Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benii
Business
Vancouver
May 4, 2014

Great resorte

The hotel was great. Food and services are fantastic. The staf was very welcoming and friendly. The place was very clean daly. The beach is beautiful, white sand and clear water. We definitely recommend it. Be aware of the sales people trying to sale you timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is 25,30 km from resort. Do not miss it.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maggie riviera maya
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2014

Good family resort

Grounds and rooms very nice. We had a family room with myself, my husband, our 2 children and my mother-in-law-- room was nice but the shower and toilet are separate-- toilet in full view shielded by transparent glass and a 2 inch gap between the door and wall. That equals no bathroom privacy. Additionally, the shower has a glass door you walk by to get to the toilet-- who wants their mother-in-law to see them naked??? Or see and hear them using the toilet??? After the first day, I had to call concierge to refill the refrigerator, coffee, coffee mugs, and towels everyday. This is also a family resort-- I was confused as to why they told me children could not eat dinner at the Italian restaurant. Food was pretty good at all the restaurants! I was informed the staff here make $9 per day-- so tipping is important, although you don't have to. Beware that Puerto Morelos does not have the really blue Caribbean water-- sand is more beige and whiter in say Playa del Carmen-- still nice but not the vibrant Caribbean blue you will find a little more south or even in Cancun. Some days the water washed up garbage and seaweed, others it did not-- I think it depended in the weather/tide. My 8 year old loved the cliff dive in pool! That kept him busy all day long!Pool was awesome but I don't go on vacation to go to a pool-- therefore I would have preferred a better beach. Not sure if it was the ATM in hotel I used, the gift shop or the flea market downtown, but when I returned to the US I had almost $2,000.00 stolen from my bank account of unauthorized ATM withdrawals. It's a debit card-- my advice is bring cash to Mexico. Overall this resort was nice, but I wanted the Caribbean blue and it's not so much here. Also the items we bought at hotel and in town were way more expensive than the same items I saw in playa de Carmen and Cozumel. Additionally there is an adult only hot tub-- my husband and I went to at 8:00 pm to find it closes by 7:00 pm-- who wants to sit in a hot tub in 90 degree heat?? Crocodiles and turtles were cool to see in the mangroves. And each day the staff brings either spider monkeys, macaws, or iguanas to take photos of people with by the pool-- you can review photos in the lobby at anytime and decide if you want to purchase them-- we did choose a few--they were very nice! It was difficult to get reservation times to accommodate our children-- you should call the concierge before you go to sleep to make reservations for the next evening. Definitely a nice well kept resort, but with a few downfalls. We had a nice time. Now I need to work on getting my stolen money back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4Shoes
Business
Grand Haven, Michigan
Apr 21, 2014

Need to stay longer next time

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed with our 14 & 17 yr old kids and we loved it. We upgraded to the Platinum Club and it was well worth it. We also paid for WIFI for the week and we didnt have any issue with connecting. You can only have one device using it at a time but that wasn't a problem. The room was nice and the food was good. The Italian Resturant was the best. The drinks were good, just ask for the top shelf booze and they will giveit to you. We rented a car from Thrifty Car Rental, located right in the lobby, to drive for a day and go to Xplor. It cost less than taking a tour and we got there earlier and we stayed later than the bus tours. We will for sure put El Cid on our places to return list!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rtc1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 15, 2014

Still Good 2nd Time

We came back for spring break this year. We were upgraded to a larger room adjacent to my elderly parents in quiet Building 19. Slightly less crowded than last year. Food still good overall though attempt at Chinese food during "Fusion" night was unsuccessful. Staff still friendly as ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey410
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2014

Great for Families

Had a great spring break with the kids. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lube
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 26, 2014

Family & Friends Getaway

We enjoy the size of the hotel with our large group, easy to find. Room layout was great. Food and wait staff was excellent. Pools and grounds were clean and well groomed. Rooms could use some more attention when cleaning. Bed side tables had cup ring stains that were there when we arrived and were never clean the 10 days we stayed. Twice my hat got flattened sitting on a table, like something was thrown on top of it and never knew what time our room was going to be cleaned, sometimes at 10:00AM or may be 4:00PM? Found the purchased Wifi not worth it, very hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Did not have a bad meal the whole time.

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laura37
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 25, 2014

Food and Beach terrible

We went during my daughter's February vacation. Two things that are very important to us is beach and food. The food was terrible, except for at the new Italian restaurant. I am not sure how anyone could think the food was good. We upgraded to Platinum so we were able to eat there 3-nights. Do wait util you get to resort to upgrade. We only paid $600 to upgrade. However, did not see any real benefit to it except got us dinner reservations and 2 suites verses one. The beach had so much debris floating in it that my daughter would not go in it and not the blue green was hoping for. The pool area was awesome and daughter had a blast jumping off the cliff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sup Family
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 20, 2014

Sup Review

The hotel was great. We are use to a little more "action" at our all-inclusive vacations, but it was a nice relaxing time. The food was incredible and the resort itself was beautiful. The staff were amazing! The only minor complaint I have is that the activity is just, done, after 11:00. Great live music at the lobby bar and then... nothing. The beds are hard considering the quality of the resort, but we are never in our rooms that much anyway. The platinum member rewards were incredible and we felt like royalty throughout the trip. We would probably not return as a couple, but look forward to bringing our 4 boys someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cute
Business
Kansas City, KS
Mar 13, 2014

Good family get away

Didn't like the beach area, not enough umbrellas and chairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandy and terry
Business
grand rapids, mi
Feb 28, 2014

Good

We Loved our week at the resort. I would just make sure that I get a receipt for cash payment made for WI FI. I had to wait 2 days to pay because the girls at the front desk did not have change for my 100.00 bill USD and then when I sent back she did. I stupidly did not ask for a receipt and when we went to check out, they told me I still owed for it. I fought them for it, because my husband saw me pay them. The manager finally stepped in and said she probably posted it to someone elses account. Service around the pool is not the best (Gilberto) spent his time drinking a beer with guests to us rather than getting us our drinks, however after this we went to the beach and service on the beach was awesome. Everyone is very clean! If you have ever stayed at any of he Palace Resorts this resort is comparable. The rooms are very nice, clean grounds are very cleans, food is very good especially Italian Restaurant (Awesome). We look forward to revisiting this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top