Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosie_posie_tx
Houston, TX
May 16, 2011

Excellent hotel...planning our return!

The hotel had everything we needed! Food, drinks, entertainment, beautiful beaches, shopping, great pools and parasailing or jet skis on the beach. We ventured into Playa del Carmen one day, which was beautiful and great for souvenirs. The clubs there were overpriced, but fun with a group of people and safe. We basically laid out at the pool and teh beach, danced to the DJ on the sand, played games with the staff and other guests, and ate very well! The staff is extremely helpful, always quick and ready to serve you or find what you need. We WILL absolutely return. THe quality of the food, the drinks and the accomodations themselves was excellent and top notch! It never felt like they were cutting corners or watering down anything. Take straws for your drinks as they are not always available. But other than that, all you need is sunscreen and a hat and your camera!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy and Eddy
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 9, 2013

it's fantastic

just come back on monday. it is a great hotel. i went to ocean maya last year(just beside blue bay). i like more blue bay than ocean maya. food is good, room is comfortable, and kids activiy is really fun. I will go back again defnitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8th trip to the Riviera
Moncton New Brunswick
Feb 17, 2013

great service great price

We truly enjoyed our visit to Bluebay. The resort is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The food is good and plentiful. This is a strong 4 star resort at a 3 star price. I have visited 8 different resorts in the Riviera and the staff friendliness exceeds all the others.. The swim-up room was heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ohio
Feb 14, 2010

just what I expected

The food at some of the restaurants need great improvement and so does the hotels method of booking reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

The hotel shopping was really great. They had better prices than Playa del Carmen. We took advantage of their shuttle service to Playa del Carmen.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pinkie
los angeles,CA
Aug 3, 2010

good hotel for the price

beach was not to good compared to Cancun proper. Food was good enough with excellent service, friendly staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time mexico vacationer
new jersey
Apr 12, 2010

Blue Bay

The trip was great! Most impressive were the employees of the hotel, so many of them and all so nice and helpful. There was a concierge outside of each building and in the lobby ready to assist with anything we needed. The pool and beach are beautiful, beach is not as nice as the water in playa del carmen or cozumel but you are able to swim. The pool was huge which was nice, you didnt feel like you were on top of people. Good location, close to cancun airport as well as playa del carmen. Hotel and playa del carmen seemed very safe. Hotel always made sure to take down out room number when we left the resort, and there was an employee at the gate out front that would question our cab driver on the way in. Overall weather was beautiful and warm, hotel grounds were spacious and well maintained and the staff was extraordinary. Would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the ferry from playa del carmen to cozumel... we rented a scooter and were able to drive around the entire island and see amazing beaches.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaCrevette
Montreal, QC, Canada
Dec 19, 2011

Fantastic vacation. Kids friendly

It was our second time at this hotel. Great food, great staff and they are amazing with kids. Only bad side is the beach. They seem to have less beach than last year, probably due to the waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If its your second stay, they give you a lobster meal for free. (Value of 30$)

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidg109
Belleville, ON, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Great time

I spent sixteen days at the resort and had a great time. The food in particular was very good, and we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants each night as opposed to eating buffet meals. The pool is nice, the beachfront not so nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was one exception. Thriftys car rental agency operates in the lobby there. BEWARE. We had a terrible experience attempting to rent a car, and we discovered we were lied to repeatedly by one particular Thrifty's employee named Juan. We have escalated complaints through the general manager of the resort and the Thrifty's corporation as I have no patience for liars, especially on vacation. Hopefully this guy has been replaced by someone that needs a job more then him. Aside from this blip (which is easy to remedy, use a different rental agency!) we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, Missouri
May 14, 2010

Great place overall

We found some aspects to be 5 stars, some 4 and others 3. The food was good at all the restaurants. Except for a couple nights at the buffet, we made restaurant reservations a day in advance with little difficulty. The room was nice, a good view and the maid, [...], was the best we've ever seen. Every day of our 8 night stay included a different "decoration" in our room.The nine buildings of rooms are a little spread out. I enjoy walking but my wife's knees mean we relied on the shuttle to take us to the lobby or some of the restaurants. It is about 500 yards from the furthest building to the lobby. Most of the time the shuttle worked well but at busy times there could be a significant wait.Other comments about the beach at this hotel are accurate. It is adequate but not the perfect sand and blue/green water of other resorts. When we were there, the wind was so strong most people stayed around the pool. It was our 25th anniversary. The trip had some wonderful memories, in large measure to the good attributes of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We shopped at Playa and later at Isla Mujeres with a boat trip. Isla offered the better bargains by far.

Back to menu Return to top