Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Ixchel Beach Hotel

4 stars
View map of Calle Guerrero, SM/MZA 17, Playa Norte,, Isla Mujeres, 77400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ixchel Beach Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avvalla
Chicago, IL
Mar 7, 2012

Paradise

The hotel is located right on the beach that has white sand and clear water. Beautiful ocean views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the small local restaurants for the best food instead of the larger more commercial restaurants.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Espolster
Business
Texas
Jul 13, 2012

Great family get away.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Maricio is fantastic. Giovani Also does a great job an is very friendly. Beautiful and clean hotel grounds. View is amazing and pool is pristine. Staff never left us enough towels after cleaning everyday, but they would bring them right away when we'd call. Maids leave envelope for tips for cleaning the room--this is somewhat annoying since that is a standard included service (everyone on the island tries to find a way to either get u to buy something from them or tip them for doing something.)--once you get past that it is a great place & our family had a great time. Appropriate for our kids (9 & 10 years old). Hotel is very close (easy walking distance) to stores and numerous restaurants that are delicious. Always know what to expect in change because most places will try to short change you. Don't expect the towns-people to be generally honest, because they are not. However this is not the case with the hotel staff--they are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If U have kids, Zama is a great place to go eat and enjoy their pool and beach. Fun place, you can also use paddle board and kayaks, etc while their.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lowllama
Business
earth
Jun 22, 2012

sunset beach

this is a great place, great staff, clean rooms, and the best beach on isla, great sunsets, great food and really really clean rooms the staff made our stay a real joy , this is our second time at ixchel and we are already booked for xmas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mininos for great fried or grilled red snapper. cheap super cheap and good enjoy

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Asia Brown
Business
Shrewsbury, MA
May 30, 2012

There are much nicer hotels on the Island

Don't go there it is not nice. The room was gross and it is not updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheepdog3
Business
York,Pa.
May 27, 2012

Best location

The Ixchel Beach Hotel has the perfect location for a vacation on Isla Mujeres, My wife and I like this hotel the best, and want to stay here when we come to Isla Mujeres. It has the best beach area on Playa Norte, and is within easy walking distance to all of the restaurants downtown. The pools are warm and clean. Free coffee every morning. Plenty of hot water for showering, and good water pressure. They have a 5 gallon bottle with spicket of purified drinking water in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to rent a golf cart to get around. Everything is within walking distance of the Ixchel.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pleased in paradise
Business
Sugar Springs Michigan
Apr 5, 2012

we would come back

The location of this hotel is wonderful. Hidalgo and all it's restaurants is right there. The staff could not have been more friendly and efficient, the rooms are spacious, the refrigerator is a wonderful treat, the fresh water in the room was appreciated, the showers are big, and the pool is small but adequate. The food and beverage prices were high and the wi-fi did not work well in the room but did down at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jax was a great place to get a bucket of beer. Sunset Beach right next door at the NautiBeach Hotel was also a good deal. Don't overlook the restaurants on the beach--fantastic fresh fish with great prices.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avvalla
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 7, 2012

Paradise

The hotel is located right on the beach that has white sand and clear water. Beautiful ocean views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at the small local restaurants for the best food instead of the larger more commercial restaurants.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IslaNewbie
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2012

Wonderful Time in Isla!

Ixchel is a fantastic place to stay - I can't say enough about how nice it is to have lots of space and a full kitchen, especially if you're traveling with kids. The rooms are spotless and everything is well maintained. There is really good water pressure and REALLY HOT water (watch out for this with little ones!). Kitchen is nice and well equipped. TV's have many channels to choose from, even some in English. The pools are a bit small but very nice and well heated (apparently a rarity in Mexico). Our daughter actually liked the pool better than the beach. Amazing because the beach is fantastic! Crystal clear shallow water extending out everywhere. If I didn't know better I'd have thought it was man-made. We really liked it here, but as this is a review allow me to nitpick a bit. here's what keeps me from giving them 5 stars: -front desk staff is very professional but almost to a fault. They could be a bit personable. Hats off to the concierge however, he was very engaging and friendly. The wait staff and house keeping staff seemed quite friendly. -Our room was very plain given that it was a penthouse. Don't get me wrong, it was nice, but just a bit sterile. I suspect that nobody owned this unit so it was lacking any personal charm. -Restaurant is expensive and limited. Not really a problem as there are so many wonderful restaurants in walking distance. Small nitpicks aside this is really a top notch choice for staying right on Playa Norte. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again (we'd just pick a different room).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't hesitate to rent a golf cart and explore the island - it's really a wonderful place!

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
genesbest
Business
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Feb 19, 2012

Great place on great beach

Well maintained and clean buildings (2) on Norte Playa. Staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous, with excellent maid service. Close to everything downtown by walking, but set off main streets for privacy and quietness. Would definitely go again and highly recommend to others as great value on this wonderful peaceful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent breakfasts at Bartoli's, excellent fish/french fries/caesar salad, etc at Bobo's, and Ronaldi's fresh pasta is always great.

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyers
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Feb. 2012

Great Hotel! Staff is friendly and courtious. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyers
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Feb 2012

This was my second stay at the Ixchel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are quick to respond with extra towels, coffee, etc. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel that is not super cheap but not super expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top