Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 307,, Chetumal - Pto Juarez, KM 306+250, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
76 reviews
Excellent

Resort is clean. Beach is phenominal. Food is very good. Only drawback was it seems as though the... See full review

  • ES
  • Feb 16, 2015
Perfect escape

This hotel met every expectation i had and more. First let me preface this with the knowledge that... See full review

  • Laura H.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Beachfront resort on Punta Maroma surrounded by mangroves
Catalonia Playa Maroma is located on Punta Maroma in the Mayan Riviera, 30 minutes from the Cancun International Airport and 15 minutes from fishing and resort town, Playa del Carmen. The hotel boasts 376 rooms, four restaurants, three bars, disco and fitness center. The resort is surrounded by lush mangrove forests and beautiful stretches of white sand beaches.
Highlights:
  • Located on Punta Maroma, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean
  • Close to airport and Playa del Carmen
  • Catalonia Playa Maroma is surrounded by lush mangrove forests
Rooms:

Expect contemporary style rooms decorated in Mexican colors. Cool tile floors blend with dark wood accessories and festive bed coverings to create a clean, welcoming space. The 376 suites at the Catalonia Playa Maroma are distributed between six two- and three- story buildings around the resort. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, phone, hairdryer, cable TV and balcony or terrace. The privileged honeymoon suite features canopy king-sized bed, romantic decoration, sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit upon arrival, a private romantic dinner and a 30-minute couple massage. All suites at Catalonia Playa Maroma are located close to the beach, pool and restaurants.

Features:

The Catalonia Playa Maroma features a private beach, fitness center, outdoor pool, tennis courts and four restaurants, one of which is not in the all-inclusive package. For kids, Catalonia Playa Maroma hosts a daily children's club. Water sports including kayaking, aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball are also available. For additional fees, massage services, spa treatments, scuba diving and a pool table are available for use. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (30 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (12 mi/20 km)
  • Tulum ruins (38 mi/62 km)
  • Chichen Itza (96 mi/156 km)
Business­
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply)

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Superior
1 king bed or 2 twin size beds, private terrace or balcony and garden view, providing fully stock mini-bar replace daily. Safety deposit box and wireless internet is available without extra charge. 32 inches plasma TV, This modern rooms are located just few steps away from the beach, pool and restaurants
Privileged Honeymoon
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Privileged Comfort
Privileged location, Complimentary minibar with water, beer and soft drinks, Coffee maker and coffee service. The Privileged clients are entitled to enjoy the following facilities: Private Lounge, Concierge Service for Privileged customers, 24 hours room service, Privileged check-in area, Welcome cocktail, Privileged guest Identification, 10% Discount on massage or any treatment in our Alegra Spa, reservation required, Access to Spa wet area (subjected to availability), Exclusive area in El Pajarito restaurant, Coffee Break in the Privileged Lounge, Beach towels service delivered in the room, Turndown service, Pillow menu, A la carte breakfast at the Terrace Tapas & Lounge Bar, Snack service at the Terrace Tapas & Lounge Bar, Free dinner (one) at the Terrace Tapas & Lounge Bar, 10% discount in romantic dinner, 10% discount in boutique and jewelry, Early check-in and Late check-out subjected to availability

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7387 -86.9664
Area served
Catalonia Privileged Beach is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 45 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun Airport, Punta Maroma.
Area description
Located 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen & 30 minutes from the airport.

Dining

Bar Tequila
Lobby Bar. Open 24 hs.
El Pajarito Restaurante
International Buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Terraza
Delicious tapas specialties and Lobster Dinner restaurant, open for dinner. with extra cost, not included.
Tio Pedro
Mexican specialties. A la carte restaurant, opened for dinner.
Snack Bar
At the pool area.
Disco Bar
Open from 12:00am (midnight)thru 02:00am.
La Tortuga
Grill at lunchtime. Mediterranean specialties a la carte for dinner Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royster
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Relaxing at it's finest

We arrived late on a Saturday (12/3/11) and were taken to the Priveledged check in location. All was in order with no problems. Our room was fabulous. Clean and nicely decorated. Strolled the property to get our bearings. The property was well taken care of and everything was manicured and healthy. Beach was incredible, well maintained (as seaweed was a common accurance washing up on the beach) but was taken care of by the time we awoke and staked our claim to the abundance of lounge chairs available. We took daily walks for what seemed like miles in each direction. Actually it was. As for the food, it was standard fair for these types of resorts but the bread was the main attraction, at least for me. Service was incredible. Juan was the hardest working Bartender in Mexico as one minute he was pouring me a beer, the next he was down at waters edge taking orders and picking up peoples discarded (empty) smallwares. Quirino, at the main buffet was so sincere and wanting to please, we always chose a table in his area just for the spectacular service. If Hotel management reads this review, I want both of these gentlemen to get a big fat raise, because these are the types of employees that make travelers want to come back again and again and we will as well. The only thing I can say negative about our stay, was the rudeness and impatience of the European clientel at this resort. Not all mind you, but many. From cutting in line to completely ignoring a simple gesture as hello and claiming non-comprehension. Will I go back? You bet. Already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roxanne B.
Business
Brooklyn
Mar 26, 2015

Never going here again

Everything was fine until the last night of our stay there was LOTS of rain. We stayed on the 1st floor. We were sleeping and when we woke the floor had like 2 inches of water. All our stuff (like baggage with clothes) was soaked. When checking out I spoke to the "manager" - and let me tell u NOT EVEN ONE PENNY OFF OUR STAY THERE. outrages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura H.
Business
lapeer
Mar 2, 2015

Relaxing family vacation

I was so pleased with every aspect of my stay at catolonia maroma. From the moment we arrived they helped us feel relaxed and welcome. The room was clean and we slept comfortably. The beach was beautiful. Chairs were a problem near the pool but the beach always had plenty of lounging area. The staff was always pleasant and friendly. I am hard pressed to find anything i would change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ES
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Excellent

Resort is clean. Beach is phenominal. Food is very good. Only drawback was it seems as though the Italian guests get preferential treatment. Almost seemed like staff went over and above for them. Easily identified as the Italian's were given Blue wrist bands by the resort. Didn't bother us as we were not interested in any of the activities anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
augie doggie
Business
milford
Jan 23, 2015

great value

great value for your money. beach is fantastic. would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

share a ride to playa del Carmen. cab is pricey

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura H.
Business
lapeer
Jan 19, 2015

Perfect escape

This hotel met every expectation i had and more. First let me preface this with the knowledge that i have been to multiple all inclusive resorts as well as renting condos and renting houses while traveling throughout the Caribbean and therefore i have been exposed to many different pros and cons. To begin, after a long day of travel and and a 2 1/2 hour car rental fiasco, by the time i reached the hotel i had already had my fill. We pulled up to the entrance and Jarve(probably incorrect spelling) greeted us enthusiastically, parked our car, and when coming back took my bags from me and told me "go have a drink, no worries, we will take care of the rest" and the rest of the week the entire staff did exactly that. I don't think the hotel was full capacity so we really got the peace and quiet we were looking for. We never waited for dinner at any of the ala cart restaurants. The service in all the restaurants as well as the buffet was always run, run, run. These employees hustle like i've never seen. The room was exactly as pictured. We stayed in the privileged side and i wouldn't do it any other way. They supplied everything that you might consider you need. We did not utilize the pillow menu but i did see the staff running food to those who did. The bed was fine, plenty of pillows, turn down service, cleaned each day while we had breakfast. The Mexican restaurant was our favorite. The creaperie absolutely wonderful, the Italian i wouldn't and didn't do twice. We didn't try the steakhouse because we come from the Midwest and have pretty high standards on our steaks and didn't feel like chancing it. The buffet had plenty to choose from at any given time. The beach was the best part of all. It was as you would picture a caribbean beach. No rocks, soft white powdery sand. We talked to people from other resorts just 10 miles south and discovered that wasn't the case for them so if your looking for a beautiful beach there is no sense going elsewhere. The only request i suggest to the management is to stop pushing the timeshare. They would be much further ahead giving everyone an incentive to visit another Catalonia such as a $200 voucher off another visit. But even after a while they quit suggesting we listen to the timeshare speal. The only negative to our entire trip was dealing with Dollar rent a car. Their 200 a week car rental ends up being $400-650 after adding in their mandatory insurance. We would have been further ahead just taking a taxi because if you want to do any type of excursion they pick you up and the hotel can even set up a car rental for a day if you wanted to drive to Playa etc. At the end of the day, we came back feeling relaxed and quite honestly my general feeling is that if someone else is doing all the cooking and cleaning then whats there to complain about?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
augie doggie
Business
milford
Jan 14, 2015

Great value for the money. Best beach ever.

Motel was all we expected and more. Great Beach, good drinks and more. Service was very good and staff was exceptional. My only negative comment was that it was hard to meet people because the large amount of French and Italians at the resort. I would definitely stay ther again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Share a ride to Playa it will save both couples about $25.

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toes In The Water
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Back for the 6th year in a row!

We're planning our 6th stay at Catalonia Maroma. The beautiful beach, the size and layout of the resort, the attentive staff, and the perfect amount of dining options including a wonderful buffet are what keep us coming back. We would love to see improvement in the fitness area and maybe more live music entertainment in the evenings, but it's not a big deal. We just love this place and feel like it's our home away from home. We can't imagine life without it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and A family
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

CRM review

Beach is superb with not a rock in sight. Staff work very hard but the restaurants, particularly the buffet, are understaffed as they cannot keep up with the numbers of people that come through. Great idea to keep the beach bar open late at night. Beach service by Eduardo was superb-always with a friendly smile and word,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Realize that 95 percent of guests do not speak English

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soccrian11
Business
Toledo, OH
Nov 19, 2014

Pretty perfect get-away.

There wasn't much about this resort that I would change. The beach was great, the entertainment was great, the food was great... My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the resort. Be sure when you are booking to pay the little extra $$ for the 'privileged' package. It gives you access to a couple small amenities, but really makes a big difference to the vacation as a whole. The Terrace-restaurant overlooking the beach is especially nice. Breakfast overlooking the ocean, yes please!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Using the privileged service means you bypass the busy lobby to a much smaller, air conditioned, wonderful lobby at the rear of the resort. You also get access to a small lounge where you can relax

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tommyg2005
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 14, 2014

Nice beach but everything else is average

We booked this hotel because our friends already booked it and we wanted to meet them and spend time together. Knowing that it is 3-star hotel we didn't expect much. It truly stands for 3-star hotel, especially with the food and restaurant selection. We are frequent visitors to Mayan Riviera in Mexico and our main reason for going on vacation is the beach. Catalonia Maroma hotel is located on one of the best beaches in Mexico. It has very fine white send and wonderful ocean water. There are not enough shaded area on the hotel properties. The special area for 'Privileged' guests has shaded palapas but the management fails to enforce the rule "For Privileged guests only" as well as to deal with some obnoxious visitors. We spent all our time at the beach and used catamaran and kayaks provided by hotel for free. One thing that completely made our vacation less enjoyable was the jet-ski use directly in the beach area. The noise and the gasoline fumes are unbearable. Despite the fact that the Maroma beach is considered environmentally protected area the jet-ski and speed boats are used everywhere in neighboring hotels. For this only reason we will never come back to this or any other hotels in Maroma beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Surf&Turf Kebab in the Grill restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top