Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

3 stars
Carretera Federal 307,, Chetumal - Pto Juarez, KM 306+250, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Great Vacation

We just returned a week ago. Amazing beach, food was very good, everyone gained a few... See full review

  • mark from buffalo
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great Hotel!

Our 4th time in this hotel! Best beach in te Riviera Maya.Great people, we definetly will go back! See full review

  • Marcebono
  • Nov 12, 2013
Beachfront resort on Punta Maroma surrounded by mangroves
Catalonia Playa Maroma is located on Punta Maroma in the Mayan Riviera, 30 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and 15 minutes from fishing and resort town, Playa del Carmen. The hotel boasts 376 rooms, four restaurants, three bars, disco and fitness center. The resort is surrounded by lush mangrove forests and beautiful stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • Located on Punta Maroma, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean
  • Close to airport and Playa del Carmen
  • Catalonia Playa Maroma is surrounded by lush mangrove forests
Rooms:

Expect contemporary style rooms decorated in Mexican colors. Cool tile floors blend with dark wood accessories and festive bed coverings to create a clean, welcoming space. The 376 suites at the Catalonia Playa Maroma are distributed between six two- and three- story buildings around the resort. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, phone, hairdryer, cable TV and balcony or terrace. The privileged honeymoon suite features canopy king-sized bed, romantic decoration, sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit upon arrival, a private romantic dinner and a 30-minute couple massage. All suites at Catalonia Playa Maroma are located close to the beach, pool and restaurants.

Features:

The Catalonia Playa Maroma features a private beach, fitness center, outdoor pool, tennis courts and four restaurants, one of which is not in the all-inclusive package. For kids, Catalonia Playa Maroma hosts a daily children's club. Water sports including kayaking, aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball are also available. For additional fees, massage services, spa treatments, scuba diving and a pool table are available for use. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (30 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (12 mi/20 km)
  • Tulum ruins (38 mi/62 km)
  • Chichen Itza (96 mi/156 km)
Business­
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply)

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Room
Brand new large rooms with private terrace or balcony and garden view, providing fully stock mini-bar replace daily, and coffee path. Safety deposit box and wireless internet is available without extra charge. 32 inches satellite plasma TV, and ether one king size bed or two double beds. This modern rooms are located just few steps away from the beach, pool and restaurants
Privileged Honeymoon
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Privileged Comfort
The Privileged clients are entitled to enjoy the following facilities: Private LoungeConcierge Service for Privileged customersPrivileged check-in area Welcome cocktailPrivileged guest Identification 10% Discount on massage or any treatment in our Alegra Spa, reservation requiredAccess to Spa wet area (subjected to availability)Exclusive area for breakfast in "El Pajarito" restaurant Exclusive a-la-carte lunch at the "Privileged Snack" located in front of the oceanCoffee Break in the Privileged LoungeBeach towels service delivered in the roomTurndown service Pillow menuFree dinner (one) at the Terrace Tapas & Lounge Bar10% discount in romantic dinner Early check-in & Late check-out subjected to availability

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7387 -86.9664
Area served
Catalonia Privileged Beach is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 45 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun Airport, Punta Maroma.
Area description
Located 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen & 30 minutes from the airport.

Dining

Bar Tequila
Lobby Bar. Open 24 hs.
El Pajarito Restaurante
International Buffete restaurant open for breafast, lunch and dinner.
Tio Pedro
Mexican specialties. A la carte restaurant, opened for dinner. Reservations required.
Snack Bar
At the pool area.
La Terraza
Sea Food specialty restaurant, open for dinner. Reservations required, with extra cost, not included.
Disco Bar
Open from 12:00am (midnight)thru 02:00am.
La Tortuga
Grill at lunchtime. Mediterranean specialties a la carte for dinner Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Royster
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Relaxing at it's finest

We arrived late on a Saturday (12/3/11) and were taken to the Priveledged check in location. All was in order with no problems. Our room was fabulous. Clean and nicely decorated. Strolled the property to get our bearings. The property was well taken care of and everything was manicured and healthy. Beach was incredible, well maintained (as seaweed was a common accurance washing up on the beach) but was taken care of by the time we awoke and staked our claim to the abundance of lounge chairs available. We took daily walks for what seemed like miles in each direction. Actually it was. As for the food, it was standard fair for these types of resorts but the bread was the main attraction, at least for me. Service was incredible. Juan was the hardest working Bartender in Mexico as one minute he was pouring me a beer, the next he was down at waters edge taking orders and picking up peoples discarded (empty) smallwares. Quirino, at the main buffet was so sincere and wanting to please, we always chose a table in his area just for the spectacular service. If Hotel management reads this review, I want both of these gentlemen to get a big fat raise, because these are the types of employees that make travelers want to come back again and again and we will as well. The only thing I can say negative about our stay, was the rudeness and impatience of the European clientel at this resort. Not all mind you, but many. From cutting in line to completely ignoring a simple gesture as hello and claiming non-comprehension. Will I go back? You bet. Already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
mark from buffalo
Buffalo, NY
Apr 4, 2014

Great Vacation

We just returned a week ago. Amazing beach, food was very good, everyone gained a few pounds. Staff was fantastic, bartenders very efficient so no lines, cleaning ladies very thorough. After 14 trips to Cancun area, this place had the best beach we have ever been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best restaurants were Italian and Mexican

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Marcebono
argentin
Nov 12, 2013

Great Hotel!

Our 4th time in this hotel! Best beach in te Riviera Maya.Great people, we definetly will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Luke H
Richmond va
Jun 11, 2013

DONT DO IT!

My wife and I were suppose to stay here 10 nights. We could not take it longer then one night. It was so bad we were willing to lose our money for the other 9 nights and leave after one night and go somewhere else. The food is so bad we could not hardly eat anything! The drinks all taste weird like metal and it is because they shoot all the mixes through a soda gun in the same hose and it causes every drink to have a weird taste. Our AC did not work in the room. The grounds are not well kept and look old and dingy. I looked at reviews and saw some good ones and the price was right so we booked here but if I can help just one person from making this mistake I will feel better. We travel all the time and there are about 100 places in this part of mexico better then this. So do not be fooled by the good reviews and the price. We are easy going people too and we could not stay here more then one night. We checked out after the first night and stayed the rest of our 9 nights at the OMNI cancun and it was amazing and reassured us how bad this place really was. So my advice if you were like me and saw some good reviews and the price looks good here. DONT DO IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
rokomer
Chicago, IL
Mar 26, 2013

Amazing beach, rest so-so.

Beach is truly unbeatable in the region. Spotless white sand with beautiful clear turquoise waters. Room was clean but with an air conditioner that did not quite deal with the humidity and leaked a bit. I liked being a 15 min car ride away from downtown Playa, separated from all the noise, but if you want hot parties with attractive and energetic people, this might be a bit too full of sunbathing older people for you -- not quite the beach-body-flaunting crowd. Having a car makes things easier. Staff is very friendly, but speaks limited English, and can be a bit clumsy and inexperienced with the finer parts of restaurant service, like properly opening a wine bottle. Food is pretty good but nothing to write home about -- even the food at the a la carte restaurants kind of feels like good homemade food or good buffet food presented neatly on pretty plates in smaller portions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Cool and relaxed
Chicago, IL
Jan 30, 2013

Last minute couples getaway

We booked this vacation one week before we arrived as a birthday present to my husband (he was turning 29). We have stayed previously in Maroma beach and knew we wanted to come back. This resort offered us the opportunity to come back to a place we love but at a more affordable price. We had previously stayed at Secrets right next door but the price was much more than Catalonia (and what we were looking to spend). Overall, the resort was great. The location cannot be beat which is really what mattered to us. The food was pretty good, with the tapas restaurant being our favorite. The buffets had a good selection, drinks were always plentiful, and the staff was very courteous. We paid extra for the "privelaged" which really wasn't worth it. The rooms on the "privelaged" side were in need of updating and it wasn't like you got an oceanfront view or anything. We didn't really care either way since we only returned to our room to sleep and change. Location location location is all I can say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you get the book "privelaged" I recommend eating at the tapas restaurant, which is exclusive to privelaged guests. The view is incredible (under the stars and full moon, oceanfront) and the food was the best of all our restaurant dining experiences at Catalonia.

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Martino37
Chicago
May 14, 2012

compared to other 3 star hotels

For the price it's great but your really pay for what you get. I've stayed at all kinds of resorts but prefer 4 stars and higher. You want to love the place because it's cheap and the beach is amazing if you're lucky enough to come when the sea weed isn't taking over. We decided to stay her because the price and the beach. Beach We stayed in the first week of May and the sea weed was so bad swimming was not enjoyable. We still enjoyed long walks and the view. The sand is so powdery it's amazing! Check in the walk to prefer is like a mile and I was a bit shocked that no one ask to help us with our luggage. After a long day of traveling and a long drive the last thing you want to do is lung your luggage across this bumpy pavement that take about 8 minutes to get to REALLY we timed it. So much for preferred check in. By the time you get to the air conditioned room you could have been check in and in your swim suit. I did enjoy a nice cold diet pepsi. The food I would trust it was a little smelly. I room wasn't ready and they didn't have the room type we reserved :(. We decided to pay for an upgrade ocean view which wasn't really worth it. I just didn't want to squeeze in a twin just so we can cuddle. Check out Was easy and painless. They even where very understanding and accommodating to our issues. Room "preferred" The beds are hard but I like that. The air didn't really work I would sweet through out the night and keeping the fan on was a must. The updates are to the TV and furniture which is nice but I think they should have done the showers. The one thing you look forward to after a hot sandy day on the beach is a nice clean shower. The shower heads provided little to no pressure and it was hard to wash out my hair. Drinks They where hit or miss but for the most part good. I like how they had a menu to choose from it helped a lot. Breakfast Was good the first two days but got old really fast Dinner So annoying they have coupons and waits and a really horrible system in which they don't even prepare you for. I've never been to an all inclusive where I needed coupons to eat at the ala cart restaurants. You don't even get enough for every night. So because we weren't prepped about this system we where close to waiting an hour to eat dinner. I was so hungry! Having said all that for the money I would only stay again if I was on a tight budget other wise I would go next door to Secrets Maroma.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Martino37
Chicago
May 8, 2012

Good Vaca Bang for the Buck!

If you must have scrambled eggs with caviar than stop reading this review and go book a Ritz. This is not a plush hotel and the staff does their best but this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel (even the privileged section is not). BUT.....it is the following reviewed by category: Check in/Check out: smooth no hassle and fairly quick. The funny thing about check in was that we were "privileged" guests. Upon arrival we were escorted another 1/4 mile to the "privileged" check in office. I guess I would assume that privileged guests should have an easier check in and not have to do a mini marathon in 90 degree weather. Hint to hotel: change the location for check in of privileged guests, or get a couple of golf carts. Rooms: Clean & comfortable. Again, we had the privileged rooms which were recently renovated. Mattress was very nice - firm. We slept very well. It is a quite resort. The old "non-privileged" rooms are a bit dated. Our AC was not the best. It was tolerated at night when the outside temperature went down to about 75 but we would not be able to stand it during the day. We did not complain too much because we were not in the room during the day too much. The Maintenance team attempted to fix it twice with no success. They were full so we stayed put. Another issue was the water pressure. It was a notch above a trickle in the shower. This perhaps because we were in a 2nd floor ocean view room. It just took longer to shower. Resort Grounds: Always clean and trim. This place has abundant and lush green everywhere. Trees, bushes, flowers and some wildlife too. You will see grounds crew maintaining it often. They do a great job. The pool area is great. Food: average at best. If I went to a restaurant at home and was served this food I would be disappointed. But since it is a good value all inclusive, I did not fret too much. They use a coupon system for the a la carte restaurants. It limits how many times you can go during your stay, I thought this limitation was a stupid move for the hotel. Overall the food was average with a few highlights here and there. If you don't have high expectations then you will be happy. Beach: AMAZING but.....the water often had some weeds in the afternoons. This is Maroma, one of the best beaches on the planet. If you just lay out you will have no quarrels. If you like to swim like me, then you need to choose your swimming times or prepare for a mild weed attack. It is very swimable just a few weeds here and there. The sand is white and super powdery on the beach and under the water. ENTERTAINMENT: this is perhaps the weakest link at the resort - I have seen Jr. Highschool plays perform better that the show I saw here. The beach was entertainment enough for me - skip the shows they put on - you will either laugh or cry - depending on your character type. Overall I have to say I am a fan of this resort. I know I may have seemed critical but this is only to make sure anyone reading this review has the right EXPECTATIONS. This place is not foo foo but compare it to the resorts next to it. It is typically at half the cost of more. Catalonia is an AMAZING vacation value and with the right expectations in mind - you will have a great if not one of the best vacations of your life!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Terrace restaurant offers great view of the beach while dining.

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Royster
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Relaxing at it's finest

We arrived late on a Saturday (12/3/11) and were taken to the Priveledged check in location. All was in order with no problems. Our room was fabulous. Clean and nicely decorated. Strolled the property to get our bearings. The property was well taken care of and everything was manicured and healthy. Beach was incredible, well maintained (as seaweed was a common accurance washing up on the beach) but was taken care of by the time we awoke and staked our claim to the abundance of lounge chairs available. We took daily walks for what seemed like miles in each direction. Actually it was. As for the food, it was standard fair for these types of resorts but the bread was the main attraction, at least for me. Service was incredible. Juan was the hardest working Bartender in Mexico as one minute he was pouring me a beer, the next he was down at waters edge taking orders and picking up peoples discarded (empty) smallwares. Quirino, at the main buffet was so sincere and wanting to please, we always chose a table in his area just for the spectacular service. If Hotel management reads this review, I want both of these gentlemen to get a big fat raise, because these are the types of employees that make travelers want to come back again and again and we will as well. The only thing I can say negative about our stay, was the rudeness and impatience of the European clientel at this resort. Not all mind you, but many. From cutting in line to completely ignoring a simple gesture as hello and claiming non-comprehension. Will I go back? You bet. Already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Jul 31, 2011

Had a good time

Room: We were in room number 4211. Honeymoon privilege/corner room. Very nice and lots of privacy on the balcony to use the jacuzzi. The bathroom has not been updated in this room. Bed was comfy, pillows were so-so. Food: Our first meal at the 'grill' buffet was not that good. Choices were hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken patty, fish, chili and salad.....EVERYDAY. After the first day we went up to the main buffet near the lobby. Lots of different choices every day. Our favorite dinner was at the Italian restaurant. We went there twice. The steak restaurant was okay. Make sure you order your meat well done. I loved the lime sorbet at the steak restaurant. We went to the tapas twice. Once for a romantic dinner (we were celebrating our 25th anniversary) we did not order off the menu that night. It was a prearranged dinner. The second time we went to the tapas we both ordered chicken as our main dish and we enjoyed it. We didn't really care for the Mexican restaurant. Beach: One of the nicest beaches we have ever been to. Every morning there was a crew raking the seaweed. The water was very warm and the waves were pretty calm. The towel game was in full force. You could not find a spot in the shade after 7:00 in the morning. Pool: Water temp had to be at least 90 degrees. Not refreshing at all!!! The hot tub was actually cooler than the pool. Families with small children tend to spend most of their time in the pool rather than the ocean. Photos: There are photographers on the beach taking pictures. The pictures range in price from $15.00 (5x7) $20.00 (8x10) and so on. Overall, we had a good time. We would return for the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 19, 2011

Loved every minute

We spent the entire week playing on the beach, reading, eating and enjoying adult beverages. The beach is amazing, the pool very clean and never crowded. Buffet was very good and drinks were just what you want on a tropical beach. Ala carte is fancy and we preferred the buffet. Ice cream in the snack bar was the best I've ever had. There were little things that weren't perfect - but nothing worth complaining about and sure not enough to take away from a wonderful week. Do take bug spray (mosquitos at night). The little creatures (monkey tailed possums) creeped me out but they weren't around much. There is a small reception in the main lobby each night be sure and check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map