Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

ESJ Towers

3 stars
6165 Isla Verde Ave., Suite 2200, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
71 reviews
More than I expected

This was the most amazing place I've stayed at. The rooms are clean the staff are amazing and the... See full review

  • Jenilu
  • Mar 6, 2014
fantastic experience

Though we spent one day, including a night, only at this hotel, our experience with it is... See full review

  • Meditator Wu
  • Jan 12, 2014
Fun and comfort at beachside resort on Isla Verde
Children and adults will revel in everything there is to do at the ESJ Towers. This oceanfront resort is located on beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The vast, seaside patio is lined with palm trees and has a huge pool and hot tub. There is a separate area where kids have a playground and pool of their own. There's a large game room with video games, ping-pong and pool tables. Drinks are served at the poolside bar and at Mano a Mano, a casual club. Rooms are bright and cozy, with ocean or garden views. All guests (adults only) enjoy the free American breakfast buffet daily.
Highlights
  • Located on stunning Isla Verde Beach
  • Complimentary American breakfast buffet
  • On-site mini-mart
  • Game room with pool tables and ping-pong
  • Kids pool and playground
Rooms

The ESJ Towers has 17 floors of roomy suites and apartments. All have private terraces with ocean or garden views. The rooms are homey with tropical décor including wicker nightstands and palm tree prints. There is Wi-Fi Internet access. Bathrooms have tiled vanities and baths. Studio suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. The one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spacious living rooms and dining areas. Larger apartments have a washer and dryer.

 

Features

Garage parking is free for guests at ESJ Towers.

Dining

The family-friendly Happy Apple Restaurant at ESJ Towers serves a breakfast and lunch buffet, salads and sandwiches. The Pool Bar serves a bar menu and drinks. Kiosk is a snack bar offering hot dogs, yogurt and a la carte items. Mano a Mano is an informal cocktail lounge.

Recreation
In addition to the beach and the pools, there is also bingo, billiards, a game room, ping-pong and water aerobics on site. The fitness center at ESJ Towers is free of charge to hotel guests.
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado district (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Juan Marina (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with computers
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • High-speed Internet

ESJ Towers Rooms

Efficiency 1 king or 2 Full
Our Studio Suites offer the best in beach front living. Guest rooms include one king size or two full size beds as well as a modern kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator/ice maker. Bathrooms offer fully tiled vanities and baths. Take advantage of our modern conveniences including wireless internet access and cable TV with premium channels. For added relaxation, select rooms enjoy gorgeous ocean views from the private terrace. Rates also include a full buffet American breakfast, daily housekeeping, free parking and wake-up calls. The ESJ Towers offers the best in beachfront living with spacious living and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens complete with microwave and refrigerator/ice maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ESJ Towers also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4443 -66.0173
Area served
San Juan, Old San Juan - 5 miles Arecibo - 52 miles Caguas - 21 miles Ponce - 75 miles
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Nestled on the finest beach in Puerto Rico, where beautiful palm trees sway gently in the warm Caribbean breeze, ESJ Towers resort offers a taste of leisure beach front living. Our contemporary resort hotel is located in the beautiful Isla Verde beach in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico. Old San Juan and our neighbor, Waldorf Astoria El San Juan Hotel & Casino are just minutes away. Cruise ship passengers and corporate travelers will enjoy easy access to the Port of San Juan, the San Juan Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Airport and San Juan Convention Center. Guests of our resort will discover an array of cultural activities and attractions located near the ESJ Towers. Tour the Bacardi Rum Distillery to discover the island's long rum producing past, walk the narrow cobblestone paths of Old San Juan or explore the hidden passageways of the impressive Fort San Felipe del Morro. For an educational experience, head to the Fine Arts Center Luis A. Ferrer and the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.8 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.8 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.8 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.8 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.8 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.5 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.8 mi

Dining

Local Restaurants
Koco, El San Juan Hotel, Caribbean/Mediterranean, La Piccola Fontana, El San Juan Hotel, Italian Yamato,El San Juan Hotel, Japanese Outback, Steak House, Embassy Suites, Steak House Ciao Mediterranean, Intercontinental, Greek Momoyama, Intercontinental, Japanese Ruth's Chris, Intercontinental, Steak House Ocean Bar and Grill, The Ritz, Snacks BLT Steak House, The Ritz, Steak House Wet, Water Club, Snacks
Happy Apple Restaurant
Enjoy a satisfying breakfast or lunch buffet at the family-friendly Happy Apple Restaurant. Enjoy local and continental cuisine as well as savory snacks, salads and sandwiches. Happy Apple Restaurant is open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Pool Bar & Kiosk
Our poolside bar is the hot spot for flavorful drinks and casual conversation. Order a speciality cocktail or traditional drink from our full bar menu or enjoy a hot dog, yogurt and other tasty snacks at the outdoor pool plaza snack bar open from 11:00 am -6:00 pm daily.
Mano A Mano Lounge
This cozy, informal cocktail lounge serves up daily drink specials and cocktails in a casual club setting. Or relax in our lounge area and sip on a tropical delight while watching you favorite sports game on large panel TV's. Mano a Mano is open from 5 p.m. to midnight.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The ESJ Towers is a popular pick for business meetings and conferences. Our San Juan resort offers meeting and event space as well as high-tech audio-visual support. Professional event catering is also available. For smaller groups, our contemporary meeting room offers the perfect amount of space with a salon for 35 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for ESJ Towers

Overall score

3.3 / 5
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
JPDUR
New York, NY, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Average Hotel

We found the room to be clean but the carpet looked like it hadnt been replaced or cleaned in 10 years. The room had a damp moldly smell so we kept the AC running all the time to help with the dampness. The advertisement said the hotel had WiFi but when we got there we found out you had to pay $13 a day for it. The complimentary breakfast was great and they gave us about $100 of coupons for drinks at the hotel that you could use at the main bar or at the pool bar. We found little ants in the kitchen and when I told the front desk, they sent maintenance right away to exterminate. It's an old hotel but it served its purpose which was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel gives you about $100 worth of coupons for drinks at the main bar or pool bar.

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Ralph169
New York, NY, USA
Apr 19, 2014

Much needed sun!!

It's a comfortable hotel for the price. Right on the beach. A lot of locked doors. Need your keys almost for everything. Getting to the beach and pool alittle awkward. Be sides that a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's rite across the street.

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
zodiac xl5
ivoryton,ct.
Apr 17, 2014

goodgetaway

I liked the free breakfast and service was good fast elevators nice view quiet nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

full size grocery store 2 blocks away

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
grackem
Nebraska
Apr 13, 2014

great value for the money

We had no idea where to stay in San Juan. After seeing pictures and reviews online, we decided to give ESJ Towers a try. It was a very good choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The access to the beach is immediate and the beach and it's amenities were amazing. The pool area is large with enough chairs and space for everyone. Large areas of shade are also provided, which is welcomed due to the intensity of the Sun for prolonged periods. The rooms were a little dated but large and clean. We had the breakfast buffet and two drinks a day included in our price, so we got a lot for our money. It is located within walking distance to many places to eat and next door to a casino. We had a rental car, and parking was free. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
KarinaHG
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 25, 2014

Great Location

The staff was outstanding! The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
Kelly and Joe
Cleveland Ohio
Mar 23, 2014

Honeymoon

The staff was wonderful. Always friendly and courteous. Always available for anything we needed. Breakfast was always delicious. Plenty of food and friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth's Chris steakhouse has an amazing happy hour at the bar from 5:30-7:00, so if your on a budget this is the place to go!!

Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Pablo aka Paul
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 23, 2014

Great Urban location right on the Beach!

The location was perfect for getting around the city and the airport between the Ritz and El San Juan Resort. The hotel is very nice but the room we stayed in on "the Lanai" was outdated and stuck in 1975....I heard some of the rooms are updated and will request one of those next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Student Spring Breaker
Madison, Wisconsin
Mar 22, 2014

Great Value for Couple Retreat

Great value for what you pay. Beach is not ideal, but the pool is a very nice relaxing spot. Within walking distance of several restaurants and grocery stores (for kitchen). Hotel is a little older but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Directly on 75 cent bus line to old San Juan. Had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

2
Needsupdating
Stuart , fl
Mar 19, 2014

Ehh, not good value

This hotel has not been updated since the 1960s. The pictures shown on the website did not correspond to the actual rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

4
Vitaf
New York
Mar 19, 2014

Convenience

On the beach. Walking distance to stores and restaurants. Room has a kitchenette

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of ESJ Towers

Reviewer score

3
Cabra
Seattle, WA
Mar 19, 2014

Average hotel, good value on touristy Isla Verde

Isla Verde is a very touristy location, catering to those that want to be on the beach easily. If that's what you're looking for, ESJ is a very good value. The amenities need modernizing, but there's very good security, free beach towel rental, a lovely little pool & hot tub, and extremely easy beach access (yes, you have to walk through the parking garage - big deal, yo). The staff were all very friendly and we were able to walk to great places for lunch (La Playita), breakfast (Piu Gelato), and dinner (Zest). For a more intimate experience, try La Playita.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

- Lunch at La Playita offers great salads - Breakfast at Piu Gelato was diner-like, but yummy and good value (would likely be great for lunch, too) - Dinner at Zest was all modern and foo-foo fun

Back to menu Return to top