Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2016 Check-out: Mar 6, 2016

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez Km. 300, Riviera Maya, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sofi
Friends
Santa Clarita, California
Jul 20, 2014

Great option if you're on a budget.

Overall we had a good experience at this hotel. In general, the entire hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The food is very good at all the restaurants,great variety every day. It's a family oriented hotel, expect to be around lots of families and young children. I had a massage at the spa, that was great. A bit overpriced but worth it. These areas need improvement: At check in we were not escorted to our room by a bell boy, the property is huge and it took us a while to find our room. The rooms are outdated, the beds and pillows need to be replaced. The pool is beautiful, but it should be renovated. Some tiles in the pool were damaged, my friend scraped her foot and was bleeding on two different occasions. We noticed other guests were having the same problem. The beach is merky. I was expecting clear blue ocean water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian and French restaurants were. Excellent. I also really enjoyed the Asian restaurant.

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeekingRelaxation
Couples
New Jerey
Jun 28, 2013

In Need of Relaxation

Very pleasant staff that go above and beyond to greet you and make your trip enjoyable. Pool area used more than the beach. Enjoyable games during day to take part in or just watch. Could use more than 1 choice of a draft beer, and cooled cups to make it stay cold. Not a fan of hand rinsed, still soapy plastic glasses to drink out of. No night life, the beach party was not a typical beach party. Overall relaxing and a good time had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town, Playa del Carmen - must go

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shauneresa
Family
Montreal, QC
May 23, 2013

Excellent Vacation

We went as a family for 9 days and had a blast. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly, the food is AMAZING. The only major downfall of this resort is the beach, It's not great and on some days it's downright awful. A small walk down the beach and that problem is solved. You can walk to the Laguna ( not part of the resort and about a 10minute walk) where the water is amazing. However, if you don't mind, the pool is HUGE and finding lounge chairs was super easy, sun or shade, there was almost always enough chairs for us. Overall we all had a blast! I would definitely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 10-15 minutes to the laguna and enjoy the amazing water!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti and Ted
Couples
Michigan
May 19, 2013

Amazing get away

Husband and I totally enjoyed our stay . The swim up suite was completely worth it. The food was great. The whole resort was very well maintained . Met wonderfully friendly staff and other guests . Everything is no problem. Didn't get a bath robe when I requested one they said those are for resort members only . So if you usually wear one you should bring yours from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Ok playa del Carmen is fun the resort has a shuttle that goes there every couple of hours use it for this destination it's $5 pp each way we paid 20 dollars round trip. Cab is 40. Round trip. Also the gifts at resort store are a good going rate with no bartering and relaxed atmosphere FYI I'd ask for the 10% discount when u spend 50 dollars

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RVR TRAVELERS
Family
MIAMI, FL
Apr 24, 2013

family vacation

super, fantastic place, foo super, the service is the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy and Eddy
Family
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 9, 2013

it's fantastic

just come back on monday. it is a great hotel. i went to ocean maya last year(just beside blue bay). i like more blue bay than ocean maya. food is good, room is comfortable, and kids activiy is really fun. I will go back again defnitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brynners
Couples
St. Paul, MN
Mar 22, 2013

Wonderful vacation & budget friendly

We had a wonderful vacation! Many food options and the quality was good! Rooms were cleaned daily. The beach and pools were wonderful, there was no trouble finding a spot every day. Many attractions in the area! We were impressed with the quality and beauty of the resort especially for the cost!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into town for shopping, a meal, and beautiful beach views! The town was our favorite part!

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngLve
Family
NJ
Feb 21, 2013

Worst Vacation I have ever been on!

I have to say this was the worst vacation I have ever been on and after visiting Mexico three times in the last five years we are very disappointed with the service this hotel had to offer. The rooms that my parents and brother booked smelled like raw sewage and stagnant water. So my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade. We paid to upgraded so we could have a front ocean view witch gave us a fresh breeze. The view was beautiful I have to say but the room was horrible. The balcony had only one chair and the handle to close and open the door was missing. I then called and requested another chair they said it would be their within 30min which it took them to the next day to bring. The rooms need much updating. Our phone in our room was broken again I had to call and have someone bring us a working phone. Our room did not have an alarm clock I called 3 different times to get an alarm clock and did not even receive one at all after being promised one. The second day into our stay we dropped a beer bottle by mistake in the room witch eventually ended up ruining our vacation. Security was called and instead of asking what happened they assumed we were trashing the already poor maintained room. Five random strange men one with a camera taking pictures of the room came in while I only had a towel. Where are my rights!!! Oh that’s right we have none while in their country so says the hotel management they can do as they please looking at me while they went into the bathroom looking for I don't know what since it was obvious what happened. The next day we went to make reservations they advised us we needed to go up to the front desk to speak with a manger about possible damages to our room that we need to take care of. I was so upset that on our vacation because a bottle dropped we needed to deal with this. Long story short we needed to pay for damages that we never caused or the hotel manager Alfonso advised us that if we didn’t he would have to call the police. The manager was very rude and unhelpful I asked for an explanation of the damages he advised me he did not need to give me an explanation and that we needed to pay for the damages to the door. I them told him that the bottle never hit the door it hit the floor and I wanted him to come up to our room and explain to us how they came up with the charges. Alfonso said he had pictures proving the damage. I told him I would love to see the before and after picture. As soon as I said that he then got really loud with me telling me again that he does not need to explain anything to me .I felt helpless and taking advantage of. I wish I read all of the reviews before booking this trip. I advised against this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arlinemike
Couples
Sanford, Maine
Dec 19, 2012

Very Surprised

After reading all the reviews I was a little nervous since we have been to several resorts in Mexico and never had a bad experience, we just wanted to try yet another new place. The weather in December was beautiful as was the resort. We ended up ugrading to an oceanfront room since there was one available, well worth it. Enjoyed every moment out on the balcony in the am and pm. The resort is smaller than ones that we have been to in the past but that was great. We never even bothered with the specialty restaurants since we found the buffet to be great. Very intimate seating and great service. The beach sand is beautiful. The water is a little cloudy this time of year probably because of the rougher water but don't let it keep you out of it, when you walk in you can see that it is just a little cloudy but it is smooth sand below. My husband and I loved and it would definitly return. The staff was GREAT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deniskov18
Friends
Denver, Colorado
Dec 13, 2012

overall is good

overall this is good resort, beach is fine but ocean isnt, better for older people. jetski onsite very slow limited power its not fun,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top