Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2016 Check-out: Mar 8, 2016

Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, KM 2.5 Zona Hotelera, Puerto Vallarta, 48300

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy4Indy
Family
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Friendly

My two sons (ages 20 & 22) and I stayed at the Friendly Vallarta for 5 days at the end of March. The name of the hotel truly represents the attitudes of the employees. Everyone we met was friendly and never seemed to mind to help no matter what the issue. There was always someone around if you wanted to ask a question or needed anything. Rooms: Although a little outdated, the rooms were perfectly fine with us, very clean and had a fantastic view. I had read complaints about how uncomfortable the beds were, but they quickly remedied this by having housekeeping put mattress pads on the beds. Food: We travel extensively and almost always stay at all inclusive style hotels and thought though limited, the food was good. We didn't tire of it, but may have felt differently if we were there longer. We prefer the non-buffet style restaurants most nights, so since they only have one option for that, we went to Malecon one evening for dinner. The resort could use an additional bar, however they do have servers that bring drinks to the pool and beach. Location: Depending on what you like to do, the opinion on the location may differ. We like the option to see the places we visit, so we really like where the hotel was situated. We walked off the resort where there are restaurants and shops close by. Safety: We felt very safe in the resort and walking on the streets. There was always someone at the entrance to the hotel. Beach: This was probably our least favorite part of the resort. The beaches are not easy to walk on. They are sloped and are sectioned off by large rock barriers that you either have to stop at or walk up and around. The sand has small shells in it, so if you are looking for the soft sand, this portion of PV is not the place. The view while on the beach is wonderful and although it isn't the Caribbean, we thought the water was very beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guy with the hat
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Perfect place for couples.

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights during our spring break. At first, I was skeptical since I noticed a few of the comments were negative and didn't say anything good about the staff. However, I was wrong for jumping into this conclusion. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and smelled really good, and most important of all, the food and drinks were AMAZING! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that's thinking about visiting Puerto Vallarta. The location is perfect, it'll probably take you around 10 minutes to get to El Malecon from the hotel if you take the bus. Anyways, I just wanna say I had a great time and I will definitely stay here next time I visit Puerto Vallarta. Thank you so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eduardo T.
Couples
Huntington park
Apr 6, 2015

Best time ever

This is great place to take kids, everyone was so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexander TG
Couples
Santa Clara
Apr 6, 2015

Nice staff, decent food, but dated hotel

We had a decent 10th floor room with a good view. It was new years, so a lot of families and kids. so busy pool and beach. everything was fine, nothing special though. Staff was excellent and friendly, lived up to the name. Just not a hotel I would go go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnn M.
Family
Billings
Feb 22, 2015

Love the Friendly

Although the Hotel property is dated, they are improving and updating every year. The wonderful happy employees makes up for any shortcomings I may have noticed. I will return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milkman
Couples
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

The Friendly Experience

I had an awesome time being my first stay at The Friendly Vallarta. The hotel lives up to it's name! The rooms were clean, the bed was a little hard for my liking so they rectified that with a foam topper, good food and best of all the service, your beverage was always full, dishes removed instantly and all with a smile to go with it.all in all I certainly would return but only longer next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tenmile Tam
Family
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Wonderful staff but noisy

The hotel staff were wonderful, helpful and fun. Someone was there to assist before we even realized we needed or wanted something. My husband and other gents in our group caught some fish and the hotel chef went above and beyond preparing it in three different ways for our family group. The presentation was beautiful also. The buffet was clean and plentiful. Again, the staff worked extra hard making sure everything was just right. The only downside was that the outdoor speakers are so loud that you just can't sleep until after midnight. If you can stay up until midnight each night, I would recommend this hotel for a family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christy R.
Family
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Food nightmare.

The staff at the friendly Vallarta is just that, friendly. However, the food and hotel are just awful. The "5 restaurants" all serve the same food everyday for every meal. Which might be okay if it were delicious but it is the lowest quality and they are doing things like serving soy patties and trying to pass them off as a hamburger. I also found hair in my food on 2 occasions. Now as for the rest of the hotel, I would say it is generally run down, but they do keep it fairly clean. The beds are so hard and uncomfortable that 3 out of 4 people in our family were having back pain and had a hard time sleeping. Plus, it is so loud it will drive you crazy. They blare techno music everyday from noon to midnight. Lastly, the beach is lovely, but it is not a private beach and every 2-3 minutes there are peddlers walking by harassing you to buy things. There is now avoiding their aggressive sales techniques and they will drive you crazy. So do yourself a favor and do not stay at the friendly Vallarta. Trust me!!! It is not relaxing in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the centro bus for $7.5 pesos. It stops on every block and runs every couple minutes. It takes you right into downtown, the pier and romantic zone. It will save you tons of money and was very easy to navigate.

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raegan T.
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Very Friendly

Very friendly, loved the staff. Right on the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenmile Tam
Family
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

Fantastic staff

The hotel was older, but very clean. Repairs were ongoing while we stayed there. The evenings were LOUD until midnight. This was frustrating until we were used to the time change. However, the fantastic part of staying at Friendly Vallarta was the staff. They were efficient, hard working and caring. I would feel ambivalent toward this hotel if it wasn't for the staff. They were absolutely heart warming. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top