and sandwiches. Happy Apple Restaurant is open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Pool Bar & Kiosk
Our poolside bar is the hot spot for flavorful drinks and casual conversation. Order a speciality cocktail or traditional drink from our full bar menu or enjoy a hot dog, yogurt and other tasty snacks at the outdoor pool plaza snack bar open from 11:00 am -6:00 pm daily.
Mano A Mano Lounge
This cozy, informal cocktail lounge serves up daily drink specials and cocktails in a casual club setting. Or relax in our lounge area and sip on a tropical delight while watching you favorite sports game on large panel TV's. Mano a Mano is open from 5 p.m. to midnight.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ESJ Towers is a popular pick for business meetings and conferences. Our San Juan resort offers meeting and event space as well as high-tech audio-visual support. Professional event catering is also available. For smaller groups, our contemporary meeting room offers the perfect amount of space with a salon for 35 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for ESJ Towers

Overall score

2.9 / 5
23 out of 69
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
KarinaHG
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 25, 2014

Great Location

The staff was outstanding! The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Pablo aka Paul
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 23, 2014

Great Urban location right on the Beach!

The location was perfect for getting around the city and the airport between the Ritz and El San Juan Resort. The hotel is very nice but the room we stayed in on "the Lanai" was outdated and stuck in 1975....I heard some of the rooms are updated and will request one of those next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
alexeym
San Jose, Ca
Feb 23, 2014

Good place to stay with the family

I stayed there with my parents and sister over the new years and liked it overall - the room was cleaned regularly and the staff was nice. There were no loud noises disturbing our sleep and the beds were nice. Maybe this is not a super high end place, but we didn't need that either - just somewhere to feel at peace at. The balcony had a nice view over some small condos and a bit of ocean to the left. We went to the bioluminescent bay in Fajardo (which was ok - they say the one in Vieques is shinier, but then you need to take a ferry and get a hotel there, etc) - so while not super great, it was good exercise. We also rented a car and went to the El Yunque rain forest - you can find driving directions no problem and entrance and parking are free - look for La Mina Falls - a bit of a hike, but then you can swim in the waterfall and the hike is in a rainforest which I absolutely love (giant bamboo, lots of greenery, pleasant humidity :) On the way back you can stop for food at the food-stands (kiosks) at Luquillo (also look up the directions beforehand as the turnoff kind of sneaks up on you - it is where PR3 gets really close to the water - near Parque Damasa Rivera).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

My family liked Ponderosas - they have one down the road towards SJ - the baked potatoes, salads, soups and my parents like the lobsters and stakes for not too bad of a price. If you really want some good mofongo, go to the old San Juan and look for Cafe Puerto Rico

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

1
Tania U
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 24, 2014

It needs a lot of love/updates.

While this hotel is right off the beach, the hotel is in desperate need of a facelift; it is stuck in the 50s. Starting with the lobby, it is dark and dreary; while the art pieces were nice, they clearly have not been changed since the hotel's heyday. The main pool is only one rectangle with NO KID FRIENDLY area; even the hot tub is about 5ft deep with no bench or anything. The kid area is far away from the main pool with a nice playground but no restrooms nearby. There is a little wadding pool but it was too deep for my 18month old to sit in (and very cold). While the beach is nice, the access is almost hidden and a maze to sort out (going down to the garage, out a side door, through a playground area, out a gate); with key access at every door so don't lose your key! I never ate the breakfast but my friends did and said it was so bad they preferred to go out to eat, even though it came with the hotel. The rooms are BASIC; while the kitchenette was nice amenity, it felt like a dorm. I wasn't at all impressed and much rather pay more to have a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
lovely7
puerto rico
Jan 6, 2014

family getaway

Excellent location... free breakfast and parking..near to great places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
brandi L
NY
Apr 2, 2013

Great trip

This was a last minute trip.. Great place.. great staff, great weather.. would stay there again in a minute

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

2
Jasmin 84
North Carolina
Mar 12, 2013

an "ok" stay

I expected much more for the price paid! Beach and pool access closed too early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

2
Little Lisa
South Windsor, CT
Feb 26, 2013

not as advertised

The ESJ Towers website is very misleading. Not only is this not a hotel, but most definitely not a resort hotel. It is a time-share-type residence that looks as though it was built in the 1950's and has never been updated. If you are looking for a bare-bones place to stay that happens to be on a beautiful beach, then this is the place for you! We stayed one night, and then switched to a true resort hotel a couple doors down. Thankfully, we had no trouble getting a refund for the last two nights of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

2
Luis Emilio
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Feb 25, 2013

Slow Front desk

The supervisor during this weekend (Feb. 23) did not let my wife and my kids do the check in in spite i talk to him by telephone. referring to security issues. VERY POOR 1ST IMPRESSION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel El San Juan

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Misty BB
Beverly, MA
Feb 25, 2013

Hotel needs a little updating

The staff was very helpful and friendly, but the property itself is pretty tired. Our room wasn't bad, except the guest chair was embarrassingly filthy and the hall lighting is a little spooky. Fantastically hot shower, a rarity for many hotels in PR, and the indoor garage seemed quite secure. Pretty quiet considering proximity to airport. Would be helpful to point out that the property is behind the El San Juan Resort and not actually on Isla Verde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top