Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2016 Check-out: Mar 10, 2016

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
10 reviews
fantastic

the best vacation ever :) strongly recommended . nothing was missing . this was my 2-nd time in Riu... See full review

  • Jerry123
  • Nov 10, 2013
Best vacation ever!

This was are 2nd time in Playa del Carmen. W absolutely love this place. The Riu Tequila resort was... See full review

  • Georgina007
  • May 15, 2013
The Riu Tequila is a modern five-star all inclusive hotel located opposite a lovely white sandy beach surrounded by lush tropical gardens, just 15 minutes from the heart of Playa del Carmen. It is part of an elegant development which includes a modern 18-hole championship golf course, at our own "Calle Mexicana" or "Mexican Street" you will find attractions like a variety of boutiques for your shopping pleasure, fitness center, beauty salon, spa services, jewelry, medical center, photo studio and lab. In addition, there are several restaurants and bars located within the complex offering a variety of choices for your dinning pleasure. Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.

***No Student groups under 21 years or Spring Breakers are accepted all year round***

The maximum occupancies are 4 bodies in room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child or 2 Adults + 2 Children.

Discounts : Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Any special request remains upon availability of the hotel.

***Guests have 90 min/day free WiFi-connection in the lobby.
***WiFi throughout the whole hotel, at cost

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, TX
Aug 8, 2010

Just o.k.

The rooms were great. They are big, clean,quiet, & have mini refrigerators. A/C worked great.The only minus to the rooms was there was no plug in the bathroom and their hairdryers don't work.On the downside, this resort really caters to European travelers so there were people smoking everywhere, women were topless, and there were lots of children ,including the bar at the pool. There's no separate "adults only" pool.Drinks at the pool bar are horrible, but the main lobby bar had pretty decent drinks.Lunch and Breakfast Buffet are really good, don't bother making reservations at their dinner "restaurants", the food is awful and it's banquet service, with no menu choice. The adgenda there is to get you in and out as fast as possible.There is no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

This is a family resort, so if you're looking for a great pool, you won't find it here. There's no ocean view or breeze. you can walk across the street to their sister resort and have beach access.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mclovin1788
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

best vacation ever had

it was great. the food, the drinks, the hospitality, all the people were very nice and kind! the room was very good also. aver all everything was great, we had a great great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roberval
Friends
quebec
Mar 15, 2013

riu tequila

the beach is amazing, the hotel is very well located, about 30 minutes walk to reach the beginning of the 5th Avenueor 7$ us for the taxi. The hotel is very clean. We were a little disappointed with the a la carte restaurants. Steakhouse in there was no filet mignon and the food was very average. For the Asian restaurant the food was really good, it was a small buffet where you had to use. For the buffet there was plenty of choice and it was very good. What we liked least is that if you want a drink anywhere in the hotel or on the beach you have to go because there is nobody to do the service. For internet we have the right to 90 minutes free per day. If you take just 30 minutes and you close your session you can not return until 24 hours. Otherwise I think you can pay $ 15 per day. To get to the beach you have to walk about 7-8 minutes or you can take the shuttle, take a walk through the Yucatan and you'll probably get to see the monkeys. Overall it's a good hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the location was perfect

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueGrl Traveler
Family
Monterey County, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Beautiful Hotel! Loved it!

Our hotel was very nice and the staff was really friendly. The rooms were clean and the food was very good. Usually at an all-inclusive, you get tired of the food after 4 or 5 days, but the Riu Tequila had a nice variety and 3 different specialty restaurants to choose from. The only thing about the specialty restaurants that I didn't like was that you had to make your reservations for dinner between 7am-10:30am. There is a limited amount of seating so the earlier you get in line the more likely it is that you'll get a table. The entertainment shows were pretty funny and we always ended our nights at the Sports Bar playing Air Hockey. There are also Billiard tables, Internet and other games (extra charge for Sports Bar activities.) The hotel itself has a beautiful open-air lobby and well tended grounds. It is located in a private community called Playacar. It is well guarded and we didn't have any trouble with overbearing vendors. There is a group of shops located a 5 minute walk away from Riu Tequila. Some of the shops are pricey, but they have pretty and interesting items for sale. We dubbed them the "Five Minute Shops." There is also a bank, pharmacy and a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

From the hotel, it is a 30 minute walk to Playa Del Carmen. There, there are shops, restaurants, and the dock to get to Cozumel. The souvenir shops there are less expensive than the Five Minute Shops. If you don't want to walk to Playa Del Carmen, you can get a taxi from the hotel and it will only cost 50 pesos ($3+ depending on the exchange rate). Some of the shops there will accept the American Dollar at a higher rate than the exchange houses so its worth paying with American. Ask for the rate before you pay. Overall my experience at the Riu Tequila and Playa del Carmen was excellent. If you plan to do excursions, I recommend Coba (The only Mayan Pyramid you can still climb) After climbing the pyramid, I recommend a swim in a cenote (underground swimming hole) There is one 15 minutes away from the Coba Ruins. After climbing down from the ruins you will be VERY tired and sweaty. A cool swim is what you will be wanting. Also visit Xcaret at some point during your stay. You don't have to book this trip through the hotel. The hotel is only about a 15 minute taxi ride from Xcaret. The entrance fee is a bit pricey (worth geting the Xcaret Plus Package), but the experience there is worth it. It's part zoo and part ameusment park (no roller coasters). There is an underground river that you can swim and snorkel in. There is so much to do and the park is so big that you should get there early and stay for the closing show. Its a must do!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis,IN
Apr 23, 2010

Great Hotel

Great location near shopping and use of 3 other sister hotel within walking distance. Only downsized is dinning if wanting to go to specilized resturants you have to get up at 7 am every morning to book restuant that day or be forced to eat in buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgina007
Family
New Milford,ct
May 15, 2013

Best vacation ever!

This was are 2nd time in Playa del Carmen. W absolutely love this place. The Riu Tequila resort was amazing, so as the workers and the service. We had no 1 complain the whole tired time. The food was more than anybody can wish for and the taste just amazing!!!:-))) We would definitely recommend the Riu Tequila to everybody who loves Mexican style , people and an amazing beach. Oh .. by the way - This resort doesn't have a beach on the resort. You will have to walk ( 5 min-8 min) or take the little open bus/train to the beach. It did not bother us to walk at all. Achli we felt it was refreshing and beautiful!!!!:-))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry123
Friends
new york NY
Nov 10, 2013

fantastic

the best vacation ever :) strongly recommended . nothing was missing . this was my 2-nd time in Riu Tequila and I wish not last .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Detroit, MI
Apr 21, 2008

Truly Remarkable

The Riu Resorts in Playacar are all beautiful and well worth the trip. I found the staff at all of the resorts to be the most helpful group of people I've ever encountered. The landscaping is also the most beautiful landscaping I've seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the on-sight dining options...best food I've ever eaten!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Lancaster, NY
Dec 22, 2008

Great food, friendly staff, good entertainment

The food options and quality were more than I expected! Staff were always friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is very close to this hotel - and you have access to the beach front hotels.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 30, 2007

Great Value and Vacation

This hotel and resort was excellent. The staff were outstanding, rooms spacious and clean, food wonderful and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top