Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Great experience! Would definitely go back!

We upgraded our room to the swim up pool room and it couldn't get any better. Room was big, clean... See full review

  • Regi jersey girl
  • Oct 3, 2014
almost perfect

The personnel is very welcome, exelent food and beautiful pools including the SPA zone the only two... See full review

  • gabopani
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Blue Bay Group's Mayan Riviera resort, the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, places guests in a Mexican-Caribbean paradise, framed by Mayan-style thatched roofs with decorative wood carvings accenting the rooms. Amazingly blue water flows up to meet rugged inlets and white sand beaches directly in front of the Blue Bay Grand, where guests can enjoy the equally clear water of the oceanfront pool, or opt for more intense activities like horse-riding, archery or kayaking. Grownups can dine in peace on traditional Mexican pozole at Don Isi restaurant, while little ones have their video-gaming and playground needs met at the Kids Club.
Key facts
  • 986 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: Festival Restaurant, L'Atelier, Don Isi, Di Rossi, Jaal-Haa
  • Lounge bar
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Conference and event facilities: up to 650 people
Neighborhood
The all-inclusive Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda is located eight miles north of the town of Playa del Carmen on the Riviera Maya coast of Mexico. Drive a few minutes north of the resort to Tres Rios Ecopark to witness, firsthand, lush mangroves, sink-hole caves and untouched coastline characteristic of the Riviera Maya. When the sun sets, visitors can head down to Playa del Carmen to sample the Latino-infused sounds of hotspots like Mambo Cafe.
Hints and tips
If you have a day to spare, take a trip out to one of the Riviera's islands, such as Cozumel, off the coast of Playa del Carmen.

One of the best snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean, this island is also home to the ancient Mayan ruins of San Gervasio, and the colonial architecture of the island's capital, San Miguel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive Rooms

Emerald Deluxe Swim up Suite
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Super Saver Category
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Furnished balcony or terrace. LCD TV with U.S. channels and pay movies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Bathrobes, hair dryer, and makeup/shaving mirror. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. Coffee/tea maker. Safe.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Emerald Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Complimentary bottled water. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.
Superior Deluxe Garden View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control. Private and personalizad check in, personalizad welcome letter from the General Manager, fruit plate upon arrival, fresh Beach towels in the room upon arrival, daily stocked mini bar and 5% discount on all Spa treatments only (not products and no combinable).
Superior Deluxe Partial Ocean View
1 king bed or 2 double beds. 32 square meters (344 square feet). Balcony. Patio. In-room safe. LCD television. Cable/satellite television channels. Pay movies. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Bathrobes. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Blackout drapes/curtains. Turndown service. Air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Climate control.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7003 -87.0132
Area served
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda is located on the Mayan Riviera, close to the town of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
45-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda, is a hotel in Playa del Carmen, just 10 minutes by car to Playa del Carmen city and 50 minutes from Cancun downtown. The Resort is on the Yucatan Peninsula, close to some of Mexico's most important archaeological sites, allows guests the opportunity to explore the ruins at Chichen Itza, Tulum, Akumal, and Cob. Xcaret. Day trips and diving excursions to the nearby island of Cozumel can also be arranged.

Dining

Festival Restaurant
Offers nightly themed buffet dinners.
L'Atelier
Is an haute dining restaurant featuring French and Mediterranean cuisine with live cooking demonstrations in an open kitchen (dinner only).
Don Isi
Specializes in traditional Mexican cuisine (dinner only).
Di Rossi
Features creative Italian specialties (dinner only)
Jaal-Ha
Offers an extensive buffet with a sampling of international culinary options (breakfast and lunch).
Lounge Bar
Offers a pleasant setting to enjoy fine cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A brand new 2000 feet convention center is under construction and scheduled to open in December 2007. The new facility will be able to accommodate up to 700 guests in a flexible space that can be subdivided into up to three different rooms. In addition, a modern auditorium whit more than 2.700 feet will accommodate up to 1.000 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Mama of 4
Business
Philadelphia,PA
Aug 14, 2014

get away

We arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. Jorge at the front desk was amazing. There is no a/c in the lobby and some of the restaurants, but our room was very cool. The spa was amazing and Luisa was so gracious as she showed us around. The resort is very large, so this is not a good spot for the elderly or very young. Requires a lot of walking, and waiting on the trams can take up to 20 minutes. the food is great and, Aurelio at the Mexican restaurant is an amazing waiter. All pools were only4 ft deep, so they were all really hot. Good value but not 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go to the lagoon, just a short walk up the beach. It's beautiful, and the resorts beach is pitiful.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stuko
Business
mesa, az
Aug 13, 2014

good fun

Okay but after the shower drain and bathroom drain wouldn't drain for two days, you think they would have fixed it or moved us to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your booze off the resort. All drinks are watered down

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMFF
Business
Ohio
Aug 7, 2014

Not good

Room was poor and front desk not helpful. Pool and beach crowded. Walk is 5-10 min to beach from non VIP buildings. Food is good but most areas not air conditioned. Staff in restaurants very nice. Evening shows not great and space is very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

French restaurant is great

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taylor Young Traveler
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful Place But...

Our experience overall was very pleasant. The staff was AMAZING!!! Hands down some of the nicest, most attentive staff I've experienced. The grounds were beautiful and were manicured well. The food was good and so were the pools. There were two drawbacks, though. I came with my boyfriend and the Blue Bay definitely caters more to families. There were no activities on the grounds that catered to people our age ( we're both in our 20s). At times, we were a little bored. But if you just want to get away and relax, this place is PERFECT. The other drawback was the beach. It was murky and there was a TON of sea things (seaweed, sea urchins , rocks, etc) along the shore. Definitely not the picturesque beach I was hoping for. But the pools were nice and plentiful so it wasn't that bad. We stayed in the Emerald Suite with the private pool right off the room and that was amazing. It came with a beautiful breakfast spread delivered by room service, free mini bar and bottles of alcohol (restocked daily), and spa discounts. It was a beautiful room. I'd say it was a great value! PS: DO BRING BUG SPRAY!!!! YOU WILL NEED IT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Youell
Business
London
Jul 11, 2014

Great facilities, staff not great

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it had not long opened and so was really excited about going back with my partner. Unfortunately it didn't match up to expectations this time round, it got off to a bad start when we arrived and was checked in by Emmanual who was extremely rude. The rooms were as I remembered, clean and to a good standard, and the pool areas were nice, although the pool itself could of done with a bit of a clean lots of bits and pieces floating in the water, the food options are great and the buffet restaurant has a good selection. The hotel has somewhat tired since the last time I went and I think this lets it down, I didn't expect it to be as pristine as it was when it first opened but I also didn't expect it to look as worn out as it did in places. Unfortunately the gym/spa and sports bar had burnt down the weekend before we arrived which affected our stay as well. Finally we unfortunately got checked out by Emmanual who was rude again, obviously took a disliking to us from the moment we arrived for whatever reason. I think majority of the staff could do with some customer service training, we had a bad experience with guest services as well when we reported our AC unit leaking all over the floor, it took 5 phonecalls to guest services, being hung up on twice and in the end an extremely angry visit to concierge to speak to the manager before it was resolved and the water cleaned up. I think this lets the hotel down somewhat. I have to say that Luiza around the pool area was amazing though and we did have some pleasant staff during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Must spend a night out in Playa Del Carmen, lots going on and a great atmosphere, would recommend Blue Parrot.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xoxolauriexoxox
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 9, 2014

Nice resort

Resort was nice and clean. Had good experience other then the fire but they cleaned it up quick. Great food lots of sun and close to 5th ave only cost $5.00 for transfer to 5th ave(not walking distance much farther then that) beach is taken care of the best they can but not the best water in that area so if you are looking for amazing beach with blue water this is not the right resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach and when looking at the water walk to the left about 8 mins to crystal clear water and lots of fish in a lagoon.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 8, 2014

Could have been better...

Front-desk associate was rude when I checked in, however all the other staff were friendly. Hotel "shuttle" needs to improve on their availability as it does not run conveniently and some walks are quite far. A la carte dinner service was slow and food took very long to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelin72
Business
Riverside, California
Jul 7, 2014

It was ok

We went for our first family trip with our two girls. Who are 5 years old and 2 years old. They had a great time at the kids pool. The staff at the Kids Club were amazing. The girls had plenty to do and enjoyed the time there. The mean pool was great and very clean. The food was good and nice views. Room cleanliness was perfect! Agustin clean our room all week and did fantastic job. He was great and very friendly. The only bad thing was two bar tenders were not very friendly and made my drink with a bad attitude. The lobby dos not have air conditioning and sports bar does not have a big screen t.v. Over all it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Playa del Carmen for our shopping and had a great time. We found great deals on souvenirs. We took a taxi from the resort for $20 one way and $20 back.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fredstein frank's brother
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2014

happy to now be home

The concept is nice of all inclusive but it did not cut it. On checkin I was told to return the next day to get my second room key for apparently there was a shortage. The shortage was noted at all restaurants where the staff was lovely but stretched to the limit so waiting for water took forever. The shortage was also noted with insufficient room towels. The worst was in my family of 4, 3 had severe diarrhea as well as many friends who traveled with us. Take immodium with you if you visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD YD
Business
usa
Jul 6, 2014

All around good value .

If you want a ocean view I would sugest building number 5 . Food was fair . A must see walk left from the beach about a 5 minute walk is a awsome lagoon fresh water inlet take a camera its the best beach pictures you will find .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations as early as possible .

Back to menu Return to top