Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4Shoes
Business
Grand Haven, Michigan
Apr 21, 2014

Need to stay longer next time

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed with our 14 & 17 yr old kids and we loved it. We upgraded to the Platinum Club and it was well worth it. We also paid for WIFI for the week and we didnt have any issue with connecting. You can only have one device using it at a time but that wasn't a problem. The room was nice and the food was good. The Italian Resturant was the best. The drinks were good, just ask for the top shelf booze and they will giveit to you. We rented a car from Thrifty Car Rental, located right in the lobby, to drive for a day and go to Xplor. It cost less than taking a tour and we got there earlier and we stayed later than the bus tours. We will for sure put El Cid on our places to return list!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rtc1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 15, 2014

Still Good 2nd Time

We came back for spring break this year. We were upgraded to a larger room adjacent to my elderly parents in quiet Building 19. Slightly less crowded than last year. Food still good overall though attempt at Chinese food during "Fusion" night was unsuccessful. Staff still friendly as ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey410
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2014

Great for Families

Had a great spring break with the kids. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lube
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 26, 2014

Family & Friends Getaway

We enjoy the size of the hotel with our large group, easy to find. Room layout was great. Food and wait staff was excellent. Pools and grounds were clean and well groomed. Rooms could use some more attention when cleaning. Bed side tables had cup ring stains that were there when we arrived and were never clean the 10 days we stayed. Twice my hat got flattened sitting on a table, like something was thrown on top of it and never knew what time our room was going to be cleaned, sometimes at 10:00AM or may be 4:00PM? Found the purchased Wifi not worth it, very hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Did not have a bad meal the whole time.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura37
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 25, 2014

Food and Beach terrible

We went during my daughter's February vacation. Two things that are very important to us is beach and food. The food was terrible, except for at the new Italian restaurant. I am not sure how anyone could think the food was good. We upgraded to Platinum so we were able to eat there 3-nights. Do wait util you get to resort to upgrade. We only paid $600 to upgrade. However, did not see any real benefit to it except got us dinner reservations and 2 suites verses one. The beach had so much debris floating in it that my daughter would not go in it and not the blue green was hoping for. The pool area was awesome and daughter had a blast jumping off the cliff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sup Family
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 20, 2014

Sup Review

The hotel was great. We are use to a little more "action" at our all-inclusive vacations, but it was a nice relaxing time. The food was incredible and the resort itself was beautiful. The staff were amazing! The only minor complaint I have is that the activity is just, done, after 11:00. Great live music at the lobby bar and then... nothing. The beds are hard considering the quality of the resort, but we are never in our rooms that much anyway. The platinum member rewards were incredible and we felt like royalty throughout the trip. We would probably not return as a couple, but look forward to bringing our 4 boys someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cute
Business
Kansas City, KS
Mar 13, 2014

Good family get away

Didn't like the beach area, not enough umbrellas and chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandy and terry
Business
grand rapids, mi
Feb 28, 2014

Good

We Loved our week at the resort. I would just make sure that I get a receipt for cash payment made for WI FI. I had to wait 2 days to pay because the girls at the front desk did not have change for my 100.00 bill USD and then when I sent back she did. I stupidly did not ask for a receipt and when we went to check out, they told me I still owed for it. I fought them for it, because my husband saw me pay them. The manager finally stepped in and said she probably posted it to someone elses account. Service around the pool is not the best (Gilberto) spent his time drinking a beer with guests to us rather than getting us our drinks, however after this we went to the beach and service on the beach was awesome. Everyone is very clean! If you have ever stayed at any of he Palace Resorts this resort is comparable. The rooms are very nice, clean grounds are very cleans, food is very good especially Italian Restaurant (Awesome). We look forward to revisiting this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jleon
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb 22, 2014

Nice hotel

World class customer service. It was a really nice staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yomanne
Business
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Feb 22, 2014

Great Restaurants

We booked the standard luxury room and ended up on the 3rd floor of building 18 which provided a partial ocean view from the balcony. The room was very clean and everything worked! The resort was the perfect size for us (342 rooms). It wasn't so big that you had to ride carts to get from one end to the other but it's big enough that you can walk on the pathways through the beautiful landscaping and feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The food was the best we've had in any all inclusive resort. The new Italian restaurant opened the week before we arrived and was our favorite. There's a total of five restaurants to choose from for the evening meal - one of them being the main buffet restaurant. The other four require reservations for dinner. The white sand beach is very nice, although it is not developed north of the resort.. They raked up seaweed every day to try and keep ahead of it. Unless you pay for Platinum service, you need to be up and out pretty early to stake out your chairs. If you walk toward the south and go past the marina, there's a stretch of very nice beach that extends about a mile. The little fishing village of Puerto Morelos is about a 20 minute walk to the north and has a flea market and small shops and restaurants. The resort also has bikes you can ride into town as a group complete with tour guide. We've stayed at many resorts in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area and this is now our favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner reservations sometime fill up fast but if you get the Platinum service you can make multiple reservations in advance. Platinum also provides free Internet service. Otherwise, it's $60/week.

Back to menu Return to top