Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
314 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 8, 2014

Could have been better...

Front-desk associate was rude when I checked in, however all the other staff were friendly. Hotel "shuttle" needs to improve on their availability as it does not run conveniently and some walks are quite far. A la carte dinner service was slow and food took very long to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelin72
Riverside, California
Jul 7, 2014

It was ok

We went for our first family trip with our two girls. Who are 5 years old and 2 years old. They had a great time at the kids pool. The staff at the Kids Club were amazing. The girls had plenty to do and enjoyed the time there. The mean pool was great and very clean. The food was good and nice views. Room cleanliness was perfect! Agustin clean our room all week and did fantastic job. He was great and very friendly. The only bad thing was two bar tenders were not very friendly and made my drink with a bad attitude. The lobby dos not have air conditioning and sports bar does not have a big screen t.v. Over all it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Playa del Carmen for our shopping and had a great time. We found great deals on souvenirs. We took a taxi from the resort for $20 one way and $20 back.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD YD
usa
Jul 6, 2014

All around good value .

If you want a ocean view I would sugest building number 5 . Food was fair . A must see walk left from the beach about a 5 minute walk is a awsome lagoon fresh water inlet take a camera its the best beach pictures you will find .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations as early as possible .

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lifeballer10
Bentonville, Arkansas
Jul 2, 2014

Best Value All Inclusive

For the price, this hotel delivers everything that you could want and more. The staff is very friendly and always working super hard to provide for your every need (we had an early flight back to the states and had a staff member pick us up at our room at 3:00 am so that we didnt have to walk to the lobby in the dark!). Food was great, even the buffets. We have absolutely no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Polep
Mexico City
Jun 25, 2014

Terrible service

From day one, the service was terriible. The restaurants were full, cups at the bar were dirty. Not one member of the staff tried to help in providing more informstion about services included. You can hear everything from your room, which made it very difficult to rest and sleep. The cleaning lady would knock on your door every morning and make a lot of noise with the cart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del carmen offers better meals and services neraby

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe nY
New york
Jun 25, 2014

Decent for a quick getaway

I felt this resort was decent although I have some dislikes. I felt that the staff was not so nice, no all but some. The cleaning staff was very good, my room was always clean. The food selection was so so. My main concern was the bathroom tub, the step to get in was very high. I actually slipped and now have a large bruise on my leg. There is nothing to hold on too and tile was very slippery. Some of the staff was not so nice, no one ever knew who or what to do when questions were asked. The beach was not so nice, water was very dirty looking. Overall my experience was fair, it was a nice little getaway for a fair price minus the few complaints I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Too expensive, do not buy at hotel and front desk will give you 'coupons' for promotions or free gift whitch is not true.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ry and Al
Hartford, CT
Jun 19, 2014

Pictures and reviews do not do this resort justice!

We stayed at Bluebay from 6/3/14 to 6/11/14. This was my girlfriend and my second trip to Riviera Maya since staying at Xcaret Flamenco in 2011. We were a little apprehensive from the pictures and some poor comments. Let me tell you, we loved our stay and our expectations were far exceeded. The food, especially the a la carte reservation restaurants were perfectly cooked, excellently presented and delicious. All of the resorts bars served top shelf alcohol and the staff was very attentive and bright. The resort was well kept and inviting. The room was as advertised, could use an LCD tv and the AC was not as cold as we wanted it to be. We were told even though the thermometer shows 17 degrees it usually does not get that cold. The fan made up for this, but it could have been cooler to bring up the comfort level. The reviews did talk about the beach, which was lacking due to some visible sandbags and the silt from the river from Tres Rios to the north. Even this was better than we expected, as it was still very pretty, the sand was a fine white, and it was relaxing. I would highly recommend this, as the value for our stay was unmatched and it blew us away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Xel Ha excursion

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin V.
Chicago
Jun 12, 2014

Family getaway

Good value and location, staff was friendly,all inclusive- lots of variety of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Smyth
Indiana
Jun 4, 2014

Wonderful Resort

Over all this resort was a fabulous experience. The beach was lacking but they sure made up for it in the fantastic pool area (and I'm a beach person). The staff was very friendly except for the swing pool bar. We found them to be rude and would ignore you unless you tipped them money for your drinks. We did not have this issue anywhere else on the resort. The rest of the staff would bend over backwards to be accommodating. The food was also wonderful. Probably some of the best I've ever had in the area. The nightly shows were also very well rehearsed and the staff did a fabulous job. I have already recommend this resort to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa is a short drive and the shopping is incredible. Make sure you weigh your luggage before you shop or you will go over your travel weight.

Back to menu Return to top