Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

2 stars
Av. Arq. Carlos Lazo Mza 28 LT 15-1 SMZA 1, Zazil-Ha, Centro, Isla Mujeres, 74000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
26 reviews
Steps away from the best beach on the island!

I gave cabanas 5 stars because it exceeded my expectations. We stayed in the castle rooms. I... See full review

  • Betsy R
  • May 12, 2014
love it

Hotel is so close to the best beach we have ever been to. It is very laid back and quiet there... See full review

  • bill mexican traveler
  • Apr 19, 2014
Experience the island feeling. Enjoy the stunning colors of the Caribbean waters. It's time for relaxation and romance. Located in the center of North beach, the island's most famous beach, Crystal clear turquoise waters and powdery white sand are just steps from your room.
The perfect island getaway, Isla Mujeres is rich in mayan history. Translated, the island's name literally means "Island of Woman," which was given after the Spaniards arrived to Isla Mujeres and found a large number of statues of woman dedicated to Ixchel, the goddess of love and fertility.

Since then, the island has been rediscovered by visitors from all over the world looking for a romantic getaway and contact with nature. And due to its close proximity to Cancun and Rivera Maya, Isla Mujeres is also a wonderful starting point for discovering the Yucatan and its many archaeological sites.

Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar Rooms

Tower Room 2-3 floor
These are the smallest rooms of the hotel, they do have a partial ocean view from their shaded terrace or balcony and are closest to the water. The building consists of three levels, 8 rooms in each floor, The 2nd & 3rd Floor rooms, have one double bed and one single bed, all with A/C, mini-refrigerator, TV with Cable, bathroom with shower, safe deposit box, very colourful, fresh and pleasant rooms.(Mexican style rooms).
Cabaña Ground Floor
The Cabañas Ground Flooe rooms are around the pool of the hotel, the rooms are sold independently, they have the pool and tropical garden garden view, full of colourful flowers all year. This section was totally renovated four years ago, the rooms are the largest in the hotel, all of them with 2 double beds, A/C, mini-refrigerator, TV with Cable, safe deposit box, bathroom with shower, big shaded terraces, very colourful, quiet and pleasant rooms. None of these rooms have ocean view, only pool and garden view. The beach is a minute away walking. (Mexican style).
Castle
The Castle section has recently been totally renovated, everything in the rooms is new, the rooms are absolutely white in their minimalist style, they do have a partial ocean view from their terrace or balcony and are closest to the beach bars and restaurant of the hotel. All the rooms in the Castle have king size beds, television(cable), mini-split Air Cond. system, bathroom with shower, safe deposit box, mini-refrigerators & ceiling fan. (No smoking allowed in Castle section).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2604 -86.7501
Area served
Isla Mujeres
Nearby airports
International Cancun Airport Benito Juarez CUN
Area description
The island's center, a vibrant fishing village with many shops and restaurants, is within a short walk from the hotel.

Dining

Buho Restaurant - Bar
Buho's is a casual open air restaurant/bar serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. A diverse range of dishes are served, including a few island specialties. Buho's three beach palapa bars, with its unusual combination of swings and hammocks, serves a vast selection of tropical drinks, ice cold bear and fruit cocktails. Beverage service is available from 10:00 a.m. to midnight. Famous for its sunset happy hour, Buho's has been a "must-see" attraction for over a decade!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 26
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pottieman
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 15, 2014

Toilet Procedures

The morning after my arrival I noticed the toilet would not completely flush even after several attempts. As I was leaving the hotel I stopped by the front desk and reported the toilet issue. The lady behind the counter then asked me a question, which I had to ponder for several seconds to avoid several inappropriate answers that were running through my head. She asked, "Did you put toilet paper in the toilet?" I simply said YES, and qualified my answer by telling her I had not used a significant amount of toilet paper to handle the job. She politely requested that I put used toilet paper in the basket adjacent to the toilet. I can deal with that since I was traveling solo, but I have reason to believe that the situation could get a little smelly if three people were sharing the room. Later in my stay I learned the toilet paper procedure is common on Isla Mujeres, but next time I'll find another Hotel with modern toilets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

using credit cards instead of US cash yields better currency exchange rates

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnnycakes1
Business
holland, mi
Oct 30, 2013

Vacation getaway

I didn't have any problems locating the hotel it was in a good place. Everything was within walking distance. The beach was great. One thing I had a problem with was the airconditioner....it wasn't working properly. It blew air but it wasn't cold enough to cool the room off, so that made it uncomfortable to sleep. Also the remote for the tv didn't work properly. I had to unplug the tv when i was done watching it. The restroom didn't have a curtain so when you took a shower the sink and toilet would get all wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would recommand renting a gas golf cart so that you can drive all over the Isla. The golf cart was the hi-light of my stay.

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The other Dave
Business
Lake Ozark, MO
Oct 27, 2012

I enjoy this place

I have stayed at Maria del Mar many times and will continue to go back. It has excellent location for the great beach just steps away. This was my first stay in the Towers and they were really small so, if booking a package deal, I would recommend the upgrade to the Cabana rooms. They are larger rooms and have a beautiful view of the interior gardens and pool. This place is a great value, but don't go with great expectations. Just relax and enjoy the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend your evenings and nights a few blocks away on Hidalgo for fine dining and entertainment.

Review of Hotel Cabanas Maria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jul 2, 2009

Cute hotel

It was a super cute hotel. I was traveling by myself for two days before my family arrived and decided to spend two days in isla mujeres. Everyone was nice and accommodating. The room was clean and decent sized, the only downside was the bed was super hard... but once you get over that fact the hotel was quite cute. It is located right on first beach, so its right on the ocean, and it is beautiful. Overall I really enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Diving in Isla Mujeres is quite good. It is home to the sleeping shark

Back to menu Return to top