Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best See full review

  • RVR TRAVELERS
  • Apr 24, 2013
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin V.
Chicago
Jun 12, 2014

Family getaway

Good value and location, staff was friendly,all inclusive- lots of variety of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Smyth
Indiana
Jun 4, 2014

Wonderful Resort

Over all this resort was a fabulous experience. The beach was lacking but they sure made up for it in the fantastic pool area (and I'm a beach person). The staff was very friendly except for the swing pool bar. We found them to be rude and would ignore you unless you tipped them money for your drinks. We did not have this issue anywhere else on the resort. The rest of the staff would bend over backwards to be accommodating. The food was also wonderful. Probably some of the best I've ever had in the area. The nightly shows were also very well rehearsed and the staff did a fabulous job. I have already recommend this resort to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa is a short drive and the shopping is incredible. Make sure you weigh your luggage before you shop or you will go over your travel weight.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gabopani
canada
Jun 3, 2014

almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two things That I don't like were the pillow sheets they were duty and it is too far from the city center. Cancun or playa Del carmen . but any ways in general the hotel is an exelent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirela G
Canada
May 29, 2014

Great resort / Poor Customer Service

After almost one hour of waiting in line, for check in, we’ve noticed that we were not given all the cards that we needed and had to go back to reception to wait at least for another 15 minutes to finally get the towel cards and the 2nd key. Customer service seemed not to be ready or interested in providing prompt and efficient services to over 30 tourists arriving at that time. We were disappointed on the people at reception, that supposed to be competent enough and helpful, was like they were doing us a favour, rather than providing a paid service. However the other staffs at this resort was generally very nice & helpful. Great food, excellent location. The a la carte Italian and French was superb. The bar staff was very busy, yet very efficient; Housekeeping was very slow, most days our room was not made up until after 4 PM. Note: All the phone calls are going through customer service and even for the Toll Free they will ask you $3 for connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoonersfrom TN
Nashville, TN
May 21, 2014

Honeymoon

The resort itself was nice, the pool was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice. The food did get a little repetitive with our week stay. The rooms were cleaned daily, but the bedding and linens were DIRTY...hair, lint, dirt. I had to have my sheets changed twice after my room was already clean. Would not go back for that sole reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jarry.S
Michigan
May 1, 2014

There should be a lot improved

Rooms on the first floor had ants and spiders. The employees were very polite and handworker , except the front desk that was the worst unit. Receptionists had no more right to solve problems that tourists have. For everything they need to ask someone else in a room adjacent to the reception. They only give absurd answers like their job was to lie customer. The food was very good, and all the restaurants were clean. I think the rooms need update. Only restaurants are for 4 stars. The rest of the service is for 2 star. The location is good but just for people that need to use poll. This is not for people that going to use ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8 kids is enough
Lakeview, Oregon
Apr 28, 2014

Great Getaway

The resort was nice, and clean. The reef off the beach was big and shallow, great for snorkeling. The food was good and there was a great selection at the buffets. Night life was fun at the sport bar and swing bar at the beach. The pools were very nice and clean with fun activities. The location wasn't bad for outside activities, with many options available. Explor was a short, 1 hour trip. Playa De Carmen was a Quick taxi ride from the resort. The drinks were a little weak, but tastey. If I were to do it again, I would take pesos for the taxi rides. Exchange rate was 13 per dollar, But taxi's are 10 per dollar? All-in-all, a great resort. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explor is a must do if you like adventure. Zip lines, utvs, tunnel swimming. A great day trip! We went to the Mayan ruils at Cobo. Kind of a long shuttle ride, but beautiful and Quite interesting. Take the bike taxi's out to the temple, or you won't have time to see it all (2 people per taxi for $14.) Well worth it! Be sure to tip your driver. Some of the nicest people I have met.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHolden's
Fleetwood, NC
Apr 25, 2014

Great Resort but....

Great resort, but some of the staff are not too friendly. The front desk was busy when we arrived and one gentleman was very rude to myself and my wife. Very long wait to get to the room, but the room was wonderful. The assistant manager was not very helpful but the resort itself is amazing. Food is good depending on the restaurant you choose, we enjoyed the French and the Italian. Overall great place, everyone has their bad days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see Cozumel. When you take the ferry across, rent scooters and see the entire island. Make sure you go to Coconuts on the leeward side of the island. Great adventure, visit the fertility Mayan ruin.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winston22
Texas
Mar 28, 2014

Just OK

Sandy beach was nice but not the nice clear water we were hoping for. Shows were not great. We stopped going after the third night. No nice lobby bar! Although we really enjoyed our suite, my husband cut his foot almost immediately after stepping in our swim up pool on a broken tile. We tried to see the Dr. but she was busy and suggested the staff may have bandages. They were kind but did not have anything that would hold the large cut tightly closed. A kind gentleman on the beach had just the right strong tape for us. We only swam in our swim up pool a few more times after that with our sandals on....:(. The Mosquitos were terrible and the food, although edible, just nothing really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Anderson
St Paul, Minnesota
Mar 26, 2014

We love vacation

Nothing bad to say; great pool, tons of food options, top shelf liqueur, what more could we have asked for? The beach was nice too, we walked south each day we'll over a mile along the shoreline - lived that. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top