Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Riviera Maya, KM 324-342 Villas Del Mar No.3, Puerto Morelos, 77580

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
35 reviews
BEST WEEK OF MY LIFE

My fiance and I stayed here for a week and eloped here and it was the BEST week of our lives. Every... See full review

  • NATHAR
  • Jul 25, 2015
Can't go wrong!

Friendly and attentive staff, nice property (very well maintained), many things to do or because of... See full review

  • David C.
  • Jul 18, 2015

At Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only All Inclusive Riviera Maya, enjoy the seclusion and 328 yards of white, sandy beaches away from the crowds. Choose either a king-sized bed or two double beds in your spacious, Mediterranean-inspired suite, which includes a Jacuzzi tub for two and private patios or balconies. Each suite is stocked with provisions such as premium liquors, wines, sodas and snacks. Your resort rate includes meals and drinks, and you have your choice of 10 restaurants and bars on the premises. There are six pools, a theater and varied nightly entertainment. The resort gives its guests access to snorkeling equipment and kayaks. There is even a rifle and archery range.

Highlights

When you stay at Excellence Riviera Cancun, you are only 25 minutes from the action in Cancun and Playa del Carmen. A favorite stop is Laguna Nichupté, a lagoon located on the inland side of Cancun Island. Here you will find fun shopping and waterfront restaurants. There are golf courses and water sports around the islands too. Archaeology enthusiasts enjoy Mayan ruins in the region including the Ruinas El Rey located on Kukulacán Boulevard. There are more ruins along the beaches of Cancun Island. Isla Mujeres is just a 45-minute ferry voyage to a favorite place for scuba diving and swimming with dolphins.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.8748 -86.8662
Area served
Puerto Morelos.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
At Excellence Riviera Cancun you are secluded but not isolated. The all-suite, all-adult resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, 15 minutes away from Cancun's airport, on an immaculate white sand beach. The surrounding region is rich with archeological and cultural sites, as well as eco-tourism destinations including tropical coves, rain-forest and caves. Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Cancun International Airport are all just a short drive away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joywill
Family
Wallkill, NY
Jul 26, 2014

Not so excellent.

I just returned from the Excellence Maya Riviera and it is a beautiful resort. Very beautiful.... The food.......not so much. The food was very average for my liking. The buffet was not as plentiful as most buffets are at resorts like that are. Check in took a great portion of my day. This was definitely the longest check in I have ever had. The bell hop that took us to our room didn't point out anything as he took us to our room like most other bell hops I saw do therefore we really had to find things on our own. The check in staff, bellhops and restaurant staff are pretty pleasant however most of the housekeeping staff failed to offer a greeting. The top sheet on my bed had a nasty stain on it which I did not put there and Im sure the housekeeper saw it when she put the sheets on the bed because I saw it right away. Beautiful resort, I must stress, however Excellence isn't living up to their name at this resort. Food and service is big and I am very disappointed with the food and check in should not have taken as long as it did furthermore most employees didn't speak English and instead of trying to accommodate you by finding someone that does speak Spanish they would just tell you they do not speak english. Other than that it was a beautiful resort and my mother and sister who I traveled with do not have my same sentiments. They loved everything about the resort including the food. I must add that my sister is vegan and gluten free and they made special dishes for her so she loved it. I also must add that the Basmati restaurant was a very nice experience. I loved the food there. I just thought the buffet lacked a lot and the pool pizza maker should be open a little later than 12pm-3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Basmati Restaurant

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popica
Family
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 8, 2014

The effort is there!

It is obvious the management thrives toward a 5 star resort but they are not there yet. For effort I give a 4 star. Food is in general good with the exception of any beef dishes( fillet mignion is not at all filett mignion, ribeye is too fat and chewy). The beach is nice, sand soft and an effort to keep it clean of algae is inconsistent( some day the truck with the rake was going back and forth some days not at all). The water full of algae, not at all clear and blue like other location in Mexico. Snorkeling very basic: corrals and a few, very few tropical fish to see. If this is the first time for someone, it will not be impressive and might not determine them to always seek that experience every time they get a chance like my 1997 Cancun snorkelling experience did for me. The shows were good, but their acoustics in need of repair or upgrade. While it might seem I only have only negative things to say, I want to recognize the superior aspect of the premises, the obvious effort of staff to rise to the level of a 5 stars, and their effort to make the experience a great one. In conclusion, I just want to say, if it is the first time you go to Mexico, IF you are an older person and want only quiet and relaxation or you go to celebrate your anniversary, I would say it's a good place, just don't attempt to eat stakes. If you like more excitement and fun I would not recommend. No children here! Nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndianaPat
Couples
Highland, In
Dec 8, 2014

A pleasure

The restraints are excellent. Bar serves to shelf and staff great service. Nightly shows were sometimes excellent other times fair. Facility breath taking. Pool was chilly. Beach was just ok, old piling from dock needs to be removed. Lots of sea weed in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Save your appetite for dinner. All are 6 star.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rferraro
Couples
Montreal, Canada
Aug 4, 2010

"Excellence" value!

- Great location only minutes away from the airport; - Great service, very friendly and capable staff; - Very good food;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffer for breakfast and lunch, many choices, all top rate.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2007

sickly smelly rooms!

The hotel was beautiful, the staff was courteous and professional, the food was good, and the pools were amazing. The only thing we can say is we wasted our holiday this year and a few thousand dollars on a beautiful hotel room that smelt so bad that it followed us home! It was not even a simple bad smell it was the kind of smell that makes you sick. Like a dirty moldy smell. We could smell it before even getting to the room. It was truly a pity because the room was so beautiful with such a great environment to have a very romantic time. Yet we could not be at ease in such a disgusting room. So instead we spent all of our time outside of the room. Hence wasting thousands of dollars on an unusable room! And no joking I still have not been able to get rid of that smell 2 weeks later it lingers in my closet. Even after washing every item brought with us. Pity because everything else was perfect. They are aware of the smell, giving us incense to burn in order to try to cover it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLJ
Couples
NYC/BOCA RATON
Sep 8, 2009

Excellence is Excellent

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is OUTSTANDING AND FRIENDLY. Caribbean night was the BEST!! The best all inclusive out there!! Planning on visiting the other Excellence properties in Dominican Republic and Jamaica. Great cigar bar and selection!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant and Spice are the best restaurants in hotel. Pass up on the Lobster House. The Caribbean party had the best local food / buffet and carving station on the beach!!

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Practicing vacation
Couples
Fairport
May 26, 2015

Great time again

This was our third trip to this hotel and it did not disappoint us. We always have a good time when travelling to this hotel and the staff is always great. Rooms are as advertised and the food is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey H.
Couples
N/A
Jun 9, 2015

Good vacation

Rooms and shows are not as good as sister site in Playa Mujeres. Great staff, better than sister site in Playa Mujeres. Food is below average, they tend to overcook everything which makes the food dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allstar95
Couples
near Chicago IL
Mar 30, 2014

awesome all inclusive

Had a great time. This place is beautiful and the staff was awesome. Food was above average. The spa was awesome. We had a swim out suite excellent club, and was worth the extra money for us. I would definitely go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There isn't a lot of night life if that's what your looking for. They do have some entertainment but for the most part , its over early. Most people are not out late here and are up very early.

Review of Excellence Riviera Cancun Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
camo
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

fantastic great adult only hotel

ocean front room with club upgrade is the best. Spa is the best you will find. Staff is there for all your needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top