Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

"The Worst Gran Melia"

Snorkeling, beach, pool and exploring local cuisine-There was not much of a beach on hotel premise and it's poorly kept-Booked oceanview room but got a gardenview. Complained and was told all their rooms are partial oceanview unless we upgrade ourselves to royal service for front oceanview.[...]Hotel service from front desk, rental car to waitstaff at restaurant can be best described as nonchalant. -Food in hotel is bad and overpriced-We did not experience it ourselves as we were careful to check our daily bill summary, but some of our friends got charged for minibar items they didn't drink and things such as maid and bellman tips.-Overall a shady place and we would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Car rental is a must as it's so far from every thing. Coco Sweet bakery close to resort for breakfast. Hacienda Calabri for great local cuisine. La parilla in Loquillo beach

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vandon623
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 12, 2010

Too remote anf isolated.

I have stayed at other Gran Melia's in the past and was very pleased with the accomodations and atmosphere. However, the Gran Melia in PR was located in a remote area and had very little entertainment. I was visiting for business during the day, but the afternoons were free. In order to get into town, you either paid $80 by cab, $75 for the resorts shuttle, or rented a car. The tours were over priced, ($75 dollars per person to tour Barcardi rum factory). If you rented a car, $54/day, and drove to the Barcardi factory, the tour was free. If you weren't over charged by the resort, then you were over charged by the cab companies. The only good quality about the resort was that the staff was attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenneFromTheBlock
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 3, 2010

Great, but not great for couples.

I have stayed at this resort before when it was an all inclusive resort so I was disappointed that it was no longer all inclusive. The property is lovely and well-maintained. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The acoustics in the breezeway of our bungalow was TERRIBLE because every little voice was carried through our room (people with children should be mindful of the time they allow their children to SCREAM through the hallways!) Every morning I was woken up at 730am to kids screaming! Not my idea of vacation! The pool was pretty, but the water was freezing even though the air temperature was in the 80s, so it was difficult to enjoy the pool. The staff at the pool bar was great, even though they were overwhelmed, they were responsive and the drinks were delicious! I did notice several bees flying around the bar (because of all the sweet fruit juices) so that was a bit unnerving, but that didn't seem to bother the bartenders. The lounge chairs were uncomfortable to lay in and looked a bit worn down, so they may want to look into purchasing new lounge chairs. The 4 restaurants on the property were good; however, dinner reservations are encouraged. We went down to have dinner at 8:00pm and ALL the restaurants were booked until 10:45pm!! We ended up ordered room service (food was not that great). The bar/lounge area in the front of the property was nice and they had a DJ, but its hard to enjoy a "club/lounge" type atmosphere with children laying on the floor or running around. They should really consider closing off events like that to small children so other guests without children can enjoy. I don't recommend this resort to anyone looking for a romantic getaway because there were just too many children on the property and it was hard to enjoy the serenity of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations ahead of time so you are guaranteed a table.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oak Park, CA
Nov 29, 2010

my honest opinion

The resort is BEAUTIFUL! great open space, great restaurants although a little expensive. The pool area is beautiful. A lot of space and it creates a perfect environment for those who like to walk at night or find a private space to enjoy watching the sky. The staff is very nice. The one thing i didn't like is that they don't seem to clean the rooms very well. the floor was constantly dirty... i don't think they pass a broom. Also i didn't like the way the bed was done, the mattress cover didn't fit so we ended up having direct contact with the mattress which i personally found very uncomfortable. Another thing the hotel doesn't have is a good beach area and it lacks of water activities. The resort is about 40 minutes from San Juan. 20 minutes from Fajardo (where many of the tours take place), and about 10 minutes from El Yunke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I recommend renting a car if you are interested on getting to see the island. Also if you are interested on taking tours contact the companies rather than doing it through the hotel. It will be cheaper. I highly recommend kayakingpuertorico.com for some activities.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london,canada
Nov 28, 2010

over charge

when we got there they tried to charge us again for our week.we paid $968.86 for the week from orbits. however the true cost for the week was only $720.. orbits charged 34.5% premium which i think is too much of a markup. also,when checking out of the hotel they tried to charge us again for ground transportation which we bought from orbits. so make sure you check your bill before leaving.also, make sure you have copies of what you bought from [...] because you will need to prove that you did pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob and Sue
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 28, 2010

Not So Gran Melia....

- Beach was prohibitively rocky for easy barefoot walking... - Royal Service and Concierge routinely took 45-75 minutes to fulfill requests... - Pasion resturant took 45 min to take our order, 45 mins to serve one dish, then 20 mins afterwards to bring out my entree... agreed to comp dinner, then we had to "fight" to get it taken off our final bill... - Spa support staff was so disappointing, we cancelled our couples massage... - Generally felt service providers -- if weren't trying to sell us something (or make money thru upgrades and bulk tours -- were not really interested in making our individual experience memorable. Our best experiences (and largest tips) went to offsite tour provider, and resturant. Will definitely revisit PR... And while the property gardens and scenary are lush and very, very pleasant.... We are not likely to stay at the Gran Melia again. -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had our best (most personable, one-on-one) experiences (i.e. site seeing, personal tour guide, water sports and dining experiences) with a local, third party provider for about 40% cheaper all the way around.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachesinaz
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2010

Didn't want to leave

This was one of the best resorts I've been to. We paid for the Royal Service and it turned out to be truly royal. They give you a little coconut shell bracelet which lets the staff know you are a Royal Service guest. Genius idea. Although, it seemed that everyone was treated well. All the staff is friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful. The only place it lacks is the beach. The beach is shallow and rocky; not like beaches in the states. We've been to PR before and I think that's just the way their beaches are. There is a private pool for Royal Service guests, but we did not use it. The main pool is huge and has music, a swim up bar and a poolside grill. The burgers are big and juicy there. We stayed in a beachfront suite, which looks just like the pictures online. The furniture is beautiful, the bed is comfy and I think you can fit at least 6 people in the shower at once. It's pretty big. The beach views are picturesque and the jetted tub on the balcony is such a great way to end the evening just before bed. We ate at the Puerto Rican restaurant the first night. The mofongo con pollo and lobster gumbo were excellent. The servers were very attentive. We ate at the Japanese restaurant the second night. The sushi was pretty good and so was the service. The Martini bar just outside the Japanese restaurant had different and tasty drinks. Since we had Royal Service, we were able to go to complimentary happy hour every night from 6-9pm. It was a nice little treat before dinner. The room is lit with candles, the walls and furniture are dark wood, and you can sit on couches or at tables. It was very cozy, like being in a den or a study at someone's house. Breakfast in Cafe Soliel is good and fast. They have fresh fruit, pastries, an omlette station, fresh juices, hot breakfast items like eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, etc. When it was time to check out and go home, they came around with the cart and picked us and our luggage up and took us to the front. The location of this property is not ideal if you want to go out and explore PR at all. It's a very very big property and you are nestled deep within it. Prepare to pay quite a bit to cab to and from the airport. It's a bit of a hike. All in all a very pleasant experience from start to finish. I didn't want to leave and would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I think you would get smiles and excellent service even if you didn't pay for Royal Service. If you want the little perks like personal and speedy check in and out, a secluded pool, complimentary happy hour, "free" computer/internet usage and "free" breakfast, pay for Royal Service. With all the happy hour drinks and the breakfast we had, we probably got our money's worth.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Nov 23, 2010

Family getaway

I loved this hotel from the moment I made the check in. Really beautiful, the landscape, the presentation, the staff was very kind. The pool was amazing, the rooms really beautiful and spacious. My son and I had a really great time. It make you feel you were in a dream. The continental breakfast was really good with a lot of fruits, cereal, yogurt, pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Because the Hotel territory is so big you have to walk a little to get around the hotel, but I loved it because I get to do a little exercise. They even had golf cars to get people around the hotel for those who does not like to walk.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leno, the man
Business
Canton, Ga
Nov 23, 2010

Gran Melia

One Of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen. Perfect for romantic get away and the kids loved the pool. The pictures in their ad doesn't justify the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do brunch and skip lunch to save money.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev Julie
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 22, 2010

Beautiful Resort

The resort was beautiful. The pools were fabulous. We chose to upgrade for the last 3 nights. the rooms were wonderful, though the mattress on the fold out couch was not very comfortable. The food in Pasion was okay and service not so great, but in the Italian Rest. it was super as well as the wait staff. Happy Hour that comes with the upgrade was nice but did not enjoy the kids that were rowdy and their parents who were loud. Not all butlers were efficient but as bad as some were the others were great. It is about 45 minutes from airport and San Juan so either book tours or pay high price for cab if you do not have a car. No entertainment, make your own. I would stay again because it is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

About 45+ minute drive to Old San Juan but well worth it! Great shopping, dining and clubs

Back to menu Return to top