Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2016 Check-out: Mar 5, 2016

Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Carretera Federal 307,, Chetumal - Pto Juarez, KM 306+250, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
6 reviews
Great value for the money. Best beach ever.

Motel was all we expected and more. Great Beach, good drinks and more. Service was very good and... See full review

  • augie doggie
  • Jan 14, 2015
family trip

Location was great, the beach is beautiful. The rooms are nice and clean. The only issue was with... See full review

  • Amra B.
  • Jun 21, 2015
Catalonia Privileged Beach is located in one of the most beautiful beaches of the world of the Mayan Riviera, natural surroundings of great beauty with great places of historical and cultural interest.

The location and its excellent facilities and services turn the perfect solution for those who look for days to relax in the Mexican Caribbean. Surrounded by the original forest of Yucatan, the resort has 404 rooms, all with the maximum comforts.

404 comfortable rooms distributed in 6 two- and three-storey buildings. Rooms have been designed and decorated in a contemporary style, each with a king size or two double beds, air conditioning, LCD/TV, direct access phone, free safety deposit box, balcony or terrace, a full bath room with hair dryer, and a refrigerator. Beach towels are provided.

Great pool divided in different sections for activities, children and relaxation, 4 restaurants a la cart, 1 main buffet, 4 bars, disco, Mini-Spa (sauna, jacuzzi and massage service), shopping, gym, tennis court, archery, soccer field and a children's club.

ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAM
Coordinated daily by our entertainment staff, offers a variety of activities day and night for all our guests, adults and children of all ages, including water sports activities.

ALL-INCLUSIVE PACKAGE
- Room with balcony or terrace
- All meals, unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages and soft drinks at restaurants, snack-bar, bars & disco (except for the restaurant La Terraza, which is not included)
- Sports activities that include: non motorized water sports, kayaks, aerobics, aqua-aerobics, water polo, beach and pool volleyball, ping pong, archery and tennis.
-Nightly shows in our theater
-Fitness Center
- Kids club with specialized staff
- All taxes and tips

OTHER SERVICES
Services not included with additional charge in the hotel: on site massage service, spa treatments, scuba-diving, shop, pool table, Restaurant La Terraza and internet access. The Privileged clients are entitled to enjoy the following facilities: Private Lounge, Privileged reception with concierge service, 24 hours room service, Privileged check-in Area, Welcome cocktail, Privileged guest Identification, Access to Spa wet area (subjected to availability) 10% discount on massages or any treatment in our Alegra Spa, reservation required, Coffee Break from 09:00 in the Privileged Lounge, 10% discount in our boutique, Beach towels service delivered in the room, Pillow menu, 20% discount on romantic dinner on the beach with lobster menu, 4 dinners in our theme restaurants including Terrace Tapas Lounge & Bar, Pure Chill out bar on the beach. Exclusive, with reserved beach rea, A la carte breakfast exclusive for Privileged customers, A la carte lunch exclusive for Privileged customers

Hotel Map

20.7387 -86.9664
Area served
Catalonia Privileged Beach is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 45 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun Airport, Punta Maroma.
Area description
Located 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen & 30 minutes from the airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rhode Island
Jul 31, 2011

Had a good time

Room: We were in room number 4211. Honeymoon privilege/corner room. Very nice and lots of privacy on the balcony to use the jacuzzi. The bathroom has not been updated in this room. Bed was comfy, pillows were so-so. Food: Our first meal at the 'grill' buffet was not that good. Choices were hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken patty, fish, chili and salad.....EVERYDAY. After the first day we went up to the main buffet near the lobby. Lots of different choices every day. Our favorite dinner was at the Italian restaurant. We went there twice. The steak restaurant was okay. Make sure you order your meat well done. I loved the lime sorbet at the steak restaurant. We went to the tapas twice. Once for a romantic dinner (we were celebrating our 25th anniversary) we did not order off the menu that night. It was a prearranged dinner. The second time we went to the tapas we both ordered chicken as our main dish and we enjoyed it. We didn't really care for the Mexican restaurant. Beach: One of the nicest beaches we have ever been to. Every morning there was a crew raking the seaweed. The water was very warm and the waves were pretty calm. The towel game was in full force. You could not find a spot in the shade after 7:00 in the morning. Pool: Water temp had to be at least 90 degrees. Not refreshing at all!!! The hot tub was actually cooler than the pool. Families with small children tend to spend most of their time in the pool rather than the ocean. Photos: There are photographers on the beach taking pictures. The pictures range in price from $15.00 (5x7) $20.00 (8x10) and so on. Overall, we had a good time. We would return for the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amra B.
Family
Aledo
Jun 21, 2015

family trip

Location was great, the beach is beautiful. The rooms are nice and clean. The only issue was with the food, there were not many choices and the buffet was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anne C.
Couples
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

AC issue

We originally booked the hotel for 3 nights. After the first night, we complained abt the ac issue. They gave us a room change after hours of complaining. Same issue with the room - ac is just blowing hot air. We checked out of the hotel and didn't complete our 3 nights. The staff however was friendly. It's a management issue with maintenance of the bldg. The only reason we're there is because of the beach but we won't stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
michael b.
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

off season

Traveled in November stayed in privileged superior suite. I would recommend doing because it gave you access to the terrace restaurant where our food was very good and service was excellent, the view was beautiful from the elevated dining area. Nightlife was limited to the hotel lobby bar. Beach was exceptional for walking. 3 star resort 5 star beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
augie doggie
Couples
milford
Jan 14, 2015

Great value for the money. Best beach ever.

Motel was all we expected and more. Great Beach, good drinks and more. Service was very good and staff was exceptional. My only negative comment was that it was hard to meet people because the large amount of French and Italians at the resort. I would definitely stay ther again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Share a ride to Playa it will save both couples about $25.

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cold in jersey
Family
UK
Apr 30, 2014

Poorly trained staff at the front desk

The beach of playa del Carmen is totally awesome, any resort you go to would give you a great beach experience. It really comes down to the hotel/resort service and amenities. If you stay at catalonia you have to stay at the privilege side not maroma. A bit better "all inclusivity". The amenities are okay and activities are fun enough. The place is close to Tulum far from Chichen Itza. Most of the housekeeper, bellboys, wait staff, bar staff, activity people are hospitable. The people at the front desk office and restaurant hostesses need training so they can be more efficient and respectful in treating their guests. It's staff like Carolina, Maresa, Sergio & Raul that turned me off and prevents me from recommending other people to stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Catalonia Privileged Maroma - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Jan 14, 2010

January Vacation

Were vacationed January 3 to 9, the hotel was nice. The location was far from town. The Hotel was spread out which made for a lot of walking. None of the rooms were ocean front which was a bummer. I got a lot go mosquitoes bites, which was unpleasant. The beach was nice with many chairs to lay out on. The free kayaking was fun. The ocean was warmer then the pool. The buffet was the place to go. The specialty restaurants were good but took a long time to get your food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top