Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayk
Business
marion, IL
May 25, 2010

great price great hotel

this was a great hotel with friendly helpful staff. the room was always clean, with water and beer refilled everyday. the rooms and hallways were very loud at night,if you're a light sleeper. the food was very good even at the buffets. the fitness area had a lot of equiptment to choose from. the pool area was really nice and you could always find a chair. don't come here for the beach and ocean swimming. lots of seaweed and sand bags, but the pool makes up for that. the waiters around pool area were great, a small tip goes a long way and drinks keep coming. don't get talked into the time share meeting, it's a complete waste of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, USA
Jun 22, 2010

95% wonderful!

Overall a great experience. Room was always clean, though they didn't follow their own "green" policy with the towels and sheets. Service was excellent. They used reclaimed water for their gardens, and it often had a strong odor during watering times. Beware the ants in the grasses and the "it's not a time share" sales calls and sales pitches. The beach was superb, the food was good to average, same with the drinks. Entertainment was decent, a little pushy from the entertainers sometimes. Great location. Not too far/not too close to/from anything really :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Cutie
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 25, 2010

Great Resort

Great Rooms, very modern. The pool is large and accommodates large groups. Poolside service is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the restaurants is very good, for an all-inclusive resort.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beach Park, IL
Sep 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

we had a good relaxing time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland, MI
Nov 20, 2010

Great Vacation

We read a lot of negative reviews before we left so were unsure of what to expect. From the moment we arrived it was nothing but great. We were able to check in early, the room was nice and clean, the gounds and pool areas were very clean too. I loved that there was no need to save seats by the pool also you could exchange your towel as many times as you wanted through out the day. The ala carte restaurants had great steaks and chicken. The buffets were plenty. There is no reason anyone should go hungry at Blue Bay. This hotel was awesome. Dont listen to the negative reviews!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel does a shuttle a couple times a day to Playa Del Carmen. It costs 8.00 round trip. The town is awesome, totally safe and good shopping.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leonardtown, MD
Feb 15, 2011

12 Days at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

The resort is beautiful our room was very clean and well stocked and the food was probably the best we have had on any of our trips. The problems we had was the fact that the resort is too big. It was a 3/4 mile walk from our building 8, to the beach. The resort claims that a shuddle runs to the beach every ten minutes but we waited as long as 20 minutes and no shuddle showed up. The beach is very nice but don't try to swim in the water, it is full of coral and rocks to the point that it's very hard to get into water up to your waist and the water is very murky. The six of us spent most of our time in town or on side trips, there was very little to do at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melly
Business
Canada
May 11, 2011

Amazing getaway with lots to do!

The resort was lovely with lots of free activities to do during the day and shows and events during the night. The staff at the resort were really friendly and helpful and took the time to answer questions about the resort and the area. The spa at the resort is beautiful and the treatments they offer are amazing, though not included in the price it was well worth the expense. There are a number of places to eat and the food was great just make sure to make reservations early as the restaurants fill up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to and from the airport rather than arranging a shuttle service to save a bit of cash. The shuttle was convenient for us but once we were there we realized that it's really easy to take the taxi and we could have saved ourselves some money.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
May 12, 2011

I'd recommend It

Overall I had a great experience at this hotel. the staff were helpful and very friendly, the rooms were clean and there were lots of options for food. The pool was gorgeous and there were plenty of activities to do at the resort as well. The one thing I would warn about is the noise - every morning I woke up to the sounds of the staff cleaning the hallways and rooms. I would eventually fall back to sleep, but if you're a light sleeper the loud noise might be a problem for you as the walls must be pretty thin (or the cleaning crew is extremely loud).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For souvenirs, take the shuttle into Playa Del Carmen! The shuttle from the resort is $5 each way per person, and in town not only can you see the AMAZING ocean and walk on the white sand beach, but there are tons of places to buy souvenirs. All prices are negotiable so don't even think about paying the full price that they ask of you. It's much cheaper an dyou have more options than if you shop at the stores at the resort

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Apr 15, 2011

BlueBay Swim-up is Great

Good place overall. Better food than many others we've been to. Lots of lush vegetation, path walking. 35 min from the airport. Negatives: Beach has lots of seaweed but other were swimming, not me. Pools are only 3.5-4' deep. Fecal smell when they water the vegetation. Positives: Swim-up suite is really nice; great for kids. Friendly staff. Be aware that there are basically no direct oceanview rooms (mangroves) when booking, even if you pay for oceanview, which we did. $5 pp to downtown Playa del Carmen for shopping ($20 cab fare each way). Great shopping in a store on the corner of 2nd and 5th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Buffet Festival near lobby has wider selection, better food than the buffet down by the beach. A-la-cartes are very good - book daily with the building concierge by 8:30 for the best times one day in advance.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sfdk97
Business
Edgewood, MD
Jun 10, 2011

Bluebay Grand Esmeralda

This was our first all inclusive vacation. Overall it was a great vacation. The buffet was better than expected with different selections daily. We always sat in [...] section. He was the best server ever! Mexican food-Great! loved the corn soup! Italian food-Good French food-Great! Steakhouse-Great! Seafood-terrible. Service was extremely slow, and the surf and turf was not good. The steak didnt taste like steak. The bars were great. Every server or bartender always very friendly.The second day we were pulled in a meeting for the hotel timeshare program. Extremely waseful. After four different people trying to sell a timeshare all with different prices and packages.The nightly shows were awesome. They did a very good job and very entertaining. My daughter loved the childrens theater time prior to the main show, along with the main show. Very clean. Always saw the staff cleaning, and changing spoons etc. Rooms were overall pretty good. The staff were very attentive about stocking the refridgerators, and snacks. Overall the beach was clean. No trash laying around, and the staff always cleaning the seaweed the came up onto the beach. Obviously this is not something they can help. We would just walk up about 15 minutes and the ocean was very clean. No seeweed.Overall highly satisfied. Next time no timeshare meetings, and no seafood dinner. Other than that no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid their timeshare meeting.

Back to menu Return to top