Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
914 reviews
Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was... See full review

  • Galina04
  • Jul 13, 2014
wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go. See full review

  • Duubg
  • Apr 30, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (914)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
914 out of 914
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
london,canada
Nov 28, 2010

over charge

when we got there they tried to charge us again for our week.we paid $968.86 for the week from orbits. however the true cost for the week was only $720.. orbits charged 34.5% premium which i think is too much of a markup. also,when checking out of the hotel they tried to charge us again for ground transportation which we bought from orbits. so make sure you check your bill before leaving.also, make sure you have copies of what you bought from [...] because you will need to prove that you did pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
london,canada
Nov 28, 2010

over charge

when we got there they tried to charge us again for our week.we paid $968.86 for the week from orbits. however the true cost for the week was only $720.. orbits charged 34.5% premium which i think is too much of a markup. also,when checking out of the hotel they tried to charge us again for ground transportation which we bought from orbits. so make sure you check your bill before leaving.also, make sure you have copies of what you bought from [...] because you will need to prove that you did pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob and Sue
Atlanta, GA
Nov 28, 2010

Not So Gran Melia....

- Beach was prohibitively rocky for easy barefoot walking... - Royal Service and Concierge routinely took 45-75 minutes to fulfill requests... - Pasion resturant took 45 min to take our order, 45 mins to serve one dish, then 20 mins afterwards to bring out my entree... agreed to comp dinner, then we had to "fight" to get it taken off our final bill... - Spa support staff was so disappointing, we cancelled our couples massage... - Generally felt service providers -- if weren't trying to sell us something (or make money thru upgrades and bulk tours -- were not really interested in making our individual experience memorable. Our best experiences (and largest tips) went to offsite tour provider, and resturant. Will definitely revisit PR... And while the property gardens and scenary are lush and very, very pleasant.... We are not likely to stay at the Gran Melia again. -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had our best (most personable, one-on-one) experiences (i.e. site seeing, personal tour guide, water sports and dining experiences) with a local, third party provider for about 40% cheaper all the way around.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob and Sue
Atlanta, GA
Nov 28, 2010

Not So Gran Melia....

- Beach was prohibitively rocky for easy barefoot walking... - Royal Service and Concierge routinely took 45-75 minutes to fulfill requests... - Pasion resturant took 45 min to take our order, 45 mins to serve one dish, then 20 mins afterwards to bring out my entree... agreed to comp dinner, then we had to "fight" to get it taken off our final bill... - Spa support staff was so disappointing, we cancelled our couples massage... - Generally felt service providers -- if weren't trying to sell us something (or make money thru upgrades and bulk tours -- were not really interested in making our individual experience memorable. Our best experiences (and largest tips) went to offsite tour provider, and resturant. Will definitely revisit PR... And while the property gardens and scenary are lush and very, very pleasant.... We are not likely to stay at the Gran Melia again. -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had our best (most personable, one-on-one) experiences (i.e. site seeing, personal tour guide, water sports and dining experiences) with a local, third party provider for about 40% cheaper all the way around.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachesinaz
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

Didn't want to leave

This was one of the best resorts I've been to. We paid for the Royal Service and it turned out to be truly royal. They give you a little coconut shell bracelet which lets the staff know you are a Royal Service guest. Genius idea. Although, it seemed that everyone was treated well. All the staff is friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful. The only place it lacks is the beach. The beach is shallow and rocky; not like beaches in the states. We've been to PR before and I think that's just the way their beaches are. There is a private pool for Royal Service guests, but we did not use it. The main pool is huge and has music, a swim up bar and a poolside grill. The burgers are big and juicy there. We stayed in a beachfront suite, which looks just like the pictures online. The furniture is beautiful, the bed is comfy and I think you can fit at least 6 people in the shower at once. It's pretty big. The beach views are picturesque and the jetted tub on the balcony is such a great way to end the evening just before bed. We ate at the Puerto Rican restaurant the first night. The mofongo con pollo and lobster gumbo were excellent. The servers were very attentive. We ate at the Japanese restaurant the second night. The sushi was pretty good and so was the service. The Martini bar just outside the Japanese restaurant had different and tasty drinks. Since we had Royal Service, we were able to go to complimentary happy hour every night from 6-9pm. It was a nice little treat before dinner. The room is lit with candles, the walls and furniture are dark wood, and you can sit on couches or at tables. It was very cozy, like being in a den or a study at someone's house. Breakfast in Cafe Soliel is good and fast. They have fresh fruit, pastries, an omlette station, fresh juices, hot breakfast items like eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, etc. When it was time to check out and go home, they came around with the cart and picked us and our luggage up and took us to the front. The location of this property is not ideal if you want to go out and explore PR at all. It's a very very big property and you are nestled deep within it. Prepare to pay quite a bit to cab to and from the airport. It's a bit of a hike. All in all a very pleasant experience from start to finish. I didn't want to leave and would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I think you would get smiles and excellent service even if you didn't pay for Royal Service. If you want the little perks like personal and speedy check in and out, a secluded pool, complimentary happy hour, "free" computer/internet usage and "free" breakfast, pay for Royal Service. With all the happy hour drinks and the breakfast we had, we probably got our money's worth.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachesinaz
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

Didn't want to leave

This was one of the best resorts I've been to. We paid for the Royal Service and it turned out to be truly royal. They give you a little coconut shell bracelet which lets the staff know you are a Royal Service guest. Genius idea. Although, it seemed that everyone was treated well. All the staff is friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful. The only place it lacks is the beach. The beach is shallow and rocky; not like beaches in the states. We've been to PR before and I think that's just the way their beaches are. There is a private pool for Royal Service guests, but we did not use it. The main pool is huge and has music, a swim up bar and a poolside grill. The burgers are big and juicy there. We stayed in a beachfront suite, which looks just like the pictures online. The furniture is beautiful, the bed is comfy and I think you can fit at least 6 people in the shower at once. It's pretty big. The beach views are picturesque and the jetted tub on the balcony is such a great way to end the evening just before bed. We ate at the Puerto Rican restaurant the first night. The mofongo con pollo and lobster gumbo were excellent. The servers were very attentive. We ate at the Japanese restaurant the second night. The sushi was pretty good and so was the service. The Martini bar just outside the Japanese restaurant had different and tasty drinks. Since we had Royal Service, we were able to go to complimentary happy hour every night from 6-9pm. It was a nice little treat before dinner. The room is lit with candles, the walls and furniture are dark wood, and you can sit on couches or at tables. It was very cozy, like being in a den or a study at someone's house. Breakfast in Cafe Soliel is good and fast. They have fresh fruit, pastries, an omlette station, fresh juices, hot breakfast items like eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, etc. When it was time to check out and go home, they came around with the cart and picked us and our luggage up and took us to the front. The location of this property is not ideal if you want to go out and explore PR at all. It's a very very big property and you are nestled deep within it. Prepare to pay quite a bit to cab to and from the airport. It's a bit of a hike. All in all a very pleasant experience from start to finish. I didn't want to leave and would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I think you would get smiles and excellent service even if you didn't pay for Royal Service. If you want the little perks like personal and speedy check in and out, a secluded pool, complimentary happy hour, "free" computer/internet usage and "free" breakfast, pay for Royal Service. With all the happy hour drinks and the breakfast we had, we probably got our money's worth.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leno, the man
Canton, Ga
Nov 23, 2010

Gran Melia

One Of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen. Perfect for romantic get away and the kids loved the pool. The pictures in their ad doesn't justify the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do brunch and skip lunch to save money.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Nov 23, 2010

Family getaway

I loved this hotel from the moment I made the check in. Really beautiful, the landscape, the presentation, the staff was very kind. The pool was amazing, the rooms really beautiful and spacious. My son and I had a really great time. It make you feel you were in a dream. The continental breakfast was really good with a lot of fruits, cereal, yogurt, pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Because the Hotel territory is so big you have to walk a little to get around the hotel, but I loved it because I get to do a little exercise. They even had golf cars to get people around the hotel for those who does not like to walk.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leno, the man
Canton, Ga
Nov 23, 2010

Gran Melia

One Of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen. Perfect for romantic get away and the kids loved the pool. The pictures in their ad doesn't justify the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do brunch and skip lunch to save money.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Nov 23, 2010

Family getaway

I loved this hotel from the moment I made the check in. Really beautiful, the landscape, the presentation, the staff was very kind. The pool was amazing, the rooms really beautiful and spacious. My son and I had a really great time. It make you feel you were in a dream. The continental breakfast was really good with a lot of fruits, cereal, yogurt, pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Because the Hotel territory is so big you have to walk a little to get around the hotel, but I loved it because I get to do a little exercise. They even had golf cars to get people around the hotel for those who does not like to walk.

Back to menu Return to top