Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Boulevards El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
312 reviews
Great place

Great location, between Cancun and playa del Carmen. Great staff, very friendly and great service... See full review

  • Freddy n family
  • Jul 4, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

7 days in paradise was better than expected. While the weather was a bit gloomy for 2 days...it did... See full review

  • Lover of the beach
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort overlooking Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort is located only 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport and less than a mile from the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos. The resort boasts four restaurants, a state-of-the-art oceanfront spa, a 22,000-square-foot free-form pool, 120-slip marina with a dive shop, mini-supermarket, sport fishing fleet and a convention center. Those looking for some quiet relaxation enjoy the adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts. The resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.
Highlights:
  • Full-service 120-slip marina with dive shop
  • Adults-only silent zone with Jacuzzi and massage huts
  • 13,000-square-foot El Cocay Spa with a Mayan-inspired steam bath
  • Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park
Rooms:

Expect contemporary-style rooms in neutral, soothing earth tones with modern, colorful pillows and rich wood furniture. Suites are at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach feel pleasantly residential and feature ocean, pool or garden view. Pampering amenities include satellite TV, pillow menu, turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini-bar and full marble bathrooms. Guests can choose from many different suites, each with private balcony. Spa suites have Jacuzzis and terraces.

Features:
Whether you're looking for relaxation or adventure, you'll find it at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach. The 22,000-square-foot free-form pool features a separate kids area with water slides and rock formations for jumping. Water sports including windsurfing, Hobie Cats, kayaking, boogie boards and paddle boats are available as part of the all-inclusive package. Additionally, guest can practice their backswing on one of the two tennis courts or explore with a bike tour to Puerto Morelos. When you've exhausted yourself, head to the spa for some relaxation. The Mayan-inspired steam bath is the perfect way to unwind after an action-packed day (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (20 minutes)
Attractions
  • Puerto Morelos (0 mile/.5 km)
  • Playa del Carmen (22 mi/37 km)
  • Tulum ruins (25 mi/41 km)
  • Chichen Itza (137 mi/221 km)
Business­
  • 11,974 square feet of function space divisible into six breakout rooms
  • 7,500-square-foot convention center
  • High-speed Internet (fees may apply)

Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Platinum Club Level
Luxury and Platinum Rooms Features: Guaranteed Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service with chocolate covered strawberries as welcome amenity, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability).
Spa Suite Garden or Pool View with Jacuzzi, Balconyuzzi, Terrace
Includes $150 USD Spa Credit per room per stay (minimum 3 paid nights) as well as a Spa amenity kit and an aroma menu in the room. Spacious bright, airy Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room and / or terrace Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Honeymoon Suite with Balcony, Jacuzzi w/Jacuzzi Pool or Garden View
Spacious bright, airy Honeymoon Suite featuring pool or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with in-room Jacuzzi, large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer and snacks.Platinum Club Level Included (Platinum accommodation subject to availability)
Luxury Garden View Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
One king bed or two double beds. Bright, airy room featuring oceanfront or pool view. Elegant decor in fresh, tropical hues. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
Family Room - Ocean View Garden View or Pool View with Balcony
Spacious bright, airy Family room featuring ocean, pool, or garden view. Elegant decor in modern minimalist decoration. Bathroom is above the industry standard with large shower areas and marble walls, floors, stools and counter tops. This suite is air conditioned with balcony, satellite TV with premium channels, pillow menu, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, safe, direct dial telephone, coffee maker; turn-down service, 24-hour room service, mini bar stocked with complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, beer.
OneBedroom Garden - Ocean Pool View with Balcony
One Bedroom Suite includes: spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean View. Platinum Club Level included:upgrade is available in all suites upon request directly at the hotel at US$45 per person per night and guarantees Ocean View units, welcome fruit basket with wine, bathrobes and slippers, turn-down service, room aroma menu, umbrella and beach bag for use during stay, scale and butler service. Plus: dedicated check-in and check-out area, complimentary access to the Platinum Room (beverages, snacks, fruit, Internet access, TV, newspapers and books), reservation of individual beach palapa huts, guaranteed reservations in specialty restaurant, late check-out (subject to availability)
Junior Suite Pool View or Ocean View with Balcony
Junior Suite includes: Deluxe new suite nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed AND 1 queen Murphy bed, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.
One Bedroom Suite with balcony and kitchenette Ocean, Pool, or Garden View
One Bedroom Suite includes: Spacious unit nicely decorated in contemporary styles and colors with 1 king bed in separate bedroom AND 1 queen Murphy bed in large living/dining area, balcony, satellite TV; Ocean, pool, or garden view. All inclusive property.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8349 -86.8896
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 19 km (12 miles).
Area description
This oceanfront resort is located on the Mayan Riviera, within one and a half km (one mile) from Puerto Morelos and the National Reef Park. Puerto Morelos is a very small fishermen community located on the northern part of the Riviera Maya, 12 miles south of the Cancun International Airport, and it's the site of the Puerto Morelos National Reef Park.

Dining

La Alhambra
Dine indoors or al fresco at the casual La Alhambra, adjacent to the lobby. Either way, you'll savor the ever-changing gourmet buffet and a-l-minute dishes. The menu pleases the palate with everything from salads, sandwiches and pizza to sushi, chicken and roast beef. Calorie-watchers, beware of the dessert bar, with its to-de-for ice cream, pies, cakes and crepes.
Hacienda Arrecife
The poolside Hacienda Arrecife pairs gourmet Mexican cuisine with generous portions of traditional local decor. A testimonial to success, Hotel Marina El Cid has expanded this hacienda-style restaurant, doubling occupancy to accommodate 220 guests. A new buffet and freshly prepared, a-la-minute bars serve healthy breakfasts and international luncheon fare. Elegant dinners are available a la carte accompanied by a selection of more than 100 different tequilas.!Viva Mexico!
Other food and beverage services
Other food and beverage services include a lobby coffee station and martini bar with live entertainmen; afternoon tea time in the lobby; poolside, swim-up bar; healthy meal corner; in-room mini-bar stocked with drinks; 24 hour room service as well as beachside and poolside beverage service.
Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge
Enjoy cocktails from a hammock at the Scaramanga Moon & Beach Lounge. Located on the resort's white, sandy shore, this new lounge is as unique as its name. The lounge is open till midnight. At Scaramanga! guests relax in hammocks under breezy palms or on plush mattresses beneath cabanas. What's the meaning of the name, many ask. Cool ocean breezes, sand beneath your feet, and reggae music, all amidst a convivial ambiance - that's Scaramanga!
La Marina
La Marina serves up fresh seafood and stunning sunset views overlooking the clear waters of Puerto Morelos Bay. Open for daily a la carte lunch and dinner. Situated at the marina next to the resort, Reservations are required.
El Alcazar
El Alcazar is a favorite for romantic dinners and special occasions. Located off the lobby, this fusion gourmet restaurant boasts elegant, minimalist dcor. Diners enjoy a creative blend of Asian and Mediterranean cuisine. The wine cellar a large variety of wines, including classic favorites and emerging labels from countries around the globe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surburban Mom
Bethesda, MD
Aug 4, 2013

Great family trip!

The room is clean, clean, clean! Let me emphasize that again, clean. I'm not a total clean freak but dirty hotel rooms really upset me and could ruin the whole trip. Furthermore, staff are constantly cleaning the walkways, trimming the foliage, cleaning the common areas. I'm really impressed with the cleanliness of the public restroom around the pool. We spent the majority of our time in the pool. My kids (8 y.o and 6 y.o) loved the diving cliff and slide. My hubby loved the pool bar :) The beach is very rocky so water shoes are a must. Bring your snorkeling gear to investigate right off the beach. We saw sea urchins, angel fish and a buffalo fish. I gained 3 lbs from eating the food. This resort knows how to cook fish and chicken right! I had every day for lunch and dinner. I also had incredible salmon sashimi at the main buffet. My husband and I loved Mexican food and we were in "hog heaven". Don't miss the Mexican night on Saturday nights at the main buffet. We only ate twice at the restaurants, the Mexican and seafood Marina. The restaurant food was good but we prefer the buffet selections. The staff were friendly, delicious food, clean room and good drinks. We are contemplating going back in Jan 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Edith
California
Aug 1, 2013

Great Vacation!!!

It was our first time in Mexico & was not disappointed! Hotel was beautiful, food was great, staff was friendly & helpful, the only thing that could be better is the internet connection, otherwise, we all had a great time, my kids did not want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to xplor if you want a fun day experience, definitely worth it!

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milkywaybaby
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Jul 23, 2013

Great Family Trip

We took a trip with our three girls , that were 6, 14, and 17 years old. The trip was amazing. The pool is very large and it is super fun to jump of the cliff jump that they have in the pool. The pool is very big so there is a lot of room for everyone. The late night activities were a blast we loved it. They had a show every day which was super intertaning. The beach was kinda small we expected for sandy beach but it was good enough. The ocean is very rocky. So you cant just swim out there and put your feet down on the ground because there are rocks there. Cancun is not to far from the hotel too so we rented out a car and drove it to cancun for a day. It was soo fun there. We pulled over and swam in the bright blue waters. The ocean was much better here (: The food at the hotel was lovely too. We ate at the buffet a lot cause it was fast. Overall great hotel loved it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimR17
Las Vegas
Jun 23, 2013

Bad Vacation

1st Room very Bad had to be moved Bathroom door was Glass and had 2 inch gap were it didn't seal.. No privacy.. New room was wooden Door and closed Much better... Ants in rooms....Food was the same every day in the buffet you get tired of the same stuff.... My Son was not allowed to eat in the buffet on night because he had on Board Shorts and they said it looked like a swimsuit although I seen and I also went in with my swim trunks on several Times at dinner this is causal dress at all 3 meals in the buffet only dinner on the mexican theme night did there have a problem with the swim trunks I complained to the Hotel Manager and NOTHING Was Done......Beaches were nice after they cleaned up the Seaweed each day, Rocks out in the water about 20 feet out, hard to walk on.. need water shoes if you plan on playing in the ocean... I would Never STAY at this Hotel AGAIN !!!!!!!! Stay at a Palace Resort I heard they were much Better....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Never stay at this Hotel

Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMFF
Ohio
Jun 21, 2013

Great Staff at El Cid

Perfect for our teenage family, staff was wonderful and fun but not pushy. Guests were friendly not snooty. It was away from tourists and shopping which we wanted. Food and drinks were delicious and abundant. Chairs , cabanas and umbrellas everywhere so no a.m. fight to reserve space. We would go back. 2 problems, bank machine never worked, concierge did not speak English. Kind of important to know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNTurtleBoy
Minneapolis, MN
May 24, 2013

Great get away

My wife and I were looking for an escape from a busy and hectic year at a place that let us do nothing but rest, relax and get away from it all. This spot is perfect for what we were looking for. We enjoyed sitting quietly at the pool in the morning and spent the afternoons on the beach. We didn't have to do any thinking for a week. I'd recommend the Platinum buy up for the extra reservation options you'll receive around the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FFStew
Madison, Wisconsin
Apr 26, 2013

Great Place, Platinum Club not worth it

The hotel complex itself is amazing. Its beautiful and you get a view of everything, ocean, pool area, natural areas. It is filled with native species and they use organic products and recycle their water. There is a "platinum club" which they charge you extra for all these "great little perks" is not a perk. They "give" a personal butler, which we only saw when we had our bags taken to our room. They talk about a pillow menu and aroma therapy menu for your room. We asked for the aroma therapy nightly and only got it once. We had to ask for our refrigerator to be stocked several times a day, and they would come at night with warm soda and water. This club is supposed to give you priority reservations at the 3 restaurants that require them for dinner. We tried to make reservations several days in advance and could never get in. Yet, when we talked to the head concierge, he was able to make it happen. We received better and more friendly help from the concierge staff than the platinum club staff. Don't waste your money on that upgrade and tip the concierge staff instead. They are were it gets done. Angel, who was the main gentleman in charge of our platinum club stay, was not friendly, did not care if we were happy or not, and then on the last day of our stay, my engagement ring went missing. When I went to talk to Angel in the Platinum Club, he could have cared less. He even tried to talk me out of filing a report because we were checking out and leaving for the airport that day. He also waited to send security to our room, even though the head of security was in the office when we went to talk to Angel and was confused why he didn't have us talk to him then. The place is beautiful, the staff for the most part is excellent, the platinum club is a waste of money and they really don't care if you enjoyed your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sally and Tim
Terre Haute IN
Apr 23, 2013

Puerto Morelos

I would recommend this resort to anyone. We stayed from 4/13 to 4/20. We are mid forties and there were 3 couples in our group. This is close to the airport, awesome food, nice room, great pool, and nice beach. We are beach people and spent most of our time there . We ate at all restaurants and had good experiences at all. My favorite was the Mediterranean. The beach is a little rocky but still awesome. I recommend water shoes. We visited the small area of Puerto Morelos and enjoyed the low keyed atmosphere. We have been to cancun/riviera maya 10 times and this is our 5th resort. None of the resorts were "bad" but this one is our favorite. We are planning to go back in the fall. Love the El CID. VERY Nice..... I really don't understand any negative reviews. We were in building 19.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kat gio
new jersey
Apr 17, 2013

getaway

it was totaly awesome. i cant wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SPYCHEN
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 13, 2013

Perfect Getaway!!

Food is great, room is great, the resort is great. Will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top