Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Awesome getaway!!!

This place was awesome. The pool and swim up bar are my favorite. The night life is great also. See full review

  • Missgoodie
  • Feb 23, 2015
Romantic Gataway

Everything about this hotel and location was awesome! I would recommend this beautiful place to... See full review

  • Nicole R.
  • Feb 17, 2015

The Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico in Rio Grande is an award-winning property that allows its visitors to relax in tropical luxury. The hotel has won a Five Star Diamond Award, a Golden Apple Award, and a Gold Key Award, among other recognitions, and it's established a strong reputation over 50 years.

 

The villas and suites match perfectly with the island surroundings, and they're decorated with mahogany furnishings, Spanish accents and bold colors. The pool is welcoming and expansive, allowing people to play or lounge in the sun while enjoying great views of the ocean and lush vegetation.

Highlights

Situated on a peninsula, this sprawling property is located just 30 minutes from the airport and greater San Juan. Two 18-hole championship courses are located adjacent to the hotel, and guests can take advantage of discounted greens fees, tee times and club storage. The RedGlove Concierge Services can help people arrange day trips and adventures, such as snorkeling, deep-sea fishing, shopping, Old San Juan tours and horseback riding.

 

After active days, visitors can dine in three elegant restaurants that feature Asian, Mediterranean and Puerto Rican cuisines or enjoy quick bites at the two casual establishments on the property. For drinks, the Avenue Bar and Martini Bar provide a great place to sip creative cocktails.

Policies

NOTE: A refundable incidental deposit of $100 USD is required per night on a major credit or debit card at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ange3
Couples
Río Grande, Puerto Rico
Mar 12, 2012

Great sunny escape

The hotel was imaculate. The location was good if you want to get away from it all. I would suggest hiring a car as it allows you to come and go as you please. Zip line canopy tour was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

luquillo kiosks-check out La Perilla for amazing local food!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
papav
Friends
N/A
Nov 11, 2015

hotel for golf only

good for golfer and people lonely, ocean algae, expensing parking and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THEWORSE
Couples
N/A
Oct 20, 2015

Birthday Trip

This resort is TERRIBLE and I would NOT recommend it to anyone. ThEnjoy staff was extremely rude, the rooms were filthy, and the resort is far away from EVERYTHING. It cost $80 to get there from the airport. $65 from the resort to Old San Juan and everywhere else. Not to mention you can only use credit on the resort grounds.. NO CASH ACCAPTED ANYWHERE. When we left no one asked how was our stay... NOTHING! It was a HORRIBLE experience and I would NEVER go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
navita r.
Family
N/A
Aug 31, 2015

Not a place to take your family

The hotel in picture look good when you see rooms you will be disappointed very old and smells all of them I check in to fine out you need to put a$500 dolled deposit down and then they. charge my card a $300 with out me knowing didn't fine out until check out there very snecky they don't let you use cash only in the market there is place to eat but food really bad there a asin. Place called nami so bad and be ready to spend $30 plate plus $11 tax plus 15persnt tip for a family of 4 that a lot for dinner and Lunch we took cabs off the resort to serve for two weeks we where there bell guys are geat front deck are. Very rude don't care I locked my keys in my suit case the lady at the front desk need to be fired so mean to customers she said its not her problem but the bell boys where great help best time was off the resort for us very disappointed with cheap ticket .com

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marisol M.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Boring vacation

Gran melia PR overall was beautiful and the staff was very friendly just like all the other melia locations i have visited unfortunately it was boring due to little bit of people visiting the resort im sure the reason is bacause melia PR dosent offer food as all inclusive like every other location im sure if melia PR up grades to all inclusive or partial inclusive more people would visit i sure hope it changes because i would love to return thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tavin W.
Couples
N/A
Aug 10, 2015

Anniversary Bliss

Coming into Puerto Rico was not what we expected and was a little nervous at first, but once we arrived at the resort all uneasiness faded. I have to admit to check-in took a lot longer than anticipated 45mins to an hour and the fact we had to pay for parking didn't make it any better $15 daily. The resort itself is beautiful and concierge was very helpful. They provided a list of excursions with hotel prices, but also provided more details with directions to each activity so you can venture off own your own. The pool was a nice size and is open 24hours. It is a joint pool for the Club suites and the Golf resort. Housekeeping was there daily to do a clean sweep to make sure you had what you needed without calling. We heard the Resort restaurants were a bit pricey, but we didn't check it out for ourselves. I would certainly recommend this resort. Be sure to visit the El Yunque Rainforest, go Horseback and ATV riding at Carabali, visit the Camuy Caves, and take a tour through Old San Juan. A lot of the shops close early @6-7pm, so be sure to visit early. We hope you enjoy your stay and who knows you may see us there because we are definitely coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jose S.
Couples
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

OK

The location was good, scenery was nice, but service was not so good from the beginning. 2 hour wait to check in, and the only thing they do for guests to compensate for the inconvenience their system causes is juice while standing around in line all that time. Housekeeping didn't change out the sheets unless we said something, they would just make up the bed same sheets, pillowcases, quilts, and expected it to stay that way for our trip which lasted 10 days. Our pillows were old and worn out, bloodstained, holes in the sheets, no covers on pillows or mattress. You would think they wouldn't take risk of having an infestation of bed bugs with everything going on, and for the price they're charging and the money they squeeze out of people they should have fitted sheets to actually stay on the mattresses while you sleep but nope they make their own out of flat sheets so their guests have the pleasure of waking up on a bare mattress in the morning. The bathtub was dirty on our arrival and we had to call as soon as we got there so they could get the room up to par. House keeping leaves the door wide open while cleaning the room and then they leave a note for you to keep your patio door closed as much as possible to keep the bugs out of your room :-/ They charge 15 dollars a night, flat rate, so that they can pay another company to manage the parking lot around the clock and make you uncomfortable when leaving and returning. To top that one off if you come in later at night good luck finding a parking spot! You get stuck parking in the parking lot on the furthest side of the resort from all the bungalows and catch a trolley back to your room. Overall they have a lot to offer and it is a beautiful location but they do leave a lot to be desired as far as the hospitality goes, they should be putting more of an effort into making their guests so comfortable they don't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYESHA G.
Couples
New York
Jul 23, 2015

Awesome trip

It was an very nice experience, would definitely go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin B.
Couples
Kings County
Jul 8, 2015

Lovely place would definitely go back

Great place had a wonderful time kind of expensive but over all great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tot Tot
Friends
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2015

Great Hotel....but

It was great hotel for couples but not for besties looking to explore. It was in the middle of no where and about 45 Min form teh airport..Had to rent a car and locals drives CRAZY (Almost got ran off the Road). Signage meaning nothing there....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missgoodie
Couples
Tonawanda
Feb 23, 2015

Awesome getaway!!!

This place was awesome. The pool and swim up bar are my favorite. The night life is great also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top