Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
625 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glad to be Home Couple
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Do your research

The hotel itself (lobby, rooms, pool area) were beautiful. They have 5 restaurants which are open at various times so you're limited in your choice. There's only ONE place to have breakfast and it's an expensive buffet. NO cash at all - everything gets charged to your room or on a credit/debit card. Hotel is at least 2 miles from the main road so if you don't have a car, you're pretty much stuck there with what they have to offer - which if it rains, is not much. And there's NO BEACH - rocky shore but you can't swim in the water - seaweed, rocks, etc. NO BEACH!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take a long ride to Old San Juan for some nice shopping. It's worth the day's activity.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south jersey
Mar 2, 2010

wish we knew these before booking....

Overall the trip wasn't really bad but there definitely things we wish we knew before booking. PROS: 1. the pool was absolutely AMAZING. it was soo big that it made it seem a little less crowded. (however, we had already decided our next trip will be an adults only because there are screaming, splashing kids EVERYWHERE.) 2. the staff was VERY friendly! everyone that passed by always greeted you with a hello/good morning/how are you. 3. there are ice machines like every 50 ft so if you're planning a trip here, bring one of those mini plastic lunch box coolers. 4. the resort is pretty big so they have golf cart like shuttles that will pick you up and take you where you need to go CONS: 1. airport shuttle wasn't included with the package. it was pretty expensive per person round trip 2. non-motorized sports wasn't included either. it was an hourly rental for all of it 3. the location is really pretty awful. you're not able to get off the resort at all unless you're renting a car (which we couldn't) 4. there are only 2 options for dinner making the wait for dinner just awful 5. beach isn't swimable. it is completely filled with seaweed. (i'm only 5'2" and i could only go as far in til about mid thigh) Also, it's very hard to walk because it's COVERED in rocks and shells 6. if you take anything out of the mini fridge, they automatically charge your room. (there's sensors in the fridge that know exactly what you take out even if you don't drink it) 7. our room wasn't ready when we got there (of course) and when we finally did get in the room, the air conditioner was broken and we found our sheets weren't changed because we found someone elses hair in there and i woke up the next morning with a million bug bites and found bugs in the bed (we called immediately for new sheets) 8. everything there is pretty pricey. you gotta watch when they give you your bill because they will add a dollar to things here and there we noticed 9. The bugs were out of control at night time. We couldn't even go for a romantic walk on the beach at night or sit on our balcony with some drinks without getting bit like crazy. so bring bug spray! I'm not really sure if I would go back again but I recommend going to see it for yourself. I just suggest bringing a lot of cash and renting a car. We brought in some of our own liquor and some snacks so that saved us a lot of money. Also, I highly recommend going to do the ATV trip in the rain forest! Definitely the highlight of the trip and well worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the concierge and ask them about richies cafe. They're an awesome place to eat outside of the resort on top of a hill where you can watch the sunset. they will come pick you up at no charge. [...] (who is i think the manager?) was soo nice and so was the rest of the staff. We would have never know about this unless we had talked to [...] at the desk (who was absolutely AWESOME! talk to him too, he gives you honest opinions and great things to plan to do!)

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 1, 2010

Perfect!

Perfect! The staff was fantastic! The resort is beautiful! This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and I could not have asked for more! The resort is 20-25 minutes from El Yunke and about 35-40 minutes to Old San Juan. Renting a car at the airport when you arrive is a must! Otherwise, you will be paying $63 one way to the resort from the airport!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car at the airport upon arrival!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TENNESSEE
Feb 28, 2010

IT WAS GREAT VACATION.

I HAD A GREAT VACATION, HOTEL WAS GREAT, AT CHECK-IN FRONT DESK EMPLOYEE ( [...] ) WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND FRIENDLY, EMPLOYEES WHO DRIVES GOLF CARTS WERE NOT AS FRIENDLY AS I EXPECTED, ROOM BEDING WAS STAIN, TUB WAS CLOGGED, TOILET SIT WAS CRACK. I WISH THE HOTEL HAS BETTER SECURITY SYSTEM FOR NIGHTS. OVERALL HOTEL WAS GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick M.
Business
Beaufort, NC
Feb 27, 2010

Great hotel!

Outstanding room, service, pool and hotel area seem like a time share instead of a hotel. Each bungalow is 2 stories, ours faced the laggon with fountain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat a La Parilla, its on the beach about a 15 min drive from the hotel. I had grilled mahi mahi, vegatables, rice and bean soup for $16. The portion was at least double the size fish from my home area in N.C. Mixed drinks were $6 and were very good, not watered down.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 23, 2010

A Birthday Gift

I had a wonderful experience while at the Gran Melia'. Things that I would change is first and foremost, I would rent a car at the airport. Cost of taxi is rediculous. Also, I would rent from Avis for you can park the car in their identified area and not pay nightly parking fees. The property is absolutely beautiful and tranquil. Not a place if you are looking for a lot of entertainment. I went to play golf. The champion course was closed in prep for the PR Open. Played the International and didn't like the course. It was in poor shape and over priced, $160.00. Drove to the El Conquistidor. A much better layout. The food was sub-par. Also, casino didn't have a dice table. I had to play blackjack and left $75.00 down. Not bad for 4 nights. Love the property and would definitely go back just to stay in the bungalo. Oh watch the catch on Ocean View vs Ocean front. Ocean View you get to be on the ocean side but can't see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 21, 2010

Could not have been better!

This hotel was all we could have asked for and more. The hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful. It was nice to get out of the hussle and bussle of the city. This hotel is very secluded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

You should rent a car. We rented a car for 4 days for $89 dollars from enterprise and it was worth every penny. We saved that in the cost of transportation to the bioiluminescent bay tour (which everyone should do!) alone. It also allows you to eat at local restaurants rather than every meal at the hotel. The hotel restaurants are pretty pricey. Eat dinner one night at Richie's, you won't regret it.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen wants to have fun
Business
Portsmouth, RI
Feb 18, 2010

Beautiful hotel.

Renting a car is the best way to get around. The beach at the hotel is not great, but there are beaches close by. The hotel grounds and pools are sensational.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel restaurants very expensive. We drove into town for food & drinks and saved a lot.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Feb 15, 2010

Nice place to stay, bring plenty of $$

Very nice hotel, location not so great. They want you to stay and spend a lot of money while there. If you're looking for a place to relax and not leave the resort this is perfect; but we are more adventurous. You have to have a shuttle, taxi, or rent a car to get anywhere, because of the location (about 45 minutes from the airport if there's no traffic). The beach is ok, but there are better ones down the road. Whether checking out, renting a car, dining, or ordering a drink, be prepared to wait! Not kidding- by the time we got things planned for the day, it was after noon! Not just at the resort, but this happened almost everywhere we went. For the prices we paid, we expected to have a lot better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Farjardo, take the ferry to Culebra Island (just to the east of Puerto Rico). Take a bus to Flamenco Beach- very clear waters and white sand beaches! Great day trip, the ferry leaves at 9am and returns either 1pm or 5pm.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gran Melia
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 15, 2010

Gran Melia

I am WELL traveled and this was the MOST amazing hotel I have ever stayed at!!! I plan on returning next month and actually making plans to get married here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You don't need to rent a car, there is a hotel shutttle for approx $35 per person each way. Much cheaper than car rental

Back to menu Return to top