Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Hotel El Pescador

2 stars
Paraguay 1117 Centro, Vallarta, 48350
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Nice Week at the Beach

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pescador for 5 days while we enjoyed a beach getaway. Our room... See full review

  • Traveling Topher
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great deal

Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with ocean view, very... See full review

  • Bending Tree Yoga
  • Jun 10, 2014
In The Heart Of Puerto Vallarta. Hotel El Pescador is located in the heart of Puerto Vallarta Mexico, on the beach and near the famous Mal-econ (boardwalk). This is the best location in town, just a few blocks from the main plaza. Hotel El Pescador offers a total of 100 rooms, all with balconies, 45 of them have an ocean view and 55 face the Puerto Vallarta downtown area. These rooms all have an attractive Mexican decor and are equipped with air conditioned units, telephone and cable TV. The other amenities include lobby and reception.

Hotel El Pescador Rooms

Standard Room
Room with two double bed includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Cable TV/ Color TV, Disabled facilities, Room service, Telephone. Refresh your senses in spacious rooms with panoramic view to the downtown of Puerto Vallarta. Comfortable fit for a good rest; have two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, phone and balcony. Enjoy room -service every day from 7:00 am to 10:30 pm.
Ocean View Room
Room with two double beds includes Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Cable TV / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Room service, Telephone. Relax with the sound of the waves. Comfortable rooms with a stunning ocean view fully equipped with two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV, phone and balcony facing the ocean. Enjoy-room service every day from 7: 00 am to 10:30 pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

20.6174 -105.232
Area served
Puerto Vallarta.
Nearby airports
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz International Airport.
Area description
Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Pescador

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clearwater Guy
Long Island, NY
Jan 27, 2013

There, but not All there.

The general location of the hotel is excellent, if you want to be near the tourist action of shops, beach, and restaurants. It's a short walk to the lengthy "pedstrain and bicycle only" street that is bordered by stores on one side and the beach on the other. Yet, it's on a side street itself, reasonably quiet, and the rear of the hotel is on its own section of beach. While they advertise wi-fi, that's for the public areas of the hotel- signal strength for me and other hotel guests, was not strong enough in the rooms to be of general use. There was an air conditioner mounted near the ceiling of my room, but when I asked for the remote to regulate it, I was told they didn't have enough for each room, and told to contact the desk, any time I wanted to raise or lower the temperature. But at 3 or 4 a.m., lying in bed, I was not likely to do that. The pool is minimal for someone looking to actually swim, and the ocean, although lovely, can be a bit rough to venture out in, particularly since there was no life guard there.. The hotel restauant was suprisingly good and cheap compared to most restaurants that I've had, but the price included bufet breakfast was extremely, extremely limited- scrambled eggs, bread, juice and coffee, and beans stuff virtually every morning got old fast. I was on the second of three floors, on the three floor hotel, and during my two week stay, at least three times, the elevator was out of order. Staff was plentiful and friendly, so for the price charged, it wasn't a bad experience, generally,.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great variety of places to eat, from McDonald's, to Italian, sea food, local street venders etc. Some great, and some not so great in every category. ASK. Don't hesitate to ge recommendations from the hotel staff and others that know.

Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Feryluz
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Needs Updating

The hotel is well situated to the Malecon. It's only a short walk there. The bad things are that the beach which fronts the hotel is very rocky and not really good for bathing. A red flag warning was displayed all week and it doesn't seem to ever come down. The hotel needs maintenance as do the rooms. The air conditioners are old and noisy. The beds are terrible. It's like sleeping on a box spring. This needs to be addressed immediately. For being a hotel that caters to tourists from around the world the hotel needs to enforce it's regulations. People were allowed to swim in the pool in their underwear (this was an adult.) No outside drinks/food were allowed but people had their ice chests full of beer and playing music. The included breakfast was repetitive and only one item on it changed per day. It's an okay hotel to stay at since it is in the center of the city and everything is close by, but there has to be improvements or the big hotels further down the Malecon will eventually take it's business away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent dinning at the Marina. Great prices and the food is excellent.

Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joanie m
Prescott, AZ, USA
Feb 16, 2012

Very, very basic

Balcony tiny, no privacy from other balconies, smoke comes into the room if door open onto balcony. Every conversation on surrounding balconies sounded like they were in our room or on our balcony. Not a picture or photo on any wall in room or hallways. No safes in rooms. VERY inconvenient. Clean room, walking distance to malecon - those were the only good things. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gaby's Restaurant is excellent - just off the malecon. Also Dolce Vida on malecon is excellent!

Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
THE HULK
Detroit, MI, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Not bad for the money

Staff very friendly, room clean(but sometimes my room didn't get cleaned until 1-2 pm , I wish I had a better view, I was on the front of the building not the ocean. Food in the hotel was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

use the grocery store 1 block up the street ,cheaper and good hot meals good selection of beer.

Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Puerto Vallarta
Colorado
May 5, 2012

Nice Mexican Charmer

The Hotel is an older Mexican property, on the beach and within walking distance of most everything. The room was very clean. If you want the feel of being in Mexico and don't have to have all the bells and whistles give it a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new orleans, la
Jul 30, 2011

great value for a safe authentic place

the hotel is in the southern part of the hotel zone a block away from romantic zone were most of the real mexican places are. on the beach. nice pool. safe rooms with security always around. parking was on the street, never had a problem finding a spot. a block or three from grocery store, gas station,taco stands and souvenior shopping. breakfast buffet was edible and enough to get the day started. roads are rough to drive on in this area, and 5-10 minutes to marina, walmart, and airport. we did excursions everday, so didnt spend much time in room during the day, however tv had a few english channels, air conditoner was cold, showers were hot, and internet worked just fine on top floor. if your looking for more comfort like a mini-fridge, hot tub, ice machine, or fully english speaking staff then you should look else where. but beach was clean, water cool, and neighborhood was realtivly safe. we got a cooler from walmart, ice for 1.50 at the grocery, beer from the convience store, and tacos from the stands and had a awesome adventure. mind you we also went in the slow season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

flea markets are in the area, always check a few stalls before settling on a price. always pay in peso's were the exchange rate is always better at a bank. most things can be found eveywhere. expect to spent a few buck less on some stuff than you would elsewhere.

Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandy28
Wisconsin
Aug 22, 2012

Good For A Cheap Stay

We got what our money paid for. The room A/C worked great and location was nice. Was a night club next door. A person could hear the music but with the noise from the ocean I didn't think it was that bad. There was a bit of mold in the bathroom but overall the room was clean. The breakfast was just ok for myself but for the price I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D LO Stkn ca
Stockton ca
Jan 19, 2014

Hotel

Hotel is kool it's by the water.... It's lovely For a chap price.... To have a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arme
Chicago IL
Dec 10, 2013

A weekend

I really enjoyed the weekend in this hotel, very close to the "Malecon" and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel El Pescador

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bending Tree Yoga
La Manzanilla, Jalisco, Mexico
Jun 10, 2014

Great deal

Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with ocean view, very enjoyable. It came with free breakfast and room service was available. Plus location, beach front and near Malecon was ideal. Even though there wasn't any parking lot, it was easy to find street parking almost right in front of the hotel on a Saturday. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top