Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Golden Sands Villas

3 stars
202 Dorado del Mar Blvd, Dorado, 00646
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
390 reviews
Beautiful escape from life

From the desk clerk to the maids, from the room to the pool and beach - absolutely amazing! The... See full review

  • M and P's great escape
  • Mar 24, 2013
MY Stay

Except for one night of young people running through the hall till 4:00 am, my stay was great. Very... See full review

  • Stitch 25
  • May 6, 2014
Ocean locale in the village of Dorado, Puerto Rico

Golden Sands Villas, in the sleepy seaside town of Dorado, less than a 30-minute drive from San Juan, offers an oceanfront setting with palm trees, beaches, tennis courts, and an 18-hole signature golf course. Families, golfers, and honeymooners alike enjoy numerous amenities, including a pool, restaurants, and recreational facilities shared with the adjoining Embassy Suites Hotel, located on the same grounds of the Golden Sands Golf and Beach Resort.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites
  • Signature golf course
  • Infinity pool and fitness room
  • Choice of restaurants
Rooms

The resort offers studios and one and two-bedroom villas decorated with an elegant Caribbean style and tropical colors. All rooms have a kitchen or kitchenette, cable television, air conditioning, private balcony, and in-room safe.

Features

Guests frolic with the kids on the beach, ride the ocean waves, take a dip at the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi, play tennis, or work out in the fitness room with the latest equipment.

Dining options are numerous. Poolside dining at the Blue Seahorse Bar & Grill offers requisite views of the Atlantic Ocean off the terrace. Guests enjoy casual dining at the Calypso Lounge and Bar, located in the atrium with terrace access. Live music accompanies dinner on weekends. Italian food lovers head to the Oregano Bar and Grill, located in the golf clubhouse overlooking the Dorado Golf Resort. Cooked to order morning buffets are available at the Paradise Café. Sophia's Wine Bar serves an extensive collection of wine.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (21.9 mi/35.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (43.6 mi/70.1 km)

Golden Sands Villas Rooms

Studio
The Studio unit offers a kitchenette with utensils, 2 full size beds in the room, private bathroom with shower and tub combination; color High Definition Cable TV, safe in the room and a small furnished balcony.(We recommend no more than 2 adults for this room)
One Bedroom
The One bedroom villa offers a fully equipped kitchen, has one separate room with its own King size bed and a sofa sleeper in living area; private bathroom with a whirlpool and a shower. This villa also comes equipped with two High Definition Cable TV's one in living room in master bedroom and a nice furnished balcony.
Two Bedroom
The two bedroom villa offers everything you could think for a family. It offers a fully equipped kitchen for 6 people. One King size bed in master bedroom and two full beds in the separate room, 2 private bathrooms one with at whirlpool and separate shower, and the other with a tub and shower combination. It also offers three High Definition Cable TVs, one for each room and one for living space

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Sands Villas also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4778 -66.2743
Area served
Dorado, Bayamon, Guaynabo, San Juan, Hato Rey, Barceloneta, Vega Baja, Guaynabo Metro Office Park.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - Estimate distance 25 miles.
Area description
The resort is located on the magnificent Dorado Beach, less than two miles from downtown Dorado with easy access to the San Juan Metropolitan Area.

Dining

Calypso Lounge & Bar
Enjoy casually elegant dining at the Calypso lounge and Bar located in the atrium with terrace access. Live music accompanies dinner on weekends.
Sophia's Wine Bar
An extensive collection of wine is available at Sophia's Wine Bar located adjacent to the bar.
Orient House
Enjoy Orient Cuisine at the Orient House conveniently located in the golf club house overlooking the Dorado Golf Resort.
The Blue Seahorse Bar & Grill
Located in the center of the lagoon pool with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean off the terrace.
Paradise Cafe
Cooked to order or morning buffets available at the paradise cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Sands Villas

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 390
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arlandf
Goldsboro, NC, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Recommended, but there are hidden fees.

This was an awesome place to stay. It is close to the beach and you really didn't need to go to San Juan or Isla Verde to enjoy the beach. My only complaint is that you had to go to the Embassy Suites to get something to eat and they charged $16 dollars. Finally, you have to pay for parking which isn't included when purchasing this trip. Other than those to, it is a hotel to stay if you want to save your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zeekan
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Good from outside but rooms are not good for the price

Be ready to pay an extra 10+ bucks a day for parking which they don't tell at the time of online booking. If you lose your gate pass, just a piece of paper, you will end up paying $25 for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mambo Poa
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 21, 2012

relaxing getaway

overall I had a very good time; I wanted a few days to myself and between the beach and my balcony and little excursions I had a wonderful time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the public beach nearby is absolutely beautiful, I wish one could walk to it along the beach (one has to drive to the main road and immediately right at the next turn, for what would be a five minute walk)

Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruben3030
East Hartford, CT, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good weekend trip

I went to the island just for a weekend, I have to say that the stay was really good. The hotel is clean and the rooms are big, with everything you need and with a perfect view to the pool and the beach. The service is exelent and for the price is really an awesome place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester County, NY
Mar 4, 2011

Hard to beat the price but...

Overall Golden Sands Villas (GSV) it was an excellent choice for travelers on a budget. In terms of location, note that the traffic in and out of central San Juan is gruesome most times of the day (even when I left at 6:00am in the mornning to go back to the airport). If you're interested in exploring San Juan, stay in a hotel in San Juan. It's not conveniently located for seeing the San Juan sights or El Yunque rainforest. Just too far. Stay in Dorado when you're ready to kick back and relax. Also note that there's nothing "golden" about the beachfront sands on this property. It's a small, pretty beachfront, that's very rocky, windy and faces the Atlantic. If you want to be on the Caribbean, then go to the southern end of the island. The hotel is an extension of the Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort. The two properties share almost all amenities including the same beachfront and pool area which is pretty wonderful. Note: GSV guests have no access to the Embassy Suites business computers and there's no public computer available at GSV. GSV guests also have access to the Embassy fitness room (3 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 bike and weights) which is clean and comfortable, and can charge poolside and restaurant food and beverages to their rooms. Pool towels are available outside on the weekends, and during the week you have to go the Sands front desk. There's a private parking lot that costs $10.70 per day. Ask for a room with an entrance on the outside facing the beach. (Rooms 2190+) The other rooms are accessed via a dark, unwelcoming, overly air-conditioned lobby and hallway that I avoided as much as possible. While the front desk is understaffed, everyone is very helpful. I had a few issues with my room which were resolved quickly and efficiently. As reported in other reviews, there was a good deal of mold on the window curtains, but since they gave me a room with a balcony overlooking the the ocean, I got over it quickly. I'm very familiar with 3 star hotels, and there's nothing about this place that feels like 3 stars except for the property amenities which belong to Embassy. There's a tiny refrigerator and microwave in the room and a kitchen-like sink. But no burner. These allow you to save on breakfast. It's a 5 minute car ride to exit the property (through the middle of a golf course) and once outside there's a Waldbaums, CVS, and other fast food restaurants if that's your thing. Also helpful was the Super Max supermarket on the same strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was told by the desk staff that the observatory and caves outside of Arecibo were about 30 minutes away. Beware. It's more like an hour and fifteen, AND they're only open Weds-Sun.

Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester County, NY
Mar 4, 2011

Hard to beat the price but...

Overall Golden Sands Villas (GSV) it was an excellent choice for travelers on a budget. In terms of location, note that the traffic in and out of central San Juan is gruesome most times of the day (even when I left at 6:00am in the mornning to go back to the airport). If you're interested in exploring San Juan, stay in a hotel in San Juan. It's not conveniently located for seeing the San Juan sights or El Yunque rainforest. Just too far. Stay in Dorado when you're ready to kick back and relax. Also note that there's nothing "golden" about the beachfront sands on this property. It's a small, pretty beachfront, that's very rocky, windy and faces the Atlantic. If you want to be on the Caribbean, then go to the southern end of the island. The hotel is an extension of the Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort. The two properties share almost all amenities including the same beachfront and pool area which is pretty wonderful. Note: GSV guests have no access to the Embassy Suites business computers and there's no public computer available at GSV. GSV guests also have access to the Embassy fitness room (3 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 1 bike and weights) which is clean and comfortable, and can charge poolside and restaurant food and beverages to their rooms. Pool towels are available outside on the weekends, and during the week you have to go the Sands front desk. There's a private parking lot that costs $10.70 per day. Ask for a room with an entrance on the outside facing the beach. (Rooms 2190+) The other rooms are accessed via a dark, unwelcoming, overly air-conditioned lobby and hallway that I avoided as much as possible. While the front desk is understaffed, everyone is very helpful. I had a few issues with my room which were resolved quickly and efficiently. As reported in other reviews, there was a good deal of mold on the window curtains, but since they gave me a room with a balcony overlooking the the ocean, I got over it quickly. I'm very familiar with 3 star hotels, and there's nothing about this place that feels like 3 stars except for the property amenities which belong to Embassy. There's a tiny refrigerator and microwave in the room and a kitchen-like sink. But no burner. These allow you to save on breakfast. It's a 5 minute car ride to exit the property (through the middle of a golf course) and once outside there's a Waldbaums, CVS, and other fast food restaurants if that's your thing. Also helpful was the Super Max supermarket on the same strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was told by the desk staff that the observatory and caves outside of Arecibo were about 30 minutes away. Beware. It's more like an hour and fifteen, AND they're only open Weds-Sun.

Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMSRobinM
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 24, 2011

Beautiful Puerto Rico

The grounds and beach and pool were beautiful. . .could not have asked for better!!! My ocean-side view was excellent on the second floor. I understand the view from higher floors was even more fantastic, but I was very happy with my view! I was a single woman travelling alone. . . .that seemed to confuse the Puerto Ricans. The restaurant did not seem to understand that I was alone and I did not feel that I had the same level of customer service as couples or other groups in the restaurant. The staff at the front desk was great!!!! However, they did not have access to the Internet, so the printing of my boarding passes before I left was more cumbersome than it should be. The front desk clerk arranged for me to go to Embassy Suites front desk for the boarding passes. Many thanks to the front desk clerks from both places!!!! But, printing of boarding passes is a basic service for hotel guests, so it should not have been the hassle that it was. The Golden Sands Villa resort is "related to" the Embassy Suites hotel. However, it was disappointing that Golden Sands Villa guests did not get the Complimentary Breakfast. And the $16 price for the breakfast was outside my limits for the price of breakfast. . . .and there was no other place close by for breakfast other than McDonald's. . . .so McDonald's breakfast it was for my vacation. I had a very nice vacation. If I were to do it over again, I would arrange for more "structured tours" of the El Yunque Rainforest, of the Arecibo Observatory, of the Old Fort in San Juan. I think this would have added something to my trip for someone like myself who was travelling alone. However, there were no structured excursions from the hotel. It was unclear, from the various brochures in the hotel lobby, how to arrange structured tours of the various options. My only complaints about the hotel ROOM were (1) that the carpet was very worn--way past needing replacement. And, (2) the bathroom provided enough water for only one bath/shower each morning. If I had not been travelling alone, this would have been a big problem. And, (3) there was only one chair on the patio. To enjoy my patio in the evening and put my feet up, I had to drag a chair from inside the room to the patio. Again, if I had not been travelling alone, this would have been a bigger problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The highlight of my trip was my excursion to the El Yunque Rainforest National Park. If you go to Puerto Rico, do not miss this!!!!! But, be prepared for rain, as it is, indeed, a rainforest! Structured tours can be arranged at the Colorado Point, which is 5 or 6 kilometers past the El Yunque Interpretive Center (the first stop as you enter the park).

Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMSRobinM
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 24, 2011

Beautiful Puerto Rico

The grounds and beach and pool were beautiful. . .could not have asked for better!!! My ocean-side view was excellent on the second floor. I understand the view from higher floors was even more fantastic, but I was very happy with my view! I was a single woman travelling alone. . . .that seemed to confuse the Puerto Ricans. The restaurant did not seem to understand that I was alone and I did not feel that I had the same level of customer service as couples or other groups in the restaurant. The staff at the front desk was great!!!! However, they did not have access to the Internet, so the printing of my boarding passes before I left was more cumbersome than it should be. The front desk clerk arranged for me to go to Embassy Suites front desk for the boarding passes. Many thanks to the front desk clerks from both places!!!! But, printing of boarding passes is a basic service for hotel guests, so it should not have been the hassle that it was. The Golden Sands Villa resort is "related to" the Embassy Suites hotel. However, it was disappointing that Golden Sands Villa guests did not get the Complimentary Breakfast. And the $16 price for the breakfast was outside my limits for the price of breakfast. . . .and there was no other place close by for breakfast other than McDonald's. . . .so McDonald's breakfast it was for my vacation. I had a very nice vacation. If I were to do it over again, I would arrange for more "structured tours" of the El Yunque Rainforest, of the Arecibo Observatory, of the Old Fort in San Juan. I think this would have added something to my trip for someone like myself who was travelling alone. However, there were no structured excursions from the hotel. It was unclear, from the various brochures in the hotel lobby, how to arrange structured tours of the various options. My only complaints about the hotel ROOM were (1) that the carpet was very worn--way past needing replacement. And, (2) the bathroom provided enough water for only one bath/shower each morning. If I had not been travelling alone, this would have been a big problem. And, (3) there was only one chair on the patio. To enjoy my patio in the evening and put my feet up, I had to drag a chair from inside the room to the patio. Again, if I had not been travelling alone, this would have been a bigger problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The highlight of my trip was my excursion to the El Yunque Rainforest National Park. If you go to Puerto Rico, do not miss this!!!!! But, be prepared for rain, as it is, indeed, a rainforest! Structured tours can be arranged at the Colorado Point, which is 5 or 6 kilometers past the El Yunque Interpretive Center (the first stop as you enter the park).

Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Feb 13, 2011

Worst conditions

Everything HORRIBLE....filthy rooms, dirty drapes, mildew on my shower curtain liner, dirty bath tub....didnt look like the vacuum was ran prior to me checking in.... The hallyway had a putrid smell.....& my a/c in my room was broken so it just ran ALL NIGHT......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Feb 13, 2011

Worst conditions

Everything HORRIBLE....filthy rooms, dirty drapes, mildew on my shower curtain liner, dirty bath tub....didnt look like the vacuum was ran prior to me checking in.... The hallyway had a putrid smell.....& my a/c in my room was broken so it just ran ALL NIGHT......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top