Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 14, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

Coral by the Sea Hotel

1 star
View map of Calle Rosa #2, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
30 reviews
Small but in a Nice Location!

Its a small hotel but in a perfect location. My room was clean and the CS Rep was great. The only... See full review

  • Orlando R.
  • Nov 12, 2015
Price and Location a Huge Plus

For those traveling on a budget or would like to save tons of money, but still have a good clean... See full review

  • Mymy
  • Jul 9, 2009
The Coral by the Sea Hotel is located in the centre of the Isla Verde tourist area and within walking distance from the Isla Verde beach. San Juan International Airport is only 5 minutes' drive from the hotel, Old San Juan Cruise Terminal, Banking District, Convention Center and Coliseo of Puerto Rico are 15 minutes away. Public transportation is accessible.

This hotel features comfortable accommodations, fully equipped with private bath, Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Telephone and complimentary wireless internet. Two Onsite Restaurants catering International and Puerto Rican Cuisine. Complimentary on Site Parking and free wireless Internet.

The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. A very lively nightlife awaits the visitors: dancing, casinos, festivals, theaters, Arts Museum, concerts and varied festivals are all part of the action. ***A $5.00 Nightly parking fee will be collected at the property for guest using parking facilities***

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coral by the Sea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4435 -66.016
Area served
Isla Verde, San Juan (Hato Rey), Old San Juan, Guaynabo, Bayamon, Carolina.
Nearby airports
San Juan International Airport - (SJU) Estimate driving distance 5 minutes.
Area description
Within walking distance to the Isla Verde Beach. Five minutes from the San Juan International Airport. Fifteen minutes from the Old City of San Juan.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Coral by the Sea Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mymy
Friends
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2009

Price and Location a Huge Plus

For those traveling on a budget or would like to save tons of money, but still have a good clean place to sleep...this is the place. It was literally only two blocks from the Isla Verde beach and all the major local buses stopped right in front of it. Drums, a great restaurant with live music played by local bands was only less than a five mimuet walk away and so was Walgreens. The only problem was some noise from planes flying nearby...the hotel is only about a five to ten minuet drive from the airport which was actually a good thing when we had to check out very early in the morning. Other than that minor problem, the hotel was great and at a very reasonal price. Also, our room was cleaned on a daily basis and the staff was very nice, accomodating, and informative about local attractions and even the bus routes. The A5 bus took us to Old San Juan and the B40 bus took us to Plaza del Mercado, a great local outdoor market. Buses were only seventy-five cents each way which saved a lot of money since we didn't have to join tour groups or use taxis to get around at all. We're definitly coming back to this hotel the next time we visit San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This will save you anywhere from $20-$40. When you want to visit Old San Juan from this hotel just take the A5 bus for $0.75 and it will drop you off right in Old San Juan. Close to the bus station is a free trolley that will take you all over Old San Juan. If you also want to visit the Bacardi Factory in Cantano, take the ferry in Pier 2 in Old San Juan which is only $1 per person for a round trip ticket. Once you exit the ferry in Cantano, walk towards your right to a large yellow parking garage. There are taxis there that will take you to the Barcardi factory for only $3 per person each way. Visiting the Bacardi factory is free including their tour and two drinks at the bar. Most tour groups will charge you about $40 to visit the Bacardi factory...but why do that when you could see it for only $7.

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jan 28, 2008

My review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

The Coral By The Sea is an older hotel needing a little maintenance but it was in a good location, it was clean, the staff was friendly and the price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The main dining restaurant of the hotel was expensive so we ate in the cafe area where the food was good and reasonably priced.

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 30, 2007

very nice stay

everyone was real friendly, great location with lots to do near, the price was very good compared to the rest, if im by there again i would stay - right in the heart of everything and everyone was kind and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the resturaunt out front had some very good food

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 27, 2007

friendly

So expensive for a old hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Airport near

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
South Bend, IN
Aug 28, 2007

Great Maid

When I got to the air port in San Juan I relized I left some of my belongings in the room. I called the hotel and asked them to ship them to me I am still waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos and the beach

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Aug 29, 2007

ROACH MOTEL IN GREAT COUNTRY

OVERALL THE HOTEL WAS GOOD. THEIR COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER SHEET, PILLOW ETC. THE LOCATION IS EXCELLENT SINCE THE BEACH IS LIKE 3 BLOCKS AWAY. THE TAXI SERVICE IS SADLY EXPENSIVE, AND THE HOTEL IS VERY CLOSE TO THE BUS STOP, SO I WOULD ADVISE TAKING THAT. OVERALL NICE FOR CHEAP PRICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2009

Coral by the Sea Review

This hotel was definitely a budget hotel. However, the staff was amazing (spoke perfect English, very helpful and extremely friendly). Four of us stayed in a double room after a long day of site-seeing in Old San Juan and were leaving very early the following morning to tour more of Puerto Rico. We checked in around 8pm and the staff was so nice. The room was average but had air conditioning and we all had great showers (great pressure and very hot). The room and bathroom were very clean. There was free wireless which we definitely appreciated. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends staying in San Juan for a night or two, but not for a romantic weekend away or an entire vacation in PR, etc. The diner in the hotel was really good too and the other restaurant seemed very fancy (and very pricey). Also, there was free parking in a gated parking lot behind the hotel which seemed very safe for our rental car (considering there were Jaguars and other very nice cars parked there too).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Diner in hotel was really good. The prices were excellent for us (college students) and the waiter was very funny. The service was excellent and it was very convenient to eat in the hotel after a long day of site-seeing.

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orlando R.
Family
Camden
Nov 12, 2015

Small but in a Nice Location!

Its a small hotel but in a perfect location. My room was clean and the CS Rep was great. The only problem was parking but they give a parking pass to park on the street so they wont towed your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy Elite
Single
New Orleans, Louisiana
Dec 2, 2013

1 night stay

Stayed here for a night due to long hours layovers. It's near to the airport, free wi-fi, shower, staff is friendly and it's just what I am looking for. Will come back again next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Coral by the Sea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry W.
Couples
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

catching cruise ship

this hotel is only good if you are spending one night before you catch a cruise ship very basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top