Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
329 reviews
Great getaway

Amazing vacation, always great service, I live to go to Cancun, Riviera Maya. The beach was not... See full review

  • Family Vacation Lovers
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 329
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan M.
Business
north las vegas
Mar 10, 2015

Amazing

Great experience! Great staff and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felicha S.
Business
Brockton
Dec 23, 2014

Awesome Birthday Getaway for Boyfriend

I was kind of skeptical coming to this hotel after reading the crazy reviews but overall it was a great experience. The only downside was the lobby that had no AC because it was an open floor plan. Drinks were made very well as well as having ample shuttle service to and from building to building. I hope this review really helps me and my boyfriend enjoyed. Check out COCO Bongo if you can this really topped off our trip to Mexico other than that we spent most days drinking and hanging by the pools and restaurants. NOT too much entertainment in the hotel except for the dinner shows and in one of the bars that's really hot but enjoyable. In the morning wake up early to catch breakfast while its HOT!! That's when its the best. I went in AUG 14' and I was hesitant because that's when it's said to rain tremendously and none of that occurred even tho the forecast had rain the whole week we were there. Either we dodged a big bullet or we missed the really early showers that later dried by 9/ 10 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP And friends
Business
N/A
Dec 22, 2014

Relaxing, foodful, sunny vacation!

Booked this hotel for seven nights because of its size, restaurant choices, location, and price. The hotel is very large and there is a trolley that goes around every ten minutes if you don't want to walk. The size allows you to lay at the quiet pool or the pool on the beach that is much larger with many activities happening all day. The food was excellent and always available. They even open a snack bar from 11-1am for people who get hungry after hitting the 24hr bar. The restaurants are steak, seafood, Italian, French, and Mexican and we tried all of them except steak. We had five star service at all of them and the food was delightfilul. The staff at this resort are very friendly and are always working very hard. The rooms were nicely kept but could use some repairs (minor things like a cracked tile or a stain on a cabinet) but overall they are very clean and always tended to. If you want a relaxing trip where you can eat, drink, and enjoy the sunshine this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked ten minutes north along the beach from this hotel to find crystal clear water and mangroves to snorkel and swim in. Worth the short walk!!!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Fancy Pants
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were treated very well and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I recommend the swim out room which gives you some privacy if you're about having a little bit of seclusion from the public pool. The steak house and Mexican restaurant were our favorites. Room service is ok not too much to chose from but decent. There were only 2 issues I had with the hotel and that was the wild life and beach. While trying to eat lunch outside, birds may drop in and steal food or raccoons may sniff around for food if you're on the lower level. The beach is not what I'm use to its very small and not very pleasing to the eye. Sand bags were around making it a bit of an eye sore. Other than those two things the stay was perfect. They also have on site shuttle service that can get you around the hotel which is pretty huge. The Spa is amazing and very modern looking. Ultimately it's a great hotel with excellent service and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Spa!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Regi jersey girl
Business
Bayville, New Jersey
Oct 3, 2014

Great experience! Would definitely go back!

We upgraded our room to the swim up pool room and it couldn't get any better. Room was big, clean and we really enjoyed our private pool. Food was good and staff was super friendly. Definitely recommend the hotel. Only thing I would have liked was a better ocean. Ocean water wasn't that blue so I went to the pool to cool off (great pool though). We also went on low season so the hotel wasn't that crowded which I liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French restaurant really good

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garyed
Business
Ohio, USA
Sep 16, 2014

OK resort but not 4 star !

Rooms are small , the resort is very large and spread out. lots of walking ! pools are big and very nice but the beach is worthless ! it cost a lot for ride to resort from the airport ! I will never use for transportation ! Its a 30 minute ride and cost $232, This was thru and I will never use their service again either !! They wont let me use names so this is the best I can do !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ale10
Business
NJ
Aug 26, 2014

a couple get away

I just went for 4 nights, the room was fine was clean room service no problem, but the drinks were horrible taste like gasoline the most cheap kind of bottles that you can imagine, food quality was OK but can improve a lot the pool is 4 feet deep and the shore is OK. There Is No Fun At all.....Specially A Night time. I don't recommend this hotel for anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mama of 4
Business
Philadelphia,PA
Aug 14, 2014

get away

We arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. Jorge at the front desk was amazing. There is no a/c in the lobby and some of the restaurants, but our room was very cool. The spa was amazing and Luisa was so gracious as she showed us around. The resort is very large, so this is not a good spot for the elderly or very young. Requires a lot of walking, and waiting on the trams can take up to 20 minutes. the food is great and, Aurelio at the Mexican restaurant is an amazing waiter. All pools were only4 ft deep, so they were all really hot. Good value but not 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go to the lagoon, just a short walk up the beach. It's beautiful, and the resorts beach is pitiful.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taylor Young Traveler
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful Place But...

Our experience overall was very pleasant. The staff was AMAZING!!! Hands down some of the nicest, most attentive staff I've experienced. The grounds were beautiful and were manicured well. The food was good and so were the pools. There were two drawbacks, though. I came with my boyfriend and the Blue Bay definitely caters more to families. There were no activities on the grounds that catered to people our age ( we're both in our 20s). At times, we were a little bored. But if you just want to get away and relax, this place is PERFECT. The other drawback was the beach. It was murky and there was a TON of sea things (seaweed, sea urchins , rocks, etc) along the shore. Definitely not the picturesque beach I was hoping for. But the pools were nice and plentiful so it wasn't that bad. We stayed in the Emerald Suite with the private pool right off the room and that was amazing. It came with a beautiful breakfast spread delivered by room service, free mini bar and bottles of alcohol (restocked daily), and spa discounts. It was a beautiful room. I'd say it was a great value! PS: DO BRING BUG SPRAY!!!! YOU WILL NEED IT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top