Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Ixchel Beach Hotel

4 stars
Calle Guerrero, SM/MZA 17, Playa Norte,, Isla Mujeres, 77400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
113 reviews
The Spot To BE

If you want the perfect beach experience this is it!! Perfect white sand, anything to drink and... See full review

  • Grottogirl
  • Jun 30, 2014
Relaxing Get-a-way at Ichtel Beach

Just got back from our stay at the Ichtel Beach Hotel. This was our 2nd time to stay on the island... See full review

  • GGJohns
  • Jun 19, 2014
For the ultimate in Isla Mujeres travel, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a 2 wing, two-phase condotel complex with 100 rooms. East Wing (Phase 1) with 31 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase 2) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).

Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from Downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres lodging hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.

If you want a great escape for Isla Mujeres travel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the charm our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.

The premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers first class amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You will not find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island.

If you are looking for a hotel in Isla Mujeres, just start relaxing and stay with us. You will be happy with your decision! Your enjoyment and lodging experience are our primary concern during your Isla Mujeres travel. Guests are always our number one priority and we will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular!

Features & Services - Free Wi-FI Wireless Internet Connection
- Concierge
- Vacation Planner (on request)
- Beach Front Hotel
-Swimming Pool (1 in each building)
- Towels & lounges
-Gym (West Tower Only)
- Front desk 24/7
- Daily housekeeping
- Elevators
- Money Exchange
- Baby Cribs (on request)
- Parking (East Tower Only)
- Restaurants (CoMoNo) ($)
- Extra bedding (on request) ($)
- Laundry room (ask at Front Desk) ($)
- Tour & Travel Services (on request) ($)
- Ground Transportation (on request) ($)
- Massages (on request) ($)
- Weddings & Event Coordinators ($)
- Catering Services(on request) ($)
- 24 hour Medical Assistance (on request) ($)
- Baby Sitting Services (on request) ($)
- Deep-Sea Fishing (on request) ($)
- Scuba Diving (on request) ($)
- Water Sports (on request & nearby) ($)
SPECIAL OFFERS FOR WEDDINGS FOR HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS
For groups reserving + 20 rooms for more than 3 nights through this site:
- FREE accommodation for 3 nights for bride and on a one bedroom penthouse.
- Bottle of champagne
- Continental breakfast for 3 days.
- 5% discount in the rest of their stay in any type of room.
- All group must book through this site and send to the hotel the rooming list, then the hotel will give the free stay for bride.

Ixchel Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room Ocean View
The room offers a partial view of the Caribbean Sea, equipped with air conditioning, two double beds, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer & safety deposit box.
One Bedroom Suite Garden View
The suite is equipped with air conditioning, master room with king size bed, dinning & living room (one futon), terrace, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, internet wireless, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer, safety deposit box, full equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster & microwave.
One Bedroom Suite Ocean View
The room offers a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea, equipped with air conditioning, master room with a king size bed, dinind & living room(one futon), terrace, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer & safety deposit box.
One Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
The room offers a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea equipped with air conditioning, master room with 1 king size bed, dinning & living room (one futon), terrace, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer, safety deposit box, fully equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster & microwave.
One Bedroom Suite Penthouse
The suite is equipped with air conditioning, master room with 1 king size bed, dinning & living room (one futon), terrace, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer, safety deposit box, fully equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster & microwave. Also features a spacious roof top terrace lounge area with a view of the Caribbean Sea, jacuzzi, marble bathroom and shower.
Two Bedroom Suite Garden View
The suite is equipped with air conditioning, master room with king size bed, guest room with two double beds, dinning & living room (one futon), balcony, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathrooms, shower, hair dryer, safety deposit box, fully equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster & microwave.
Two Bedroom Suite Ocean View
The suite is equipped with air conditioning, master room with king size bed, guest room with two double beds, dinning & living room (one futon), balcony, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathrooms, shower, hair dryer, safety deposit box, fully equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster & microwave.
Standard Room Garden View
The room offers two double beds equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, DVD player, direct dialing telephone, wireless internet, marble bathroom, shower, hair dryer & safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ixchel Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2652 -86.7528
Area served
Isla Mujeres.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located Located just 50 minutes north of Cancun Airport, 20 minutes by ferry from Puerto Juarez, or 30 minutes by ferry from Cancun hotel zone. Exit Cancun International Airport and take Luis Donaldo Colosio Blvd. towards city of Cancun. Turn right onto Jose Lopez Portillo Blvd. towards Puerto Juarez and Punta Sam. Once you are at Puerto Juarez you can take an express boat. They leave from Puerto Juarez every 30 minutes and take 25 minutes. 5:00 am to 12:30 am. Approximate driving time to Puerto Juarez (Passenger Ferry) is 30 minutes and distance is 25.5 Km (15.85 miles).

Dining

Comono
Pool facility for your convenience on each tower open for breakfast & lunch. Light entrees and variety of sandwiches for lunch. Bar with international premium brands and drinks of your choice.
Sunset Grill
Beachfront palapa located on the west side of north beach and a few steps from the west tower open for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Buffet and "a la carte" service for breakfast. Snacks and Mexican seafood for lunch. Gourmet and international specialties for dinner. Bar with international premium brands and drinks of your choice.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Ixchel Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladeda04
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 24, 2009

Bass not always so great...

Hotel and staff were terrific. It is unfortunate that next door to the hotel is a club that has a tremendous sound system. Great when you want to listen to the music...not so great when you are ready to sleep. At least the front desk had ear plugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wis
Mar 3, 2010

sleeping in a cave

location was great, but couldn't see the ocean. The room also had no balcony so you felt like you were sleeping in a cave. The pictures you see in ads all show balconies and they advertise all rooms have an ocean view. Not true. The hotel beds were so hard that I had to buy a swimming blow up mattress. We never got washcloths, and would get coffee only sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Big Lake, Minnesota
Feb 1, 2010

Relax and Enjoy

The beach at this hotel is the best. If you get too hot just have them bring you an umbrella! I wish we would have had a coffee maker and small fridge. That was the only downfall about the room. We would have to upgrade to get those items. The shower was great!! Lots of pressure and they had huge towels. Everything was very clean and well kept. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go straight up the road from the west side of the Ixchel hotel and walk to the "T" and turn left and there is the grocery store. Anything you need is there.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobsoff
New Jersey
Aug 25, 2009

Good food, good people, great location

I am a beach person, and the location was ideal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The nearby town offered a superb array of inexpensive, casual restaurants where the food and drink was always good. The downside is that the beach was always crowded with children, and I missed the sense of privacy that I found in Tulum where I had previously stayed. There was also constant pounding music from boom boxes on the beach and from nearby boats which I did not appreciate. You are also constantly beset by vendors on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Grill right next door on the beach has great food and cheap, but good drinks. Come in your bathing suit,and watch the sun go down.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalatadah
Denver, CO
Feb 10, 2010

Beautiful beaches

Beautiful location, went there 02/05-02/09/10. The nightclub next door did make our evenings a little uncomfortable, as previous travelers have mentioned. The hotel is offering ear plugs and still battling with local authorities over noise. Staff friendly, beach was well maintained, good service. Definitely venture out to eat, hotel restaurant is limited in selection. And "golf carting" around the island is a highlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tip: do go to Garrafon de Castilla Hotel next door to Garrafon to snorkel, way cheaper as others have mentioned!

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalatadah
Denver, CO
Feb 10, 2010

Beautiful beaches

Beautiful location, went there 02/05-02/09/10. The nightclub next door did make our evenings a little uncomfortable, as previous travelers have mentioned. The hotel is offering ear plugs and still battling with local authorities over noise. Staff friendly, beach was well maintained, good service. Definitely venture out to eat, hotel restaurant is limited in selection. And "golf carting" around the island is a highlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tip: do go to Garrafon de Castilla Hotel next door to Garrafon to snorkel, way cheaper as others have mentioned!

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whiteDiamonds
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 8, 2011

Great staff and location!

The front desk staff was so helpful and spoke excellent English. Our room was just okay. It wasn't quite clean enough when we got there, the A/C was not as adjustable as it appeared (it could only be off or on), there was only one small waste basket, and only one mirror. But the purified water jug, fridge, and microwave were nice bonuses. The shared door between us and the next door room was right next to their TV and phone, so that was loud at times. Still, I never felt truly comfortable in the room. It felt cold and hard to me. Despite my complaints, I'd recommend it. The location and staff more than make up for any sour bits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a handheld mirror. Don't pick up bottled water. Get to the beach early in the morning for the best chairs. Free wireless works best out in the pool area.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexiDan
Madison, WI
Feb 15, 2010

Beautiful, clean, and QUIET!

This was our first trip to Mexico and therefore obviously our first trip to Isla Mujeres. We were there for a week and spent our first three nights at Bahia Chac Chi. We split our time to save a little money and because we didn't know the layout of the island. Bahia Chac Chi was $50 cheaper, but on the bay side and Ixchel was a little more expensive, but on Playa Norte which is ONE of the best beaches on the island. Bahia Chac Chi was great, we had a view of the Bay, but no beach in front of us just boat docks. Word to those who haven't been there ALL the beaches in the downtown area including Playa Norte are municipal, meaning you can access all of them free of charge and no hotel owns specific rights to any of the beach areas. AND downtown Isla is very small so if your staying in the downtown area you really can't get further then five or six blocks from the beach. Anyways when we arrived at Ixchel we were greeting by a friendly hostess, who gave us detailed information on the hotel, its services and its restaurants. We were able to check in 2 hours early. When we got to our room everything was very clean, the only issue was the floors were a little wet which we assumed was because the room had just been cleaned and we were correct it dried by the time we got back from the beach. The only other issue was the beds were a little hard. My girlfriend and I are used to a softer bed and while I had no issue adjusting to a firmer one, my girlfriend had some issues. Overall it was fine and we got plenty of rest. As far as the beach, the beach is beautiful. Clear, blue water. White sand. Free beach chairs. The only part we didn't like about the beach, but we understand is a necessity, is the huge, black sand bags that run out into the water every 100m or so. This is to keep the sand in place during high winds and hurricanes, but they look like beached whales and they break up an otherwise picture-perfect beach. Again overall the hotel is great, next time we'll probably save a little money and stay at Bahia Chac Chi or one of the places downtown. This isn't do to the hotel lacking anything or us feeling it was over priced. To the contrary its well worth the money (maybe even on the cheap side for what you get), but we would prefer to stay longer and in order to do so we'll probably stay somewhere cheaper next time. AND AS FAR AS A NOISY NEIGHBOR... we didn't experience any of the noise issues other reviewers mentioned. We stayed Tuesday through Friday and besides some mildly loud music during the afternoon and early evening we didn't have any issues with noise. We were in the first of two towers, but it seemed as though the other one was mainly or entirely residential vacation condos. Overall Isla Mujeres is a very beautiful island with plenty of tourist amenities, but also plenty of local culture and character. Don't expect a sterilized, Cancun-like atmosphere. There are stray cats and dogs, plenty of locals and local housing, a wide span between fairly upscale and very poor, but when we rode through Cancun to the ferry and saw how isolated and devoid of culture the hotel zone in Cancun is we were very happy with our decision not to book an all inclusive. For great beaches, great food, great snorkeling, great prices, a rich and diverse cultural experience and to just relax and enjoy yourself we highly recommend Isla Mujeres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dukes from Texas
Dickinson, Texas
May 27, 2009

Amazing view and Best Beach

Ixchel is located in Playa Norte (North Beach) and was incredible. May was a slower time, which was perfect for us. Great Service. We had penthouse 705 and the hot tub was a little iffy. We learned that if you want to use them at night tell them about 3 hours in advance, so they can turn the heat on and actually make it hot. The room was great, with everything we needed. Although we weren't in it much. It is right by all the markets, shops, bars and restaurants, but not too close. Definitely a walk away, although getting a golf cart to tour the island is the best way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mthrlangl
WV
Mar 26, 2010

Isla Mujeres

The hotel is lovely, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach starts just beyond the hotel, and it is GORGEOUS. My only real complain (and we've stayed at this hotel twice now) is that the beds are kind of hard, although my husband doesn't agree. The hotel is within walking distance from more restaurants than I can count, and it's less than a mile away from the ferry piers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I don't think this is really a vacation spot for young children. We have a 5 year old and a 9 year old, and they would've been totally bored. There's not much to do on the island, which is GREAT for adults but not for restless, non-beach bum kids.

Back to menu Return to top