Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ave. Xaman-Ha M3 Lote 13 FRACC Playacar, Playa Del carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
vacation

we have had a great time at Tequila. Great stuff, comfort, amenities. Jalisco restarant was great... See full review

  • scroodge
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Room was simple but very clean. 5-7 min walk to the beach and very... See full review

  • Ilana92
  • Jun 9, 2014
Caribbean resort mirrors a village with its own shopping street
The RIU Tequila resort is located in the exclusive Playacar development, down the street from downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at the RIU Tequila enjoy an 18-hole championship golf course nearby, a "Mexican Street" with shopping boutiques, beauty salon and fitness center. The resort also boasts four restaurants, children's swimming pool and a Jacuzzi, all surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • "Mexican Street" mirrors a Mexican village for shopping
  • Championship golf course nearby (fees apply)
  • Close to Playa del Carmen
Rooms:

Expect contemporary furnishings and muted, patterned fabrics with cool tiled floors in RUI Tequila rooms. The 664 suites at the RIU Tequila feature central air conditioning, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, electronic in-room safe and private balcony or terrace. Guests choose between double rooms and junior suites. In addition to the amenities listed above, junior suites include bathroom with bathtub and bidet, flat screen TV and living room.

Features:

Kids at the RIU Tequila have a blast at RIULand. Every day, trained staff supervises children ages 4 to 12 during activities and entertainment. With the kids taken care of, parents and adults have the freedom to visit the Renova Spa for massages or beauty treatments (fees apply) or hit the complimentary gym, sauna or Jacuzzi. During the day, play tennis, volleyball or take an introductory scuba calls in the pool. And at night, La Pinata nightclub heats up with local and international hits. RIU Tequila also provides complimentary non-motorized water sports including windsurfing, catamarans, kayaking, body boarding and snorkeling.

Dining

There is a daily full American buffet with cooking stations for breakfast at RIU Tequila. Lunch includes hot and cold starters, assorted meats, fish and snacks. There are four restaurants. Dinner reservations are required for the Mexican cuisine, grill and steakhouse, and Asian cuisine buffet restaurants.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/4 km)
  • Tulum ruins (36 mi/58 km)
  • Chichen Itza (157 mi/254 km)
Business­
  • Free wireless Internet access in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires that at least one person 21 years old or older be present in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years.
  • No student groups under 21 years old or spring breakers are accepted.
  • The maximum occupancy is four people in room, either three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children.
  • Children under 2 years old stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

RIU Tequila - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Room
Junior Suite Room features: Two double bed, cable/satellite TV, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, phone, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms. Living room with room area.
Standard Room
Standard Room features: Two double beds, cable/satellite TV, phone, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan, air conditioning, minibar, liquor dispenser, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, in-room safe, non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6078 -87.0932
Area served
Av. Xaman-Ha, Condominios Playacar. Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. 77710
Nearby airports
Cancun, Mexico (CUN-Cancun Intl.)
Area description
The Riu Tequila is located on the beach of the luxury development of Playacar close to the golf course. Being just across the Riu Yucatan hotel, a tropical garden path provides easy access just a short walk away, to the resorts club. It is approximately 40 miles from cancun International airport, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Free wireless Internet access Lobby area

Dining

Jalisco
The main restaurant featuring air conditioning and a non-smoking area at the terrace. International and local specialities. Buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week, reservation required.
La Lupita
Pool snack bar and restaurant. Enjoy delightful tropical drinks.
Beach Club
At the beach. Restaurant and snack bar, serving Mexican cuisine. Beach bar
El Kiosco
Pavillion bar.
Maguey
In the main building. Lounge bar. Share a drink with friends.
Grill Steakhouse
A la carte restaurant for dinner
Aisian restaurant
New restaurant oppen for dinner
Sports Bar
Sports bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SherryNY
New York
Jun 6, 2014

Horrible experience

Hotel looks old and worn out. Front desk is so rude. Never willing to help. Even the hotel manager Natalia and shift manager Maria are the rudest! Food was okay. Could've been way better. If you are looking to stay in a location similar to the jungle, this is the place for you. Birds, cats and wild animals walk in the dining area where you eat and steal your food. I barely stayed in this location. Riu yacutan across the street is Way better with a modern clean friendlier staff. Very dissappointing for an RIU hotel. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Riu not all that we had expected

We had heard a lot of good things about Riu resorts and went in with high expectations. My husband and I had stayed at a Sandals Resort last year and loved it. We were overall so disappointed with the Riu Tequila (and Riu's in general since we could go to other Riu locations in the area). We loved the bartenders and drinks. The bartenders were attentive and the drinks were strong and delicious. Our room was clean and overall pretty comfortable, however it was very noisy. We could hear every noise that people made in the hall, which made for poor sleeping in the morning. I had to sleep with ear plugs in and my husband slept with pillows over his ears. The pool area was nice but way too crowded. You could never find a seat since everyone reserved them in the morning and never went back to them (although this was against the rules but never enforced). The food was horrible. It was all buffet style and never very good. They had two restaurants you could make reservations at (which were also just buffet style) but if you didn't get up between 7 and 8AM you couldn't sign up for the restaurants and there was no other way to get in, even if they weren't full. We managed to make a reservation one night and there were so many open seats but they still turned people away because they didn't have a reservation. It was ridiculous. The Riu staff was not friendly or helpful. They did the minimum and nothing beyond that. The customer is "never" right seemed to be the motto at the Riu Tequila. The Riu did not cater to 30 year-olds without kids. It wasn't exactly family oriented but there was nothing to do after 10pm except go to the local sports bar or disco, which were both filled with 18 year-olds getting smashed (who knows where the parents were). We will never return to a Riu. We are already planning our trip for next year...Sandals all the way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue - Ajua!

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mcallen, TX
Aug 6, 2008

We would not go back

We stayed for one night only. The rooms were full of mosquitoes. That night when we had dinner, we found a rock on the beans and hair on the fruit. The location of the hotel is good except that is not on the beach side. It is a long walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A shortwalk from the hotel, there are little shops to go shopping.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronnie Rowdy
Midwest
Apr 11, 2013

Spring getaway

Not close enough to the beach for my liking. Had to walk a long way each day to hang on the water. I do not go on vacation to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Linden, MI
May 7, 2010

The good, The bad

I have been to the Riviera Maya area before and was disappointed at Riu Tequila. The rooms were smaller than expected. There is no room service at all. No coffee pot in the room, and the breakfast buffet had a problem with me taking a carafe of coffee to my room. Rooms had a small fridge with 4 beers and pop and water. When the beers ran out it took 2 days and 5 phone calls for someone to refill. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was the same old buffet which got old after day 2. You could sign up for a sit down dinner it you got to breakfast at opening time 7am. In general the people at this resort were not as friendly as Secret Silversands. The bartenders were not as friendly or fun to be around and they also lacked mixed drink knowledge. Secret Silversands was better in every way - sit down restaurants, fun bartenders, room service & coffee pot, they would fill your fridge, better bars, bigger and cleaner rooms, less bugs and critters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mayan Ruins in Tulum

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poland
Aug 7, 2008

Our room was very dirty ...

Our room was very dirty and it smelled of mold. The shower head and safe were broken. The room was almost unlivable. Also, it was a 1/2 mile walk to the beach from our room. This certainly isn't ocean front. I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcerete was fun

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 8, 2010

Just o.k.

The rooms were great. They are big, clean,quiet, & have mini refrigerators. A/C worked great.The only minus to the rooms was there was no plug in the bathroom and their hairdryers don't work.On the downside, this resort really caters to European travelers so there were people smoking everywhere, women were topless, and there were lots of children ,including the bar at the pool. There's no separate "adults only" pool.Drinks at the pool bar are horrible, but the main lobby bar had pretty decent drinks.Lunch and Breakfast Buffet are really good, don't bother making reservations at their dinner "restaurants", the food is awful and it's banquet service, with no menu choice. The adgenda there is to get you in and out as fast as possible.There is no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

This is a family resort, so if you're looking for a great pool, you won't find it here. There's no ocean view or breeze. you can walk across the street to their sister resort and have beach access.

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alfa756
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 26, 2011

Too many smokers in this hotel

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel as the price was right. One thing is unacceptably bothering - guests are smoking everywhere: the restaurants, beach, central hall. No tennis courts on the premesis. One has to book a court in the neighboring hotel. The staff is friendly and seem to be trying there best to please the guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mncyncy
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 20, 2011

December vacation

This is great value. We have been coming to this resort for the last 10 years. The food quality and variety has slipped some in the last 12 months. Also the bottle opener in our room was dirty and rusty. The staff is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to XPLORE

Review of RIU Tequila - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fathers with 2
Miami
Apr 1, 2013

Good value not spectacular

Great location, rooms and hotel are nice. No in room wifi ( good and bad). Food was ok not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map