Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 443
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youell
London
Jul 11, 2014

Great facilities, staff not great

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it had not long opened and so was really excited about going back with my partner. Unfortunately it didn't match up to expectations this time round, it got off to a bad start when we arrived and was checked in by Emmanual who was extremely rude. The rooms were as I remembered, clean and to a good standard, and the pool areas were nice, although the pool itself could of done with a bit of a clean lots of bits and pieces floating in the water, the food options are great and the buffet restaurant has a good selection. The hotel has somewhat tired since the last time I went and I think this lets it down, I didn't expect it to be as pristine as it was when it first opened but I also didn't expect it to look as worn out as it did in places. Unfortunately the gym/spa and sports bar had burnt down the weekend before we arrived which affected our stay as well. Finally we unfortunately got checked out by Emmanual who was rude again, obviously took a disliking to us from the moment we arrived for whatever reason. I think majority of the staff could do with some customer service training, we had a bad experience with guest services as well when we reported our AC unit leaking all over the floor, it took 5 phonecalls to guest services, being hung up on twice and in the end an extremely angry visit to concierge to speak to the manager before it was resolved and the water cleaned up. I think this lets the hotel down somewhat. I have to say that Luiza around the pool area was amazing though and we did have some pleasant staff during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must spend a night out in Playa Del Carmen, lots going on and a great atmosphere, would recommend Blue Parrot.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xoxolauriexoxox
Wisconsin
Jul 9, 2014

Nice resort

Resort was nice and clean. Had good experience other then the fire but they cleaned it up quick. Great food lots of sun and close to 5th ave only cost $5.00 for transfer to 5th ave(not walking distance much farther then that) beach is taken care of the best they can but not the best water in that area so if you are looking for amazing beach with blue water this is not the right resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach and when looking at the water walk to the left about 8 mins to crystal clear water and lots of fish in a lagoon.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 8, 2014

Could have been better...

Front-desk associate was rude when I checked in, however all the other staff were friendly. Hotel "shuttle" needs to improve on their availability as it does not run conveniently and some walks are quite far. A la carte dinner service was slow and food took very long to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD YD
usa
Jul 6, 2014

All around good value .

If you want a ocean view I would sugest building number 5 . Food was fair . A must see walk left from the beach about a 5 minute walk is a awsome lagoon fresh water inlet take a camera its the best beach pictures you will find .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations as early as possible .

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lifeballer10
Bentonville, Arkansas
Jul 2, 2014

Best Value All Inclusive

For the price, this hotel delivers everything that you could want and more. The staff is very friendly and always working super hard to provide for your every need (we had an early flight back to the states and had a staff member pick us up at our room at 3:00 am so that we didnt have to walk to the lobby in the dark!). Food was great, even the buffets. We have absolutely no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ry and Al
Hartford, CT
Jun 19, 2014

Pictures and reviews do not do this resort justice!

We stayed at Bluebay from 6/3/14 to 6/11/14. This was my girlfriend and my second trip to Riviera Maya since staying at Xcaret Flamenco in 2011. We were a little apprehensive from the pictures and some poor comments. Let me tell you, we loved our stay and our expectations were far exceeded. The food, especially the a la carte reservation restaurants were perfectly cooked, excellently presented and delicious. All of the resorts bars served top shelf alcohol and the staff was very attentive and bright. The resort was well kept and inviting. The room was as advertised, could use an LCD tv and the AC was not as cold as we wanted it to be. We were told even though the thermometer shows 17 degrees it usually does not get that cold. The fan made up for this, but it could have been cooler to bring up the comfort level. The reviews did talk about the beach, which was lacking due to some visible sandbags and the silt from the river from Tres Rios to the north. Even this was better than we expected, as it was still very pretty, the sand was a fine white, and it was relaxing. I would highly recommend this, as the value for our stay was unmatched and it blew us away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Xel Ha excursion

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHolden's
Fleetwood, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Great Resort but....

Great resort, but some of the staff are not too friendly. The front desk was busy when we arrived and one gentleman was very rude to myself and my wife. Very long wait to get to the room, but the room was wonderful. The assistant manager was not very helpful but the resort itself is amazing. Food is good depending on the restaurant you choose, we enjoyed the French and the Italian. Overall great place, everyone has their bad days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Cozumel. When you take the ferry across, rent scooters and see the entire island. Make sure you go to Coconuts on the leeward side of the island. Great adventure, visit the fertility Mayan ruin.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top