Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

4 stars
Carretera Chetumal- km 266.3, Riviera Maya, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
2,080 reviews
excellent place to stay

there are nothing but great things to say about this property. food and service are excellent.... See full review

  • eeyore and garfield
  • May 28, 2014
Amaizng place

We went to this hotel for early summer vacation. This was our first time in Mexico, but definitely... See full review

  • DInche
  • May 25, 2014
Offering 24-hour drinks, snacks and meals, the Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex combines convenience with luxury at four distinct resort areas: Barcelo Maya Beach, Maya Caribe, Maya Colonial Beach and Maya Tropical. Recently renovated bars, restaurants, and ocean- or garden-facing accommodations transport guests to a relaxing Caribbean environment. Dine on international buffet dishes or local Mexican flavors and sip refreshing fruit juices before taking a dip in the pool. Families can unwind with Mayan-inspired spa treatments at the spa, or adults can drop the kids off at the Barcy Club, which hosts a range of activities - from balloon contests to soccer and board games.
Key facts
  • Suites and family rooms
  • Wi-Fi access (fees may apply)
  • Spa facilities, which offers treatments for adults and children
  • Conference spaces
  • Bars and restaurants at each resort
  • Dolphinaris at Barcelo - interactive dolphin experience
  • Children's Club
  • Swimming pool
  • Trips and excursions available
  • Gym
  • Shopping center
  • Children's playground
  • Nightclub
  • Kukulcan Theater with live shows
  • Sports and beach facilities
Neighborhood
The Barcelo resort is situated on the shore just south of central Playa del Carmen. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the calm, warm waters just off the coast, or venture further out on a boat ride to Cozumel Island. Two major natural resources - Parque Nacional de Quintana Roo and Parque Nacional Tulum - are just a short bus or car ride south along the coastal highway. Visitors to these parks can explore lush jungles and an ancient, walled Mayan city, or go for a scuba session in a natural cave. Guests that decide not to wander too far from their rooms can still go swimming with dolphins or enjoy golf at the resort.
Hints and tips
Join guided tours to Mayan relics like Chichen Itza and modern parks like Xcaret for an additional fee, or get your adventure fix at the Tulum Extreme zip-lining circuit.

Book rooms on higher levels for excellent views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex Rooms

Barcelo Maya Beach Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Tropical Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Barcelo Maya Colonial Room
Spacious guest rooms with private terrace or balcony, full bathroom, digitally-controlled air conditioning, alarm clock, in-room safe, ceiling fan, coffee maker, bathrobes, iron and ironing board, mini-bar, hairdryer, telephone with voicemail, satellite color-TV with remote control, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size or 2 double-size beds and an individual sofa, the total area with 39 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.
Club Premium Suites
*Private Check In and Check Out in an exclusive Club Premium area. *Personalized concierge services only for Club Premium clients. *The Best room view in our exclusive Club Premium area. *Petit fours and domestic bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival. *Pool towels in the room. *VIP Minibar (sodas, water, beer and snack) *Premium amenities in the room. *Priority to reserve in a la carte restaurantes *Unlimited reservations, subject to availability). *Exclusive Club Premium Lounge with international drink, canapes, continental breakfast, table games, books, newspaper, free internet (Opern from 7.00hts to 23hrs) *Free local calls. *Free wireless internet. *Express laundry service with regular charge. *20% off in the spa and beaty salon. (restrictions apply)
Barcelo Maya Beach Junior Suite Club Premium
Spacious Junior suite with 593sq which combines exclusive Club Premium area location, jacuzzi on the terrace and a spectacular view. Receive exclusive benefits of our Club Premium concept. There's a fine selection of petit fours and a bottle of domestic sparkling wine on arrival.
Barcelo Maya Caribe Room
Terrace or balcony, full bathroom, air-conditioning, satellite TV, LCD screen with remote control, telephone with mail-box, alarm clock, bathrobes, hairdryer, coffeemaker, ceiling fan, mini-bar (stocked daily), in-room safe, iron & ironing board, 110 volts electricity. Furnished with 1 king-size bed or 2 full-size beds, the total area with 27.80 square meters and the maxim capacity is for 4 people per room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

20.4885 -87.2484
Area served
Barcelo Maya Palace Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, 9 miles from Xcaret and 45 miles from Cancun International Airport. This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 16 miles from Xel-Ha, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 75 Km south of Cancun International Airport. Barcelo Maya Beach resorts Complex is situated on the Mayan Riviera, This location is also 13 miles from Playa del Carmen, 20 miles from Tulum and 90 miles from Cancun.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Keeping pace in today's business climate requires state-ofthe-art facilities and resources combined with the special touch of a highly professional staff. The Barcelo Maya Convention Center is just such a place, offering a total of 8 spacious meeting rooms with a total capacity for up to 1,400 people. Meetings and event planners have the latest audiovisual equipment at their disposal as well as a wide range of support services, such as an executive business center, theme parties, gourmet cuisine, shows, and more. For those who thrive on getting the job done right, the Barcelo Maya Convention Center is your temple of productivity.

Dining

Mexico Lindo
A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Marenostrum
A la carte dinner Mediterranean-style fish and seafood restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Kyoto
A la carte dinner Japanese restaurant prior reservation(open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal dress required
Capri
A la carte dinner Italian restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Santa Fe
A la carte dinner steak house restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress required
Don Quijote
A la carte dinner Spanish restaurant, with prior reservation (open from 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm). Formal Dress requiered

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2080)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 2080
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dougdagasman
Atlanta
Jun 21, 2014

Worth it!

Great staff, food, pools, entertainment, just about everything, The only minor issue I had with my visit was the drinks seemed to be watered down and there is no beer selection beyond Corona and Modelo. I would definitely go back for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laributler
Olathe, ks
Jan 25, 2014

Awesome

We loved this place. A little drive from the airport But the location was perfect. Close to akumal and just beautiful. They kept the rooms really clean, always had plenty of towels and would come a couple times a day to ask if we needed more. A great variety of food. We would definitely recommend the Japanese restaurant. A huge resort with a lot to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fantastic Four
NY,NY
Jan 19, 2014

Close to perfection

The location of the hotel is amazing-beach is magnificent, clear water, sand and view. The hotel staff (managers/supervisors) was a little disorganized, they don't look after un-happy guests. We were unable to make our first day because of a flight cancellation (not our fault) we requested some kind of voucher and they did not feel liable to provide us with anything-not even free wifi. Food was good. Cleanliness...they could of done better, in my opinion. Overall they are close to being perfect- the managers and supervisors could be nicer and more caring and that would do it for everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maciunio
chicago il
Oct 2, 2013

LIKE IT VERY MUCH

i was there 2nd time and it was awesome. Beach is probably one of the best in the whole Mexico :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cd4cy
Ankeny, Iowa
Apr 2, 2013

High School Spring Break trip

There are actually 5 "hotels" to choose from in this resort. We chose the Caribe for the price, but when I go again, I will stay at the Tropical. The rooms at the Caribe were bare minimum rooms and not cleaned daily. We hung out at the Tropical pool and resturant most days. That is where the action is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The disco is not available to those under 17 as it is posted. Talk to your travel agent in the hotel you stay in Barcelo to review your options. DO NOT SWITCH WRIST BANDS!!!

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dora de explorer
New York
Feb 24, 2013

Good times

Best restaurant is the sea food , I wont recommend the steak house ,buffet is very good and depending who you get for the fresh juice they are amazing , no service in the beach area but overall it is a very nice resort very clean the shows at night are very nice , I will come back to Barcelo Maya Tropical \ Oh wake up early and before anything reserve a chair by the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

make your reservations for a la cart restaurants as soon as you get to the resort

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelers from Nebraska
Lincoln, NE
Feb 6, 2013

Relaxing, yet fun!

Upon arrival, we learned the Tropical resort, which we reserved, was full. So, we were upgraded to the Palace... which made us ecstatic of course! Our entire experience overall was amazing... the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was nice to have the feeling of being taken care of with any request we had! The only negative comment we have is that our room was missing a coffee maker, an ice bucket and the foam pad on our bed. However, when I called the front desk to request these things, our request was immediately taken care of! We were very impressed on the cleanliness of our room... when we'd return from being out all day, we'd come back to an emaculate room! Regarding our stay overall, it was a very relaxing trip, but also fun to see the planned activities throughout the day. It was great to have such a selection for shopping around the resort. The food at each restaurant was delicious; as well as the buffet food. We had the buffet every day for breakfast and lunch and were happy with such a wide selection and choices for the food! It was a wonderful experience and we would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI Freezer
Wisconsin
Jan 25, 2013

Over all experience

The room was very nice, the staff was great, although limited English. Food was ok but not as good as we have had other places. The evening entertainment started at 9:30 pm, wished it started a little earlier, even 9:00 would be better. The entertainment lacked a lot. One night out of 8 was very good (a Micheal Jackson impersonator), other nights were so-so (Mexician Dancers doing native dances. One night of that was fine, but it kept coming several nights.) One night was Karoke which was so-so. The beach is beautiful, free kayaks, and paddle boats to use. Can get free scuba lessons in the pool. For the price it's a nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the resort is good, we also drove into Playa del Carman about 20 miles away and shopping there was good too, plus you get a good look at a Mexican city. We felt safe during the day, but I would not go there after dark.

Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Packer Fan 51
Wisconsin
Jan 25, 2013

Was better on previous trip

Stayed at Barcelo Colonial three years ago and it was fabulous. Just got back from January 2013 vacation to the Barcelo Tropcal and it was not nearly as nice. The food was not as good as prior trip and had an awful time getting decent pillows and more than one washcloth. The resort is still beauttiful and the staff very friendly, but the extras were missing this time. The nightly entertainment was terrible. Will probably not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Riviera Maya All Inclusive Complex

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dougans
BC
Dec 11, 2012

holiday

Tried to upgrade, but at $160 per night not worth it.Breakfast buffet was good. Service at front desk was average at best at the Beach. Much better at the Caribe.Second time at the Barcelo and was disappointed this time.Beach is still awesome with good snorkelling, lots of fish and sea turtles.Room was average but clean and maid service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood, Steak and Spanish were all good. Mexican was not good at all

Back to menu Return to top