Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2016 Check-out: Mar 6, 2016

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panaflyer
Couples
Hollywood, Fl
Nov 17, 2012

We had a great vacation.

Awesome Hotel, very clean, all facilities were as expected. The staff couldn't be any friendlier. Food was OK, all inclusive style, nothing Gourmet unless you reserve for a VIP dinner which was Great. Rent a car and and travel on your time to all the Mayan destinations. Simply Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Explore adventure park for extreme outdoor fun.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan first time resort vis
Couples
Hattiesburg, MS
Nov 14, 2012

First time all inclusive experience

I really dont know where to begin. The staff at Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda were wonderful! Very family friendly. Lots of families with kids, but not over run with children. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a 5 Star experience. The room was beautiful, the food was plentiful and seemingly endless. The pools were clean and huge, and overall, I couldn't imagine a better experience. All our waiters and concierge spoke good - excellent English, which helped me alot, and I even picked up some common Spanish expressions. The beaches were beautiful, but were not as clean as I expected, not trash but small natural twigs and such from all the palm trees. Would not recommend staying on the first floor, as the wildlife will make themselves at home (as it is their home!) The rooms are very close to tropical vegetation. Our last night, I called the front desk and said "Is it possible to have some help with our luggage in the morning, at 2AM for our crazy early departure?" and their reply was "Sir, Everything is possible!" Muy bueno!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The taxi service is highly monitored to ensure the tourist are well taken care of. There are a lot of pushy street vendors in Playa del Carmen where we went for shopping. Not intrusive or mean, just a little bothersome for my liking.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Couples
MIAMI, FL
Sep 11, 2012

FAMILY VACACIONES

GREAT RESORT TO BE IN VACATION, VERY RELAXING, GOOD FOOD AND DRINKS ARE SUPER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd00
Couples
Montreal, Canada
Jul 25, 2012

Good hotel!

Really good service, only thing that is bad is the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
July Escape
Couples
Streetsboro, Ohio
Jul 10, 2012

Couples Get Away

Beautiful facilitity. Navagating the walkways takes some gettining used to, went in circles a few times, but very peasant and relaxing. The beach area isn not a strong point, not clear and debris wash up. Limited or no nightly entertainment. Five hours round trip to Chichen Itzea, skipped that trip. Staff very pleasent and helpful. Watch out for the time share sales people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

None available. Kids or family oriented, but no live music or shows for couples.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke W.
Friends
Lawrence, KS
May 19, 2012

Very good value!!! Would def go back!!!

The staff was very helpful and the facilities were very clean and well maintained. If you like food and drinks, this place was awesome!!!The French restaurant is almost impossible to make reservations at. Make sure your dinner reservations are early or be prepared to wait. I would recommend just going to the dinner buffet because it's easy, quick, and the food is GREAT. You must check out the swing bar....so cool!!! It is an all inclusive resort, meaning tips are included. So keep it that way. We tipped for drinks, thinking we would get better service. Not the case. I would recommend snorkeling at the beach (must deposit $20 for the snorkeling equipment, which you would get the money back upon returning the equipment). The beach has some pretty cool sea life. In previous comments, people talked about a 15 minute walk from the Sports Bar to the beach. Not the case. It's maybe a 5 minute walk and they have a small shuttle system to help with the SHORT distance. You really don't need to leave the resort sine they provide all the drinks, food, and entertainment. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure your dinner reservation is early. If not, you may just want to hit up the dinner buffet.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Montreal
May 10, 2012

Great place

The SPA is Amazing, Amenities is great if you pay for the little upgrade, it worth it. The Beach is poor with a lot of rock. Pool is great. Food is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassieOne
Couples
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Mar 30, 2012

Would not recommend

This resort was very disappointing. The beach was very small, the ocean was filled with kelp and you could not swim in the ocean. The hotel rooms were run down and the place in general was poorly taken care of. We changed hotels and refused to stay even a night at this resort. There are so many beautiful hotels in this area but this is not one of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
Friends
quebec
Mar 9, 2012

very good experience

the site is very clean, food is excellent, the staff is friendly, the only default of the hotel is that the sea is not really beautiful, the rest is all very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the famous 5th Avenue where you can shop, take a good food and of course partying

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammy0407
Family
Ontario, Canada
Feb 6, 2012

Awesome Family Trip

This was my second visit to Blue Bay and I left extremly pleased once again. The resort has everything you need - well maybe a swim up bar! - great staff, amazing food, clean rooms and they are always there to fulfill any request! I recommended this hotel to a friend of mine, she loved it as much as me and has been back twice since. GREAT RESORT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top