Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Golfer..
Business
MEM
Aug 14, 2010

Excellant Getaway..

Great golf on Donald Trump's 2 courses 5min from hotel. All staff excellant. Hotel setting and restaurants are first class with plenty of sightseeing tours available. Only downside is you are isolated on this beautiful compound, approx 40m from old San Juan..so dinner/nightlife off "campus" is not an easy option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tio Pope
Business
Hudson, Fl
Aug 10, 2010

Majestic Beauty

Pool, rooms, location, quiet, terrific views, close to attractions, but you need a car and parking fees will kill you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vecino
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 8, 2010

perfect to get relax

go to the restaurants good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moca,PR
Aug 5, 2010

Me and family love the hotel

It a nice hotel to be with the family.It beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stephyinPR
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2010

Nice place to stay and centrally located

The resort was great overall, but I'd avoid the restaurants and explore the kioscas and local cafes. You must have a car to travel anywhere outside of the resort. For the most part it's centrally located to east end of PR: Luquillo Beach, Fajardo, and El Yunque Rain Forest. Just as long as you leave early, heading to Old San Juan and Isla Verde is not a bad drive. It's really easy to get there from the San Juan Internat'l airport (Luis Munoz). Take the 26 Este, to the 66 (pay $1.50 toll), to 3 Este, 955-I Norte to the resort. You could take the 3 Este all the way, but you'll hit tons of traffic and traffic lights. Pay the $1.50 toll on the 66, it'll be worth it. Rent from Avis at the airport to get free parking at the resort. Parking is not as far as commented by others. You can catch a ride on a chauffeured-driven golf cart from the front of the hotel to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent from Avis at the airport for free parking at the resort. Avoid the resort restaurants and try the local PR fare at the cafes and kioscas.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Aug 4, 2010

It beats staying in the Condado area

I have paid more for staying at other hotels in the San Juan area that offered a lot less. We were totally pleased with our stay, but rent a car so that you can leave the resort otherwise you will pay dearly for meals (Just eggs - approx. $15, add another $5 for bacon). Plus, you would be able to view the "real" Puerto Rico if you are equiped with a GPS. The staff trip over you as they try to make your stay pleasurable, and if you are a gambler, there's a small casino on site. I did not encounter one staff member that was rude, and communication is not a problem since English is spoken by everyone. Security is visible at all times of the day and night. The room we had was large and roomy. The shower was defective, but that was taken care of immediately by the staff. For the price, $99. per night plus taxes, I could not find a better deal, but I said that already....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast and meals off site, (If you have your own transportation). If you turn right on rte #3, there's a Supermarket by the name of Ralph's, that has a deli type area where you can eat real Puerto Rican food and not worry about tips. Just about anywhere you go you will find places to eat.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monmouth, NJ
Aug 3, 2010

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

First impressions are the most important. Upon arriving, I waited on line for approximately one hour before reaching the desk, due to shortage of staff. Upon reaching the desk, at 5:30 p.m., I was informed that my junior suite was not ready, and would not be ready for approximately one more hour. Additionally, I was charged for incidentals a deposit of $100 before I was even informed they were going to do this. Parking was not free, as I had to pay $16 daily for the entire stay. Furthermore, the fact that I paid for parking, did not guarantee me a spot, as I had to drive several times around their small lot before squeezing into a spot. Aside from the above, I was able to rest and enjoyed each and every sunny day, which I was fortunate to have. The pool was amazing, as was the pool side bar. The surrounding grounds had breath-taking views of the ocean. I loved all the palm trees. My king-size bed was very comfortable and my room was refreshed daily. From the few meals I did have at the hotel, I enjoyed them very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion El Fogon was very good. Their mofongo was outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone who loves plaintains with any type of seafood. I also enjoyed the Asian hibachi cooking.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 2, 2010

A Nice Place to spend a weekend

Spend time at the pool. The beach was not very enjoyable Is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lymaris Mendez
Business
Bayamon, PR
Aug 2, 2010

Family Getaway

While I was staying I went sightseeing to Luquillo and Fajardo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Metropol Restaurant in Fajardo.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff_P.R.
Business
San Juan,P.R.
Jul 23, 2010

Just Great!!!!!!

If you wanna be in a place far away from the noise of the city this is the place you want... drink something at the "wet pool bar and grill" enjoy the beach or just stay relax at the lobby that have a lot of chairs and "little beds" where you can read a book,use your laptop (free wifi) or play table games with your kids. It was PERFECT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top