Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin and George
Business
Manchester, NH
Mar 6, 2014

fantastic getaway!

Only complain is that there should be an adults only pool and the drinks were very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Toronto dad
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 18, 2014

Great value for the price

Nice hotel with good pools and good food. The staff were very friendly and we didn't care that the activities were minimal. The beach is just fine with white sand but the water is not the crystal blue of other resorts. Been to many resorts and for the money, this one ranks high. Our teenagers met many people and love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to drive into Playa del Carmen. Its worthy of at least one visit - especially in the evening.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
Business
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2014

We love vacation

Nothing bad to say; great pool, tons of food options, top shelf liqueur, what more could we have asked for? The beach was nice too, we walked south each day we'll over a mile along the shoreline - lived that. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHolden's
Business
Fleetwood, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Great Resort but....

Great resort, but some of the staff are not too friendly. The front desk was busy when we arrived and one gentleman was very rude to myself and my wife. Very long wait to get to the room, but the room was wonderful. The assistant manager was not very helpful but the resort itself is amazing. Food is good depending on the restaurant you choose, we enjoyed the French and the Italian. Overall great place, everyone has their bad days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Cozumel. When you take the ferry across, rent scooters and see the entire island. Make sure you go to Coconuts on the leeward side of the island. Great adventure, visit the fertility Mayan ruin.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8 kids is enough
Business
Lakeview, Oregon
Apr 28, 2014

Great Getaway

The resort was nice, and clean. The reef off the beach was big and shallow, great for snorkeling. The food was good and there was a great selection at the buffets. Night life was fun at the sport bar and swing bar at the beach. The pools were very nice and clean with fun activities. The location wasn't bad for outside activities, with many options available. Explor was a short, 1 hour trip. Playa De Carmen was a Quick taxi ride from the resort. The drinks were a little weak, but tastey. If I were to do it again, I would take pesos for the taxi rides. Exchange rate was 13 per dollar, But taxi's are 10 per dollar? All-in-all, a great resort. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor is a must do if you like adventure. Zip lines, utvs, tunnel swimming. A great day trip! We went to the Mayan ruils at Cobo. Kind of a long shuttle ride, but beautiful and Quite interesting. Take the bike taxi's out to the temple, or you won't have time to see it all (2 people per taxi for $14.) Well worth it! Be sure to tip your driver. Some of the nicest people I have met.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shadowspires
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 3, 2010

A solidly enjoyable vacation

We went during the week of New Years Day. The weather was perfect. We only spent one day off resort to take a fishing trip. Things we loved. The Mexican Restaurant was the most fun. We had a great waiter and the food was authenticate, tasty and largely portioned. The Italian Restaurant had a great antipasto/appetizer bar, but everything else was pretty lackluster. The Seafood Restaurant has a great filet on the surf and turf option, but cooked the lobster down to rubber. The Steak Restaurant left a lot to be desired. We didn't try the French or Oriental, but it didn't seem too appealing menu wise... The lunch and breakfast buffets were better than average. The Spa is an amazing facility and is a must for those that want to experience some luxury. The Sports Bar was loud and boring in general, but the Swing Bar was always entertaining. The New Year Eve party was downright spectacular and helped make up for a lot of the average pieces... albeit the NYE meal was the worst. Great favors, drinks, music, fireworks, party size, etc... Absolutely loved the showers in our room... glass walls, overhead large head, very spacious, second shower "wand". Staff was always nice and spoke decent English while eager to help you with your Spanish. Would go again if we find the opportunity fits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Spa is amazing with it's own pools, showers, sauna, lounges, beds, jacuzzi's, heated pools, etc, etc... If you buy a massage you get full day use of the facility. Best secret of the place.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quebec,Canada
Jan 5, 2010

Had fun!

What we liked: -pool -service -food,very easy to make reservations -bed -grounds -reception:very helpful and accomodating What we didn't like so much but it didn't ruin our vacation: -beach area is not the greatest -lots of children so it can get pretty noisy -thin walls so you can hear people talking in the other rooms.The hallways are also very noisy! -they make it annoying to get a taxi -5 dollars for 1 hour internet use I would not give this hotel 5 stars-more than a 4 but not a 5!I am not sure I would recommend this hotel because I know there are great 5 star resorts in the area with beautiful beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great a la carte restaurants!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th anniversary
Business
Elgin Iowa
Feb 17, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

We had a very enjoyable trip. Good friends. Very friendly people for staff, wanting to assist you whenever needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa Bill
Business
Iowa, USA
Feb 17, 2010

Time flies when you're having fun.

Our seven days at the Grand Esmerelda flew by. We had a great time. Our room was comfy and clean, the food was excellent and the service people were very pleasant and helpful. Although I would have liked a better selection of alcohol in the bars, it is probably just as well there wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayk
Business
marion, IL
May 25, 2010

great price great hotel

this was a great hotel with friendly helpful staff. the room was always clean, with water and beer refilled everyday. the rooms and hallways were very loud at night,if you're a light sleeper. the food was very good even at the buffets. the fitness area had a lot of equiptment to choose from. the pool area was really nice and you could always find a chair. don't come here for the beach and ocean swimming. lots of seaweed and sand bags, but the pool makes up for that. the waiters around pool area were great, a small tip goes a long way and drinks keep coming. don't get talked into the time share meeting, it's a complete waste of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top