Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Ixchel Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of Calle Guerrero, SM/MZA 17, Playa Norte,, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ixchel Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick in Orlando
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 12, 2011

Great hotel on a great island!

We've been to Mexico many times... Cancun, Mazatlan, Mexico City, Cozumel, San Miguel, and more. I was really impressed with this island. Fewer cars and more scooters (and golf carts)... easy to walk everywhere... great food and service. The hotel - was outstanding. It's a condo-tel... and the rooms are quite spacious and nice. The pools are wonderful and the staff is quite remarkable. Go for a penthouse... the views are amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a note on Silver -- the traders on the street were about double - at "best price" what the same things were selling for in the airport silver store. Just saying.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdrbb
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Ixcel Beach Hotel - Isla Mujeras

Very nice hotel, beautiful beach. Service was outstanding! Very close to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
usin's
Business
Winterset, IA
Jan 29, 2012

Great Time

Great location; great staff; great weather; great friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

found out you can take a bus instead of taxi or renting golf cart to different parks

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chugiak dave
Business
Chugiak, AK, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Playa Norte

Fourth time here. In the past we had a suite, I would recommend that for the refrigerator, however the staff brought in a mini-fridge for us. All rooms have great views of Playa Norte and the hotel is right in the middle of the beach. Very safe swimming for kids and folks who are not great swimmers. Isla Mujeres is a nice quiet real Mexican town, unlike Cancun which is basically Vegas on the beach. One of our favorite places in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere on the pedestrian street. Don't miss the Orange juice guy across the street from the ferry, outstanding!

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strizek
Business
nashville, tn
Feb 4, 2012

Take it easy in paradise

If you come to Isla for an easy, super relaxing break from the world, Ixchel is the right place to stay. The condos are not swank or opulent, but who needs that when you're in paradise? We had unit 408 which was one unit away from oceanfront and had absolutely perfect views. The balcony is huge and where we spent most of our time. Location simply can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyers
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Feb. 2012

Great Hotel! Staff is friendly and courtious. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyers
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Feb 2012

This was my second stay at the Ixchel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are quick to respond with extra towels, coffee, etc. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel that is not super cheap but not super expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IslaNewbie
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2012

Wonderful Time in Isla!

Ixchel is a fantastic place to stay - I can't say enough about how nice it is to have lots of space and a full kitchen, especially if you're traveling with kids. The rooms are spotless and everything is well maintained. There is really good water pressure and REALLY HOT water (watch out for this with little ones!). Kitchen is nice and well equipped. TV's have many channels to choose from, even some in English. The pools are a bit small but very nice and well heated (apparently a rarity in Mexico). Our daughter actually liked the pool better than the beach. Amazing because the beach is fantastic! Crystal clear shallow water extending out everywhere. If I didn't know better I'd have thought it was man-made. We really liked it here, but as this is a review allow me to nitpick a bit. here's what keeps me from giving them 5 stars: -front desk staff is very professional but almost to a fault. They could be a bit personable. Hats off to the concierge however, he was very engaging and friendly. The wait staff and house keeping staff seemed quite friendly. -Our room was very plain given that it was a penthouse. Don't get me wrong, it was nice, but just a bit sterile. I suspect that nobody owned this unit so it was lacking any personal charm. -Restaurant is expensive and limited. Not really a problem as there are so many wonderful restaurants in walking distance. Small nitpicks aside this is really a top notch choice for staying right on Playa Norte. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again (we'd just pick a different room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't hesitate to rent a golf cart and explore the island - it's really a wonderful place!

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avvalla
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 7, 2012

Paradise

The hotel is located right on the beach that has white sand and clear water. Beautiful ocean views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the small local restaurants for the best food instead of the larger more commercial restaurants.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pleased in paradise
Business
Sugar Springs Michigan
Apr 5, 2012

we would come back

The location of this hotel is wonderful. Hidalgo and all it's restaurants is right there. The staff could not have been more friendly and efficient, the rooms are spacious, the refrigerator is a wonderful treat, the fresh water in the room was appreciated, the showers are big, and the pool is small but adequate. The food and beverage prices were high and the wi-fi did not work well in the room but did down at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jax was a great place to get a bucket of beer. Sunset Beach right next door at the NautiBeach Hotel was also a good deal. Don't overlook the restaurants on the beach--fantastic fresh fish with great prices.

Back to menu Return to top