Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
243 reviews
El CID , hotel Rivera maya

I love this hotel , it's a great family resort, They need to do something about the mangrove smell,... See full review

  • Wild flower1313
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great place

Great location, between Cancun and playa del Carmen. Great staff, very friendly and great service... See full review

  • Freddy n family
  • Jul 4, 2014
Caribbean resort overlooking Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort is located only 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport and less than a mile from the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos. The resort boasts four restaurants, a state-of-the-art oceanfront spa, a 22,000-square-foot free-form pool, 120-slip marina with a dive shop, mini-supermarket, sport fishing fleet and a convention center. Those looking for some quiet relaxation enjoy the adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts. The resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.
Highlights:
  • Full-service 120-slip marina with dive shop
  • Adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts
  • 13,000-square-foot El Cocay Spa with a Mayan-inspired steam bath
  • Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Rooms:

Expect contemporary-style rooms in neutral, soothing earth tones with modern, colorful pillows and rich wood furniture. Suites are at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach feel pleasantly residential and feature ocean, pool or garden view. Pampering amenities include satellite TV, pillow menu, turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini-bar and full marble bathrooms. Guests can choose from many different suites, each with private balcony. Spa suites have Jacuzzis and terraces.

Features:
Whether you're looking for relaxation or adventure, you'll find it at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach. The 22,000-square-foot free-form pool features a separate kids area with water slides and rock formations for jumping. Water sports including windsurfing, Hobie Cats, kayaking, boogie boards and paddle boats are available as part of the all-inclusive package. Additionally, guest can practice their backswing on one of the two tennis courts or explore with a bike tour to Puerto Morelos. When you've exhausted yourself, head to the spa for some relaxation. The Mayan-inspired steam bath is the perfect way to unwind after an action-packed day (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 minutes)
Attractions
  • Puerto Morelos (0 mile/.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/37 km)
  • Tulum ruins (25 mi/41 km)
  • Chichen Itza (137 mi/221 km)
Business­
  • 11,974 square feet of function space divisible into six breakout rooms
  • 7,500-square-foot convention center
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Platinum Club Level
Luxury and Platinum Rooms Features: Guaranteed Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service with chocolate covered strawberries as welcome amenity, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability).
Spa Suite Garden or Pool View with Jacuzzi, Balconyuzzi, Terrace
Includes $150 USD Spa Credit per room per stay (minimum 3 paid nights) as well as a Spa amenity kit and an aroma menu in the room. Spacious bright, airy Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room and / or terrace Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Honeymoon Suite with Balcony, Jacuzzi w/Jacuzzi Pool or Garden View
Spacious bright, airy Honeymoon Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer and snacks.Platinum Club Level Included (Platinum accommodation subject to availability)
Luxury Garden View Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
One king bed or two double beds. Bright, airy room featuring oceanfront or pool view. Elegant decor in fresh, tropical hues. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Family Room - Ocean View Garden View or Pool View with Balcony
Spacious bright, airy Family room featuring ocean, pool, or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
OneBedroom Garden - Ocean Pool View with Balcony
One Bedroom Suite includes: spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean View. Platinum Club Level included:upgrade is available in all suites upon request directly at the hotel at US$45 per person per night and guarantees Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability)
Junior Suite Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
Junior Suite includes: Deluxe new suite nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed AND 1 queen Murphy bed, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.
One Bedroom Suite with balcony and kitchenette Ocean, Pool, or Garden View
One Bedroom Suite includes: Spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8349 -86.8896
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 19 km (12 miles).
Area description
This oceanfront resort is located on the Mayan Riviera, within one and a half km (one mile) from Puerto Morelos and the National Reef Park. Puerto Morelos is a very small fishermen community located on the northern part of the Riviera Maya, 12 miles south of the Cancun International Airport, and it's the site of the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.

Dining

La Alhambra
Dine indoors or al fresco at the casual La Alhambra, adjacent to the lobby. Either way, you'll savor the ever-changing gourmet buffet and a-l-minute dishes. The menu pleases the palate with everything from salads, sandwiches and pizza to sushi, chicken and roast beef. Calorie-watchers, beware of the dessert bar, with its to-de-for ice cream, pies, cakes and crepes.
Hacienda Arrecife
The poolside Hacienda Arrecife pairs gourmet Mexican cuisine with generous portions of traditional local decor. A testimonial to success, Hotel Marina El Cid has expanded this hacienda-style restaurant, doubling occupancy to accommodate 220 guests. A new buffet and freshly prepared, a-la-minute bars serve healthy breakfasts and international luncheon fare. Elegant dinners are available a la carte accompanied by a selection of more than 100 different tequilas.!Viva Mexico!
Other food and beverage services
Other food and beverage services include a lobby coffee station and martini bar with live entertainmen; afternoon tea time in the lobby; poolside, swim-up bar; healthy meal corner; in-room mini-bar stocked with drinks; 24 hour room service as well as beachside and poolside beverage service.
Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge
Enjoy cocktails from a hammock at the Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge. Located on the resort's white, sandy shore, this new lounge is as unique as its name. The lounge is open till midnight. At Scaramanga! guests relax in hammocks under breezy palms or on plush mattresses beneath cabanas. What's the meaning of the name, many ask. Cool ocean breezes, sand beneath your feet, and reggae music, all amidst a convivial ambiance - that's Scaramanga!
La Marina
La Marina serves up fresh seafood and stunning sunset views overlooking the clear waters of Puerto Morelos Bay. Open for daily a la carte lunch and dinner. Situated at the marina next to the resort, Reservations are required.
El Alcazar
El Alcazar is a favorite for romantic dinners and special occasions. Located off the lobby, this fusion gourmet restaurant boasts elegant, minimalist dcor. Diners enjoy a creative blend of Asian and Mediterranean cuisine. The wine cellar a large variety of wines, including classic favorites and emerging labels from countries around the globe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaeugenia
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2013

The most relaxing experience ever!

I relaxed everyday with a drink (not a lot of alcohol) in my hand and reading my book in the sun. The only difference from a sunny and rainy day was that you relaxed inside instead. Loved the tours Cancun has to offer (just shop around, do your homework with pricing and read up on the company and their service (don't believe everything you read, my tour company I give them a BIG fat 1 for service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Recommend the All Inclusive it was so worth it...to me. I saved a lot of $$$ not having to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner. And find a restaurant each time...that would be a wast of time and taking away from my shopping, relaxing, touring, and the sun!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ksams
Business
Arkansas
Dec 13, 2013

Winter Vacation Terrific!!!

First time staying at this resort. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and the rooms were very clean and comfy. The beach location was also very nice with plenty of chairs and hammocks on the beach. Would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not much in town but if you like to sit in the square, have a beer and watch the ocean then this is the town for you. If you are looking for nightlife, try Playa.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katty Beth Terry
Business
Canada
Dec 9, 2013

Best vacation ever!

Hotel is very beautiful and every staff is very helpful. The restaurants were serving really good food. I can't say anything negative to this hotel.My overall experience here was awesome..I would highly recommend Marina El Cid!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lmfk
Business
Fbg, ind
Nov 20, 2013

Not my best vacation

Never left enough towels and wash clothes. Nothing to do when the weather is rainy, ocean water and beach not the greatest. A lot of seaweed on the beach and the water was cloudy. Other resorts had barriers built in the water to prevent the seaweed from washing up and help keep water clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schlemkowicz
Business
New York
Nov 8, 2013

It's good, but not good enough to go back to....

This hotel claims it's 4-star, but it isn't. It is not well lit at night and the hallways are slippery when wet which make it dangerous. Our room was not made up 2 of the seven days, wireless internet access costs extra, the beach is in an area that a lot of sand and dirt get into the surf...not that gorgeous blue you expect, the hot tub was not working one day and was just a tub, and services for handicapped persons were poor....not exactly the 4-star experience you'd expect... However, the food and waiter service is very good, and overall it was a good value for the money....but just one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma2008
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2013

Nice!

Room was large and clean. Food was simply great. We could not swim in the sea: water was muddy and with lots of seaweed, but the pool was good. We did not really like the entertainment: no stage, no comfortable seating, and, most of all, ridiculous show themes, like the rememberance of the dead. Anyway, the vacation was very good, especially for the discounted price we paid, which was $1,980 for two adults and one child all-inclusive with the airfare from New York city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CWAFBROWN
Business
Nederland, Texas
Sep 23, 2013

A Little Disappointed

Hotel provides no transportation to and from the airport. "Upgraded" package at $80 per night is not worth the money. The upgrade was supposed to include several extras that we had to beg to get after they were promised to us. One restaurant of the 4 was closed. One other was open only part of the time. No much entertainment on the resort. The only shop in the resort had items marked up over 250% even on small items like candy or lighters. The VIP lounge is very small and doesn't offer much. All of the TV channels are in Spanish. The hotel grounds were nice and so were the staff. I just feel that the hotel made promises and then did not fulfill them without me having to remind them. Seems an upgraded package would have come with the benefit of them knowing you upgraded. This hotel is great if all you want to do is sit by the pool. There are not many adult activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Sarah 1
Business
Toronto
Aug 28, 2013

I had the best vacation ever!

perfect! It was the best place for my kids and my parents. 5 days at the hotel just flew by so fast,, but I know that I would cherish every moment at the hotel for a very long time. Thanks to all the wonderful staff at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sign up for snorkeling at the hotel. 15 minutes boat ride and over 90 minutes of snorkeling. It was the most wonderful experience!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surburban Mom
Business
Bethesda, MD
Aug 4, 2013

Great family trip!

The room is clean, clean, clean! Let me emphasize that again, clean. I'm not a total clean freak but dirty hotel rooms really upset me and could ruin the whole trip. Furthermore, staff are constantly cleaning the walkways, trimming the foliage, cleaning the common areas. I'm really impressed with the cleanliness of the public restroom around the pool. We spent the majority of our time in the pool. My kids (8 y.o and 6 y.o) loved the diving cliff and slide. My hubby loved the pool bar :) The beach is very rocky so water shoes are a must. Bring your snorkeling gear to investigate right off the beach. We saw sea urchins, angel fish and a buffalo fish. I gained 3 lbs from eating the food. This resort knows how to cook fish and chicken right! I had every day for lunch and dinner. I also had incredible salmon sashimi at the main buffet. My husband and I loved Mexican food and we were in "hog heaven". Don't miss the Mexican night on Saturday nights at the main buffet. We only ate twice at the restaurants, the Mexican and seafood Marina. The restaurant food was good but we prefer the buffet selections. The staff were friendly, delicious food, clean room and good drinks. We are contemplating going back in Jan 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Edith
Business
California
Aug 1, 2013

Great Vacation!!!

It was our first time in Mexico & was not disappointed! Hotel was beautiful, food was great, staff was friendly & helpful, the only thing that could be better is the internet connection, otherwise, we all had a great time, my kids did not want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to xplor if you want a fun day experience, definitely worth it!

Back to menu Return to top