Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Fantastic romantic getaway

I have been to Mexico plenty of times and this is in my top 3 of hotels in the area. We were... See full review

  • Mrs Fancy Pants
  • Oct 21, 2014
Great experience! Would definitely go back!

We upgraded our room to the swim up pool room and it couldn't get any better. Room was big, clean... See full review

  • Regi jersey girl
  • Oct 3, 2014
A luxury all-inclusive property located on 180-acres of beachfront overlooking the clear, azure waters of Mexico's beautiful Mayan Riviera, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan details with contemporary design and a wide range of services that are certain to please the most discerning traveller.

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a serene environment for vacationers. The resort's accommodations are scattered in 4 of three and four-story buildings and 1 presidential suite designed in clean and modern lines, with whitewashed facades, glass walls, cream colour marble, and thatched Mayan roofs. Interiors exude a sense of relaxed luxury with warm and inviting earth tones, cozy wood details, and casual contemporary furnishings.

BlueBay Grand Esmeralda sits on an exclusive stretch of white sand beach overlooking the partial clear waters of the Caribbean. Guests can unwind on oversized canopy beds on the beach or in the resort's two swimming pools that extend over 30.000 square feet (with a special area reserved for children). Designer chaise lounges are located around the swimming pool perimeter as well as inside the pool along the edge where the water is shallow, for guests to enjoy refreshing relief from the hot Caribbean sun. Fitness conscious guests can keep in shape with aquatic spinning classes offered on spinning bikes placed inside the pool or play swimming pool volleyball. The resort also offers a fully equipped gym with state of the arc trainer cardio and weight training equipment. For parents wanting to enjoy some down time on their vacation, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda offers babysitting service and a supervised children's club with traditional games, video games, special sports activities and a mini-cafeteria. The resort also offers ping pong, a billiard table, a giant chess board by the swimming pool, beauty salon, theatre, and internet access.

The resort currently offers 294 spacious and finely appointed guest rooms and suites, all equipped with satellite television, a well stocked mini-bar, and a private terrace. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda's suites also offer a private Jacuzzi on the terrace or private patio with a swim-up pool on the ground floor and two flat LCD screen with satellite television.

A state-of-the-art spa with 7,200 feet facility offer 8 individual treatment rooms, 4 double treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, and beauty salon.

Guests at BlueBay Grand Esmeralda can choose from a wide array of sports offered on property or in the surrounding area. Windsurfing, kayaking and sailing are offered right off the property's beach. The resort also has two tennis courts and beach volleyball court. Scuba diving and snorkeling are widely available in the resort's surrounding area.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD YD
Business
usa
Jul 6, 2014

All around good value .

If you want a ocean view I would sugest building number 5 . Food was fair . A must see walk left from the beach about a 5 minute walk is a awsome lagoon fresh water inlet take a camera its the best beach pictures you will find .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations as early as possible .

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lifeballer10
Business
Bentonville, Arkansas
Jul 2, 2014

Best Value All Inclusive

For the price, this hotel delivers everything that you could want and more. The staff is very friendly and always working super hard to provide for your every need (we had an early flight back to the states and had a staff member pick us up at our room at 3:00 am so that we didnt have to walk to the lobby in the dark!). Food was great, even the buffets. We have absolutely no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe nY
Business
New york
Jun 25, 2014

Decent for a quick getaway

I felt this resort was decent although I have some dislikes. I felt that the staff was not so nice, no all but some. The cleaning staff was very good, my room was always clean. The food selection was so so. My main concern was the bathroom tub, the step to get in was very high. I actually slipped and now have a large bruise on my leg. There is nothing to hold on too and tile was very slippery. Some of the staff was not so nice, no one ever knew who or what to do when questions were asked. The beach was not so nice, water was very dirty looking. Overall my experience was fair, it was a nice little getaway for a fair price minus the few complaints I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Too expensive, do not buy at hotel and front desk will give you 'coupons' for promotions or free gift whitch is not true.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Business
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ry and Al
Business
Hartford, CT
Jun 19, 2014

Pictures and reviews do not do this resort justice!

We stayed at Bluebay from 6/3/14 to 6/11/14. This was my girlfriend and my second trip to Riviera Maya since staying at Xcaret Flamenco in 2011. We were a little apprehensive from the pictures and some poor comments. Let me tell you, we loved our stay and our expectations were far exceeded. The food, especially the a la carte reservation restaurants were perfectly cooked, excellently presented and delicious. All of the resorts bars served top shelf alcohol and the staff was very attentive and bright. The resort was well kept and inviting. The room was as advertised, could use an LCD tv and the AC was not as cold as we wanted it to be. We were told even though the thermometer shows 17 degrees it usually does not get that cold. The fan made up for this, but it could have been cooler to bring up the comfort level. The reviews did talk about the beach, which was lacking due to some visible sandbags and the silt from the river from Tres Rios to the north. Even this was better than we expected, as it was still very pretty, the sand was a fine white, and it was relaxing. I would highly recommend this, as the value for our stay was unmatched and it blew us away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Xel Ha excursion

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin V.
Business
Chicago
Jun 12, 2014

Family getaway

Good value and location, staff was friendly,all inclusive- lots of variety of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Smyth
Business
Indiana
Jun 4, 2014

Wonderful Resort

Over all this resort was a fabulous experience. The beach was lacking but they sure made up for it in the fantastic pool area (and I'm a beach person). The staff was very friendly except for the swing pool bar. We found them to be rude and would ignore you unless you tipped them money for your drinks. We did not have this issue anywhere else on the resort. The rest of the staff would bend over backwards to be accommodating. The food was also wonderful. Probably some of the best I've ever had in the area. The nightly shows were also very well rehearsed and the staff did a fabulous job. I have already recommend this resort to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa is a short drive and the shopping is incredible. Make sure you weigh your luggage before you shop or you will go over your travel weight.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gabopani
Business
canada
Jun 3, 2014

almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two things That I don't like were the pillow sheets they were duty and it is too far from the city center. Cancun or playa Del carmen . but any ways in general the hotel is an exelent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirela G
Business
Canada
May 29, 2014

Great resort / Poor Customer Service

After almost one hour of waiting in line, for check in, we’ve noticed that we were not given all the cards that we needed and had to go back to reception to wait at least for another 15 minutes to finally get the towel cards and the 2nd key. Customer service seemed not to be ready or interested in providing prompt and efficient services to over 30 tourists arriving at that time. We were disappointed on the people at reception, that supposed to be competent enough and helpful, was like they were doing us a favour, rather than providing a paid service. However the other staffs at this resort was generally very nice & helpful. Great food, excellent location. The a la carte Italian and French was superb. The bar staff was very busy, yet very efficient; Housekeeping was very slow, most days our room was not made up until after 4 PM. Note: All the phone calls are going through customer service and even for the Toll Free they will ask you $3 for connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Business
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top