Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 387 Chetumal-Cancun Km 299, Km. 299, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
63 reviews
Great anniversary trip!

Slightly disappointed in the beach. Lots of seaweed and it did not look like the pictures in the... See full review

  • April
  • Nov 24, 2015
Would stay again

Loved this place. Beach area is beautiful. No rocks in swimming area. Coati Mundis are all around... See full review

  • Jazzy2012
  • Mar 3, 2015
Designed to reflect the charm of a Mexican hacienda with a splash of Mediterranean flavor, this concierge-style resort offers a host of amenities and services for the most discerning traveler. Secrets Capri boasts 290 finely appointed non-smoking luxury suites and guest rooms offering superior amenities that include four-poster canopy king or double beds, private and furnished patio or balcony, full Italian marble bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool Jacuzzi, 24-hour room service and a daily refreshed mini-bar.

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as the #2 resort in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort.

The Secrets Capri Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury vacation includes breakfast, lunch and dinner provided by 6 distinctly different gourmet restaurants, 5 are full service a la carte and one is buffet style.

SPECIAL PROMOTIONS: * Honeymoon & anniversary complimentary package:

-Welcome letter.
-Fresh fruits, bottle of sparkling wine and flowers in the room on the arrival day
-Rose petals in the room and special turndown service
-Champagne breakfast in bed one morning (reservations must be made in advance with Concierge)
-15% discount on all treatments at the Spa, purchasing of products not included.
-The honeymoon and anniversary packages request your wedding certificate or a copy of the wedding invitation.
-Please request your honeymoon or anniversary package at time of booking.

Golf at Playa Paraiso Terms & Conditions: From now until December 23rd, 2011, guests will be offered to play one complimentary round per person, per day at Playa Paraso golf course. The use of a cart is mandatory and there will be a charge of $49 per person in a shared cart*
From now thru October 30th, 2010 tee times scheduled before 2:30 pm are surcharged at $35 per person, plus $35 for the cost of the cart *. From October 31st thru April 3rd, 2011, tee times scheduled before 1:30 pm are surcharged at $40 usd per person, plus $49usd for the cost of the cart. From April 4th, 2011 thru December 23rd, 2011, tee times scheduled before 2:30 pm are surcharged at $40 per person, plus $49 for the cost of the cart.* Guests will have access to the complimentary on-course food and beverage service provided by Playa Paraso. Guests must arrange their tee time in advance with the resort concierge and provide a credit card when doing so. If guests wish to cancel or reschedule their tee time, they must do so at least 24 hours in advance to avoid a $100 usd no-show penalty per person which will be charged by the hotel to the credit card they have provided. The concierge will then issue guests a coupon, which will grant them access to the golf course. Tee times will be subject to availability. Men's Dress Code: Collared shirts and mid-thigh (non denim) length shorts. Women's Dress Code: Appropriate golf attire, no bathing suits. Re-rounds to be confirmed at the golf course upon availability at the end of each of the scheduled rounds with the applicable charges t the available tee time. Non golfing riders fee of $49 usd per person, subject to cart availability*. Shoe rentals are $20 usd per person*. Brand name Rental Equipment at $40 usd per person. Right and left handed steel and graphite equipment available for men & women*. Driving range charges are $7 usd per small bucket and $10 for large bucket of practice golf balls*.
Restrictions apply and the offer is subject to change at any time. * Indicates charges and fees to be paid by the guest at the Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.6967 -87.0161
Area served
Ideally located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen and just a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
CUN - Cancun International - 22 MILES
Area description
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun is situated along a stretch of magnificent white sandy beach in the Riviera Maya. Local points of interest include the world's second largest barrier reef, nearby underground rivers, caves and jungles for the adventure seekers, eco-adventure attractions at Xel-Ha, Tulum, Coba, Chichen-Itza, Kohunlich, Xcaret Eco-Archeological Park and Cozumel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Experience
Friends
Austin Texas
Jul 8, 2011

Mexico Surprise

Wow what a trip to Mexico. It was a great trip all around I have travel to the area various times with friends and family. I was under the impression that this trip would not be any different. To my surprise I was very mistaken. After a fun week enjoying the beautiful weather and wonderful sites on my last day before I departed I discovered various bites on my back. I am not one to complain but this was my very first experience with what looked like bed bug bites. This is something I believed should be address because I do not want any other guests staying at this wonderful resort to experience the misfortune that I have. To top things off I have an ear ache. I do not want to be over dramatic but I hope to God that it is only an ear ache and nothing else. Hopefully it is not a bed bug that crawled up my ear in the middle of the night. This was my wonderful experience at Hotel Secrets in Playa Del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ahuston
Couples
Park Ridge, IL, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Missed the mark.

The location is fantastic; on the beach, not too far from Playa del Carmen, many rooms have amazing views of the water and pool, etc. The biggest downer about this hotel is the food. You can expect that the food at an all-inclusive won't be the best, but they didn't even serve fresh guacamole at Secrets!! It was seriously store bought, pre-made guac. HUGE disappointment. The first day there we got food by the pool and it wasn't even edible. I ordered a caesar salad and I kid you not, you could not even see the lettuce. It was drenched in dressing. The hotel also had a really funky smell in several different parts. The bar smelled like throw-up and several people commented. The main lobby area smelled stale, which they do attempt to cover up, but as anyone knows, that can make things even worse! For the money, you are better off staying at a different hotel, as you will end up eating out every night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joker656
Couples
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Brother's Wedding...Had no other choice.

Please do not come here if your aim is to sit on a beautiful beach. The beach is narrow and at the time I was there, covered in smelly seaweed. The smell was nauseating. They tried to clean it up, but it wasn't great. The water is not crystal clear blue, it is murky and ugly. This is true up and done the strip (I walked 15 minutes up and down and still saw murkiness though some places have wider beaches). My brother got married on the beach and in the background of his photos are huge clumps of seaweed. I know seaweed comes and goes, but it was a huge turn off. The rooms are really nice, but I had one on the ground floor and it was so noisy! I couldn't sleep in past 7:30am because I could hear everything. People walking by, talking, carts rolling past...On my last night, I could even hear my neighbour snoring. The food was decent though the a la carte restaurants fill up fast and then you are told you have to wait 1 + hours to get a table, even though you were there, lining up at 6pm. The only watersports included are kayaks, windsurfing and Hobies (Waves). Not a great selection. The staff was generally really nice and friendly. They usually always smiled and sai hello. Also, the resort coupons are a waste of time. You can only use a max of 40$ on ONE treatment at the spa. A facial, for example, costs about 200$...or you can get 10$ off an over priced bottle of wine or 40$ off a private beach dinner. Needless to say, I did not use the coupons. I am not a fan of all-inclusives, so I am sorry if I sound a bit negative. I was just a little disappointed by a few of the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to ask for the top-shelf booze. Once I figured this out, I was able to order Grey Goose, Ketel One, etc...otherwise, they just use the basic liquor.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the couple that had a good time anyway
Couples
faribault mn
Jul 29, 2009

not a bad trip, but not the best either

We go to Mexico twice a year and this hotel was more like a holiday inn than a luxury hotel. Nothing was really terrible but nothing was great about it either. We had no turn down serivce, the bartender at the swim up bar was the best serice we got. Our fridge in our room did not work,our safe did not work,We had three light bulbs ou in our bathroom and one in our shower so we had to take a shower in the dark.Nothing speical just a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La Queen B
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Secrets Capri

I had an ocean view room that was simply amazing. The beach was great as well. It was a very quiet and peaceful hotel. I did not have to wake up early each morning to secure a beach side lounge chair. I will say that it is strictly a couple hotel. I traveled with a friend of mine and we quickly realized that we were amongst ALL couples. It wasn't a big issue, but it may be something you want to keep in mind when considering this hotel. Also, while most of the food was amazing, on several ocassions we were told that they were out of items listed on the menu! The same thing happened at the bar. They only have a certain amount of liquor available each day. Towards the end of each evening the alcohol selection is limited. We were told after speaking to several wait staff that these are new procedures implemented after the swine flu issue. I hope that after the area rebounds that the Secrets will change their policies regarding food and alcohol. Overall, I had a nice time, but I'm not sure if I would stay at Secrets Capri again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myshouldersarepeeling
Couples
Dallas, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful Trip, BUT....

I would like to start off by saying that I had a fabulous time and although these things didn't ruin my trip, they would make us think twice about booking Secrets Capri again. This was our second visit, the first being about 3 years ago. We remembered it as a first-class resort and at that time it definitely lived up to it's 5-star rating. This time, it seems that there were a few things that needed attention. For instance, we got to the room and the first thing we tried to do was put our passports and valuables in the safe...but the safe was broken and so was the lock on our balcony door. We called down and they said okay, but didn't let us know if they were moving us, coming up to fix it or what. Before we went down to the beach we told the front desk again...they said nothing but that they would report it. We met other couples by the pool that said their safes were broken also. Our fridge did not get cold and the shower water was either really hot or really cold and would phase in and out. Although the food is not bad and you definitely have options, I wouldn't say it's the greatest. I ordered surf and turf and got a shish kabob with two pieces of beef and two shrimp with some vegetables. It was still good, but just not what I expected. The "nightlife" at the hotel is kind of sad. You walk into this sports bar with a small dance floor that is well lit. They had about 3 tables outside off of the bar and we couldn't help but wonder why they don't put some more seating outside, maybe some music? I don't know...It just seemed odd. Everyone is kinda sitting around, staring at each other. After 10pm a dj comes in and refused to take requests from another couple. I do have to note the positives: beautiful beach that is extremely clean. They have someone cleaning up seaweed all day long...Great service, definitely not shy about feeding you alcohol all day long. A cleaning person came by the room twice daily and another person came by to refresh the fridge every day. We had a bottle of champagne upon arrival and the room was very clean. I think that with the economy the way it was, Secrets may be cutting some corners which is understandable. The natural stone tile throughout the resort needs to be resealed, the furniture in the lobby and rooms is somewhat dated. One other feature that we missed was the coy and turtle pond under the stairs...there is not one living thing in that pond. If we paid more than what we did for the trip, I would be upset. Overall, I had a great time, but I hope they make the much needed upgrades necessary to maintain their status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calabay
Couples
ireland
Sep 21, 2009

great stay with limitations

This was a return visit to a location we had previously speant two weeks. This time we stayed for 6 days. Perfect location in an excellent resort. Only issue I had on this trip was due to the seasons only a couple of restaurants were open at night and during lunchtime. Our favourite was only open on 2 nights out of 5 which was disappointing. They have put on a new bar at it is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Take it or leave it

We went as a group (3 females) and found it to be more of a couples resort, although it's not really advertised as such. The resort is attractive and the pool is huge, however we had trouble reserving 3 chairs each morning. We had to set our alarms for 6am in order to find available chairs at the beach and/or pool area. That was a disappointment. Also, music only played at the pool during the one hour aqua aerobics at noon. After that it was quiet and a little boring. I guess married couples and honeymooners don't enjoy music while they are drinking in the sun... I've stayed at many all inclusive resorts and most had better food and a more exciting pool/beach atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel overall is lacking daytime excitement. I relaxed but I was looking for something more. The spa experience was falsely advertised, as I signed up for a thick cool clay massage that turned out to be a thin layer of hard coated masque-like texture and actually felt awful on my skin. Not to mention my friend and I were put in the same room for what looked like a "couples massage." We are not a couple and didn't request that. Also, we were unable to relax at the spa beforehand because they had a hydrotherapy "circuit" that included us being instructed on what to use, when to shower, and how long to relax (5 minutes each activity). That was not a relaxing experience, I felt like I was circuit training at the gym and having to wait for a free machine. That was my absolute biggest gripe about my overall stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast buffet was best. All else not worth it.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jardon
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 6, 2012

Nice Place to Relax

The rooms at this resort are very nice, food was good, staff was very friendly and service was good. Just make sure the staff gives you fresh napkins and water glasses. We witnessed them re-folding used napkins and using them and the water glasses over again. The only other complaint we had was there were not a lot of activities at this resort, and there is nothing close by to walk to so if you are looking for things to do you have to take a cab into Playa. Overall a nice place for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

No night life here other than the same nightly shows that any other Mexican resort has. This is ok if you are looking for a quiet place to relax, but not if you like to party.

Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun - Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a couple on vacation
Couples
Pennsylvania, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great Staff, AMAZING SPA PACKAGE, Great Rooms, but not a lot to do at night

Great resort for relaxing, enjoying the spa, drinking and eating! The staff was amazing! And the rooms were so clean and comfortable. The spa was great. It is totally worth it to pay a little extra for the unlimited spa package. We spent an hour or two at the spa everyday and loved it! The only negative - there wasn't a lot to do at night. Its a fairly small resort which is nice, but not big enough for nightly entertainment. There were dancers one night on the beach. But there is not a nightly show or theatre like some of the other resorts. Also, not all the restaurants were open, but that may have been because we were there during a slow season. Overall worth the $$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top