Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

3 stars
Carretera Federal 307,, Chetumal - Pto Juarez, KM 306+250, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
69 reviews
Pretty perfect get-away.

There wasn't much about this resort that I would change. The beach was great, the entertainment was... See full review

  • Soccrian11
  • Nov 19, 2014
best vacation of my life

Everything about our time at Catalonia was perfect. The hotel and property is stunningly beautiful.... See full review

  • MadisonW
  • May 18, 2014
Beachfront resort on Punta Maroma surrounded by mangroves
Catalonia Playa Maroma is located on Punta Maroma in the Mayan Riviera, 30 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and 15 minutes from fishing and resort town, Playa del Carmen. The hotel boasts 376 rooms, four restaurants, three bars, disco and fitness center. The resort is surrounded by lush mangrove forests and beautiful stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • Located on Punta Maroma, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean
  • Close to airport and Playa del Carmen
  • Catalonia Playa Maroma is surrounded by lush mangrove forests
Rooms:

Expect contemporary style rooms decorated in Mexican colors. Cool tile floors blend with dark wood accessories and festive bed coverings to create a clean, welcoming space. The 376 suites at the Catalonia Playa Maroma are distributed between six two- and three- story buildings around the resort. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, phone, hairdryer, cable TV and balcony or terrace. The privileged honeymoon suite features canopy king-sized bed, romantic decoration, sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit upon arrival, a private romantic dinner and a 30-minute couple massage. All suites at Catalonia Playa Maroma are located close to the beach, pool and restaurants.

Features:

The Catalonia Playa Maroma features a private beach, fitness center, outdoor pool, tennis courts and four restaurants, one of which is not in the all-inclusive package. For kids, Catalonia Playa Maroma hosts a daily children's club. Water sports including kayaking, aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball are also available. For additional fees, massage services, spa treatments, scuba diving and a pool table are available for use. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (30 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (12 mi/20 km)
  • Tulum ruins (38 mi/62 km)
  • Chichen Itza (96 mi/156 km)
Business­
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply)

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Room
Brand new large rooms with private terrace or balcony and garden view, providing fully stock mini-bar replace daily, and coffee path. Safety deposit box and wireless internet is available without extra charge. 32 inches satellite plasma TV, and ether one king size bed or two double beds. This modern rooms are located just few steps away from the beach, pool and restaurants
Privileged Honeymoon
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Privileged Comfort
The Privileged clients are entitled to enjoy the following facilities: Private LoungeConcierge Service for Privileged customersPrivileged check-in area Welcome cocktailPrivileged guest Identification 10% Discount on massage or any treatment in our Alegra Spa, reservation requiredAccess to Spa wet area (subjected to availability)Exclusive area for breakfast in "El Pajarito" restaurant Exclusive a-la-carte lunch at the "Privileged Snack" located in front of the oceanCoffee Break in the Privileged LoungeBeach towels service delivered in the roomTurndown service Pillow menuFree dinner (one) at the Terrace Tapas & Lounge Bar10% discount in romantic dinner Early check-in & Late check-out subjected to availability

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7387 -86.9664
Area served
Catalonia Privileged Beach is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 45 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun Airport, Punta Maroma.
Area description
Located 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen & 30 minutes from the airport.

Dining

Bar Tequila
Lobby Bar. Open 24 hs.
El Pajarito Restaurante
International Buffete restaurant open for breafast, lunch and dinner.
Tio Pedro
Mexican specialties. A la carte restaurant, opened for dinner. Reservations required.
Snack Bar
At the pool area.
La Terraza
Sea Food specialty restaurant, open for dinner. Reservations required, with extra cost, not included.
Disco Bar
Open from 12:00am (midnight)thru 02:00am.
La Tortuga
Grill at lunchtime. Mediterranean specialties a la carte for dinner Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royster
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Relaxing at it's finest

We arrived late on a Saturday (12/3/11) and were taken to the Priveledged check in location. All was in order with no problems. Our room was fabulous. Clean and nicely decorated. Strolled the property to get our bearings. The property was well taken care of and everything was manicured and healthy. Beach was incredible, well maintained (as seaweed was a common accurance washing up on the beach) but was taken care of by the time we awoke and staked our claim to the abundance of lounge chairs available. We took daily walks for what seemed like miles in each direction. Actually it was. As for the food, it was standard fair for these types of resorts but the bread was the main attraction, at least for me. Service was incredible. Juan was the hardest working Bartender in Mexico as one minute he was pouring me a beer, the next he was down at waters edge taking orders and picking up peoples discarded (empty) smallwares. Quirino, at the main buffet was so sincere and wanting to please, we always chose a table in his area just for the spectacular service. If Hotel management reads this review, I want both of these gentlemen to get a big fat raise, because these are the types of employees that make travelers want to come back again and again and we will as well. The only thing I can say negative about our stay, was the rudeness and impatience of the European clientel at this resort. Not all mind you, but many. From cutting in line to completely ignoring a simple gesture as hello and claiming non-comprehension. Will I go back? You bet. Already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soccrian11
Business
Toledo, OH
Nov 19, 2014

Pretty perfect get-away.

There wasn't much about this resort that I would change. The beach was great, the entertainment was great, the food was great... My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the resort. Be sure when you are booking to pay the little extra $$ for the 'privileged' package. It gives you access to a couple small amenities, but really makes a big difference to the vacation as a whole. The Terrace-restaurant overlooking the beach is especially nice. Breakfast overlooking the ocean, yes please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Using the privileged service means you bypass the busy lobby to a much smaller, air conditioned, wonderful lobby at the rear of the resort. You also get access to a small lounge where you can relax

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tommyg2005
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 14, 2014

Nice beach but everything else is average

We booked this hotel because our friends already booked it and we wanted to meet them and spend time together. Knowing that it is 3-star hotel we didn't expect much. It truly stands for 3-star hotel, especially with the food and restaurant selection. We are frequent visitors to Mayan Riviera in Mexico and our main reason for going on vacation is the beach. Catalonia Maroma hotel is located on one of the best beaches in Mexico. It has very fine white send and wonderful ocean water. There are not enough shaded area on the hotel properties. The special area for 'Privileged' guests has shaded palapas but the management fails to enforce the rule "For Privileged guests only" as well as to deal with some obnoxious visitors. We spent all our time at the beach and used catamaran and kayaks provided by hotel for free. One thing that completely made our vacation less enjoyable was the jet-ski use directly in the beach area. The noise and the gasoline fumes are unbearable. Despite the fact that the Maroma beach is considered environmentally protected area the jet-ski and speed boats are used everywhere in neighboring hotels. For this only reason we will never come back to this or any other hotels in Maroma beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Surf&Turf Kebab in the Grill restaurant.

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellesyntya
Business
Indio, ca
Aug 31, 2014

Relaxing

Great vacation.... The beach was amazing, the food was standard... The room in privilege was cleaned daily and minibar restocked (everything inside free) and the forest around the hotel was beautiful. Would recommend for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ Diverbeauty
Business
Lakewood, Colorado
Aug 22, 2014

Beach and Food

very beautiful white sand beach. and very good food. The only thing i dont like is the lobby and the El Pasjaritto Rest. it s so hot!!! not enoughn fan to cool the place off. you are eating but you are dripping, sweaty uncomfortyable swaet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Nice,awesome white sand beach!!!

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Oeftering
Business
Stanhope, NJ
Aug 16, 2014

Great family vacation!

Catalonia Privileged Maroma is a beautiful hotel and I would definitely recommend it. When I booked this originally I had no idea "privileged" meant just that! Being privileged meant your own front desk, 24 hour room service, stocked mini fridge, 1 hour per person in spa, all included at no extra charge!! We felt pampered the whole week! I think we picked a bad week for the ocean cuz if was loaded with seaweed! Loaded! The staff said it must be the start of changing season or tides because the week prior it was clean. One bad thing was they had no elevator. I suffer from MS but am feeling good now however, had I known this information I would have requested a room on the first floor rather than the 3rd floor! Also, we were hounded by time share people to become members. We were told that if we say no they won't bother us and we will get gifts for just listening. Well they went from sickening sweet to flat out rude when we kept saying no!! If I had it to do over again I would definitely NOT do time share meeting!!! But even with the elevator issue and time share promo I would still recommend this resort and stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Please utilize the trips at the hotel. We were asking staff members about taxiis and were getting conflicting info on them. We wanted to go to Cozumel or playa del Carmen but the prices seemed too high.. I found out, the day before we left, that the hotel provides buses free of charge to Playa. However they drop you off at a jewelry factory for 1 hr then onto playa. But still worth it. And they didn't hound us to buy anything!

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sad to be back dad
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 19, 2014

Family Mexico trip

Best beach I've ever seen in my many trips to Mexico. Staff were wonderful. Beds much softer than most Mexican resorts that I have stayed at. Food was overall pretty good, but lacked a little bit of variety but we aren't real picky and could always find something Room was quite comfortable with my only slightly negative experience being the air conditioning being turned off twice when the room was cleaned which meant it got pretty warm by the time we would get back to the room. Didn't happen in the kids room so it may just have been shut off while they cleaned and forgotten. Cooled off fairly quickly so a pretty mild inconvenience. Fun seeing the Coadis and monkeys playing around in the jungle and on the path as you walked through the jungle on the way to the lobby area. Found that you could walk down the beautiful beach in either direction. Waves were much bigger down the beach to the left of the resort, big enough to easily body surf. We would certainly recommend this resort and would not hesitate to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akumal is about a thirty minute drive from this resort and you can park for about $5.00 usd and enjoy some of the best snorkeling (including paid tours) I've found in Mexico right off the beach and best of all it's free. (I did pay $18.00 to rent one set of gear at the dive shop on the beach because we were at set short)

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pjm55
Business
Norwell, MA, USA
Jun 18, 2014

Great Value, Gorgeous Beach

We stayed at Playa Maroma from 4/19-4/26 and had a great time. The beach was absolutely gorgeous - very fine, white sand and clear turquoise water with no rocks or seaweed.... and great walks in both directions. We also appreciated the fact that we could take out a catamaran each day for a fun sail. Our hotel room was fine - nothing special but it was clean and the balcony had a great view of the gardens. Landscaping was gorgeous - beautiful tropical plants and well maintained. Food was fine - nothing special - but lots of fresh tropical fruit and plenty of options to choose from. We particularly enjoyed breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall - very good value. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathi102
Business
Aurora, CO
Jun 18, 2014

amazing beach/great price

The whole resort was nice. The beach was amazing it was beautiful! Employees were friendly and willing to help you out. Food at the steakhouse was really good it was a nice dinner. The Terrace for lunch was also pretty good. The service was sorta slow but the view was really beautiful. The buffet was just that a buffet the food was not too bad and we could always find something that was tasty. Rooms were really clean and had everything you needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irishfun
Business
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Jun 18, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

We have stayed at Catalonia's sister resort Catalonia Royal Tulum back in January and decided to try Maroma because it was a bit cheaper. We were not disappointed and actually preferred Maroma even though it is not Adult's Only like Tulum is. We reserved the honeymoon suite and upon arrival found that they gave us a suite without the Jacuzzi tub on the patio and did not deliver our fruit,chocolate and champagne. We asked them about this and the next day they had no problem switching us to the correct room. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly enough, beach is gorgeous! Food was quite bland but we expect that in an All Inclusive restaurant. Drinks were pretty good. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CCAustin
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 8, 2014

Will NOT return

I want to begin by saying the staff were very friendly, and the grounds and beach were beautiful, very tropical just as expected. But there were far more negatives than positives for our stay. My family and extended family (about 18 people) all reserved privileged superior rooms. When they arrived, they were told all privileged rooms were unavailable. What is the point of making a reservation and paying for an upgrade if you don't get what you pay for. Our room was the only one with the stated reservation accommodations - 1 out of 6 rooms, pretty disappointing stats. Another extreme disappointment was the food. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would barely give it a 2-3. The restaurants made available to those with the privileged were terrible. The wait staff were so very nice, but the food was very bad. Their buffet was a bit better. But the downside to that was eating in an un-air-conditioned venue. Sweating and eating hot food at the same time was not enjoyable. All being said, I would not recommend this resort or return. I would really like to say the accommodations were great because the write up on it and reviews in painted an inviting place, but it was a great disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top